Will Dublin Weaken

The laws of this world state that all things come to an end, just a question of when, but it will happen. In the meantime we can enjoy the sunshine while it lasts.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 30/01/2017 12:49:30    1950085

It will end, everything runs its course, it will be interesting to see how they fair this year. The 2016 team was not as good as the 2015 team I think. The one thing I would point out is Paul Flynn wasn't as influential as in 2015, he is one of the most important lynch pins on the Dublin team. Everything good passes through him. When he is off form Dublin did struggle against the top teams. The same would apply to Connolly, the best player Dublin had last year. If he is involved in club football until St Patrick's Day then it would be hard to expect him to continue his form into 2017 championship. While the young Dubs are talented, it was the wise old heads who took control against Mayo and the confidence from these leaders had a knock on effect on the rest of the team. It will be interesting to see how both the Dublin fans and team handle the first defeat in a Championship game. That will tell more about the quality of the team than anything. Like a kitted jumper once it starts to unravel then it can be more difficult to stop then anticipated.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 30/01/2017 13:12:38    1950099

Replying To anto_meath:  "It will end, everything runs its course, it will be interesting to see how they fair this year. The 2016 team was not as good as the 2015 team I think. The one thing I would point out is Paul Flynn wasn't as influential as in 2015, he is one of the most important lynch pins on the Dublin team. Everything good passes through him. When he is off form Dublin did struggle against the top teams. The same would apply to Connolly, the best player Dublin had last year. If he is involved in club football until St Patrick's Day then it would be hard to expect him to continue his form into 2017 championship. While the young Dubs are talented, it was the wise old heads who took control against Mayo and the confidence from these leaders had a knock on effect on the rest of the team. It will be interesting to see how both the Dublin fans and team handle the first defeat in a Championship game. That will tell more about the quality of the team than anything. Like a kitted jumper once it starts to unravel then it can be more difficult to stop then anticipated."
It was actually the chislers that took control v Mayo. Kilkenny & Costello . I don't agree that Dublin werent as strong this year either but thats just my opinion. I thought looking at the calibre of players we lost last year we would struggle but thankfully the rest of the boys stood up. We definitely missed Jacks speed from defence to attack for sure though and i am thrilled he's made himself available for this year.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/01/2017 13:37:07    1950107

Replying To Jackeen:  "It was actually the chislers that took control v Mayo. Kilkenny & Costello . I don't agree that Dublin werent as strong this year either but thats just my opinion. I thought looking at the calibre of players we lost last year we would struggle but thankfully the rest of the boys stood up. We definitely missed Jacks speed from defence to attack for sure though and i am thrilled he's made himself available for this year."
Our team looked tired last year.

The extra rest given to them since will hopefully totally reinvigorate them and we will get to see the Dubs refreshed and back to our best, with a couple of new additions and of course Jack is back..!

Bring it on.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 30/01/2017 19:07:10    1950289

What I think will happen Dublin is that in a year or two they will lose a Leinster championship game out of boredom. The boredom factor was to be seen in their play, I think it was in the game against Westmeath last summer. They played brutally bad in the first half that day --they were just going through the motions and had they come up against a better side they'd have been in trouble. Some day they will play that listlessly against a half decent team from Leinster and they'll get caught.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 30/01/2017 22:02:42    1950367

Replying To Jackeen:  "It was actually the chislers that took control v Mayo. Kilkenny & Costello . I don't agree that Dublin werent as strong this year either but thats just my opinion. I thought looking at the calibre of players we lost last year we would struggle but thankfully the rest of the boys stood up. We definitely missed Jacks speed from defence to attack for sure though and i am thrilled he's made himself available for this year."
Yes good points Jackeen, not a lot wrong with what Anto said either, and well written. But yes, IMO Cormac Costello won us an All-Ireland. We were all wondering where CC was, and what was keeping him coming through, and then he stuck out his arm and said 'here I am'. Let's hope this is the start for him, perfect timing for the slow demise of Brogan.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 30/01/2017 22:23:53    1950377

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "What I think will happen Dublin is that in a year or two they will lose a Leinster championship game out of boredom. The boredom factor was to be seen in their play, I think it was in the game against Westmeath last summer. They played brutally bad in the first half that day --they were just going through the motions and had they come up against a better side they'd have been in trouble. Some day they will play that listlessly against a half decent team from Leinster and they'll get caught."
I can see where you're coming from, and you're right, the Westmeath game was a real chore for them.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 30/01/2017 22:25:55    1950381

Quick question for Dublin posters, euan makenna reckons it's inevitable that Dublin will be spilt in 2 in the not too distant future, personally I think that is probably what the gaa have in store why else would they be pumping so much money into the dubs and don't say it's to stop losing young players to soccer and rugby cos if that was the case they'd be doing the same in limerick Galway Cork and Belfast .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2017 15:43:10    1950601

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Quick question for Dublin posters, euan makenna reckons it's inevitable that Dublin will be spilt in 2 in the not too distant future, personally I think that is probably what the gaa have in store why else would they be pumping so much money into the dubs and don't say it's to stop losing young players to soccer and rugby cos if that was the case they'd be doing the same in limerick Galway Cork and Belfast ."
Can't see Dublin being split into two anytime soon. If they were the North team would be strong this year anyway
Cluxton
McMahon
Cooper
Byrne
McCaffrey
Small
Lowndes
McCarthy
Fenton
Flynn
Connolly
Kilkenny
Costello
Brogan
Andrews

Wouldn't be a bad starting 15

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 31/01/2017 16:13:54    1950613

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Quick question for Dublin posters, euan makenna reckons it's inevitable that Dublin will be spilt in 2 in the not too distant future, personally I think that is probably what the gaa have in store why else would they be pumping so much money into the dubs and don't say it's to stop losing young players to soccer and rugby cos if that was the case they'd be doing the same in limerick Galway Cork and Belfast ."
Well if Eaun ....who?......said it,it must be true!Hold on,what's that buzzing noise i hear in the background?Bloody heck,the chainsaw is out already and we are being dissected down the middle as we speak!For the rest of my life i will now dislike my brothers from across the liffey with a fervour i always had for Cork.I just hope they don't put up a wall to keep us apart.That would be a step too far!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/01/2017 16:24:03    1950614

A question I'd like to ask Ewan is what problem does he think splitting Dublin in 2 would solve? If it's to 'even the playing field' they should split Dublin in 10 to give counties like Leitrim, Sligo and Carlow a shot. Of course that would mean splitting Cork, Kerry, Mayo into smaller units too. Or would he be happy if there were two Dublins and 4 or 5 counties in with a shot of winning Sam instead of the 3 or 4 in contention we have now?

The counties are not working as effective units for dividing up the country in sporting terms and they never did. If you want to split Dublin to even things up, you logically have to be in favour of amalgamating some other counties too.

Unless, of course, you just want to hobble Dublin and don't care who wins 3 or 4 All-Irelands in a row as long as it's not Dublin.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 31/01/2017 17:02:13    1950631

Dublin never will or never should be split in two.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1344 - 31/01/2017 17:49:00    1950644

Replying To Mickmick:  "A question I'd like to ask Ewan is what problem does he think splitting Dublin in 2 would solve? If it's to 'even the playing field' they should split Dublin in 10 to give counties like Leitrim, Sligo and Carlow a shot. Of course that would mean splitting Cork, Kerry, Mayo into smaller units too. Or would he be happy if there were two Dublins and 4 or 5 counties in with a shot of winning Sam instead of the 3 or 4 in contention we have now?

The counties are not working as effective units for dividing up the country in sporting terms and they never did. If you want to split Dublin to even things up, you logically have to be in favour of amalgamating some other counties too.

Unless, of course, you just want to hobble Dublin and don't care who wins 3 or 4 All-Irelands in a row as long as it's not Dublin."
A very interesting and thought provoking post. I do think we have a disease of the mind or attitude in this country when it comes to appreciating success. I dont think anyone should have a reason for disliking this current batch of Dublin players. They win well and play the game it should be played. It will either take a massive rise in standard by the Leinster field or fall of standard by the Dubs to close the current gap. If Meath can get their act together, they will push them at least once in the next couple of years. I dont think Kildare have it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 31/01/2017 19:26:52    1950676

Lads I'm only asking the question , as an outsider I'm looking at it and I see the GAA going building a 25,000 seater stadium on the south side of Dublin they could easily do up Parnell park to hold 20,000 people that would be plenty in my view to host north Dublin and south dublins league and Leinster games with Crocker to host the 2 against each other. And isn't it amazing that in all the years this is being discussed that the GAA have never come out and said Dublin won't be split in two.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2017 19:40:56    1950680

Ewan McKenna eh? Not like the Irish to take as word some scribe's opinion in one on the broad sheets, be it politics or sport. Either way, he is wrong, it would be totally counterproductive and the massive Dublin following for big games would fall off, big time, then what are they going to do?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 31/01/2017 20:29:40    1950690

Ewan McKenna is so wrong it will never happen, folks the minute we lose whenever this is In champo this splitting will be completely forgotten about and posters like ulsterman will tell you how this is just an average Dublin team that only won cause everyone else was useless.

One more thing jim Gavin picks his panel from more or less division 1 and 2 in Dublin , I know you all think 1.5 million Dublin people play Gaelic Football but trust me we don't.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/01/2017 21:02:23    1950701

Replying To realdub:  "Ewan McKenna eh? Not like the Irish to take as word some scribe's opinion in one on the broad sheets, be it politics or sport. Either way, he is wrong, it would be totally counterproductive and the massive Dublin following for big games would fall off, big time, then what are they going to do?"
see how the situation develops in the next few years is how i would look at it, but at the end of the day the fact is kildare and meath especially should be much better than they are currently and have been in recent years....they enjoy population advantages over numerous counties so there is no reason they shouldnt be competing..not saying they should be winning all irelands but they should at least be competitive and competing

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 31/01/2017 21:07:29    1950702

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ewan McKenna is so wrong it will never happen, folks the minute we lose whenever this is In champo this splitting will be completely forgotten about and posters like ulsterman will tell you how this is just an average Dublin team that only won cause everyone else was useless.

One more thing jim Gavin picks his panel from more or less division 1 and 2 in Dublin , I know you all think 1.5 million Dublin people play Gaelic Football but trust me we don't."
Yes I don't buy into this crap that we're not that good because we're 'scraping' result in finals. I think it discredits very good Mayo and Kerry teams. This Kerry team is considered average just based on the fact that they're not winning numerous titles, Mayo are an excellent side. Donegal and Tyrone are dangerous.
Yet people say that this Dublin team is one the best team ever to watch when in full flow, so which is it lads?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 31/01/2017 22:17:22    1950733

Replying To realdub:  "Yes I don't buy into this crap that we're not that good because we're 'scraping' result in finals. I think it discredits very good Mayo and Kerry teams. This Kerry team is considered average just based on the fact that they're not winning numerous titles, Mayo are an excellent side. Donegal and Tyrone are dangerous.
Yet people say that this Dublin team is one the best team ever to watch when in full flow, so which is it lads?"
somewhere in between id argue..i think we are a very good side but i do think the standard of opposition we have faced has been limited

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 31/01/2017 22:24:33    1950736

Replying To realdub:  "Yes I don't buy into this crap that we're not that good because we're 'scraping' result in finals. I think it discredits very good Mayo and Kerry teams. This Kerry team is considered average just based on the fact that they're not winning numerous titles, Mayo are an excellent side. Donegal and Tyrone are dangerous.
Yet people say that this Dublin team is one the best team ever to watch when in full flow, so which is it lads?"
It's an exceptional Dublin team, as good as Tyrone and Kerry in the 00's for me. Imagine if this Dublin team had been around then! There would have been some battles.

I also do think they are benefiting from a generally weak field of opponents at the moment. Most of the chasing pack lack quality in key areas.

That's not a criticism btw. We know all about this in Kerry. Every All Ireland we have ever won was 'soft' or 'handy'. Best to laugh it off. You can only beat what is in front of you and all that.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 31/01/2017 22:40:29    1950742