Just in case you doubted the Anti Dublin felings..

...From UFC to WWE, yes, I did indeed say WWE. (Apparently some Irish lady won some belt this year, I dunno.....scritptwriters may or may not have been in assistance!)...

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:7252 - 05/01/2017 12:33:16

Take that back. Baldoyle's finest, Becky Lynch, was a worthy inaugural WWE champion and is doing herself and her country proud, vanquishing a multitude of opponents in the squared circle!

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 06/01/2017 14:45:52    1943521

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "...From UFC to WWE, yes, I did indeed say WWE. (Apparently some Irish lady won some belt this year, I dunno.....scritptwriters may or may not have been in assistance!)...

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:7252 - 05/01/2017 12:33:16

Take that back. Baldoyle's finest, Becky Lynch, was a worthy inaugural WWE champion and is doing herself and her country proud, vanquishing a multitude of opponents in the squared circle!"
oh its true.....its DAMN true......wwwwwwoooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/01/2017 16:15:49    1943544

up to 27 red thumbs!!!!!!!!!!!

TWENTY SEVEN!!

HS has never seen the like of it!

YYEOOWW!
GWAN!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/01/2017 16:16:44    1943545

Replying To Reformation:  "I actually think it is a fair point he made. But this is how it is in sport - the dominant teams are almost expected to win and if they don't then people destroy them. I think Dublin fans need to realise that. I wouldn't be taking it to heart - its banter and if its too hot in the kitchen...

When we talk about coverage of GAA in general, i think it is poor. I don't read many articles in national or local papers that give insight into systems and tactics etc. The game has evolved but the reporting has not. I'm drifting off the point here so ill leave it there."
I agree with you here in that the quality of reporting on the GAA leaves a lot to be desired in an awful lot of the media, and unfortunately there is no sign of any great improvement on the horizon. Too many of the so called top GAA reporters seem to be just drifting along happy with their reputation of being one of the 'big' voices on the GAA scene, and just churning out the same old clichés every year. Dublin's full back line can be got at, Kerry are an ageing team, Mayo don't have marquee forwards, and while some or all of these statements may have a bit of truth to them, the game and it's top teams are much more complex than that and deserve a much deeper level of analysis with regard to tactics/players and performances, similar to other sports.
As for Dublin, or any other county getting too much/too little coverage, (delete to suit your own point of view), I just think there are an awful lot of people out there that are a bit too precious, and as you say shouldn't be taking to heart the online ramblings of anyone on here or any other branch of social media.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 06/01/2017 16:54:47    1943554

Media and GAA people are fatigued of Dublin and their dominance, it was evident with Lee Keegan winning player of they year. Dublin have created a perch and the next narrative and story is for them to be knocked of it, it's human nature and interest. With dominance comes fatiuqe nd celebration when that dominance is broken, it will happen, but the challenge for the Dubs is to keep the show on the road for a while longer.

I don't really pay it much head mind, it's nothing in comparrison to sunny days in Croke Park, with that winning feeling and watching win I g all Ireland finals again over winter by a cosy fire. We go again and stick to the process.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/01/2017 17:01:00    1943558

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "up to 27 red thumbs!!!!!!!!!!!

TWENTY SEVEN!!

HS has never seen the like of it!

YYEOOWW!
GWAN!"
I stuck you up to 29 there!

Hopefully it breaks 50.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 06/01/2017 18:23:29    1943569

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Over the course of the "holidays" as our American friends would say, I saw/read or heard 4 different panels on tv/radio/internet discussing the sporting highlights of the year.

Many sports were mentioned, many feats were feted!
From Robbie Brady to Annalise Murphy
From Soldiers Field to Rio's track
From Thomond Park to Carl Frampton
From UFC to WWE, yes, I did indeed say WWE. (Apparently some Irish lady won some belt this year, I dunno.....scritptwriters may or may not have been in assistance!)
From Tipp footballers to Westmeath Hurlers....

You know what I didnt hear tho? Not once, not even a mention of it?
The first team to win back to back All Ireland football titles in more or less 20 years! Not so much as a nod in the general direction. Nothing, nada.

Ye all go on about their being a PRO Dubs Bias in the media, we in Dublin scoff at ye, and this is why. The media build us up, but their sole aim, is to eventually knock us down. Always has been, always will be.

If and when Mayo win and AI, the same media will wet the collective pants for 12 months and in the process find a way to award them 17 All Stars.....
Until that day, can I just apologise to all on behalf of the Dublin Football fraternity for being the big bad guy that ye all love to hate. Sure look, someone has to do it.

BRING ON 2017 CULCHIES!

3 in a row!
COYBIB"
I suppose its easy to win things when you're 3 counties rolled into one.....

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 06/01/2017 19:25:58    1943581

liam now u no how it feels to be rex hunt

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 06/01/2017 19:50:14    1943583

No harm RTE and TV 3 are long enough telling us the Dublin regional news every day, 'on todays main evening news 2 dogs barked for a few hours in Tallaght, The Government gives more money to some company in Dublin, a woman forgets her shopping bag in Clondalkin, In rugby Leinster rob more Connacht players for their team etc' it's about time some media gave us news other then boasting about the dubs

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 06/01/2017 20:19:37    1943592

Replying To noelnyc:  "Hurray for the Dubs, I even recognize yer greatness from afar Yahoo for the Dubs, yahoo and more hurray...."
Cheers NYC, we took a big bite out of your big apple and and the remainder seems to have gone a little sour.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 06/01/2017 20:51:02    1943600

Replying To realdub:  "No Ghost, it's for an entirely different reason, and it's realdub :D I've no problem losing, especially now that we've had a few, and I know now we'll come again. Some lads will know what I mean when I say there's almost something nice about being 2nd best, it's reflective and you tend to start putting things in perspective. And then you rise up and the feeling then is as exciting as it ever was."
Sorry realdub I didn't mean any disrespect it was the predictive text on my fone.
And that's a fair assessment by you there. 2 years without Sam in the kingdom is too long for us down here.

TheGhost1 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 08/01/2017 23:48:28    1944180

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Over the course of the "holidays" as our American friends would say, I saw/read or heard 4 different panels on tv/radio/internet discussing the sporting highlights of the year.

From UFC to WWE, yes, I did indeed say WWE. (Apparently some Irish lady won some belt this year, I dunno.....scritptwriters may or may not have been in assistance!)

The first team to win back to back All Ireland football titles in more or less 20 years! Not so much as a nod in the general direction. Nothing, nada.

Ye all go on about their being a PRO Dubs Bias in the media, we in Dublin scoff at ye, and this is why. The media build us up, but their sole aim, is to eventually knock us down. Always has been, always will be.

If and when Mayo win and AI, the same media will wet the collective pants for 12 months and in the process find a way to award them 17 All Stars.....
Until that day, can I just apologise to all on behalf of the Dublin Football fraternity for being the big bad guy that ye all love to hate. Sure look, someone has to do it.

BRING ON 2017 CULCHIES!

3 in a row!
COYBIB"
Ah Liam sure if Mayo win an all Ireland the national media are screwed who are they going to write hard luck stories about then? It will take a few years to ramp it up to the level of Mayo! As for being the bad guys sure somebody jas to do it I still find it hard to back kerry no matter who they play against even Dublin.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 09/01/2017 13:16:02    1944280

BRING ON 2017 CULCHIES!

3 in a row!
COYBIB"
Ah Liam sure if Mayo win an all Ireland the national media are screwed who are they going to write hard luck stories about then? It will take a few years to ramp it up to the level of Mayo! As for being the bad guys sure somebody jas to do it I still find it hard to back kerry no matter who they play against even Dublin.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 09/01/2017 13:16:02    1944281

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Ah Liam sure if Mayo win an all Ireland the national media are screwed who are they going to write hard luck stories about then? It will take a few years to ramp it up to the level of Mayo! As for being the bad guys sure somebody jas to do it I still find it hard to back kerry no matter who they play against even Dublin."
Who ate your bun spodgy?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/01/2017 22:37:56    1944432

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Who ate your bun spodgy?"
Star Donaghy I'd say :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/01/2017 23:38:35    1944444

Replying To TheHermit:  "Star Donaghy I'd say :D"
:D

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/01/2017 00:20:04    1944445

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Who ate your bun spodgy?"
to be fair i dont hate ye, probably more to do with the fact ye have plenty of celtic crosses and it nice to see ye suffer for a change, better ye than us! im not a big fan of the star but my bun would have been more likely eaten by mayo themselves handing ye a couple of handy all irelands by not turning up and contesting those games. that and cormac reilly

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 10/01/2017 22:02:29    1944723

Replying To Spoddgy:  "to be fair i dont hate ye, probably more to do with the fact ye have plenty of celtic crosses and it nice to see ye suffer for a change, better ye than us! im not a big fan of the star but my bun would have been more likely eaten by mayo themselves handing ye a couple of handy all irelands by not turning up and contesting those games. that and cormac reilly"
Hard to argue with that I suppose spoddgy. And sure Keep the faith kiddo it could happen for ye this year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/01/2017 22:38:34    1944735