New era is great for a county

Replying To gotmilk:  "Yeah we should hopefully be a different team come the league. Still a number of players to come back into the fold. Daryl Keenan came on after not playing for the last 2/3 years and bagged himself a goal. In fairness Pete is a top quality manager.

Are Meath on course to retain the O'Byrne cup?"
It doesn't make a blind bit of difference winning it or not, winning last year did us no good. All that matters is getting time into the new players, in fairness Andy has had a look at all of lads, and some of them are real.finds . But winning this competition is not what we are concentrated on, its all about 5 Feb

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2017 23:27:24    1945957

Replying To 11jm11:  "I dont think we'll need a blanket defence v this meath team to be honest"
We will see. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2017 23:28:24    1945958

Surely most years for counties who had a previous bad season, now have a new manager and new members is considered a new era. Very few end up well.

MapleDoire (Derry) - Posts: 22 - 16/01/2017 07:48:37    1945978

Replying To royaldunne:  "It doesn't make a blind bit of difference winning it or not, winning last year did us no good. All that matters is getting time into the new players, in fairness Andy has had a look at all of lads, and some of them are real.finds . But winning this competition is not what we are concentrated on, its all about 5 Feb"
Very true. Have you uncovered many players yet? From what i seen of you last year in the Meath you could do with a few players, especially in the forward line. Although that day in Brewster didn't lend itself to good football.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 16/01/2017 14:18:46    1946090

Replying To gotmilk:  "Very true. Have you uncovered many players yet? From what i seen of you last year in the Meath you could do with a few players, especially in the forward line. Although that day in Brewster didn't lend itself to good football."
Well we have Reilly, O'Sullivan from last year, probably with new players forde, Kennelly, McMahon, and also new would be ward, cians brother. They putting up scores, and also some other forwards the problem with some of them is they are a bit light, that would be my only worries

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/01/2017 14:36:38    1946094

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well we have Reilly, O'Sullivan from last year, probably with new players forde, Kennelly, McMahon, and also new would be ward, cians brother. They putting up scores, and also some other forwards the problem with some of them is they are a bit light, that would be my only worries"
Bulk will come quick enough, particularly if they are young and stick to a proper training and diet plan.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 16/01/2017 14:41:08    1946096

Hi All,

I'd actually love to hear an honest outside opinion (honest now, ya hear all you WUM's out there!) on where Galway are at. I find it hard to tell as I have a strong love for my rose (maroon) tinited glasses here in the Wesht.

Here are my thoughts on 2016:
- 2016 Galway focused solely on that Mayo game, to right all the hammerings of previous meeting
- The Connact win was badly needed and will hopefully spur on a good few young lads who have either won nothing to date or have just made the team
- Watching the lads win Connacht in 2016 will spur on the lads who were away last year but back on the panel this year
- The Tipp match was a farce, fair play to TIPP but I think Galway were either undertrained or over-trained but hopefully lessons learned

2017:
- Kevin Walsh is progressing this team well and should build on lessons learned in 2016
- Lads to take heart in beating a Mayo side that very nearly won an AI
- Added depth in panel with likes of Lundy, Duane and Ó Curraoin back as well as few solid young lads
- Have to target promotion in Div 2
- Winning Connacht is not exactly another must but a solid run at Championship sure-is with hopefully a semi-final appearance and a win at Croker at QF stage
- Thoughts on Sean Armstrong back on the panel?

Anyway, I'll happily take any CONSTRUCTIVE criticism here and just to b clear I am NOT saying we will win anything (besides hopefully div 2), I don't think I'm getting above my station!

Míle Buíochas

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 16/01/2017 15:01:02    1946103

Replying To The_DOC:  "Hi All,

I'd actually love to hear an honest outside opinion (honest now, ya hear all you WUM's out there!) on where Galway are at. I find it hard to tell as I have a strong love for my rose (maroon) tinited glasses here in the Wesht.

- 2016 Galway focused solely on that Mayo game, to right all the hammerings of previous meeting
- The Connact win was badly needed and will hopefully spur on a good few young lads who have either won nothing to date or have just made the team
- Watching the lads win Connacht in 2016 will spur on the lads who were away last year but back on the panel this year
- The Tipp match was a farce, fair play to TIPP but I think Galway were either undertrained or over-trained but hopefully lessons learned

2017:
- Kevin Walsh is progressing this team well and should build on lessons learned in 2016
- Added depth in panel with likes of Lundy, Duane and Ó Curraoin back as well as few solid young lads
- Winning Connacht is not exactly another must but a solid run at Championship sure-is with hopefully a semi-final appearance and a win at Croker at QF stage

Anyway, I'll happily take any CONSTRUCTIVE criticism here and just to b clear I am NOT saying we will win anything (besides hopefully div 2), I don't think I'm getting above my station!

Míle Buíochas"
No joke I haven't a clue where ye are.
Saw you in the league and you were poor enough that day, I think Fermanagh had the beating of you that day.
Against Mayo you were excellent.
Against Ros the first day poor
Against Ros the second day excellent
Against Tipp you were brutal.

At the minute I think you are a very jeykll and hyde team.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 16/01/2017 15:19:27    1946106

2017:

Míle Buíochas"
Will be in the mix for promotion, not much to seperate teams in Division Two. Mayo look like they are still a bit ahead, but would expect Galway to make last eight

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 16/01/2017 20:29:49    1946166

2017:

Míle Buíochas"
Well the doc in my opinion I've always found Galway over the last decade or so to be mentally weak, your record away from home in the league anyways is very poor I do think the players are there but they do need to toughen up, that said you got a great win over mayo last year which will do wonders for Galways confidence and hopefully you can push and achieve more this year,

Kingoreilly (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 16/01/2017 20:56:07    1946171

2017:

Míle Buíochas"
Id be a bit like gotmilk in Galway, (got to stop agreeing its becoming a habit) ;)
Galway can be sublime one day and atrocious the next day. I think the truth lays somewhere in between. Division 2 this year is quite evenly matched, woyh id say the exception of Clare (that statement might come back to haunt me) I think everyone will expect cork to go up, but if I'm honest from a Meath perspective I worry more about the likes of Galway, Fermanagh and Kildare. Dont know why I just do.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/01/2017 21:09:31    1946173

Replying To royaldunne:  "Id be a bit like gotmilk in Galway, (got to stop agreeing its becoming a habit) ;)
Galway can be sublime one day and atrocious the next day. I think the truth lays somewhere in between. Division 2 this year is quite evenly matched, woyh id say the exception of Clare (that statement might come back to haunt me) I think everyone will expect cork to go up, but if I'm honest from a Meath perspective I worry more about the likes of Galway, Fermanagh and Kildare. Dont know why I just do."
agree with most of this, I think Galway and Meath at their best are even, but the notion that Cork are automatic for promotion is too flattering for them. Div 2 is wide open.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 16/01/2017 21:47:35    1946182

I'd be careful what you say about Clare RD. Gary Brennan is as good a midfielder as Ive seen over the last few years

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 366 - 16/01/2017 21:48:15    1946183

The provincals look like they could be really competitive this year, except for Munster.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/01/2017 23:04:23    1946199

Replying To maroondiesel:  "agree with most of this, I think Galway and Meath at their best are even, but the notion that Cork are automatic for promotion is too flattering for them. Div 2 is wide open."
Yeah, now they may very well make me eat my words, but just something about cork, I dont think they are as certs to be promoted as some might think. Division 2 is hard this year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 00:01:04    1946213

Replying To TheUsername:  "The provincals look like they could be really competitive this year, except for Munster."
Hah, says the Dub whose team has been operating in what must be the weakest province since the Second World War!!!!!!!!! The only element of surprise in Leinster is if the Dubs will be bothered putting 12 or 17 points of a win on the other teams.

You do realise 3 Munster teams made the Q-finals last year and 2 of them made the Semi-finals. Kildare are the only other Leinster county to get to a Q-final in 5 years and they got 7 goals shipped past them by the Kingdom in 2015.

Cork should have beaten us in the drawn Munster final that same year, when is the last time a team was that close to Dublin in the Leinster championship?

Knocking Munster football when ye are operating in a province that has become a joke, I'm amazed you don't drowned from the tsunami of irony.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/01/2017 10:01:39    1946241

Munster is sensationally competitive alright.

You never know who might win it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 17/01/2017 10:24:43    1946249

Replying To TheHermit:  "Hah, says the Dub whose team has been operating in what must be the weakest province since the Second World War!!!!!!!!! The only element of surprise in Leinster is if the Dubs will be bothered putting 12 or 17 points of a win on the other teams.

You do realise 3 Munster teams made the Q-finals last year and 2 of them made the Semi-finals. Kildare are the only other Leinster county to get to a Q-final in 5 years and they got 7 goals shipped past them by the Kingdom in 2015.

Cork should have beaten us in the drawn Munster final that same year, when is the last time a team was that close to Dublin in the Leinster championship?

Knocking Munster football when ye are operating in a province that has become a joke, I'm amazed you don't drowned from the tsunami of irony."
Hasn't done you much good though , has it? When you see the blue of Dublin these days the Kerry shorts turn a off colour yellow, lucky it goes with the strip. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 10:31:50    1946251

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hasn't done you much good though , has it? When you see the blue of Dublin these days the Kerry shorts turn a off colour yellow, lucky it goes with the strip. :)"
I'd suggest you look up the word irony after that post lad.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/01/2017 11:09:15    1946264

From a Galway point of view I'd like to think we were a fair bit further on then Meath. This is now Kevin Walsh's 3rd year in charge, in the 2 previous years there has been a noticeable improvement in the physicality of the Galway team, it was like men against boys when Galway played Mayo for a few years under Mullholland. I'm sure some of the Meath men on here would agree they've had the same problem in the last few years.

Meath have only beaten Louth & Wicklow in the last 2 championships whilst Galway have beaten Mayo, Roscommon, Armagh & Derry. Now I'm not getting carried away with those results especially given what happened against Tipp but at least Galway have shown a bit of improvement. I just think its very difficult to come from where Meath were last year and then try to make huge inroads this year.

We'll just have to see what happens throughout the year, the league is important but sometimes teams place far too much emphasis on the league and have poor championships like Roscommon & Cavan last year. Galway have a stronger panel this year with the return of Lundy, O'Currain & Duane and the return to fitness of Cathal Sweeney who was probably Galways best player in 2015 and missed most of last year through injury. There is also a couple of really talented younger players who should make an impact this year. Galway have won 2 All Ireland u21's in recent years whilst Meath haven't even won a Leinster title at this grade since 2001 and have only made one final in the 15 years since.

I wouldn't rule out Meath getting promoted as Div 2 is the easiest on paper its been in a few years but if they do have a good league campaign I won't be expecting much from them in the championship.

I do think Meath are moving in the right direction but I just can't make a case for them making huge progress in the championship this summer.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 17/01/2017 11:31:56    1946270