Spawell site for Dublin Gaa?

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What Dublin club is struggling? Every club in Dublin I go out to has unbelievable facilities , every staduim in Ireland is a car park on match day Parnell Park being one of the worst and that can only hold 9 thousand , this is a staduim built just off the m50 what more could you ask for? So Wayne who has no interest in Dublin club football would rather they help out struggling clubs in Dublin than build a brand new stadium for Dublin wtf that makes loads of sense. I'm telling you when it's built and it's packed jammed on March days you'll all love it. And the money it makes we can buy hurleys and helmets and footballs and jerseys and whatever you like. It's being built so just get behind it and stop being negative ffs."
Are you serious in saying that no Dublin clubs are struggling?

That's an amazingly out of touch remark.

I'm not going to start naming out clubs that I know are struggling to keep the show on the road but there are plenty. Far more than are thriving financially for a start. It takes a massive effort by volunteers to keep clubs going year on year so yeah maybe the massive amount of money for stadium could be better spent to alleviate the strain on clubs. There are almost 100 GAA clubs in Dublin. Some have great facilities but most do not and there are still areas in which we could have more clubs.

And then they pick a location for the white elephant that is at best alright. If they're spending this huge amount of money you'd hope for better than sticking a stadium in a concrete car park on the edge of town beside the ring road. Atmospheric! Maybe the Spawell is the best location that they can get and if so fair enough but just because it is the best available option does not mean that it is a very good option.

They're spending all this money, that could maybe be better spent, and what will we get out of it? A fine bland all seater stadium which caps our attendances at 25k and is far removed from the centre of town and difficult to get to without sitting in traffic outside it for ages as the only public transport to it will be over subscribed. I'm sorry I'm not more excited Clondalkin but it isn't a very attractive proposal. It's a 4 out of 10 idea. It'll be grand. I'd rather aim a little higher to be honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 20/01/2017 11:51:39    1947305

Thats the way i see it anyway.Only time will tell i guess but why dont we wait until its up and running and give it a chance before knocking it?

All the best lads.Im off for a curer as i have the shakes worse than Mark Selby's cue action (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4921 - 20/01/2017 11:21:53

Enjoy London bud.

What's the point in complaining about something after the fact? Makes no sense.

As I've said this stadium will be ok. I'd like to aim a little higher than ok. I'm very glad that the likes of Gilroy and Gavin didn't aim for ok.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 20/01/2017 11:54:04    1947308

I only read the first part;

Yes my club is in serious debt but will keep on going and eventually get tru it like we always do , it wouldn't for one minute stop me from wanting a new stadium built.

Haha Cue some of these lads have never been to Templeogue before in there lives they get the shakes just thinking about having to travel over there.

It's being built get behind it and give over the silliness ffs your going on like Mother Theresa.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/01/2017 12:01:59    1947311

Replying To waynoI:  "All seater ? Nonsense.

Why ?

I hate sitting at sporting events.

There should be a standing area for those who prefer to stand at matches.

The fact there isn't a terrace (covered) in the plans is my biggest disappointment.

I'm with Mes on this though for the reasons he outlined.

Think its spending for spendings sake."
What plans are you talking about Waynol? There's been none released for the spawell site as far as I know, even the 25k capacity isn't set in stone. BTW, it's possible that the co. board is buying the (less valuable) part of the site that's zoned sport/leisure and leave the commercial part with the investment fund.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 20/01/2017 12:03:03    1947313

Replying To MesAmis:  "Thats the way i see it anyway.Only time will tell i guess but why dont we wait until its up and running and give it a chance before knocking it?

All the best lads.Im off for a curer as i have the shakes worse than Mark Selby's cue action (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4921 - 20/01/2017 11:21:53

Enjoy London bud.

What's the point in complaining about something after the fact? Makes no sense.

As I've said this stadium will be ok. I'd like to aim a little higher than ok. I'm very glad that the likes of Gilroy and Gavin didn't aim for ok."
Cheers pal.I'm enjoying it.First pub i dropped into yesterday in Finnsbury Park there was a Galway barman and two Tyrone lads so naturally enough the spiel quickly turned to all things GAA.

I have listened to all Dublin posters concerns and objections and some are valid,no doubt.But for everything that was ever built in the world im sure there have been some objections.I'm keeping an open mind on this one.Only time will tell whether it will serve Dublin GAA well or not.Id be fairly confident that it will.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/01/2017 12:19:25    1947320

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I only read the first part;

Yes my club is in serious debt but will keep on going and eventually get tru it like we always do , it wouldn't for one minute stop me from wanting a new stadium built.

Haha Cue some of these lads have never been to Templeogue before in there lives they get the shakes just thinking about having to travel over there.

It's being built get behind it and give over the silliness ffs your going on like Mother Theresa."
It's not definitely being built yet. They haven't even bought the land bud.

Don't know what you Mother Theresa thing is about. I'm merely pointing out that the Dublin County Board are planning on spending a huge amount of money on something that'll be, at best, alright when there are many clubs in huge debt and struggling, as well as areas into which they could be looking to get more clubs off the ground.

These are all extremely legitimate concerns and all you've got to comeback is that I'm complaining because it's on the other side of Dublin to me. A complaint I've never once had and have repeatedly pointed out to you yet you've failed miserably to comprehend.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 20/01/2017 12:29:38    1947327

Dublin should be looking to get 50k attendance for league games. They are better games than Leinster championship games and against better quality teams.
Perhaps they should spend some money reducing ticket prices and promoting league games instead of wasting money on vanity projects.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 20/01/2017 12:34:16    1947329

This site does not make any sense at all. Firstly, look at any club in dublin and tell me that it is not capable of handling a Dublin training session. Its not as if they are doing something wrong here in their training, so why do they need a centre of excellence in the first place?

When you look at the needs outside of the Capital, you would have to consider the benefits of a stadium somewhere else over this proposed development.

Athlone is a prime location that could serve both Westmeath and Roscommon, as well as allowing Galway to use it for their rugby. Couple this with a neutral venue for qualifying games in the back door, and you are on a winner.

Look at the experience of Pairc Ui Caoimh. It is costing 80 million euro. A similar capacity stadium in the UK recently had an upgrade at 30 million euro (Birmingham City). It will be used to capacity once a year for a hurling game. The munster football final never draws more than 25000 to the cork venue. A spectacular waste of money.

I am not against another stadium, but am against a needless one. Athlone could be the answer to many scenarios. The Spawell is not. It already is off to a bad start with a sale of 9 million euro to the GAA having being purchased for 1 million. I think reasonable people see the trend here.

The word centre of excellence basically means 3 all weather pitches side by side with a club house for the suits to gather and discuss business. I am not sure we need another one of those in this country.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/01/2017 12:42:17    1947334

Replying To Donegalman:  "This site does not make any sense at all. Firstly, look at any club in dublin and tell me that it is not capable of handling a Dublin training session. Its not as if they are doing something wrong here in their training, so why do they need a centre of excellence in the first place?

When you look at the needs outside of the Capital, you would have to consider the benefits of a stadium somewhere else over this proposed development.

Athlone is a prime location that could serve both Westmeath and Roscommon, as well as allowing Galway to use it for their rugby. Couple this with a neutral venue for qualifying games in the back door, and you are on a winner.

Look at the experience of Pairc Ui Caoimh. It is costing 80 million euro. A similar capacity stadium in the UK recently had an upgrade at 30 million euro (Birmingham City). It will be used to capacity once a year for a hurling game. The munster football final never draws more than 25000 to the cork venue. A spectacular waste of money.

I am not against another stadium, but am against a needless one. Athlone could be the answer to many scenarios. The Spawell is not. It already is off to a bad start with a sale of 9 million euro to the GAA having being purchased for 1 million. I think reasonable people see the trend here.

The word centre of excellence basically means 3 all weather pitches side by side with a club house for the suits to gather and discuss business. I am not sure we need another one of those in this country."
Dublin don't need a centre of excellence you say but you want a stadium in Athlone ? Your missing the point, what I am against is these big capital projects, the money should be pumped into Clubs & games & invested in children. I also suggested Abbotstown could be used by the Dubs for a centre of excellence instead of building one. You are suggesting a stadium in Athlone, not far away you have two Brillant stadiums in Tullamore & Portlaoise, too many stadia & not enough investment in what are the grassroots of the Association. However you can see even from a forum like this the majority don't care about clubs or are involved in them, no it's all about inter county, stadiums, TV rights & so on.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 20/01/2017 15:24:46    1947382

Replying To MesAmis:  "Are you serious in saying that no Dublin clubs are struggling?

That's an amazingly out of touch remark.

I'm not going to start naming out clubs that I know are struggling to keep the show on the road but there are plenty. Far more than are thriving financially for a start. It takes a massive effort by volunteers to keep clubs going year on year so yeah maybe the massive amount of money for stadium could be better spent to alleviate the strain on clubs. There are almost 100 GAA clubs in Dublin. Some have great facilities but most do not and there are still areas in which we could have more clubs.

And then they pick a location for the white elephant that is at best alright. If they're spending this huge amount of money you'd hope for better than sticking a stadium in a concrete car park on the edge of town beside the ring road. Atmospheric! Maybe the Spawell is the best location that they can get and if so fair enough but just because it is the best available option does not mean that it is a very good option.

They're spending all this money, that could maybe be better spent, and what will we get out of it? A fine bland all seater stadium which caps our attendances at 25k and is far removed from the centre of town and difficult to get to without sitting in traffic outside it for ages as the only public transport to it will be over subscribed. I'm sorry I'm not more excited Clondalkin but it isn't a very attractive proposal. It's a 4 out of 10 idea. It'll be grand. I'd rather aim a little higher to be honest."
And then they pick a location for the white elephant that is at best alright.

Do you honestly think it'll be a white elephant? I'd have thought it'd get a fair bit of usage between league games, hurling and football (a conservative minimum of 3 for football, 2 for hurling); OBC / Walsh cup games (PP could cater for these but wouldn't the CB want to use their new toy?); club games (plenty of prominent south side clubs in the area who are likely to do well in the Dublin championships - hurling and football); early Dublin home championship football games; most Dublin home championship hurling games; other inter county games as a neutral venue (despite traffic concerns, it would arguably be one of the most accessible stadia going) etc.

Whatever about the other arguments for and against, I'd actually reckon it'd potentially be one of the most used stadia in the country.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 20/01/2017 16:45:26    1947399

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "And then they pick a location for the white elephant that is at best alright.

Do you honestly think it'll be a white elephant? I'd have thought it'd get a fair bit of usage between league games, hurling and football (a conservative minimum of 3 for football, 2 for hurling); OBC / Walsh cup games (PP could cater for these but wouldn't the CB want to use their new toy?); club games (plenty of prominent south side clubs in the area who are likely to do well in the Dublin championships - hurling and football); early Dublin home championship football games; most Dublin home championship hurling games; other inter county games as a neutral venue (despite traffic concerns, it would arguably be one of the most accessible stadia going) etc.

Whatever about the other arguments for and against, I'd actually reckon it'd potentially be one of the most used stadia in the country."
Is it worth all the cash to have a slightly better stadium to hold club games?

It'll get used alright but will it be worth it?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 20/01/2017 17:10:04    1947401

Donegalman (All) - Posts:2711 - 20/01/2017

Good Lord, Donegalman. I'd have to disagree with pretty much 100% of what you said:

This site does not make any sense at all. Firstly, look at any club in dublin and tell me that it is not capable of handling a Dublin training session.

Depends on what you need. There are several clubs whose pitches / grounds are big enough to host games but would struggle to host a full Dublin squad training session. My own club's home pitch, Kilmacud / Páirc de Burca, would struggle badly.

Its not as if they are doing something wrong here in their training, so why do they need a centre of excellence in the first place?

You stay still in your methods, you get overtaken. Every county team is looking to improve in any way they can.

This is about whether Dublin GAA should look to purchase the Spawell site and build their home stadium there. It has very little to do with the needs of other counties. If the funds being used to facilitate this are being drawn from a common pool meaning other counties miss out, then that's worth a separate debate. I've read nothing to this effect, so far.

Athlone has nothing to do with Dublin GAA's choice of venue for a stadium. There are also a few reasonably sized stadia not far from here so the midlands really doesn't need a new 25,000 seater stadium.

Look at the experience of Pairc Ui Caoimh. It is costing 80 million euro...

The Spawell project has very few parallels with PUC. It is likely to host more games, is more accessible, has a very different fan base and has commercial potential that PUC hasn't. PUC is also being paid for in large amount by the GAA and the tax payer - is the Spawell site? I don't see the logic of your comparison.

I am not against another stadium, but am against a needless one. Athlone could be the answer to many scenarios. The Spawell is not.

I don't see how you came to this conclusion. I think the Spawell could potentially address a fairly big issue in relation to hosting Dublin hurling and football games in an appropriately sized venue.

It already is off to a bad start with a sale of 9 million euro to the GAA having being purchased for 1 million. I think reasonable people see the trend here.

Where did you hear this? Everything I've read / heard suggests the previous purchaser paid €9m for the site, €0.5m more than the Dublin County Board were prepared to originally pay. I can't envisage getting a one acre site in Templeogue for €1m, let alone 35 acres.

The word centre of excellence basically means 3 all weather pitches side by side with a club house for the suits to gather and discuss business. I am not sure we need another one of those in this country.

Only one centre of excellence required in the entire country? Seriously?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 20/01/2017 17:29:35    1947407

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "And then they pick a location for the white elephant that is at best alright.

Whatever about the other arguments for and against, I'd actually reckon it'd potentially be one of the most used stadia in the country."

It'll get used alright but will it be worth it?"
Ah here, we both know its for more than just club games. You're being disingenuous and you know it.

Will it be worth it? I don't know but I'm sure the Dublin County Board has crunched the numbers several times, come up with a viable business plan and has convinced the majority of relevant stakeholders of its merits. Time will tell whether it will be a success but I think an appropriate amount of due diligence has gone into this and any decision made is based on sound principles. I, personally, am excited at the prospect.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 20/01/2017 18:20:44    1947420

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "[quote=Kurt_Angle:  "And then they pick a location for the white elephant that is at best alright.

It'll get used alright but will it be worth it?"
Ah here, we both know its for more than just club games. You're being disingenuous and you know it.

Will it be worth it? I don't know but I'm sure the Dublin County Board has crunched the numbers several times, come up with a viable business plan and has convinced the majority of relevant stakeholders of its merits. Time will tell whether it will be a success but I think an appropriate amount of due diligence has gone into this and any decision made is based on sound principles. I, personally, am excited at the prospect."]You're excited fair enough.

An expensive out of town stadium in a car park beside the ring road doesn't really excite me to be honest.

Also it's an okay idea that may or may not be needed. Again that's not that exciting to me.

A very much seems like a bit of a vanity project.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 20/01/2017 18:47:14    1947427

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Spent better on what? Please don't say coaches. Country folk go nuts that we play all our games in Croker now we're building our own stadium your still not happy? The centre of excellence won't happen there so I don't get why some posters are jumping on what the article said " may cater for more than just a staduim , with talk of a centre of excellence " ah sure that means it's a definite plus there's only enough land there for a staduim no way would you fit 4 or 5 pitches out there as well"
Growing dublin gaa not capping its support levels.
we get an average 25 thousand at league games as it is, so surely that is not an ideal capacity to build a new staidium to.
croke park has perfect infrastructure for a stadium in Dublin and a capacity that means you can aim to grow support levels all the time, seems silly to waste money building a new stadium just so you can turn around and say now country lads you can't whinge at us playing in croker.
what will become of croker from September to May ? Lie unused it was built to be used not watch the grass grow on.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/01/2017 18:54:43    1947429

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So instead of a 25 thousand seater stadium you want hurling walls ha ok. I think we've more than enough of the rest to be fair to all clubs."
John Costello during last year stated the growing demands on clubs will see the amount of numbers playing in Dublin over the next decade with a need to at least 10 New clubs being formed to cater for the growth in playing numbers.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/01/2017 18:58:40    1947431

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So instead of building s 25 seater staduim you want towers to get better facilities? your a good man Mes.

So you want to increase the Gaa in Dublin and building a 25 thousand seater staduim in south Dublin wouldn't help that?

Some bs reasons imo Mes , your just against cause it's not on your doorstep."
How will taking the matches out of a central location in the county and capping the amount of people who can attend the matches and making them all have to drive to get to the match and in doing so drive on a road already at crisis levels with record numbers overpopulating help grow Dublin gaa?
You only like this idea because it's near you haha you have no other points to make

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/01/2017 19:02:41    1947433

Replying To waynoI:  "All seater ? Nonsense.

Why ?

I hate sitting at sporting events.

There should be a standing area for those who prefer to stand at matches.

The fact there isn't a terrace (covered) in the plans is my biggest disappointment.

I'm with Mes on this though for the reasons he outlined.

Think its spending for spendings sake."
Great point I didn't see that was all seater
Make a no sense as Parnell pass caters for terrace and stand season schemes

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/01/2017 19:08:18    1947436

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What Dublin club is struggling? Every club in Dublin I go out to has unbelievable facilities , every staduim in Ireland is a car park on match day Parnell Park being one of the worst and that can only hold 9 thousand , this is a staduim built just off the m50 what more could you ask for? So Wayne who has no interest in Dublin club football would rather they help out struggling clubs in Dublin than build a brand new stadium for Dublin wtf that makes loads of sense. I'm telling you when it's built and it's packed jammed on March days you'll all love it. And the money it makes we can buy hurleys and helmets and footballs and jerseys and whatever you like. It's being built so just get behind it and stop being negative ffs."
Raheny are a division 1 club who play In st Anne's park a corporation park

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/01/2017 19:10:32    1947438

Think this will be great for the Southeide Gaa, Jude's, Ballyboden, Crokes and Cuala as clubs have come so far in 15 years and the profile of the game on the Southeide has never been better.

South/West county Dublin has by far the youngest population in range and has Lucan, Clondalkin and Tallaght on and the new budegoning communities far out on the Southside. It's doorstep. Imagine even just raising the profile of the game in Tallaght and having access to this facility, which is 10 min drive from this site, Tallaght has a population of 103.000 the area has produced many world class sports stars and yet GAA in the area is arguabley very underdeveloped.

I don't want to turn this into a north side, southside debate as it's not but the GAA has a strong historical presence and success on the northeide, arguably the greater rate of development and growth has been on the southside. If that can be developed further and say the profile of the game takes on the likes of soccer, Boxing, MMA, in West Dublin in Tallaght, Lucan and Clondalkin and Rugby on the far South it would be hugely beneficial to Dublin GAA.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/01/2017 20:54:47    1947460