Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You say the o'Byrne cup is a warm up competition for fringe players to wear the jersey but that's exactly what the league is to the rest of the country.
I mean you can't say we have had our strongest team out against ye in any league games our counties have played in the last 5/6 years.
Even last years league final we had no maher jod or geaney, and just because Dublin decide to take league seriously doesn't mean the rest of the teams do ,

Most of us are just trying out new players and trying players in different systems and trying players in different positions for the championship."
Dublin have used the league for same and are currently giving a number of new players/ fringe players a go

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 07/03/2017 13:35:12    1965009

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You say the o'Byrne cup is a warm up competition for fringe players to wear the jersey but that's exactly what the league is to the rest of the country.
I mean you can't say we have had our strongest team out against ye in any league games our counties have played in the last 5/6 years.
Even last years league final we had no maher jod or geaney, and just because Dublin decide to take league seriously doesn't mean the rest of the teams do ,

Most of us are just trying out new players and trying players in different systems and trying players in different positions for the championship."
You're right of course Kingdomboy

But having your strongest panel available to ye in the championship while playing Dublin hasn't been of much use either

(When you were supposedly taking things far more seriously)

In fact you have a better record in the league against Dublin since all this started back in 2011

???

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 07/03/2017 13:38:06    1965011

Replying To jimbodub:  "You're right of course Kingdomboy

But having your strongest panel available to ye in the championship while playing Dublin hasn't been of much use either

(When you were supposedly taking things far more seriously)

In fact you have a better record in the league against Dublin since all this started back in 2011

???"
Of course I'm right jimbo:-)

But ye had a full team out against us last years league final bar jack mac who was on a year out.

In fairness Jim Gavin got it right with Dublin, he brought on a load of young lads from his U21 teams and we neglected our youth during the naughties a fact that was hidden by our successful team at the time, our county board at the time were asleep at the wheel, but we've gone a long way to sorting that when we started development squads in 2012,
We're still in transition but we're catching up slowly and I believe we'l be back soon under jack O'Connors management.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2017 15:04:23    1965057

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Of course I'm right jimbo:-)

But ye had a full team out against us last years league final bar jack mac who was on a year out.

In fairness Jim Gavin got it right with Dublin, he brought on a load of young lads from his U21 teams and we neglected our youth during the naughties a fact that was hidden by our successful team at the time, our county board at the time were asleep at the wheel, but we've gone a long way to sorting that when we started development squads in 2012,
We're still in transition but we're catching up slowly and I believe we'l be back soon under jack O'Connors management."
Kingdom

So what if we had a full team? There was National title on offer..

You still couldn't beat Dublin with your full team when you were taking it seriously later on it the year

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 07/03/2017 15:22:58    1965069

Replying To jimbodub:  "I never stated otherwise

Also come on.. be honest

As if we couldn't have won those O'Byrne cup games if we wanted too... stop the messing

It's a warm up comp to give fringe players a chance to wear the jersey

Nothing more, our A V B games are of a higher standard

So it is 33 games unbeaten in competitive football at the highest level (not winning games in Div 2 like some)"
Hit a nerve? OBC is a competitive comp so it counts. You are not unbeaten. Simple as.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 07/03/2017 20:32:13    1965243

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Hit a nerve? OBC is a competitive comp so it counts. You are not unbeaten. Simple as."
No Fridge

You are simply incorrect

The record held by Kerry is 34 games unbeaten in competitive football, 19 League games and 15 Championship games

Hence those are variables of the current record, and as such the same set of rules apply.

So we are actually unbeaten given the context of the current record

"simple as"

OByrne cup games do not count as competitive games

Take it up with the GAA

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 07/03/2017 21:03:44    1965265

Replying To jimbodub:  "No Fridge

You are simply incorrect

The record held by Kerry is 34 games unbeaten in competitive football, 19 League games and 15 Championship games

Hence those are variables of the current record, and as such the same set of rules apply.

So we are actually unbeaten given the context of the current record

"simple as"

OByrne cup games do not count as competitive games

Take it up with the GAA"
It's an official GAA competition. Many counties would love to win the OBC.

Not arguing with you about the record against Kerry in the 30's and the variables and the different era and modern football is more difficult and the records are probably incorrect back then etc etc etc. You and others say Dublin are unbeaten. They are not unbeaten. They were defeated twice. In competitive competition's. Hence they aren't unbeaten.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 07/03/2017 21:36:33    1965278

and don't forget challenges and internal games!!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 08/03/2017 10:18:05    1965340

Replying To arock:  "and don't forget challenges and internal games!!"
Thank feck Dublin won the Blue Star game

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 08/03/2017 12:25:56    1965385

0 and counting :)

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 603 - 09/04/2017 17:50:57    1977476

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "0 and counting :)"
We got the record anyway and despite a lot going wrong today, were the width of a post away from bringing it into ET, but alas the better team on the day won, zero complaints

It was a great league campaign and I couldn't fault our effort, never know, might be good for us moving into the summer

??

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 09/04/2017 18:27:18    1977516

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "0 and counting :)"
No team will ever beat that record, but I am glad it is put to bed to be honest.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 09/04/2017 18:40:25    1977535