Division 3 2017

I feel privileged to having 3 things from Louth messaging me. Must be small County syndrome!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 05/02/2017 16:03:01    1952097

Replying To sean og:  "Armagh robbed at the end with a penalty decision that no one in the ground knew what for, bizzare stuff!!"
Bizzare.... Pulled Cone back by the Jersey in the box.... Just a question, do yer medics have t come onto the pitch for every free???

larry4alaugh (Sligo) - Posts: 8 - 05/02/2017 18:26:13    1952222

Replying To larry4alaugh:  "Bizzare.... Pulled Cone back by the Jersey in the box.... Just a question, do yer medics have t come onto the pitch for every free???"
Spoke to 2 friends who were at the game, they and the Sligo fans beside them were at a loss why the penalty was given, your local radio station Ocean FM described the decision as daylight robbery. One of my friends said it was the most blatant one sided refereeing display he had seen in 30 years. The ref was from Roscommon, your neighbours, seems a bit strange.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 05/02/2017 20:28:02    1952341

Replying To sean og:  "Spoke to 2 friends who were at the game, they and the Sligo fans beside them were at a loss why the penalty was given, your local radio station Ocean FM described the decision as daylight robbery. One of my friends said it was the most blatant one sided refereeing display he had seen in 30 years. The ref was from Roscommon, your neighbours, seems a bit strange."
Heard from a relative that ref was very biased towards Sligo. How the hell does a Roscommon man get that game??

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 05/02/2017 21:13:09    1952411

Replying To Brolly:  "Heard from a relative that ref was very biased towards Sligo. How the hell does a Roscommon man get that game??"
The ref last night in the Louth and Laois match was from Carlow and their are neighbours of Laois.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 05/02/2017 21:23:51    1952421

Longford are a dark horse to go up here. Plenty of lads to come into that team yet.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 05/02/2017 21:25:25    1952422

Replying To sean og:  "Spoke to 2 friends who were at the game, they and the Sligo fans beside them were at a loss why the penalty was given, your local radio station Ocean FM described the decision as daylight robbery. One of my friends said it was the most blatant one sided refereeing display he had seen in 30 years. The ref was from Roscommon, your neighbours, seems a bit strange."
Swings and roundabouts Sean. We'lll probably get done by the ref in Armagh again this year. Hopefully it wouldn't cost us promotion this time like it did two years ago.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 06/02/2017 04:33:35    1952518

Replying To OLLIE:  "The ref last night in the Louth and Laois match was from Carlow and their are neighbours of Laois."
But at least that's two Leinster teams playing. Not Laois vs Derry or something like that. Still wrong whatever way you look at it!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 06/02/2017 07:34:22    1952526

Lads, the standard of refereeing is absolutely shocking right now.

Cavan Dublin game was no different. He was horrendous for both teams, although favoured Dublin more, and we were just lucky it wasn't a winnable game thay he ruined.

If a ref doesn't see something, fair enough. If he has a big call to make and gets it wrong that's understandable given the pace of the game etc. .
But when a ref simply decides not to apply the rules of the game than that's a different story! He gave a free to cavan yesterday for a trip. Now a trip is a black card. But he didn't give one. How can a ref chose not to apply the rules of the game?

Just a quick clarification - I am in no way saying we'd have beat dublin with any kind of referee. I was there with mates from dublin and id say i turned to them at least 4 times admitting we got a free that wasnt a free. They beat us in 2nd gear. It just makes the game so frustrating to watch tho.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 06/02/2017 09:20:13    1952547

I happen to be walking behind the goals (beat the traffic) as the ball came in... Coen following in long ball, it was the keepers ball all day But Shields clearly pulled Coen back by the jersey in the box... No need and a clear foul, umpire clearly signalled it to ref also... (Not sure what radio commentator said... Must txt him) As for neighbour ref... He was cat for both teams, if Armagh had to push on instead of lying down trying to kill the clock, time wasting at every opportunity they probably would have won handy.... The penalty scored in 5min added time, Ye'r own time wasting cost Ye a point... Best of Luck for the rest of the League...

larry4alaugh (Sligo) - Posts: 8 - 06/02/2017 20:57:58    1953019

Didn't Armagh throw away a seven point lead in last 10 minutes at home to Galway in last years league?Something similiar here.Going defensive trying to close games out and getting caught at the death.Not a good habit.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/02/2017 21:32:09    1953044

Replying To cuederocket:  "Didn't Armagh throw away a seven point lead in last 10 minutes at home to Galway in last years league?Something similiar here.Going defensive trying to close games out and getting caught at the death.Not a good habit."
Division 3 will be a dog fight..if nothing more due to the poor quality of the teams in it...if the numbers were swtched 3 and 4 most people who dont strictly follow the leagues wouldnt cop it...Armagh probably the exception....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 08/02/2017 12:27:01    1953596

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Division 3 will be a dog fight..if nothing more due to the poor quality of the teams in it...if the numbers were swtched 3 and 4 most people who dont strictly follow the leagues wouldnt cop it...Armagh probably the exception...."
That's stretching it a bit. They are not streets better, but they are better. Promotion and Relegation sees to that.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 08/02/2017 13:19:01    1953612

Replying To cavanman47:  "Lads, the standard of refereeing is absolutely shocking right now.

Cavan Dublin game was no different. He was horrendous for both teams, although favoured Dublin more, and we were just lucky it wasn't a winnable game thay he ruined.

If a ref doesn't see something, fair enough. If he has a big call to make and gets it wrong that's understandable given the pace of the game etc. .
But when a ref simply decides not to apply the rules of the game than that's a different story! He gave a free to cavan yesterday for a trip. Now a trip is a black card. But he didn't give one. How can a ref chose not to apply the rules of the game?

Just a quick clarification - I am in no way saying we'd have beat dublin with any kind of referee. I was there with mates from dublin and id say i turned to them at least 4 times admitting we got a free that wasnt a free. They beat us in 2nd gear. It just makes the game so frustrating to watch tho."
Yeah, it's hard to think of a good referee.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/02/2017 04:03:34    1953875

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "Last year we were missing the Commercials lads and had a lot of injuries. We had a completely different team come the end of the championship.

Think we have a good chance this year but it will be far from easy.
For football to improve in the county, we badly need to get to division 2."
Yeah that's a very good point Joe Bloggs. I forgot about the Clonmel boys.

When you you think back, the team actually did quite well in the league too last year considering the amount of upheaval after Kearns took over. I was a doubter of him at the time but fair play to him for what he did last year.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/02/2017 04:07:35    1953876

definitely think that Louth have it in them to be pushing top 3/4

markaontroim (Antrim) - Posts: 1 - 10/02/2017 14:47:40    1954411

Replying To larry4alaugh:  "I happen to be walking behind the goals (beat the traffic) as the ball came in... Coen following in long ball, it was the keepers ball all day But Shields clearly pulled Coen back by the jersey in the box... No need and a clear foul, umpire clearly signalled it to ref also... (Not sure what radio commentator said... Must txt him) As for neighbour ref... He was cat for both teams, if Armagh had to push on instead of lying down trying to kill the clock, time wasting at every opportunity they probably would have won handy.... The penalty scored in 5min added time, Ye'r own time wasting cost Ye a point... Best of Luck for the rest of the League..."
While you are correct on why penalty was given and ref was perfectly positioned to see pull, the notion that an umpire can make a call on an open play decision is wrong. Umpire can only highlight an incident off the ball once play has stopped

Alot of people had Louth and Sligo tipped for relegation and after 2 rounds are the top 2?

Offaly and Antrim I'd predict to be relegated, wouldn't like to make a call on promotion, not much between 6 teams

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 444 - 13/02/2017 13:09:33    1956099

McGeeney must be under pressure at this stage..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/02/2017 19:37:24    1956338

Replying To ziggy32001:  "McGeeney must be under pressure at this stage.."
Must be immense - can't be easy with next game away to Lonford, he'll prob need to put out near enough champ side to win this and give his team a little breathing space.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 14/02/2017 13:35:52    1956640

Replying To muscles:  "While you are correct on why penalty was given and ref was perfectly positioned to see pull, the notion that an umpire can make a call on an open play decision is wrong. Umpire can only highlight an incident off the ball once play has stopped

Alot of people had Louth and Sligo tipped for relegation and after 2 rounds are the top 2?

Offaly and Antrim I'd predict to be relegated, wouldn't like to make a call on promotion, not much between 6 teams"
Muscles, there's plenty of football to be played yet.
Personally, I don't think Offaly will be relegated myself. I would add them to your list of 6 evenly matched teams.
I'd also be surprised to find Louth or Sligo occupying either of the top 2 places by the end of 7 matches.

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 625 - 15/02/2017 10:30:41    1956992