Virginia Detour Possible in Future?

welcome to the world of every other gaa supporter up and down the country where traffic jam's are normal before and after every game

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 06/02/2017 13:20:24    1952696

Replying To glasagusdhearg:  "welcome to the world of every other gaa supporter up and down the country where traffic jam's are normal before and after every game"
Traffic jams only occur when there's big crowds so you can hardly say that happens for every other gaa county
considering that was the largest attendance yesterday breffni park has catered for since it held the international rules game.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2017 15:03:18    1952784

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Traffic jams only occur when there's big crowds so you can hardly say that happens for every other gaa county
considering that was the largest attendance yesterday breffni park has catered for since it held the international rules game."
There were traffic jams in navan yesterday and there was a much smaller crowd than in Breffni, I have often seen tailbacks going into Virginia and experienced them as a Meath man living in Donegal. Yesterday I drove to Navan and what I witnessed on the Dublin side of Virginia I have never seen before, a tailback pretty much back to the dual carriageway. There are traffic jams at every intercounty venue or leading to them, yesterdays was a super version of a regular traffic jam caused by the combination of Virginia itself and too many Dubs travelling together at the one time.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/02/2017 15:53:08    1952825

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Traffic jams only occur when there's big crowds so you can hardly say that happens for every other gaa county
considering that was the largest attendance yesterday breffni park has catered for since it held the international rules game."
There's a traffic jam twice a day in Virginia

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 06/02/2017 16:26:59    1952854

richieq
yeah of course there can be but to suggest that scale happens at every town outside dublin week in week out is ridiculous
or to suggest its the first time dubs have experienced it like hes saying is ridiculous too.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2017 16:30:52    1952856

Replying To Breffni39:  "There's a traffic jam twice a day in Virginia"
i ment for matches im sure it dont take 2 hours twice a day to get from breffni park to virginia each time

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2017 16:32:30    1952857

Virginia has become a difficult town to get through, witness yesterday's mess and I have seen it as bad before generally on a Friday evening. The M3 motorway moved the traffic congestion from Dunshaughlin to Virginia. Virginia and Adare are similar, in that when you pass through the town you cant for the life of you figure out why there was such a build up of traffic. Now there was 20K in Cavan yesterday for the game, would guess 60% would have been local with Cavan Supporters and Dublin people living in Cavan so that's only 8K supporters that would have needed to travel through Virginia. Thats is less then the daily traffic through the town so I cant understand the tail back.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 06/02/2017 17:09:32    1952883

Replying To hill16no1man:  "richieq
yeah of course there can be but to suggest that scale happens at every town outside dublin week in week out is ridiculous
or to suggest its the first time dubs have experienced it like hes saying is ridiculous too."
Hill I didn't suggest that happens all the time on that scale at all, traffic jams of some degree happen at all venues the one into Virginia was bigger than usual, much bigger, a crowd of 16'000 at a league match in Breffni is much bigger than usual the fixture generated good interest and from what I saw there seemed to be a good traffic plan in place about Cavan town, Virginia is Virginia and will be a bottleneck until bypassed but it's not too often ye have to endure such hardships and sure it's a lovely part of the world to get stuck in

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/02/2017 18:48:05    1952939

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Used to go the ashbourne, kentstown road over to navan and then kells carnaross way before to breffni but with Meath playing in navan yesterday went the m3 instead which in fairness is a super road just pity it ends after kells and not continued on the extra bit to Cavan as would avoid the ham after the match when everyone leaves at same time."
I love a bit of ham meself after a match. Don't know why you'd want to avoid it.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 06/02/2017 19:04:50    1952946

Replying To Hardtimes:  "I love a bit of ham meself after a match. Don't know why you'd want to avoid it."
Hard to beat a good ham sandwich, with Coleman's mustard

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 06/02/2017 19:26:30    1952956

Replying To blueman1903:  "Hard to beat a good ham sandwich, with Coleman's mustard"
Very 1990s. I hear Mango and Ham canapés are very popular among the more sophisticated Cavan folk.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 06/02/2017 21:35:16    1953047

Replying To Richieq:  "Hill I didn't suggest that happens all the time on that scale at all, traffic jams of some degree happen at all venues the one into Virginia was bigger than usual, much bigger, a crowd of 16'000 at a league match in Breffni is much bigger than usual the fixture generated good interest and from what I saw there seemed to be a good traffic plan in place about Cavan town, Virginia is Virginia and will be a bottleneck until bypassed but it's not too often ye have to endure such hardships and sure it's a lovely part of the world to get stuck in"
We travel to three or four away league games each year haha same as all other counties so we kind of do experience same hardships. Plus I travel around country a lot throughout year non sport wise so I know most counties really well.
adare only has problems because of that little bridge that holds it up all the time abbeyfeale is another town that causes delays all time, much rather take the foynes road if going from m7 through limerick to killarney or tralee as it avoids all that and can get you in quicker if you avoid a tractor haha.
Mountrath used to be very similiar to Virginia before m7 now it's a ghost town only used by cheapskates to avoid the toll haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2017 21:41:04    1953054

Replying To Hardtimes:  "I love a bit of ham meself after a match. Don't know why you'd want to avoid it."
Haha as long as its not Brady's ham haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2017 21:41:47    1953055

Replying To blueman1903:  "Hard to beat a good ham sandwich, with Coleman's mustard"
Oh you ruined it man that stuff stinks haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2017 21:42:38    1953057

Replying To keithlemon:  "Just out of interest, did anyone try the non-toll roads and avoid paying 3 tolls (6 if you count the return) if you lived south of the M50 Blanchardstown exit?"
We travel to three or four away league games each year haha same as all other counties so we kind of do experience same hardships. Plus I travel around country a lot throughout year non sport wise so I know most counties really well.
adare only has problems because of that little bridge that holds it up all the time abbeyfeale is another town that causes delays all time, much rather take the foynes road if going from m7 through limerick to killarney or tralee as it avoids all that and can get you in quicker if you avoid a tractor haha.
Mountrath used to be very similiar to Virginia before m7 now it's a ghost town only used by cheapskates to avoid the toll haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11623

Tomsmith here
Yes the auld road that has no tolls were carrying a lot of extra traffic yesterday
A lots of Dubs ask why the the traffic jam in Virgina. Well I feel that the lovely fresh non polluted Cavan air had an effect on the Dublin Drivers . Yes I understand alot of them stopped to look with fright at Ramour Football field that has an open plan, (most Dublin fans would be looking at games through a high fence on the hill ), and the lovely rolling drumlin hills of Cavan can have an hypnotize effect on City dwellers who only see.....................................
Hopefully some of the plates in Chapels would have benefited from some of youse who would have attended Upper Lavey or Killygarry for Mass, but sure we will not know that untill next week

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3858 - 06/02/2017 23:08:58    1953100

Replying To glasagusdhearg:  "welcome to the world of every other gaa supporter up and down the country where traffic jam's are normal before and after every game"
That was not the question of my original post. I realise there is traffic at matches. But in this case there seem to be bad planning.

I felt like the gardai could have done way more to help the traffic.

In fact I think the Gardai stationed on the roundabouts waving and stopping the traffic actually made the bottle neck worse.

A couple of signs for detours both left and right of the m3 before Virginia, then back on the m3 after the bottle neck.

The traffic would at least have been alleviated.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/02/2017 23:29:04    1953106

hillman - the foynes road is also way more scenic

Dublin lads try getting out of dublin after an all ireland hurling final - up to the junction to get onto kilkenny road it is torture -especially if you lose

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/02/2017 09:55:25    1953541

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "That was not the question of my original post. I realise there is traffic at matches. But in this case there seem to be bad planning.

I felt like the gardai could have done way more to help the traffic.

In fact I think the Gardai stationed on the roundabouts waving and stopping the traffic actually made the bottle neck worse.

A couple of signs for detours both left and right of the m3 before Virginia, then back on the m3 after the bottle neck.

The traffic would at least have been alleviated."
if the traffic problem's in virginia were that easy to fix dont you think it would be done all the time then to help ease the pressure on the thousand's of commuter's that pass through there every week

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 08/02/2017 13:37:05    1953620

Replying To janesboro:  "hillman - the foynes road is also way more scenic

Dublin lads try getting out of dublin after an all ireland hurling final - up to the junction to get onto kilkenny road it is torture -especially if you lose"
I drove to limerick after the all ireland hurling final last year, watched game in house and left 10 mins after throw in and was no traffic problems at all

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/02/2017 14:17:09    1953633

Replying To janesboro:  "hillman - the foynes road is also way more scenic

Dublin lads try getting out of dublin after an all ireland hurling final - up to the junction to get onto kilkenny road it is torture -especially if you lose"
Yeah you can get the ferry across from tarbert to killimer and then drive off to kilkee or Spanish point instead of going around the limerick city way too is handy.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/02/2017 14:20:08    1953636