Will Leinster ever be competitive again?

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Typical dub going after the eyes."
Game over for today lads -, Kingdomboy wins it and gets to take the ball home.

I doff my hat sir, very well played.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/01/2017 19:03:47    1949520

Replying To clondalkindub:  "A Kerryman crying when all they have to do
Is win 2 games against hurling counties and their in an all Ireland quarter final."
All certain teams have to win an AI is beat a bunch of teams with a 10th, 20th of its population and a similarly low percent of its financial resources.

There is no such thing as free cars for the hurlers and footballers of Carlow or anywhere else for that matter

BlueGolconda (Dublin) - Posts: 39 - 28/01/2017 19:05:24    1949521

Replying To BlueGolconda:  "Bitter at stating the facts?

The facts are a Dublin kid on average receives €274 per annum in comparison Kerry kid gets €19, Donegal €20, Tyrone €21 Mayo €22

This is before we talk about free top class infrastructure and training facilities, every game at home which gets refs onside, enormous sponsorship resulting in free cars and other such perks, no having to travel half the country for training because the Government decides to let rural Ireland die and wither and the GAA have shamefully betrayed their traditions and followed suit

But yeah it's just bitterness from the rest...................................."
Those figures where reported by the ball.ie via a lad from Twitter, the source numbers where registered senior players of 39k, nothing about underage figures, when they are added those headline figures actually make it look like Dublin need more funding.

You would also ask the question what the hell are other counties doing with their funding, in fact when you add development funding with structural funding, there are big question to be asked by most rural counties in term of what the hell they are using funds for.

When it comes to Dublin funding I would be open to a whole review of it, but only post an audit of every other county boards use of funding not just structural, I would suggest outrage needs to be directed closer to home behind Ivory tower of centres of "excellences", county boards instead of asking for a handout because their teams are not competitve.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/01/2017 19:54:31    1949548

No other county gets Free cars? Are you being serious ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/01/2017 20:28:27    1949555

Replying To TheUsername:  "Those figures where reported by the ball.ie via a lad from Twitter, the source numbers where registered senior players of 39k, nothing about underage figures, when they are added those headline figures actually make it look like Dublin need more funding.

You would also ask the question what the hell are other counties doing with their funding, in fact when you add development funding with structural funding, there are big question to be asked by most rural counties in term of what the hell they are using funds for.

When it comes to Dublin funding I would be open to a whole review of it, but only post an audit of every other county boards use of funding not just structural, I would suggest outrage needs to be directed closer to home behind Ivory tower of centres of "excellences", county boards instead of asking for a handout because their teams are not competitve."
You are in no position to moralise about COE's when Dublin have had one built for them without having to raise a penny for it

For years Dublin fans have claimed that there is far more sports to compete with - that's fair enough I agree with that sentiment buty you you then can't use the 1.5m population as justification for the enormous funding figures year after year

it should be based per capita with preference given to the smallest populations ideally.

BlueGolconda (Dublin) - Posts: 39 - 28/01/2017 20:32:43    1949557

Replying To clondalkindub:  "No other county gets Free cars? Are you being serious ?"
About 5 counties I would say and that is at a push

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 28/01/2017 20:46:51    1949561

Replying To BlueGolconda:  "You are in no position to moralise about COE's when Dublin have had one built for them without having to raise a penny for it

For years Dublin fans have claimed that there is far more sports to compete with - that's fair enough I agree with that sentiment buty you you then can't use the 1.5m population as justification for the enormous funding figures year after year

it should be based per capita with preference given to the smallest populations ideally."
Dublin don't use the facility mate, apart from the weight room and that's an open thing rather than part of the programme. All of Dublins training takes place in different sites in the city and remains so. Surely you are aware that we are building a better facility on a 25 acre site in templouge. If you can tell me how often Dublin have trained at Abbotstown I'll concede its Dublins coi? Truth is counties invested in fools gold and some use of funding is questionable, as I said I'm open to Dublins funding being reviewed post an audit if every other county board in the country. Do you ever wonder why, county boards aren't millitant on this very issue if it's the scandal many make it out to be.

I agree, funding should be given per captia, but if you are basing a funding arguement on the figures given above on the 39k registered GAA players, those figures aren't reflective of underage and were published by other media outlets not for the purposes he originally accumulated the data. He himself has said it doesn't take into account junior and other underage while duel player representing hasn't been accounted for. it's not uncommon 3000 kids can be represented every weekend at one Dublin club of which there are many. The lad who posted those figures originally has said their are vast inacricies in hoe they were reported, it just makes the argument hyperbole. Especially when the grant is for structural funding.

Dublin have many advantages, population to my mind being the biggest in modern society, that not going to change, but great work has Debden done by the county board to optimise its natural strengths. I'm wholly open to a funding rethink as I don't think it will make a hot of difference as I believe other counties deficiencies aren't really funding based. I'm honestly open to a funding review, but I would be pushing our county board to audit other counties as there is an inherent problem there.

Historically Dublin have always been a powerhouse of GAA, I recent success just as a natural extension of our historical profile after a period of poor structural management. The earth.can be shook all it wants, but visiting clubs around the country Dublin GAA has never been stronger.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/01/2017 20:57:33    1949567

Dublin Mayo Kerry Kilkenny tipperary Cork Galway Tyrone Donegal Clare off the top of my head I've seen them teams players with free cars so 5 is way off.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/01/2017 21:01:30    1949569

Individual players yes but I was talking about the entire squads of both hurlers and footballers getting cars

BlueGolconda (Dublin) - Posts: 39 - 28/01/2017 21:11:13    1949573

Dublin have always had a population advantage - even when they were shite. The championship is unfair and has always been unfair. When you divide the 32 teams into their provincial championships, you would think it would be 4 groups of 8-not groups of 12,9,6 and 5. The league is very fair. The fairest that we have anyway. Each team plays each of the teams at the their own level. Dublin have won that three times in a row as well.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 28/01/2017 21:41:03    1949580

Dublin don't receive 50% of the development money.

Dublin receive 50% of the money paid directly to the county boards.

Money is also distributed to provincial councils which is used for development officers. So Dublin actually get roughly 20% of development money. It's just allocated in a different manner. Which makes sense. Population wise Dublin county is huge. The Leinster council are free to coordinate development in the other 11 counties.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 28/01/2017 21:53:54    1949587

Replying To Whammo86:  "Dublin don't receive 50% of the development money.

Dublin receive 50% of the money paid directly to the county boards.

Money is also distributed to provincial councils which is used for development officers. So Dublin actually get roughly 20% of development money. It's just allocated in a different manner. Which makes sense. Population wise Dublin county is huge. The Leinster council are free to coordinate development in the other 11 counties."
a Dublin kid on average receives €274 per annum in comparison Kerry kid gets €19, Donegal €20, Tyrone €21 Mayo €22

The big urban areas such as Belfast Galway Cork Limerick and Cork have received pitiful funding in comparison how can you possibly think it's fair or acceptable. Rich get richer

BlueGolconda (Dublin) - Posts: 39 - 28/01/2017 22:02:34    1949589

Can I ask this question, people from around the capital region would know more than me in Mayo about this but how many players from neighbouring counties are playing in Dublin, I can't understand how lads from the west coast from Donegal to Kerry are working in the UK but fly home to play with their home club every week or fortnight yet lads born and raised in Louth, Meath, Kildare and Wicklow who are working in Dublin but choose to play for a Dublin club rather than the club they played for at underage in their home county and more or less never get to play for their home county, surely traffic isn't that bad that you can't travel home for a game every Saturday or Sunday even during the boom people from the west working in Dublin travelled home every weekend for club games, with the amount of money and jobs in the capital you would expect Louth, Meath, Kildare and Wicklow to have stronger teams but I suppose funding at underage level may be the problem. Regardless of how good or poor your team is you have to be proud to wear the county jersey

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 28/01/2017 22:03:06    1949590

Replying To BlueGolconda:  "a Dublin kid on average receives €274 per annum in comparison Kerry kid gets €19, Donegal €20, Tyrone €21 Mayo €22

The big urban areas such as Belfast Galway Cork Limerick and Cork have received pitiful funding in comparison how can you possibly think it's fair or acceptable. Rich get richer"
That's not true.

Counties other than Dublin get development officers provided for them by their provincial councils.

A Kerry child is getting money spent on them by both the Kerry board and Munster council.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/dublin-claiming-the-bulk-of-gaa-s-development-funds-1.2091641%3Fmode%3Damp?client=safari

Around 18 per cent of that revenue (€9.5 million) goes back to games development at provincial and county level, which is where Dublin's €1.46 million jumped out.

Many of the smaller counties (Leitrim, Longford, Monaghan, etc) received just €39,000, although GAA director general Páraic Duffy was quick to point out that this was not comparing like with like, highlighting the fact Dublin employs its own coaching and games administrators, while in all other counties they are employed by the province

Other counties in Leinster, for example, would have their games development paid from the province allocation of €1.63 million; yet Duffy agreed there was still something of a discrepancy.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 28/01/2017 22:56:52    1949606

Replying To BlueGolconda:  "Individual players yes but I was talking about the entire squads of both hurlers and footballers getting cars"
The entire Dublin hurling n football squads don't get cars and that is a fact. A lot do just like in all the other counties I named but not them all. Your all freaked out about this money thing, you think at underage we have these coaches doing these crazy training sessions when it couldn't be further from the truth. My club underage teams is 90% the parents training them and half them parents haven't a clue about Gaelic football they just have their kids up there cause they think Gaa is a good environment to be in instead of their kids hanging around the streets.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/01/2017 23:13:04    1949616

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Is it really a Leinster problem or just unlucky that these counties happen to be in Leinster ? What I mean is if you swap all The Connaught teams besides Mayo with the Leinster teams we would still walk the Leinster championship like wise if you swap the Munster counties besides Kerry with Leinster counties Dublin would still walk the championship, so i think Daith's problem is more his county than anything else."
well we have our advantages obviously but still there is no excuse for kildare and meath especially being this poor for so long...its become shocking..at least counties like monaghan are generally getting the very best out of themselves despite a limited pool of players

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/01/2017 23:34:07    1949623

Replying To alano12:  "well we have our advantages obviously but still there is no excuse for kildare and meath especially being this poor for so long...its become shocking..at least counties like monaghan are generally getting the very best out of themselves despite a limited pool of players"
Agree with you there, Meath and Kildare at a disadvantage but still underachieving

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 28/01/2017 23:56:54    1949633

Kildare have won 3 of the last 4 Leinster minor so should be scope to get competitive at senior there

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 29/01/2017 08:09:13    1949652

Unless they split Dublin into two teams. Leinster championship is effectively over as a competition

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 29/01/2017 09:10:58    1949658

As a man, who spent the first fifteen years of his life in Dublin to galway parents, before moving to galway permanently, the issue isn't simply funding. I remember talking to my da 1 year after I moved in 1993 and saying that if Dublin ever go their act together, the rest of the country would have no hope. The funding goes primarily to coaching. Dublin GAA have 50 plus coaches, which is slightly less than the rest of the country combined. This imbalance needs to be addressed. What was done in Dublin could be done on a smaller scale in cork, Limerick, galway and especially Belfast.

I've for a long time thought their should be two or more county teams in Dublin. Can't see it happening in my lifetime. I think this would even strengthen the Dublin GAA, as the third string dubs who beat kildare shows how many good players there are in Dublin, but of playing for Dublin is an unrealistic goal. The dubs have such a pick, they don't even need to go to inter and junior clubs like every other county does. I don't think Dublin GAA has made a great effort in expanding the game into non traditional areas and very few new clubs are formed. This should be the focus of funding IMAO.

The final issue no one is talking about is the migration, and with it the genetic drain to Dublin. Think of all the future sons of current county players living in Dublin, and you only see Dublin becoming stronger. Which is why the only long term solution is to split them at the liffey, or along county council lines. You'd still have 2 to 4 excellent teams, would create new rivalries, and I think would add new life to the GAA. If two counties, both would have a bigger population than cork, if four, one would have the population of cork, and the other three of galway, which will only grow. At least leinster would be competitive.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 29/01/2017 09:16:27    1949661