Hurlers 2017

Big week ahead for the hurlers.

Any word on friendlies or injjuries ?

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 05/06/2017 15:35:45    1995071

I am wondering if the upcoming Carlow/Antrim game will be as close or as exciting as their first game in NCP a few weeks ago, somehow I think it won't be as close at the final whistle, in a nut shell I think Croke Park as the venue will be a deciding factor on the outcome of the game not to mention the fitness level of both teams, first to the ball, stick work, and all that so I'm predicting a close game for the first 60 mins or so, then a few quick scores and game over.
Whatever type of game it pans out to be you may bet BH's commentary on kclr will have it spiced up to the last, looking forward to that.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2909 - 05/06/2017 21:54:13    1995284

If the proposed hurling structure changes go ahead then we are back in the qualifier group with Antrim Laois Westmeath and Kerry.

It's to be a round robin with 4 fixtures, winner goes on and last team goes back to ring cup.

Only downside is that it looks like only 1 of the 5 teams can qualify up.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 06/06/2017 18:54:32    1995873

Replying To carlovia:  "If the proposed hurling structure changes go ahead then we are back in the qualifier group with Antrim Laois Westmeath and Kerry.

It's to be a round robin with 4 fixtures, winner goes on and last team goes back to ring cup.

Only downside is that it looks like only 1 of the 5 teams can qualify up."
I like the look of that new set-up. It means even if we lose on Saturday we are still in the qualifier group with teams about our own level next year.
Playing the likes of Wicklow & Mayo is pointless and does nothing to improve the team.
A round robin with 4 games v Laois, Westmeath, Kerry and Antrim sounds great. Winner goes up, bottom team goes down. Seems perfectly fine to me.

I see the final on Saturday doesn't seem to be on TG4 after all. Only on tg4.ie as far I can see. I don't mind as i'll be in Croke Park, but I can imagine that might impact a few people.
Can't ever remember a Christy Ring final not being live on tv, be it RTE in the early days & TG4 recently.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 1114 - 06/06/2017 20:57:42    1996008

The final is only on tg4.ie and not the tv. I could lainch into a lack of respect rant but theres no point.

It really is appalling but as long as we win thats the main thing.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 06/06/2017 21:23:24    1996039

I think the new proposal really degrades the standard of the Christy ring. The competing is becoming irrelevant due to lack of promotion from gaa. Effectively the qualifier group ha's become what the christy ring was supposed to be originally. Is it just me or are meath getting a very raw deal? Why should they be relegated at the expense of Christy ring runners up

Bimb (Carlow) - Posts: 452 - 06/06/2017 21:51:01    1996066

Replying To Bimb:  "I think the new proposal really degrades the standard of the Christy ring. The competing is becoming irrelevant due to lack of promotion from gaa. Effectively the qualifier group ha's become what the christy ring was supposed to be originally. Is it just me or are meath getting a very raw deal? Why should they be relegated at the expense of Christy ring runners up"
Agree, Meath are hard done by with this proposal. Think there is merit in a new championship that would cater for the 4 teams in present qualifier group, Westmeath, Laoise, Kerry, Antrim, Carlow and i'd feel you could add Meath, Kildare and possibly Offaly to that. make it 2 groups of 4 with top 2 to semi final with final winner then going onto qualifier in Liam McCarthy. Bottom team in each group to play relegation play off! It'd give every team a tangible cup to go for while also facilitating Liam McCarthy for the best team! As it is, the likes of Kerry, Westmeath, Laoise and whoever is in qualifier group have nothing to play for bar stay up! Best of luck to Carlow Saturday.

mrbinman (Offaly) - Posts: 29 - 07/06/2017 00:10:46    1996139

Replying To mrbinman:  "Agree, Meath are hard done by with this proposal. Think there is merit in a new championship that would cater for the 4 teams in present qualifier group, Westmeath, Laoise, Kerry, Antrim, Carlow and i'd feel you could add Meath, Kildare and possibly Offaly to that. make it 2 groups of 4 with top 2 to semi final with final winner then going onto qualifier in Liam McCarthy. Bottom team in each group to play relegation play off! It'd give every team a tangible cup to go for while also facilitating Liam McCarthy for the best team! As it is, the likes of Kerry, Westmeath, Laoise and whoever is in qualifier group have nothing to play for bar stay up! Best of luck to Carlow Saturday."
That sounds like the Christy Ring cup!

Why is there a "qualifier group" at all in the current or future structure? Is it just to appease some counties who don't want to lose their status. Let the CR Cup winners in to all Ireland quarter final and make it a really strong competition for counties 11 to 18.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 07/06/2017 11:04:52    1996290

The very best of luck to the lads and mentors tomorrow - I'll be there roaring for ye, we have the players to compete, just getting the performance on the day

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 540 - 09/06/2017 11:38:05    1997247

Any news about team for tomorrow?

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 09/06/2017 11:42:41    1997250

Best of luck to the hurlers tomorrow.

I think this Carlow team are well capable of winning. Indeed, they have let these boys off the hook on a couple of occasions now.

It's time to do the job right this time.

Blackbogger (Carlow) - Posts: 170 - 09/06/2017 18:01:49    1997406

Carroll

Alfie Doyle Bennett

Coady english kelly

Jack d Byrne

Nolan Marty j doyle

Denis Eddie byrne p coady

Great team ... now let's win it

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 09/06/2017 18:58:02    1997422

Under no circumstances will Carlow leave Dublin tomorrow without any Silverware.
I believe this team is full of excellent strong fit hurlers and are passionate about what they do.
Throughout this year, Paul Coady, Paul Doyle and Johnmike Nolan have just been so consistent.
Tomorrow it will take all 15 to get it over the line.
Absolute disgrace it's not on telly!!!!!!!!!

bazzyjoe1 (Carlow) - Posts: 2 - 09/06/2017 21:18:02    1997445

Best of luck tomorrow lads, will be there cheering ye on. I heard the match is not on tv because Cork & Tipp are on rte & they can't clash i heard!!

fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1115 - 09/06/2017 21:59:30    1997456

That looks a very good team. I'll be very surprised if we don't win.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 10/06/2017 13:41:35    1997571

Well done Carlow. Easy the better team on the day, all round the pitch. Good luck in the qualifiers.
We will dust ourselves down, try and bring a few new lads through and go again.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 10/06/2017 18:46:50    1997638

Fantastic victory today in Croke Park. Great scores and showed deft finishing for great goals from the start. Antrim had no answer and were pressurised to shooting a lot of wides. Great to be in the next round against Laois and they wont fancy playing us after today. Antrim had absolutely no answer. Great discipline showed all through the game and after we got ahead we stayed there. Any time Antrim got back at us we countered with points or goals. Fantastic achievement and all the players and management deserve great credit for their hard work. The subs showed great hunger and the team played really cute ball into the space where our faster forwards were able to take on and beat their markers from start to finish. Great win and well done to all involved. After a few losses to them earlier in the year, great to win today and no better place to win it either!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 10/06/2017 21:27:58    1997691

Couldn't make it bit absolutely delighted for them. They certainly rectified the goal scoring problem that bedeviled them in earlier rounds. Congrats to James Doyle on a wonderful achievement.

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 11/06/2017 00:48:35    1997757

Well done yesterday.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 11/06/2017 14:24:12    1997886

Replying To sponger:  "Well done yesterday."
Cheers

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 11/06/2017 20:03:03    1998056