Hurlers 2017

Replying To carlovia:  "Well those Kavanagh brothers are strong players so what did we expect.

I knew we shouldn't have agreed to a half of football.

See you Saturday sponger."
Will do.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2898 - 18/05/2017 13:19:05    1987915

Carlow to win, hope it doesn't go to extra time although either way they should win with a couple to spare.

Onion Breath, if you are looking in, hope you enjoy the games and have a good weekend.

Scallioneater (Carlow) - Posts: 293 - 19/05/2017 12:39:38    1988314

Replying To Scallioneater:  "Carlow to win, hope it doesn't go to extra time although either way they should win with a couple to spare.

Onion Breath, if you are looking in, hope you enjoy the games and have a good weekend."
Thank you scallioneater. I'm looking forward to a busy weekend attending and supporting all the Carlow teams. You'll hardly go to the hurling yourself?

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 19/05/2017 14:02:05    1988346

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Thank you scallioneater. I'm looking forward to a busy weekend attending and supporting all the Carlow teams. You'll hardly go to the hurling yourself?"
No problem at all Onion Breath your a Carlow man through & through no doubt, yes the hurling match is a priority cant wait for the full time whistle, the wexford match next but wont make the minor match so I'm told, again enjoy.

Scallioneater (Carlow) - Posts: 293 - 19/05/2017 17:48:55    1988412

Job done today.

Excellent first half with jack kavanagh, Gary Bennett and the half back line outstanding.

John Michael Nolan was man of the match and unmarkable all day.

Fell asleep at start of second half but fair play to Wicklow who made a match of it and also didn't resort to dirty tackles.

Huge game in 3 weeks and hoping James Doyle will be fit ... it looked like a muscle pull.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 20/05/2017 19:06:15    1988609

Replying To carlovia:  "Job done today.

Excellent first half with jack kavanagh, Gary Bennett and the half back line outstanding.

John Michael Nolan was man of the match and unmarkable all day.

Fell asleep at start of second half but fair play to Wicklow who made a match of it and also didn't resort to dirty tackles.

Huge game in 3 weeks and hoping James Doyle will be fit ... it looked like a muscle pull."
Always good to win a semi final and especially by such a big margin but I have to say I was a bit disappointed with that performance today. Like the Kildare game we went asleep for 15/20 minutes in the second half and no doubt if we do that v Antrim it will be curtains for us. Overall I thought the stickwork wasn't as crisp as it might be for this time of year and hopefullly the wider spaces of Croke Park will help us to find our very best form. A dry day would help also. Thought the full back line was excellent and JM Nolan outstanding. Not only did we not score a goal but at no stage did we ever threaten and while 24 points is very good we'll hardly get past Antrim on points alone. Looking at us today I don't know where the goals will come from.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 20/05/2017 20:12:46    1988630

Full time score Carlow 0-24 Wicklow 2-08
Pointers after listening in, 2 Goals for Wicklow one in each half, none for Carlow.
At the end of the first half Carlow 0-16 Wicklow 1-03, half ways through the second half there was only 0-04 between the two sides. Wicklow had a bad first half, and it sounded like, if they had played for the full 70 mins like they did in the second half the chances are they could have won it.
A few mins before F/T there was 0-06 between them, Wicklow then got a 20 mtr free from where the ball landed after a Wicklow player was fouled way out the field, if Wicklow had scored a goal from that free there would have been only 0-03 between them, knowing Wicklow they would have dug deep for that equaliser, fortunately for Carlow it didn't pan out that way.
From the commentary it sounded as if Carlow were anything but impressive, they have a lot of work to do if they are serious about winning that CR Cup final.

Full time score. Antrim 4-23. Down 0-15
Observations only, and a few stats. An avalanche of scores from Antrim, 2-12 in the first half and 2-11 in the second half, they held Down to 0-07 in the first half and 0-08 in the second half total of 0-15.
Carlow scored 0-16 in the first half and 0-08 in the second half a total of 0-24 Wicklow scored 1-03 in the first half and 1-05 in the second half total of 0-14, similar to Down's total.
It appears as if Carlow need to play with more fire in their bellies, be more tenacious, yellow cards not included, and smarter hurling. On today's performance Carlow are 0-11 behind Antrim just to break even, but it can be corrected before the final.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2910 - 20/05/2017 22:17:25    1988670

Supersub.. Wicklow were never going to win the match today and our lads were good in the first half.

Took the foot off the pedal as they were winning a bit easy but picked up when needed.

Antrim will be a different game and so far this year there's been nothing between the teams so it will be whichever team wants it more on the day.

We have room for improvement and 3 weeks to get better

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 20/05/2017 22:54:32    1988679

Replying To carlovia:  "Supersub.. Wicklow were never going to win the match today and our lads were good in the first half.

Took the foot off the pedal as they were winning a bit easy but picked up when needed.

Antrim will be a different game and so far this year there's been nothing between the teams so it will be whichever team wants it more on the day.

We have room for improvement and 3 weeks to get better"
I hope you are right carlovia I hope you are right

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2910 - 20/05/2017 23:10:51    1988682

Replying To supersub15:  "I hope you are right carlovia I hope you are right"
There's always a first time !

It will be a 50-50 game and both teams have improved in the last few months.

If we can deal with Antrims goal threat then we will win but we can't keep conceding these soft goals.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 21/05/2017 12:26:41    1988766

I wasn't at all impressed with the result yesterday, you couldn't call it a convincing win, never the less a win is a win.

Scallioneater (Carlow) - Posts: 293 - 21/05/2017 12:27:16    1988767

Good win yesterday against a Wicklow team who hurled a storm fr the first 15 minutes fog the second half only. Carlow started well and finished well. The team scored some great scores with SEAN Michael one of the best players on view.
We created just one goal chance and the lack of goals may yet haunt us in Croke Park v Antrim.
Great to have the players in Croker again
Hard to find fault overall yesterday. The puck outs in the first half put Wicklow under pressure and we had a lot of scores on the board early. We answered all the questions posed by Wicklow and if we do not let in any soft goals v Antrim then we have a good chance. I saw Seamus Murphy without the plaster the plaster on his hand and that should be another player available for the Antrim match. Impressive number of points with Denis Murphy pretty accurate from frees. Looking good and really have a chance,

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 21/05/2017 17:46:44    1988864

Well done to both the Carlow hurlers and footballers... terrific wins. Would anyone on here have good knowledge of the Carlow club scene?? I run a small tipping group - well-run, organised, a bit of a craic, we win a few bob too. If you are interested send a message to GAA - For Club and County on Facebook and I'll add you to my group. Thanks and good luck v Antrim and the Dubs.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1139 - 22/05/2017 06:20:16    1989097

I think that unless we sort out our inability to score goals, we are going to be in trouble again against Antrim.

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 22/05/2017 11:54:35    1989265

Any word on James Doyles injury.

We need him back for the final.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 23/05/2017 14:19:50    1989819

Replying To carlovia:  "Any word on James Doyles injury.

We need him back for the final."
And seamus Murphy.Any chance he'll be right.?

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 24/05/2017 20:42:45    1990419

The u21s are playing Wednesday night in Newbridge.

Any word on how they are set ?

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 27/05/2017 12:33:25    1991199

Was talking to one of the carlow management and they reckon James Doyle and Seamus Murphy will be both available unless they pick up problems in the next 2 weeks

anFhrainc (Carlow) - Posts: 62 - 27/05/2017 22:05:42    1991317

Great to see Eoin Nolan come on against Wicklow last week, think this was his first game for Carlow in two years nearly?? Also, does anyone know is Shane Kavanagh still on the panel? He has played a couple of games this year and has been a great servant to Carlow. Didn't see his name on the programme v Wicklow. Aswell as this, the draw for the Hurling qualifiers is on Tuesday morning, the Ring winners play Laois or Westmeath, at GAA congress this year there was some confusion over whether this would be this or next year.

fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1115 - 02/06/2017 19:55:12    1993679

Replying To fergie:  "Great to see Eoin Nolan come on against Wicklow last week, think this was his first game for Carlow in two years nearly?? Also, does anyone know is Shane Kavanagh still on the panel? He has played a couple of games this year and has been a great servant to Carlow. Didn't see his name on the programme v Wicklow. Aswell as this, the draw for the Hurling qualifiers is on Tuesday morning, the Ring winners play Laois or Westmeath, at GAA congress this year there was some confusion over whether this would be this or next year."
Think Shane had to pack it in after yet another injury set back. Shame as he was beginning to pay well again. Fantastic servant for Carlow. best of luck to him.

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 03/06/2017 11:42:05    1993859