Clare senior footballers 2017

To be fair waterford football has never been any better. This is actually a pretty decent minor team we have though, i wouldnt read too much into the hiding from kerry as this is their fourth quality minor team in a row and very few counties will get close to them.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 21/04/2017 08:16:50    1981330

Does anyone championship game v Limerick is on 28th/29th May? Munster website doesn't have the confirmed date.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 26/04/2017 16:13:32    1982939

Beating Tipp - another great result. The scoreline of 0-10 to 0-05 gives the impression of a relatively dour game. Onwards and upwards

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 27/04/2017 08:39:58    1983057

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Beating Tipp - another great result. The scoreline of 0-10 to 0-05 gives the impression of a relatively dour game. Onwards and upwards"
When is the Limerick game?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 04/05/2017 16:30:39    1984522

How did the practice game go against Laois?

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 08/05/2017 14:47:15    1985211

They lost that challenge game but Saturday's game will be a different story. Laois are in turmoil at the moment so it depends on their attude on the day. They certainly are capable of winning this but that remains to be seen. Clare are always a very hard team to beat in either hurling or football and I always love watching them play.

Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 30/06/2017 12:57:50    2007917

The fact thet laois have home avantage is a major factor. That as well as the fact that laois have some excellebt footballers in begley, quigley, o'loughlin and kingston. The midfield battle is some important, whoever comes out on top there will surely win!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 30/06/2017 16:12:37    2008033

A good win for Clare, well deserved. I have to say, I was not that surprised. Clare are now a division 2 team and Laois are a division 4 team. If the roles were reversed everyone would say Laois should win. Clare have 5/6 really good footballers now and a fantastic team spirit.

I hope they can give Mayo a right good game and with a bit of luck they could cause an upset. Would be a massive win for Clare football if they did, probably biggest since beating Cork back in 97.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 03/07/2017 11:37:03    2009494

Replying To Clareman:  "A good win for Clare, well deserved. I have to say, I was not that surprised. Clare are now a division 2 team and Laois are a division 4 team. If the roles were reversed everyone would say Laois should win. Clare have 5/6 really good footballers now and a fantastic team spirit.

I hope they can give Mayo a right good game and with a bit of luck they could cause an upset. Would be a massive win for Clare football if they did, probably biggest since beating Cork back in 97."
Very best of luck to ye
I think ye will give them loads of it and pull off a shock on a weekend of shocks.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/07/2017 11:58:57    2009519

Tough draw but anything is possible outside of the top 2 at home I think. We can't let them get ahead early.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 03/07/2017 13:47:12    2009611

How are the footballers going? Cavan are not going well up north so Clare would be favs

fatkeeper (Dublin) - Posts: 316 - 21/01/2018 21:31:22    2069743

Clare hurling forum last post was 27/02

Clare football (up to today) 21/01

In terms of Clare football interest, says it all really. Ye have a serious team. Id be worried about going down to Ennis next weekend.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 27/02/2018 12:24:25    2080891

Fantastic league by the footballers to retain status in D2. Colm Collins has worked wonders in fairness.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 26/03/2018 05:28:24    2088075

In fairness what you're doing down there is very admirable and we're envious. Collin's deserves so much credit. Its a great time for Clare football supporters which I know there are vast amounts of and long may it continue. 3 messages in 9 months you would hardly tell!

Congrats

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 28/03/2018 18:51:59    2089131

Only for draws against Cavan and tipp that could have been narrow wins, they could have been in contention for promotion, but i think next year might be year to have a right crack at it. It is a remarkable job Collins is doing, especially as they lost about 6 lads from last year to retirement, injury and immigration. They also play nice football. Fair play to all involved.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 29/03/2018 12:57:14    2089318

Not sure what to make of the qualifier draw, firstly we have to be pleased to have avoided the big 3 teams - mayo, tyrone and monaghan. but it would have been nice to have gotten a home draw. ideally against leitrim.
Armagh away will be a tough one up there, but armagh wouldnt be considered a top team. if we had them at home id have fancied our chances, but armagh will have the edge now. still its not the worst draw we could have got and there is a decent chance of advancing.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 25/06/2018 09:53:55    2114525

Gang of us from donegal heading down Saturday night. Any good pubs to recommend.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2411 - 21/01/2019 13:39:54    2158635

Replying To rorysboys:  "Gang of us from donegal heading down Saturday night. Any good pubs to recommend."
Ah jaysus where do I begin:

Start in McHughs
Go to Lucas's
Work your way up to Considines (you can stop in Griffins for some real charm)
From Considines go to Paddy Quinns in the market
Quinns to Brogans where they should have some trad on
From Brogans to Knoxs (where yo can stay to 2am) or go to Nora Culligans (beside Knoxs) and
afterwards go to Cruises which will be open until 2/2.30am.

The maximum walk between pubs is about 200-300 meters.

If you do what I say it is likely you will have a brilliant time Saturday night but be too sick to go to the game Sunday.

Seriously though here are loads of great pubs in Ennis and the above is a handful. Of the above I love McHughs, Lucas's, Brogans and Cruises but I could name another ten that would be great also.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 22/01/2019 04:54:23    2158815

Good on you heard great reports about Ennis really looking forward to it..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2411 - 22/01/2019 12:16:12    2158865

Replying To rorysboys:  "Good on you heard great reports about Ennis really looking forward to it.."
I hope you have a great night Saturday but a miserable day Sunday ; )

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 23/01/2019 01:41:47    2159027