The young ones 2017

Just a post for anyone attending minor under twenty ones this year either code , will be in Parnell park on Sunday hopefully to watch my son play Dublin North v Dublin South in hurling Senior Colleges game winner to take on Kilkenny CBS next week , quite a few dual players (u17) involved my own lad included .
Anyone see anything worth talking about just pop it up over the year ,
A point on minor we have not had much success since we started insisting on lads at minor choosing a code , last year a couple of the lads who chose hurling were seriously missed by the footballers , didn't think it did C Kilkenny Cormac and Eric any harm ????
Wonder if same policy will continue.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/01/2017 13:41:50    1948945

Replying To Damothedub:  "Just a post for anyone attending minor under twenty ones this year either code , will be in Parnell park on Sunday hopefully to watch my son play Dublin North v Dublin South in hurling Senior Colleges game winner to take on Kilkenny CBS next week , quite a few dual players (u17) involved my own lad included .
Anyone see anything worth talking about just pop it up over the year ,
A point on minor we have not had much success since we started insisting on lads at minor choosing a code , last year a couple of the lads who chose hurling were seriously missed by the footballers , didn't think it did C Kilkenny Cormac and Eric any harm ????
Wonder if same policy will continue."
Your a Peregrinnes man Damo arent ya?I see there's one young Peregrinnes lad on Dubs north minor team.Keep us posted on the minors progress if you can as i wont get to see much,if any,action unless we reach a Leinster or All Ireland final.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/01/2017 16:58:49    1949007

Replying To cuederocket:  "Your a Peregrinnes man Damo arent ya?I see there's one young Peregrinnes lad on Dubs north minor team.Keep us posted on the minors progress if you can as i wont get to see much,if any,action unless we reach a Leinster or All Ireland final."
Don't be outing me man ,
seriously yep that's my lad , just made the 17s football as well u17 , couldn't be prouder ,
have always watched to see who is coming along ,huge fan of Feile etc
On the game on Sunday South would be deemed player clubwise to be ahead of the North , however North have had the harder games v Offaly and Wexford and league games v St Keirans , that gives battle hardened North a chance

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/01/2017 17:19:07    1949017

Replying To Damothedub:  "Don't be outing me man ,
seriously yep that's my lad , just made the 17s football as well u17 , couldn't be prouder ,
have always watched to see who is coming along ,huge fan of Feile etc
On the game on Sunday South would be deemed player clubwise to be ahead of the North , however North have had the harder games v Offaly and Wexford and league games v St Keirans , that gives battle hardened North a chance"
Ha,i was reading between the lines and put one & one together and got two!.

Fair play to the young lad.I played 3 games for south Dublin U16 v Kilkenny,Offaly and north Dublin about 25 years ago and still have the photos somewhere.Unfortunately i hit the drink hard quite young and lost my way and my career was finished at 17!Before it even started you could say.Something i regret to this day and always will.

Once your lad is happy and healthy and enjoying what hes doing,its all good.Who knows,all Dubs posters here could be seeing him on the hallowed turf in years to come.No pressure hey!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/01/2017 17:43:46    1949024

Fair play Damo best of luck to your young lad I see his name on the north team so I'll be keeping an eye out for him in the future.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/01/2017 19:39:50    1949049

Damo what's the story with the Southside team having a scu ui chonaill and a Vincent's player in their team?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2017 20:33:05    1949062

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Damo what's the story with the Southside team having a scu ui chonaill and a Vincent's player in their team?"
Sorry hill thought I'd replied already , lads represent their college , unusual as it is those lads are in colleges on the south side hence their playing for south side colleges ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/01/2017 22:20:35    1949087

Ah come on Hill silly question these lads obviously want a proper education and we all know you can only get that on the southside.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/01/2017 22:29:55    1949090

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah come on Hill silly question these lads obviously want a proper education and we all know you can only get that on the southside."
Heehee

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/01/2017 22:57:31    1949102

Replying To Damothedub:  "Sorry hill thought I'd replied already , lads represent their college , unusual as it is those lads are in colleges on the south side hence their playing for south side colleges ,"
But it's under 17 I thaught? so that means secondary school not college as in DCU and ucd and the likes yeah?
Mad to think somebody would be going to school somewhere on Southside and playing for clubs in Marino and dollymount areas at that age it's a fair distance, I wonder do they live where the school's or the clubs are then?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2017 23:44:42    1949105

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah come on Hill silly question these lads obviously want a proper education and we all know you can only get that on the southside."
Clondalkin comp haha only education they be getting out there is how to survive in the hood!!!!!

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2017 23:47:48    1949106

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Clondalkin comp haha only education they be getting out there is how to survive in the hood!!!!!"
Low blow man.There's only been 4 murders in Lucan/Clondalkin in last 3 months.Halloween bonfire beating,Duck Egg,The Guinea Pig and a 6 mile 3am car chase.Other than that it's a really quiet part of the capital.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/01/2017 09:48:56    1949143

Replying To hill16no1man:  "But it's under 17 I thaught? so that means secondary school not college as in DCU and ucd and the likes yeah?
Mad to think somebody would be going to school somewhere on Southside and playing for clubs in Marino and dollymount areas at that age it's a fair distance, I wonder do they live where the school's or the clubs are then?"
Honestly don't know , could've started out with a club , moved house moved jobs n schools etc but stayed with clubs

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/01/2017 10:17:04    1949151

Replying To cuederocket:  "Low blow man.There's only been 4 murders in Lucan/Clondalkin in last 3 months.Halloween bonfire beating,Duck Egg,The Guinea Pig and a 6 mile 3am car chase.Other than that it's a really quiet part of the capital."
What can I say I play a lot of ground hurling haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/01/2017 10:49:52    1949153

Anyone tune into Matt Coopers sports hour on Today FM today?Dont know what what GAA journalist they had on but he predicted Dublin underage to be split north v south in the coming years and eventually for the county to be split.Senan Connell,who i find to be a poor enough pundit,didn't argue against it and made some stupid joke about splitting the hill for games between the two!I was disgusted with this horse manure waffle.No way it's going to happen.Other counties may have to amalgamate down the road (thats what i feel anyway) but no way we are going to be split in half!Northsiders and Southsiders,Dubs one and all!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/01/2017 21:35:55    1949342

Cue it will never happen, Dublin is the biggest draw in the Gaa just like man united in soccer or the La Lakers in basketball , why would they destroy the biggest gig they've got? They won't, it will never happen. This nside/sside thing bugs me were all Dubliners.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/01/2017 00:11:24    1949364

Nice touch after the lads knock seven lumps out of each other today , meal organised for both teams together and tea sambos for families , Dublin together again never divided

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/01/2017 09:11:28    1949659

Replying To Damothedub:  "Nice touch after the lads knock seven lumps out of each other today , meal organised for both teams together and tea sambos for families , Dublin together again never divided"
I played in the north v south games myself they are great experience hope he enjoys it and a north win haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/01/2017 09:43:34    1949668

Replying To cuederocket:  "Anyone tune into Matt Coopers sports hour on Today FM today?Dont know what what GAA journalist they had on but he predicted Dublin underage to be split north v south in the coming years and eventually for the county to be split.Senan Connell,who i find to be a poor enough pundit,didn't argue against it and made some stupid joke about splitting the hill for games between the two!I was disgusted with this horse manure waffle.No way it's going to happen.Other counties may have to amalgamate down the road (thats what i feel anyway) but no way we are going to be split in half!Northsiders and Southsiders,Dubs one and all!"
It is more likely that they'll split Dublin then amalgamate smaller counties , it would make more since to the gaa as they could make more money from two Dublin teams.
From what I can see they're already doing it with ye'r underage so it wouldn't be a massive jump to push it at senior.
In fairness is there anything ye can do to stop it? I mean if the rest of the country vote for it at congress.

TheGhost1 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 29/01/2017 12:53:05    1949714

Replying To TheGhost1:  "It is more likely that they'll split Dublin then amalgamate smaller counties , it would make more since to the gaa as they could make more money from two Dublin teams.
From what I can see they're already doing it with ye'r underage so it wouldn't be a massive jump to push it at senior.
In fairness is there anything ye can do to stop it? I mean if the rest of the country vote for it at congress."
Not sure if you're on the wind up or not but of course there's something they can do about it.

Refuse to play.

Leave the gaa with the option of one Dublin or no Dublin.

What do you think they'd choose?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 29/01/2017 14:24:59    1949734