New era is great for a county

Replying To The_DOC:  "Hi All,

I'd actually love to hear an honest outside opinion (honest now, ya hear all you WUM's out there!) on where Galway are at. I find it hard to tell as I have a strong love for my rose (maroon) tinited glasses here in the Wesht.

Here are my thoughts on 2016:
- 2016 Galway focused solely on that Mayo game, to right all the hammerings of previous meeting
- The Connact win was badly needed and will hopefully spur on a good few young lads who have either won nothing to date or have just made the team
- Watching the lads win Connacht in 2016 will spur on the lads who were away last year but back on the panel this year
- The Tipp match was a farce, fair play to TIPP but I think Galway were either undertrained or over-trained but hopefully lessons learned

2017:
- Kevin Walsh is progressing this team well and should build on lessons learned in 2016
- Lads to take heart in beating a Mayo side that very nearly won an AI
- Added depth in panel with likes of Lundy, Duane and Ó Curraoin back as well as few solid young lads
- Have to target promotion in Div 2
- Winning Connacht is not exactly another must but a solid run at Championship sure-is with hopefully a semi-final appearance and a win at Croker at QF stage
- Thoughts on Sean Armstrong back on the panel?

Anyway, I'll happily take any CONSTRUCTIVE criticism here and just to b clear I am NOT saying we will win anything (besides hopefully div 2), I don't think I'm getting above my station!

Míle Buíochas"
Galway really need to be playing Division 1 football and I except ye to get promoted.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 17/01/2017 11:52:46    1946272

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "From a Galway point of view I'd like to think we were a fair bit further on then Meath. This is now Kevin Walsh's 3rd year in charge, in the 2 previous years there has been a noticeable improvement in the physicality of the Galway team, it was like men against boys when Galway played Mayo for a few years under Mullholland. I'm sure some of the Meath men on here would agree they've had the same problem in the last few years.

Meath have only beaten Louth & Wicklow in the last 2 championships whilst Galway have beaten Mayo, Roscommon, Armagh & Derry. Now I'm not getting carried away with those results especially given what happened against Tipp but at least Galway have shown a bit of improvement. I just think its very difficult to come from where Meath were last year and then try to make huge inroads this year.

We'll just have to see what happens throughout the year, the league is important but sometimes teams place far too much emphasis on the league and have poor championships like Roscommon & Cavan last year. Galway have a stronger panel this year with the return of Lundy, O'Currain & Duane and the return to fitness of Cathal Sweeney who was probably Galways best player in 2015 and missed most of last year through injury. There is also a couple of really talented younger players who should make an impact this year. Galway have won 2 All Ireland u21's in recent years whilst Meath haven't even won a Leinster title at this grade since 2001 and have only made one final in the 15 years since.

I wouldn't rule out Meath getting promoted as Div 2 is the easiest on paper its been in a few years but if they do have a good league campaign I won't be expecting much from them in the championship.

I do think Meath are moving in the right direction but I just can't make a case for them making huge progress in the championship this summer."
Well with the last 2 years Meath were seriously underperforming, this is a given, we have now a manager who has been there done that. The same man who brought alot of this team to a all ire final as minors, dismissing mayo Tyrone along the way. Also Meath had Galway well beat last year only to implode (a common theme under previous management) I think with the best players in county now on panel (again unlike last year ) and lads who would be certs to start making themselves available, the Meath team of last 2 years will be a distant memory. If you or anyone is expecting the Same as last 2 years, ye are in for one almighty shock. As I said it will be close division for all teams, but we will be in mix for promotion, then we should aim and reach Leinster final which puts us into last 12, now then we have Dublin and while we give them one hell of a game we probably wont win unfortunately (nor has or will any other teams) but last 8 should be achieved, after that anything is a bonus. Meath are on way back make no mistake about that, but it will take a few years before we are at pinacly

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 14:15:33    1946314

Also Meath had Galway well beat last year only to implode (a common theme under previous management)

I agree Meath did seem to implode but you cant blame manager on that. Sure didn't same thing happen ye against Laois Saturday night? Or does that not count because MOD wasn't manager?

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 17/01/2017 14:30:39    1946325

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Also Meath had Galway well beat last year only to implode (a common theme under previous management)

I agree Meath did seem to implode but you cant blame manager on that. Sure didn't same thing happen ye against Laois Saturday night? Or does that not count because MOD wasn't manager?"
No same thing didn't happen, 1st Laois reverted to blanket defense, Meath kept toung mcquillan on Kingston even though he was taking him to cleaners, this wouldn't happen in a real game , it was only to see if the young lad would learn anything, also Meath kept playing away and finished up with a very inexperienced players on field , trust me the days of Meath implosion are over. It was a great test of 10 of Meath second string and they performed admirably and thankfully has given Andy plenty of selection headaches, a welcome thing. So again ill say Meath wont implode under Andy like they have before, also Meath have now strength in depth, something they have been missing for awhile.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 14:52:26    1946335

Its clear to see that some of the Meath contingent are getting a bit carried away because of a new manager. He has good credentials but like any manager needs the players to be successful. Meath have had very little underage success in recent years and their record at U21 is appalling for a county like Meath.

I think Meath will head in the right direction but think it will be a slower process then some are expecting.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 17/01/2017 15:21:56    1946357

got new managers in both hurling and football in limerick , saw mcgrath cup game v clare wed - good win - very positive coming out of the ground ,gives us hope , saw hurlers get hockeyed by cork sunday ....tough tough watch so it was

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 17/01/2017 17:36:43    1946417

Replying To TheHermit:  "Hah, says the Dub whose team has been operating in what must be the weakest province since the Second World War!!!!!!!!! The only element of surprise in Leinster is if the Dubs will be bothered putting 12 or 17 points of a win on the other teams.

You do realise 3 Munster teams made the Q-finals last year and 2 of them made the Semi-finals. Kildare are the only other Leinster county to get to a Q-final in 5 years and they got 7 goals shipped past them by the Kingdom in 2015.

Cork should have beaten us in the drawn Munster final that same year, when is the last time a team was that close to Dublin in the Leinster championship?

Knocking Munster football when ye are operating in a province that has become a joke, I'm amazed you don't drowned from the tsunami of irony."
Kildare beat Cork by 8 points the week before shipping 7 goals to Kerry.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 17/01/2017 17:48:17    1946427

Meath are an interesting case this year. McEntee is a decent manager. Big step up for him from club to senior inter county though.

He has two big challenges imo.

Firstly he has to build some character that has been lacking in the last few years. I never saw as gutless a side as Meath in the last few years.

Secondly he needs to develop some sort of style of play. Meath teams have looked completely clueless of late.

If he can get all that right then we'll find out if the players are any use which is the big unknown.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 17/01/2017 18:11:00    1946436

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "Its clear to see that some of the Meath contingent are getting a bit carried away because of a new manager. He has good credentials but like any manager needs the players to be successful. Meath have had very little underage success in recent years and their record at U21 is appalling for a county like Meath.

I think Meath will head in the right direction but think it will be a slower process then some are expecting."
I have to agree with this..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/01/2017 18:17:38    1946443

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Also Meath had Galway well beat last year only to implode (a common theme under previous management)

I agree Meath did seem to implode but you cant blame manager on that. Sure didn't same thing happen ye against Laois Saturday night? Or does that not count because MOD wasn't manager?"
Not sure Meath imploded,not like other games in the past.They lead Laois by 3 points at half time.Laois blanket in the second half and cut down the space.Not as if Meath had a big half time lead or lead by 10 points with 20mins to go like the last few years.However I donn't think this trend of Meaths will be fixed overnight..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/01/2017 18:19:48    1946444

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I have to agree with this.."
FFS I wasn't finished.. :)

I agree with you about time etc.It will be a slow process imo,it will take 3 years to see serious improvements.

In regards underage you are also right,but some of our recent U21's teams have been very competitive against Dublin.Most teams would have struggled to beat them in the last few years.Also we always play Dublin away which is a bit unfair.Good talent on the current U21 team,but we have a difficult game away to Westmeath in the champ,and a win there would see us play Dublin which is likely to be away..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/01/2017 18:26:02    1946446

Replying To MesAmis:  "Meath are an interesting case this year. McEntee is a decent manager. Big step up for him from club to senior inter county though.

He has two big challenges imo.

Firstly he has to build some character that has been lacking in the last few years. I never saw as gutless a side as Meath in the last few years.

Secondly he needs to develop some sort of style of play. Meath teams have looked completely clueless of late.

If he can get all that right then we'll find out if the players are any use which is the big unknown."
You are right, now yes its a step up, but he has Gerry and Donal with him , there is a lot of Leinster and all ire medals on the sideline, he also did manage at minor county level, so I'm not too worried about his own personal transition. However the mental steel of Meath teams have been eroded. I do actually think he will bring this back, and he may choose different styles of play depending on opponents. I think many would have to say that Meath player have not performed to abilities lately, they now have the vehicle to put that right, ita now upto them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 18:57:25    1946458

The Hermit, what ever your thoughts on Dublin and let's be honest we won the all Ireland by beating yourselves, Donegal and Mayo. Kerry got to a semi final without playing a division 1 team, coming out of a six team province, with the advantage of recovery time and preparation. But it's not a Lein Vs Munster debate, recently Lein has been a damp squib, but Munster has always been very in competitive and an aid to prep.

It's rotten and has been historically, not just in recent years. Ulster teams in particular are hard done by, when you consider that championship, calibre of teams and the toll it takes.

I think the new proposed format will go some way to equalling things up and it will be interesting to see what impact it has on counties like Kerry and the waiting in theology grass approach, cute whism or what ever you want to call it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/01/2017 00:31:52    1946544

You are right, now yes its a step up, but he has Gerry and Donal with him , there is a lot of Leinster and all ire medals on the sideline, he also did manage at minor county level, so I'm not too worried about his own personal transition. However the mental steel of Meath teams have been eroded. I do actually think he will bring this back, and he may choose different styles of play depending on opponents. I think many would have to say that Meath player have not performed to abilities lately, they now have the vehicle to put that right, ita now upto them.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:10091 - 17/01/2017 18:57:25

Genuine question RD. What makes you think that the players have been under performing in recent years?

Obviously you know the club scene and underage Meath sides a lot better than me but looking from the outside in it's hard to judge how good or bad the players are in Meath.

Their clubs sides have been fairly poor of late and there hasn't been underage teams of note, the minors made an All-Ireland Final in 2012 but were comfortably beaten by Dublin in Leinster and in the All-Ireland Final.

I think the players' abilities is the big unknown in Meath. I agree with you in that I think McEntee will make the step up to inter county management and that himself and his management team will not be found wanting but the players available to him are the question.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 18/01/2017 08:26:37    1946562

Replying To TheUsername:  "The Hermit, what ever your thoughts on Dublin and let's be honest we won the all Ireland by beating yourselves, Donegal and Mayo. Kerry got to a semi final without playing a division 1 team, coming out of a six team province, with the advantage of recovery time and preparation. But it's not a Lein Vs Munster debate, recently Lein has been a damp squib, but Munster has always been very in competitive and an aid to prep.

It's rotten and has been historically, not just in recent years. Ulster teams in particular are hard done by, when you consider that championship, calibre of teams and the toll it takes.

I think the new proposed format will go some way to equalling things up and it will be interesting to see what impact it has on counties like Kerry and the waiting in theology grass approach, cute whism or what ever you want to call it."
You can devise any system you want Username, rest assured the cream of Kerry will always rise to the top...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/01/2017 09:51:40    1946577

Oh to have an era of any sort!!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 18/01/2017 10:28:07    1946590

Replying To TheHermit:  "You can devise any system you want Username, rest assured the cream of Kerry will always rise to the top..."
The cream usually gets the lid shut on it when they're playing Dublin though ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 18/01/2017 11:59:11    1946613

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "The cream usually gets the lid shut on it when they're playing Dublin though ;)"
5 odd years out of 133 doesn't exactly fit the word 'usually', enjoy your time in the Sun while you can...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/01/2017 13:19:25    1946639

Replying To MesAmis:  "You are right, now yes its a step up, but he has Gerry and Donal with him , there is a lot of Leinster and all ire medals on the sideline, he also did manage at minor county level, so I'm not too worried about his own personal transition. However the mental steel of Meath teams have been eroded. I do actually think he will bring this back, and he may choose different styles of play depending on opponents. I think many would have to say that Meath player have not performed to abilities lately, they now have the vehicle to put that right, ita now upto them.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:10091 - 17/01/2017 18:57:25

Genuine question RD. What makes you think that the players have been under performing in recent years?

Obviously you know the club scene and underage Meath sides a lot better than me but looking from the outside in it's hard to judge how good or bad the players are in Meath.

Their clubs sides have been fairly poor of late and there hasn't been underage teams of note, the minors made an All-Ireland Final in 2012 but were comfortably beaten by Dublin in Leinster and in the All-Ireland Final.

I think the players' abilities is the big unknown in Meath. I agree with you in that I think McEntee will make the step up to inter county management and that himself and his management team will not be found wanting but the players available to him are the question."
Ahh there is no.questioning the abilities of keoghan, Reilly O'Sullivan even the likes of Wallace Newman and McMahon on their day would walk onto majority of teams in country, also with Menton and Forde making themselves available to Andy (didn't to o'dowd) will be a huge boost. You can throw a few of the u21s in too. The players are their to be competitive, not winning all Ireland but certainly to be in division one and reaching last 8, that's what we are saying. You are right about dubs beating the minors in 11, but people go on about mayo and Tyrone players coming through from that era and forget that Meath team actually beat this same teams , and only failed against dubs.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/01/2017 13:23:04    1946640

Ahh there is no.questioning the abilities of keoghan, Reilly O'Sullivan even the likes of Wallace Newman and McMahon on their day would walk onto majority of teams in country, also with Menton and Forde making themselves available to Andy (didn't to o'dowd) will be a huge boost. You can throw a few of the u21s in too. The players are their to be competitive, not winning all Ireland but certainly to be in division one and reaching last 8, that's what we are saying. You are right about dubs beating the minors in 11, but people go on about mayo and Tyrone players coming through from that era and forget that Meath team actually beat this same teams , and only failed against dubs.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:10092 - 18/01/2017 13:23:04

I'll give you Keoghan but I'm not sure I've seen anything from the rest you mentioned that'd make me believe they are much better than they've shown in the last few years.

Players can improve though.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 18/01/2017 13:36:26    1946646