Division 3 2017

I'm delighted that for Louth, we are not relying on others to be promoted. It would have been a farce of a game between Armagh and Tipp if a win/loss would have seen both through. Would Tipp have tried to win the game in that situation? Will never know. As for who goes up, Armagh must be favourites but Tipperary with Quinlivan are very strong and get the nod from me.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 31/03/2017 09:25:40    1973437

Yeah was going through the permutations yesterday for ourselves. Lose and we are down - simple enough. If we beat Longford then doesn't matter how the Offaly/Laois game finishes as we would be on 6pts and either Longford would be on 4 points and one of Offaly/Laois also on 4 points or if the Offaly/Laois game ended a draw then they would be on 5 points each.

It gets a bit interesting though if it happens that both these games are a draw as I am not 100% clear on how it decides between the 4 teams given that in that scenario both ourselves and Laois would have the same score difference (rules below dictate that score difference is used to rank the teams where 3 or more on same points). In that scenario I thought it would then look at these two teams and apply the steps used to determine if two teams are on equal points and therefore look at the head to head in which case we would be ahead. But, to make matters more confusing, I have seen league tables where it has us above Laois at present going in to the last game but others, including the GAA main site which have Laois above us which by my reckoning is the third determining fact when two teams are the same?

Is anyone able to confirm in the above scenario what is used after score difference to rank the teams if two teams within the 3 or more have the same score difference? Not that it will probably be required knowledge but better to be forewarned.

If only two teams are level on league points -
• The team that won the head-to-head match is ranked first
• If this game was a draw, score difference (total scored minus total conceded in all games) is used to rank the teams
• If score difference is identical, total scored is used to rank the teams
• If still identical, a play-off is required

If three or more teams are level on league points, score difference is used to rank the teams.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 31/03/2017 09:46:14    1973441

If Longford/Antrim and Offaly/Laois end in draws and Sligo are beaten away to Louth you'll have 5 teams on 5 points!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 31/03/2017 10:22:16    1973453

Replying To ged:  "I'm delighted that for Louth, we are not relying on others to be promoted. It would have been a farce of a game between Armagh and Tipp if a win/loss would have seen both through. Would Tipp have tried to win the game in that situation? Will never know. As for who goes up, Armagh must be favourites but Tipperary with Quinlivan are very strong and get the nod from me."
Armagh missing a few players but Im hope we can pull it out of the bag at home. They need to step up. Still feel hard done to be in this position as we had sligo beat and the ref awarded a ridiculous penalty that they didnt even know what it was for. But no matter hope it doesnt cost us :(

credit_crunch (Armagh) - Posts: 57 - 31/03/2017 10:27:18    1973458

Replying To Spinx:  "If Longford/Antrim and Offaly/Laois end in draws and Sligo are beaten away to Louth you'll have 5 teams on 5 points!"
Forgot about a Sligo loss scenario. So, if Sligo lose and the two games involving the other teams at the bottom end in a draw, you then have 2 from 5 teams going down. The score difference rule would then determine that Sligo and Longford are two of the teams but you are still left with who from ourselves and Laois get the last spot above relegation?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 31/03/2017 10:39:10    1973462

Are Laois not -18, and Antrim -19?

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 31/03/2017 13:13:17    1973527

Replying To m_the_d:  "Are Laois not -18, and Antrim -19?"
Good man - that explains it.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 31/03/2017 15:19:49    1973593

Replying To tipp11:  "I'm beginning to think this is a wind up!!! Sleeping giant haha. You do realise tipp won 4 all irelands, laois haven't won any, we have won more munster football titles than ye have in leinster.....just because we are good at hurling people should be embarrassed to lose to us!!!

(I'm not having a pop at laois here, just some of these comments getting thrown out here are mad)"
Offaly man pretending to be from Laois. They've been doing it to us for years. Winding everyone up to have a pop at us.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 01/04/2017 00:59:44    1973730

Laois and Antrim finally went down. Antrim lead in injury time but conceded a late equaliser so went down. Laois flopped incredibly Needing only a draw to survive but lost to Offaly in a seven goal triller. It took Wexford two attempts to get out of the basement division. Promotion back to D3 is not guaranteed at the first attempt for Laois

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3101 - 02/04/2017 18:27:17    1974274

Well done to Louth and Tipperary on securing promotion in what was a very competitive Division. I don't know what poor old little Longford did to the referees of this division as we were denied stonewall penalties against Sligo, Laois and Antrim.....there was also the 60 second early blow up in Droheda. But fair play to the lads who dug deep with 13 men in Belfast to secure the point required to stay up. With 4 home games next season I'd be hoping we won't be going into the last day of the league needing a result to stay up! Roll on the championship.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 02/04/2017 18:46:15    1974298

Well done to Louth and Tipp great to go up to d2. Fair play to Offaly for staying up they were far better than Laois today and they still nearly let it slip , but after the hammering they got against Armagh they did well to turn it around !

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 02/04/2017 20:44:08    1974405

Replying To ke40:  "Well done to Louth and Tipp great to go up to d2. Fair play to Offaly for staying up they were far better than Laois today and they still nearly let it slip , but after the hammering they got against Armagh they did well to turn it around !"
Strange how Laois defeated Armagh away and Armagh crushed Offaly.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 03/04/2017 09:18:49    1974593

Fantastic result for Tipp. Once again brilliant never say die.
Div 2 for 2018 looks very interesting and maybe easier to get out of than Div 3....

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/04/2017 09:34:02    1974597