Hurlers 2017

Replying To Ashwielder:  "This is a team that deserves support. The hurling community in Carlow is small but the team really appreciates it. A win Sunday would see our lads gaining from the experience of pitting themselves against Galway, Limerick and Clare/Dublin in next year's league. This is the only way for the level of hurling in the county to improve and would be a great incentive for all players to re-commit to the cause and push on again."
Saturday Ashweilder !!

Dont leave it to Sunday.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 28/03/2017 16:53:45    1972389

Belfast to Newry is 46 mins, Carlow Town to Newry is 2 hours 1 min. The 2 main county towns of Carlow & Antrim. Crazy that this game is in Newry, Lovely ground but too far away for a neutral final. They should really bring in winners of each division get home advantage in final too, that'd make too much sense I guess.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 1114 - 29/03/2017 00:06:24    1972601

3 on a Saturday in newrydoes seem a strange time & venue as a standalone game. I see Meath v Wicklow is on at 5 in Parnell Park. Could that not have been made a double header of Meath v Wicklow at 5, for 2B followed by Antrim v Carlow for 2A...or would that make too much sense?? Might even get 1000 there overall

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 1114 - 29/03/2017 03:12:03    1972610

Hardly a fair neutral venue and a very unfair time for a Saturday.

In relation to venue we played Westmeath in a Div 2 final about four years ago and that was in Kilkenny as a stand alone fixture, which was hardly fair on Westmeath. It evened up last year when we played them in Tullamore.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 29/03/2017 09:57:34    1972637

Jaysus I'd be a bit late getting there on Sunday alright!!

Ashwielder (Carlow) - Posts: 94 - 29/03/2017 10:44:46    1972657

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Hardly a fair neutral venue and a very unfair time for a Saturday.

In relation to venue we played Westmeath in a Div 2 final about four years ago and that was in Kilkenny as a stand alone fixture, which was hardly fair on Westmeath. It evened up last year when we played them in Tullamore."
Was there not a relegation game between Laois and Wexford that day in Nowlan Park?

Don't think Newry is a great pitch for hurling at this time of year, it's a nice stadium but not appropriate for a hurling league final. Down hurlers don't even play their games there. Anyway the lads can't let the venue affect them.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1834 - 29/03/2017 11:15:23    1972671

Ye Laois & Wexford played in Kilkenny that day too.
As for Sat i think it's more important than the ring cup game v Antrim as the first rd loser has a second chance but this Sat is all or nothing. Best of luck to all the lads, can't wait.

fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1115 - 29/03/2017 13:50:11    1972756

The venue in my opinion is farcical, another cop out by the powers to be in the gaa to try protect the "traditional hurling counties". Carlow played Kildare in the league a few weeks back, a very important game for both sides to determine who reached the league final against antrim, and who was refereeing it? An antrim man. As MLR proved 3 years ago when the gaa fixed the all Ireland semi final against loughgeil of antrim in the same venue, it'll be all the sweeter on Saturday when we travel to the north and win!!

urging the suporters of Carlow to travel Saturday and show support to this team!!

A fantastic opportunity to get upto division 1 hurling awaits, its the most talented Carlow panel I ever remember, the quality of the players is there.

S.wright (Carlow) - Posts: 18 - 29/03/2017 14:55:45    1972795

David Hughes reffed Antrim, Kildare & Westmeath in this years league. That's a ridiculous point on the referee. The very best of luck Saturday to the hurlers. Certainly is best panel that's been in for a few years. Would be great for a lot of the younger lads to experience the likes of Galway limerick etc. Hope they do it

pieman (Carlow) - Posts: 67 - 29/03/2017 17:25:37    1972863

lads - give over about the venue. its 2 hours from Carlow and 2 hours from north Antrim. Its the right choice. Not that long ago we had to play you in a relegation play off and where was that? In Carlow. Drop the chip from your shoulder, it doesn't suit.

I'm looking forward to this one, should be a cracker.

brendanantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 37 - 30/03/2017 00:29:28    1972996

Replying To brendanantrim:  "lads - give over about the venue. its 2 hours from Carlow and 2 hours from north Antrim. Its the right choice. Not that long ago we had to play you in a relegation play off and where was that? In Carlow. Drop the chip from your shoulder, it doesn't suit.

I'm looking forward to this one, should be a cracker."
Fair enough brendan.

But its also 30 mins from Belfast and 2.5 hours from South Carlow !!!

But lets have a great match. Pity both teams cant go up as it
would be good for both.

Will be a close one.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 30/03/2017 11:03:23    1973057

Replying To brendanantrim:  "lads - give over about the venue. its 2 hours from Carlow and 2 hours from north Antrim. Its the right choice. Not that long ago we had to play you in a relegation play off and where was that? In Carlow. Drop the chip from your shoulder, it doesn't suit.

No chip here.just want fair play that's all. SO all your players and supporters are from Ballycastle now are they? If you're making a case at least be fair.

pennypincher (Carlow) - Posts: 777 - 30/03/2017 11:12:01    1973063

Ah Brendan fair play to you.Talk about Trump and his fake facts. No one is looking for an exact equidistant location just a reasonable compromise which Newry is not. And by the by that relegation play-off was in Pairc Tailteann Navan, now there's a reasonable compromise.;-)

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 30/03/2017 12:08:19    1973090

Best of luck to the hurlers today.

If they put their best foot forward I think they'll have too much for Antrim.

Blackbogger (Carlow) - Posts: 170 - 01/04/2017 11:29:04    1973791

That was a terrible performance. We completely tossed it away against a physically stronger but poor hurling Antrim team. A little too much hype about this team in recent days so back to reality now. Even allowing for how poor we were it was still there for the taking if we had a reliable free taker. Six relatively easy frees missed in second half by 3 different players. Only hope now is that it will make them show a little more bottle when they meet Antrim again in Ring cup cos thet certainly didn't show it today.

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 01/04/2017 17:31:22    1973864

Replying To dead_as_dodos:  "That was a terrible performance. We completely tossed it away against a physically stronger but poor hurling Antrim team. A little too much hype about this team in recent days so back to reality now. Even allowing for how poor we were it was still there for the taking if we had a reliable free taker. Six relatively easy frees missed in second half by 3 different players. Only hope now is that it will make them show a little more bottle when they meet Antrim again in Ring cup cos thet certainly didn't show it today."
Dead as Dodos- Understand you are upset about losing. However a 'poor Antrim team'. Interesting comment, given that you had 2 goes to bate us and youse were 'well in' with the ref today. Maybe 3rd time lucky. Anyway, good luck

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 01/04/2017 18:30:37    1973874

Replying To Glensboy:  "Dead as Dodos- Understand you are upset about losing. However a 'poor Antrim team'. Interesting comment, given that you had 2 goes to bate us and youse were 'well in' with the ref today. Maybe 3rd time lucky. Anyway, good luck"
Fair comment Glensboy. Probably shouldn't have made that comment about ye. I'll tell you one thing I wish our lads had your commitment and drive. That's what i'm most disappointed about. Carlow were pathetic in that dept, poor reflection on manager, however he has plenty time to sort it out before we meet again. Time for these lads to stand up and be counted. Good luck to Antrim and congrats. on today.

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 01/04/2017 19:45:30    1973892

We started so slow and Antrim could have been out of sight by half time.

Second half was better and James Doyle made big difference when he came on. Very disappointing to lose but fair play to Antrim who are much better than the last couple of years.

Glensboy ... If that ref was in with carlow then how did he give Antrim a soft penalty and bring back a carlow goal after giving us advantage. I just thought he was poor for both and awarded both teams very soft frees.

Anyway your team won so fair play.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 01/04/2017 20:08:03    1973900

Replying To dead_as_dodos:  "Fair comment Glensboy. Probably shouldn't have made that comment about ye. I'll tell you one thing I wish our lads had your commitment and drive. That's what i'm most disappointed about. Carlow were pathetic in that dept, poor reflection on manager, however he has plenty time to sort it out before we meet again. Time for these lads to stand up and be counted. Good luck to Antrim and congrats. on today."
I am sure our next game will be equally competitive. I have a real soft spot for Carlow hurling and like to see youse do well. We are all fighting for scarps off the top table, and we can only help ourselves.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 01/04/2017 20:25:30    1973912

Gutted for the lads, but 3 League final defeats in 4 years now is tough going. Hopefully they can put it right in the Christy Ring.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 02/04/2017 12:46:40    1974050