Replying To keithlemon:  "If still unbeaten by St Patricks weekend, they'll be going down to Kerry looking to equal the record, that of the Kerry team from the 1930's.
That game is going to be a cracker"
I didn't even know there was a record till you mentioned it Keith, it's not something we talk about too much down here, but records are there to be broken and best of luck to the dubs of ye do it.
I know our minors are on an 18 game in a row winning streak. Not bad for a bunch of young lads.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/02/2017 22:42:48    1956451

Well done its some achievement, I see no one from the green n red congratulated you must be sour grapes lol

billythekid69 (USA) - Posts: 35 - 14/02/2017 03:08:39    1956487

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 01/03/2017 13:54:10    1962474

It's a decent record but in all honestly you can't count the Leinster championship but you can only beat what's in front of you, the League isn't a real challenge as most teams are setting up for championship but the proof is winning the All Ireland title and Dublin have done that 2 in a row so in that regard they are well worth their tag of the best team in Ireland for the past 2 seasons and a few League titles are a bonus. Well done

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 01/03/2017 15:37:01    1962529

Its phenomenal consistency to go unbeaten for that long. I expect that that record will stand for a very long time if they do it.

To be honest I couldn't care less if they beat a Kerry record that I didn't know we had. We need points so I'd be more worried about losing the actual game.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 01/03/2017 17:37:37    1962567

Should be a cracker in killarney..unless mayo can beat it Saturday though wouldn't write them off either !

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 01/03/2017 17:58:48    1962574

An absolutely amazing achievement,
Well done to our brothers in navy and blue.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/03/2017 18:26:57    1962583

Would one of the Kerry lads put me up for the night, I'll buy ye a few pints, can't get anywhere :(

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 01/03/2017 18:39:52    1962591

Kingdomboy1 seems like he'd love yez all over at his place to talk about the amazing record and all that ..I'm sure his house will be covered in navy and blue for yez :)

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 01/03/2017 19:45:19    1962616

Not to bothered about the recovery rd to be honest and think it will go on Saturday, it stands alone in the modern context. But we are in the trophy business much more proud of 8 national titles in 6 years.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 01/03/2017 20:32:02    1962629

Think we may come unstuck at the weekend but if you asked me to choose losing the unbeaten streak to Mayo or away to Kerry - I would take this weekend every time.

I know Jim doesn't look at records and losing unbeaten streaks etc, but it would be a hell of a motivational tool should we lose, for our next encounter....

Great to get such a big game so early in the season.

Looking forward to an interesting night....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 01/03/2017 22:47:49    1962670

and it couldn't have been any sweeter

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 06/03/2017 13:35:30    1964562

Replying To jimbodub:  "33

and it couldn't have been any sweeter"
Great achievement. Keep it going Dubs.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 06/03/2017 17:48:19    1964724

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Great achievement. Keep it going Dubs."
We will try!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/03/2017 21:31:56    1964830

Replying To jimbodub:  "33

and it couldn't have been any sweeter"
#league and championship only ;)

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 06/03/2017 21:39:54    1964835

Replying To The_Fridge:  "#league and championship only ;)"
Yeah it is not a real record until Dublin go unbeaten in the League, Championship and O'Byrne Cup for 2 years.

But I would be worried if that happened because there will be real talk about a split of Dublin then!

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/03/2017 23:59:40    1964885

Record or not, this game in Tralee promises to be an absolute cracker now
I'm just disappointed I'm not going, the craic in Tralee will be something else. Stacks are well overdue hosting a game like this, I think the last time there was a Dublin Kerry game down there as 04 or 05
Make no mistake, Kerry will be rabid for this one. This is a great chance for them to lay down a marker. No way will the Dublin backs have it as easy as they did on Saturday with the form Geaney is in.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 07/03/2017 08:56:51    1964911

Replying To The_Fridge:  "#league and championship only ;)"
I never stated otherwise

Also come on.. be honest

As if we couldn't have won those O'Byrne cup games if we wanted too... stop the messing

It's a warm up comp to give fringe players a chance to wear the jersey

Nothing more, our A V B games are of a higher standard

So it is 33 games unbeaten in competitive football at the highest level (not winning games in Div 2 like some)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 07/03/2017 09:10:50    1964913

Replying To keithlemon:  "Record or not, this game in Tralee promises to be an absolute cracker now
I'm just disappointed I'm not going, the craic in Tralee will be something else. Stacks are well overdue hosting a game like this, I think the last time there was a Dublin Kerry game down there as 04 or 05
Make no mistake, Kerry will be rabid for this one. This is a great chance for them to lay down a marker. No way will the Dublin backs have it as easy as they did on Saturday with the form Geaney is in."
Mayo were supposedly rabid for their trip up to Croker on Saturday and had their chance to lay down said marker.... we chewed them up and spat them out.

Its at the stage now where it literally doesn't even matter what mentality Kerry have or how much they want to win, If Dublin turn up and play to their ability or 80/90% of that ability, We will beat whoever, on any day, whether its played in Croke Park, Tralee, or the moon.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/03/2017 11:06:09    1964950

Replying To jimbodub:  "I never stated otherwise

Also come on.. be honest

As if we couldn't have won those O'Byrne cup games if we wanted too... stop the messing

It's a warm up comp to give fringe players a chance to wear the jersey

Nothing more, our A V B games are of a higher standard

So it is 33 games unbeaten in competitive football at the highest level (not winning games in Div 2 like some)"
You say the o'Byrne cup is a warm up competition for fringe players to wear the jersey but that's exactly what the league is to the rest of the country.
I mean you can't say we have had our strongest team out against ye in any league games our counties have played in the last 5/6 years.
Even last years league final we had no maher jod or geaney, and just because Dublin decide to take league seriously doesn't mean the rest of the teams do ,

Most of us are just trying out new players and trying players in different systems and trying players in different positions for the championship.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2017 13:08:03    1965000