Tyrone

Replying To waynoI:  "Are you serious ?

Tyrone better than Mayo ?

Basing that on what exactly ?

The last time they met in the championship which was only last august, Mayo where crap and still won.

Now you place them above Mayo, don't get the logic behind that I really don't."
That was Mayo's best game of the summer!

What wasn't firing for them that day? If Aiden O Se could play against Dublin how he plays against Tyrone they'd be AI champions.

When they play Tyrone he bring the game to them, when he plays Dublin or Kerry he seems to think he's better served as a decoy runner or something.

Mayo won by 1 point and all the logical statistics of the game of Gaelic football said that Tyrone blew the game, watching Tyrone miss 3 or 4 shots to level the game says that.

You want to believe Mayo are better so you don't have to deal with Tyrone because you know yourself how dangerous a primed and hungry Tyrone are. Luckily enough for Tyrone the linesman in Croke Park decided to win you lads the game on Saturday....if you think Saturday was tough wait until next time.

We're coming for your throne!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 16/02/2017 15:13:45    1957466

Replying To Seansy48:  "That was Mayo's best game of the summer!

What wasn't firing for them that day? If Aiden O Se could play against Dublin how he plays against Tyrone they'd be AI champions.

When they play Tyrone he bring the game to them, when he plays Dublin or Kerry he seems to think he's better served as a decoy runner or something.

Mayo won by 1 point and all the logical statistics of the game of Gaelic football said that Tyrone blew the game, watching Tyrone miss 3 or 4 shots to level the game says that.

You want to believe Mayo are better so you don't have to deal with Tyrone because you know yourself how dangerous a primed and hungry Tyrone are. Luckily enough for Tyrone the linesman in Croke Park decided to win you lads the game on Saturday....if you think Saturday was tough wait until next time.

We're coming for your throne!"
Yes Wayno be afraid....theyre coming for us. Like all the other teams i might add. Mayo for me are a better team than Tyrone. As are Kerry. And l believe the reason you didnt win seany is because your shooting was abysmal. But yes...lets blame the ref. How very GAA!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/02/2017 15:49:51    1957477

'Tyrone better than Mayo ?
The last time they met in the championship which was only last august, Mayo where crap and still won.
Now you place them above Mayo, don't get the logic behind that I really don't'.
waynoI (Dublin)

Now, now you are starting to advertise your football knowledge or lack off. If tyrone are crap! then the team that beat them by 1 point is close to that definition. Yourselves needed 2 games to beat that team-Mayo. Ye drew with them after the scored 2 goals for ye and in the replay ye were lucky to beat them by 1 point with the aid of a incorrect black card. Now where does that leave yourselves by your definition. I think there is little difference between Mayo and Tyrone and that was shown in the championship.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 16/02/2017 16:03:00    1957485

Replying To Byanthon:  "Tyrone will improve in the forward line with the introduction of Bradley and Brennan. Sludden and Harte are well established but everything else is up for grabs. It would be great if Sean could hold down the full forward position for the others to play around."
Seen a good bit of Brennan in recent years for Trillick and the 21s, he doesn't miss to many frees and definitely has that bit of x factor that Tyrone could do with. Is the under 21 so important that he should be left out of the senior team? The one thing about Tyrone is that no one will run up a high score against them when on form, It is just that they have to better it the other end. Its not for me to say but with Sean Cavanagh hinting this is his last year, would a forward line that included both not give the best chance of success in the short term.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 16/02/2017 16:12:52    1957489

Replying To Seansy48:  "That was Mayo's best game of the summer!

We're coming for your throne!"
Mayo "out Tyroned" Tyrone that day. For now Mayo are still ahead of Tyrone. You say Tyrone kicked it away...I remember a role reversal in 2008 final qualifier in Croke Park when Tyrone scraped past Mayo luckily.

Tyrone are very hard to play against (which is a compliment). Mayo will never get their normal game going against them. Rochford got his tactics spot on that day. It was keep ball for Mayo in the final 10 mins that day...a dangerous game sure but Mayo still go over the line.

If it had been the other way around Tyrone would have been praised for winning by a point.

It;s still 1.Dublin 2.Mayo 3. Kerry (Although Mayo/Kerry could be level) and 3. Tyrone for me right now. As I have always said though, first is first and everywhere else is nowhere.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 16/02/2017 16:25:14    1957500

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo "out Tyroned" Tyrone that day. For now Mayo are still ahead of Tyrone. You say Tyrone kicked it away...I remember a role reversal in 2008 final qualifier in Croke Park when Tyrone scraped past Mayo luckily.

Tyrone are very hard to play against (which is a compliment). Mayo will never get their normal game going against them. Rochford got his tactics spot on that day. It was keep ball for Mayo in the final 10 mins that day...a dangerous game sure but Mayo still go over the line.

If it had been the other way around Tyrone would have been praised for winning by a point.

It;s still 1.Dublin 2.Mayo 3. Kerry (Although Mayo/Kerry could be level) and 3. Tyrone for me right now. As I have always said though, first is first and everywhere else is nowhere."
Completely agree YT. The introduction of Alan Dillon that day was spot on. Rochford 1 Harte 0

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/02/2017 18:05:48    1957537

Replying To Jackeen:  "Completely agree YT. The introduction of Alan Dillon that day was spot on. Rochford 1 Harte 0"
I don't think Tyrone are as green as they were that day. Saturday night showed that. Mickie Harte will be happy enough. At this stage of the season they're in a good place even though he still has the problem of a big forward. Who knows what will happen once they start concentrating on that area of their game
They obviously have been given all the attention to the rearguard up until now.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 16/02/2017 21:25:59    1957602

Replying To browncows:  "'Tyrone better than Mayo ?
Now you place them above Mayo, don't get the logic behind that I really don't'.
waynoI (Dublin)

Now, now you are starting to advertise your football knowledge or lack off. If tyrone are crap! then the team that beat them by 1 point is close to that definition. Yourselves needed 2 games to beat that team-Mayo. Ye drew with them after the scored 2 goals for ye and in the replay ye were lucky to beat them by 1 point with the aid of a incorrect black card. Now where does that leave yourselves by your definition. I think there is little difference between Mayo and Tyrone and that was shown in the championship."
Hmmm...

Where did I say Tyrone were crap, ive read the post you quoted about 5 times, and I cant find where I said Tyrone are crap or suggested it ?

My point is absolutely valid and it seems its gone straight over your head as you've somehow (cant figure out how exactly) managed to mangle up everything I said in the point and claim I said the total opposite..

For clarification though,

I didn't say Mayo are crap in general, Or that Tyrone are crap. What I did say, however, is that logically, you cant say TYRONE are BETTER than MAYO, when the last time the two teams met, mayo won, playing crap on the day... Don't think there is anything barking mad about that statement ?

Do you ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/02/2017 17:20:11    1957976

I would be more weary of Tyrone after today. Sigerson cup final. St Marys down 2 goals. 4 Tyrone lads played a huge part in winning that match. Jack mc caffrey playing for UCD along with our own Conor mc Carty. They never gave up.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 18/02/2017 23:49:34    1958100

It really amazes me the amount of Tyrone related threads that appear on here every single year.

Are you all really that obsessed with us??

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 19/02/2017 10:17:29    1958150

Replying To Wally:  "It really amazes me the amount of Tyrone related threads that appear on here every single year.

Are you all really that obsessed with us??"
Take it as a compliment.

If no one was talking about you it would be far worse.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/02/2017 11:06:53    1958166

waynoI (Dublin)- I rest my case. I have said many times as well on these treads that Dublin have a record that as far as I know ! -no other senior inter county senior team has in that they have gone 31 games without being defeated. Now would you be able to sent me on one of those nice new Subaru's- a small one would do!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/02/2017 11:08:26    1958167

Replying To browncows:  "waynoI (Dublin)- I rest my case. I have said many times as well on these treads that Dublin have a record that as far as I know ! -no other senior inter county senior team has in that they have gone 31 games without being defeated. Now would you be able to sent me on one of those nice new Subaru's- a small one would do!"
Do you work for Subaru or something.???

They are getting plenty of free advertising and plaudits from you on 2 seperate threads here...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/02/2017 11:50:35    1958181

Replying To Fionn:  "Take it as a compliment.

If no one was talking about you it would be far worse."
You are probably right.

It's just funny that we seem to be talked about so much regardless of how good or bad we happen to be playing at that particular time.

I suppose any publicity us good publicity

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 19/02/2017 13:04:30    1958200

Do you work for Subaru or something.???
They are getting plenty of free advertising and plaudits from you on 2 seperate threads here...!
Fionn (Dublin)

No, but your county team do!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/02/2017 13:34:47    1958208

Replying To browncows:  "Do you work for Subaru or something.???
Fionn (Dublin)

No, but your county team do!"
Just as well they don't have temporary use of a Merc or you would Never be able to sleep - such is your apparent obsession with Dublin's sponsorship deal...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/02/2017 14:10:01    1958216

Replying To browncows:  "Do you work for Subaru or something.???
Fionn (Dublin)

No, but your county team do!"
Audis by the way.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/02/2017 16:06:38    1958253

Replying To Jackeen:  "Yes Wayno be afraid....theyre coming for us. Like all the other teams i might add. Mayo for me are a better team than Tyrone. As are Kerry. And l believe the reason you didnt win seany is because your shooting was abysmal. But yes...lets blame the ref. How very GAA!"
What was the straight red for?

No one in the country knows

Tyrone under Micky Harte have always shot alot of wides, it's because of the style of play.

I won't bang on about it but I do think Tyrone will beat Dublin in the summer, Mayo just went to Kerry and beat them. I know Kerry have to be in the top 3 for some reason but I don't see the evidence.

Tyrone are sharper for having thrown that game away last year

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 20/02/2017 18:22:52    1958822