What Makes Gaelic Football superior to others?

15 individual battles within a 70 minute war used to be a huge part of the enjoyment of it for me. Now that much of that has been removed it is just the huge range of skills and the artistry of the occasional maverick playing the game.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 26/01/2017 21:50:48    1949078

When it's played well it's the best sport of all.Very few games in any sport compare to the AI final replay or Dublin Kerry semi final match.The reason it's so good is because it has a bit of everything to it.Speed,toughness,skill,goals,points,teamwork,individual brilliance,high fielding, great saves.

Too many meaningless games are played and too many teams are far too defensive both the rules and competitions structures need to change in order to get the best out of it.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 26/01/2017 21:52:11    1949079

Replying To offalyfaithful:  "Alright, I'm not gonna whine about hand passing and blanket defences.. but think about it. What has made our kind of football more exciting than other sports? Just going for it. Man vs Man. Basketball is a possession game where lads get bitched out if they mess up.. where does that fit in with the Irish psyche? I'm asking what made us think we were superior to other sports in the past? We can't continue bragging we have Gaelic Football and say it's better than soccer, rugby, basketball when our sport is just the same.. hold possession and we'll eventually win this lads. F*** this. Wasted talent.. these fellas could be enjoying their football. And we'd enjoy it too."
You kind of are having a whinge about hand passes and blanket defences though aren't you?

Lets be honest about 'the good oul days', they were no role model example of superiority over professional sports. It was common practice for players to get away with assault. Endless amounts of aimless hoofs up the pitch with tactics seeming alien to most on the field. Not to mention the intercounty beer belly. Not a great comparison to professional sport was it?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 26/01/2017 22:00:30    1949080

Of course Gaelic Football used to be the greatest sport of all time until Jim McGuiness came along and ruined it for everyone.

Or was in Mickey Harte that ruined it? Or maybe Kernan and his Armagh boyos?

Come to think about it maybe it was Seán Boylan and his Meath tough men. Or maybe Micko and his basketball players in the 70s that ruined football.

Actually I think I heard it was Down team of the 60s that ruined everything. Or was that the Galway 3 in a row side that actually ruined it?

In anyways we all know, that despite it being the biggest sport in the country by attendance at matches, TV audiences combined with player numbers, it is dying and is now the worst sport in the world.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 27/01/2017 08:18:40    1949123

Wrong question. OK to list the aspects that make any sport enjoyable - but *without running down other sports in the process*. All sports are great. Gaelic football has given me some of the best memories of my life and it is my favourite sport. But I also enjoy motorbike racing, skiing, soccer, boxing - any sport is good and we can enjoy our favourite / all sports without feeling the need to have (inevitably mean-spirited) comparisons with other sports. Leave that sort of superiority complex b/s to the Irish soccer fraternity.
essmac (Tyrone) - Posts:186 - 26/01/2017 18:58:38

bar the last sentence in bold id agree with all of this --- rugby, hurling,football and would be my favourites,i enjoy playing them,enjoy watching my kids play them and enjoy coaching them equally but i enjoy other sports too horse racing, nfl, aussie rules rugby league soccer, athletics,

why do people feel the need to post purely just to denegrate other sports, when i go on rugby forums they dont go bashing gaa -nowhere near as much as Rugby and soccer get bashed here

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 27/01/2017 09:43:45    1949139

Replying To janesboro:  "Wrong question. OK to list the aspects that make any sport enjoyable - but *without running down other sports in the process*. All sports are great. Gaelic football has given me some of the best memories of my life and it is my favourite sport. But I also enjoy motorbike racing, skiing, soccer, boxing - any sport is good and we can enjoy our favourite / all sports without feeling the need to have (inevitably mean-spirited) comparisons with other sports. Leave that sort of superiority complex b/s to the Irish soccer fraternity.
essmac (Tyrone) - Posts:186 - 26/01/2017 18:58:38

bar the last sentence in bold id agree with all of this --- rugby, hurling,football and would be my favourites,i enjoy playing them,enjoy watching my kids play them and enjoy coaching them equally but i enjoy other sports too horse racing, nfl, aussie rules rugby league soccer, athletics,

why do people feel the need to post purely just to denegrate other sports, when i go on rugby forums they dont go bashing gaa -nowhere near as much as Rugby and soccer get bashed here"
It's practically impossible to read anything about Rugby on social media without a reference to "This is not soccer". It's a bizarre obsession. Anything that happens in Rugby, positive or negative, is immediately spun into a context of it not being soccer.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 27/01/2017 10:51:52    1949154

breffni - see your point - dont use that analogy myself - works vice versa its not right when rugby fellas bash other sports either-rugby and gaa cant compare to soccer when it comes to worldwide support

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 27/01/2017 11:17:37    1949157

ye are all mad!

Sure dont ye know Hurling is the greatest game of all time ever played anywhere in the world ever ever in the history of the world galaxy mily way and turkish delight
I thought this was understood by all gaels as a fact
Surent wasnt Marty campaigning to have the AI Hurling final day declared a national holiday
Didnt Liam Griffin say nothing in ireland compares to the fever that grips a nation on national hurling day.........i mean all ireland hurling final day...

Did ye miss the memo?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/01/2017 11:31:56    1949160

This clip might go so way to describing the strengths of football: https://www.facebook.com/bbcbreakfast/videos/1455071791173621/

A wide range of skills, physicality, athleticism, tactical variety...

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 27/01/2017 11:54:42    1949169

It has to be siting beside auld-lads in the stand and listening to them having the pure craic while commentating on the game.

Its comic gold!

"Ya wouldn't knock shnow off a rope"

Also, we have Cyril Farrell - the quote maestro himself!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 27/01/2017 13:58:04    1949205

Replying To TheHermit:  "Now that's a bit unfair

Sure it was Mickey Harte who began its downfall and ruination

Oh for the days of the catch and kick and the boys of Barr na Sráide who hunted for the wren...

:D"
Tyrone didn't invent the blanket defence. The early Mickey Harte teams was all about manic aggressive tackling in swarms. It was really intense and they were involved in some absolute crackers. The Kerry Tyrone game in 2008 was one of the best final I remember.

It's funny I saw a clip of Kerry from 1997 against Cavan on youtube and they were at the exact same thing but fir some reason Tyrone got all the negative press.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 27/01/2017 16:56:08    1949276