NHL 1A & 1B

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I had my picture taken with that cup in 73 in the goalkeepers, and my own home village. That will do for a lifetime."
Jeeper lad you need to raise the bar... 73 is a long time ago!

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 19/02/2017 09:31:39    1958138

Replying To ColinWex:  "Jeeper lad you need to raise the bar... 73 is a long time ago!"
Colin
All the 'lesser counties' had spells in the wildernes as long as this, be it Galway Clare, Wexford, Offaly, Waterford Laois or Dublin. I would say that we all, as in the lesser counties, long back too fondly on our past wins. When the All Ireland whistle blew in 1940 and Limerick had won their sixth Ireland, they were also minor champions and would be the Junion All Ireland twelve months. Only Dublin and Limerick apart from the big three, had won more than one All Ireland at that stage. About twenty years after all this I was hearing adult Limerick peole, with each impending championship, saying 'we have as good a chance of winning as anybody else'. In a way they had a point. They had a Senior Provincial win a few years and and an All Ireland Minor title in 58. In the same year they had contested the League against your county in a game often described 'as the greatest hurling ever played'.
However they were living on past glories and the sixties proved to be only decade that we never contested a Munster Final.. The simple fact is that the major counties consider seven or eight years without an outright win a famine and even winning last years All Ireland is rightly considered history

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 19/02/2017 10:21:11    1958154

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I had my picture taken with that cup in 73 in the goalkeepers, and my own home village. That will do for a lifetime."
Seamus Horgan, Tournafulla/Mountcollins was goalkeeper in 1973.Is he still hale and hearty?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1745 - 19/02/2017 12:50:03    1958192

Replying To ColinWex:  "Jeeper lad you need to raise the bar... 73 is a long time ago!"
The bar is high enough in fairness..our problem has been getting over it.
since 1973 we've lost the AI Final in 1974,1980,1994,1996 and 2007.we contested the AI semi final in 81, 2009, 2013 and 2014. apart from the disaster of 94 and the hammering Tipp gave us in 09, we've been competitive...
the last 2 years have been bad for Limerick but we've had worse. please God our time will come.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1064 - 19/02/2017 13:12:28    1958201

Replying To skillet:  "The bar is high enough in fairness..our problem has been getting over it.
since 1973 we've lost the AI Final in 1974,1980,1994,1996 and 2007.we contested the AI semi final in 81, 2009, 2013 and 2014. apart from the disaster of 94 and the hammering Tipp gave us in 09, we've been competitive...
the last 2 years have been bad for Limerick but we've had worse. please God our time will come."
Kerry reasonably competitive in the Gaelic Grounds - currently only trailing 0-8 to 2-1, hopefully they can keep up the pace for at least 50 to 60 minutes this week.

anciarraioch82 (Kerry) - Posts: 33 - 19/02/2017 14:22:49    1958218

up Wexford!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 19/02/2017 17:23:53    1958288

God help anyone who did an accumulator this weekend! Wins for Clare, Tipp & Dublin in 1A while Wexford pulled off another shock in Galway. Even in the lower divisions there were plenty of notable results.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 19/02/2017 18:15:23    1958323

Jaysus. Delighted and perplexed by our performance in Cork.

Great win for Wexford as well. Pretty much guaranteed their promotion.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 19/02/2017 19:10:39    1958354

Replying To MesAmis:  "Jaysus. Delighted and perplexed by our performance in Cork.

Great win for Wexford as well. Pretty much guaranteed their promotion."
Yeah Wexford have won the two big ones already. They just need to stay focused over the next three games and not have any slip ups.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/02/2017 19:53:21    1958376

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Yeah Wexford have won the two big ones already. They just need to stay focused over the next three games and not have any slip ups."
Hats off to clare and wexford. Really wasn't expecting those results. Great for welfare Rd hurling to be getting big wins. I know it's only the league. But they beat the best two 1b teams on the bounce.

I knew tipp were going to get the win today. Some brilliant hurlers on that team.

Everyone on levels terms so far bar tipp and kk. With tipp having 2 wins and kk 2 defeats

Also well done to Dublin last night great performance.

It's being a great start to the league.

TheBlaBoi (Waterford) - Posts: 24 - 19/02/2017 20:37:30    1958400

Replying To anciarraioch82:  "Kerry reasonably competitive in the Gaelic Grounds - currently only trailing 0-8 to 2-1, hopefully they can keep up the pace for at least 50 to 60 minutes this week."
That was some walloping they took today, hope the confidence hasn't been too badly dented.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/02/2017 21:17:10    1958415

Replying To thelongridge:  "Seamus Horgan, Tournafulla/Mountcollins was goalkeeper in 1973.Is he still hale and hearty?"
Yes indeed. He is the only living West Limerick to win an All Ireland on the field of play. Paudie Fitzmaurice was a sub that day. Our parish is also the native place of the late Tim Doody, who holds the distinction of having played in an All Ireland Senior Football and Hurling final on the one day, with London. He won an All Ireland medal with the said London in1901.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 19/02/2017 22:59:29    1958457

Replying To TheBlaBoi:  "Hats off to clare and wexford. Really wasn't expecting those results. Great for welfare Rd hurling to be getting big wins. I know it's only the league. But they beat the best two 1b teams on the bounce.

I knew tipp were going to get the win today. Some brilliant hurlers on that team.

Everyone on levels terms so far bar tipp and kk. With tipp having 2 wins and kk 2 defeats

Also well done to Dublin last night great performance.

It's being a great start to the league."
Yes, excellent result for Wexford.
Fair play.

Tipp looking like the team to beat this year already.

Will be interesting to see how the Cats do later on in the year after this poor start by their standards.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 20/02/2017 00:24:06    1958476

Replying To perfect10:  "up Wexford!"
Be careful there. Davy has a tendency to let his teams peak to early. Its great to see ye on the cusp of promotion though but June/July is when it matters. Looking at KK, ye have a good chance of being very competitive in Leinster this year.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2484 - 20/02/2017 01:45:29    1958483

Few typos in my last post. Only noticed now. Why the down votes?

TheBlaBoi (Waterford) - Posts: 24 - 20/02/2017 02:53:17    1958486

Very hard to gauge where anyone is except for Tipp after the first two rounds. Cork were awful on Sat night but had a great win over Clare the first day out who in turn were terrible the first night but then excellent in dismantling Kilkenny yesterday. The Dubs were truly awful against Tipp but got a good result down in Cork. Waterford were good against Kilkenny but then I thought weren't great yesterday and were beaten easily enough by Tipp. Kilkenny are bottom of the league. I still think we'll be in the relegation spot at the end though.

1b looks to have resolved itself early enough as it is hard to see Wexford dropping any points having already beaten Galway and Limerick.

On a side note, I'd love to know the stats on converted penalties since the change of rules going to one on one from outside the 21. It seems to me that there is an unbalance and it is almost too hard to score a goal. A penalty is awarded for a foul that usually stops a good goal scoring chance, the penalty conversion rate should reflect this but I'm not sure it does. In football the 'penalty spot' was moved in because too few were being scored but in hurling it seems to have gotten too hard to score a penalty.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 20/02/2017 08:11:46    1958509

MesAmis,mark fanning and joe canning had no problem yesterday,sure do you want them to get a free shot at goal with no keeper?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/02/2017 09:49:37    1958535

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Be careful there. Davy has a tendency to let his teams peak to early. Its great to see ye on the cusp of promotion though but June/July is when it matters. Looking at KK, ye have a good chance of being very competitive in Leinster this year."
It's nice to have a period where you peak at all!!

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 20/02/2017 09:52:02    1958537

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "
Replying To tiobraid:  "[quote=Pinkie:  "Janesboro, I think if you look at my posting history, I never blame the referee, I have little or no interest in football so was certainly not part of that. Blaming the referee is just avoiding the reality of the reasons a team loses. Last thing I am saying on it, it would be better if Limerick moved on too because they could yet top the division and they play Galway when I wish we were playing them (last game)
This weekend?
Cork v Dublin
Clare v Kilkenny
Waterford v Tipperary
Galway v Wexford,
Limerick v Kerry
Laois v Offaly

I laugh when I hear people say Galway will bring Wexford back to earth!! We are not on cloud 9 over a league win in January, of course it was great to beat Limerick for the first time in 12 years but I think everybody now looking to the weekend match. Hard ask to go to Galway. Can't see us winning it."
It'll be extremely close and I won't be putting Galway into any accumulator this week"
Will it be 'extremely' close? Wexford must be fairly good so!!"]Any humble pie going around this morning?! :D

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/02/2017 10:07:56    1958549

Replying To perfect10:  "MesAmis,mark fanning and joe canning had no problem yesterday,sure do you want them to get a free shot at goal with no keeper?"
Yeah I see that but there are definitely a lot more penalties missed now than previously.

Penalties should be scored 9 times outta 10. The benefit should go to the attacking team always so as not to encourage lads to just drag players down in the square.

I'm not sure if I've got a solution at all to be honest. Maybe draw a short line between the 21 and 14 where the ball must be stuck before. Give the advantage to the attacker.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 20/02/2017 10:11:55    1958551