Clare Senior Hurlers 2017

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Strong rumours around that jamie shanahan will be brought into the side. Team to be named this evening"
Interesting move, can't wait to see the team

doyler5 (Limerick) - Posts: 44 - 20/07/2017 13:42:23    2019954

Shanahan is a very good hurler, not the fastest but he is strong and skillful. I think he is worth a go. Did well in the league and played in most games.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 20/07/2017 14:06:46    2019976

I think shanahans greatest attribute is his use or possession, he uses the ball so well and he is a beautiful striker of the ball. His passing is also so percise and accurate.
Genuinely could be a ploy to get better quality service into the full forward line.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 20/07/2017 14:24:22    2019991

Very interested team lads.. thoughts?

doyler5 (Limerick) - Posts: 44 - 20/07/2017 23:05:43    2020307

If McInerney was fit it would be a v good side, shanagher has been poor all year by KK game so he had to be dropped. Podge lucky to be picked but it has more of a balance about it. I do not think he is 100% fit. He seems to be carrying a knock. We need to stop as much ball as possible going into the tipp inside line.

Hopefully we can do it. Hon The Banner

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 21/07/2017 08:26:21    2020369

McInerney being ruled out is a massive blow first of all. Although tipps full forward line doesnt have a huge amount of pace so we shouldnt be troubled too much in terms of pace in the full backline anyway.
Its a little harsh on oisin o'brien, as he clearly wasnt 100% fit against cork and after 2 more weeks training he would be much sharper now. Also he wouldnt have had to mark someone with the blinding pace of cadogan, he would be much better suited to bubbles or mcgrath.
Shanahan we discussed yesterday - he will probably be marking noel mcgrath, shanahan despite his apparent lack of pace shouldnt be trouble too much for pace by noel mcgrath! 2 very intelligent hurlers, mcgrath will want to make a serious impression after being left out the last day so it could be a key battle between these 2!
Shanagher failed a fitness test i understand, i think hes a big loss. Firstly as he is very good in the air. A lot of people say he was poor the last day, but he got very little ball!
Cunningham brings a different type of option though, with the right kind of service he can cause thomas hamill serious problems with his pace.
Tipps full backline is definitley their weak link. Maher has been around for a while and was never able to establish himself, hamill is inexperienced at this level in a vital position and barry has been well out of form recently and seems uncomfortable in the corner. We need to get fast accurate ball into our inside line as we definitley have a pace advantage in there!
After tipp lost to cork a lot of people were saying that tipp lack pace in the half backline as well but i think our wing forwards wont trouble them for pace anyway! Ronan maher will probably be sitting deep to protect his full backline, this is why podge is so important for us he will be loose a lot of the time i would think so he needs to be on the ball a lot making things happen. Personally i think he is better suited to coming deep from corner forward rather than from center and that kelly is ideally suited to the role podge will have tomorrow. We also need kelly to have the radar firing much more accurately.
The battle around midfield will be fascinating, id expext brendan maher to pick up kelly with breen on galvin. Maher is a really solid michael fennelly type midfielder, giving great balance to the team for tipp. He would usually cover in center back when maher sits deep but if he has to follow kelly this could leave a lot of space for podge around the middle sector. We also have to shut down breens driving runs through the middle as he in the one tipp player with real genuine pace!
Puckouts will be facinating, tipp hit dan mccormack with a lot of their puckouts but fitzgerald is excellent in the air so that should be an interesting battle.
Our puckout strategy will be interesting as tipp have the best half backline in the country in terms of aerial ability so we cannot be landing puckouts down on top of them!
Overall as much as I want clare to win, this tipp team is a quality side and with the full forward line they have they could have too much. I wouldnt rule out clare though as if we get on top at midfield and use the full forward line as often as possible then i think we could do it!!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 21/07/2017 08:36:57    2020370

Aaron Shanagher & David McInerney both huge losses cant understand how people thing Shanagher was poor all year did ye not go to League Matches ??? always a threat he is only 20 leading the line in this tactics obsessed plan. Anyway have tomake do with what we have cannot ubderstand Cathal Malone selection what am i missing here

Selection of Paddy Donellan and Brendan Bugler in first 26 ahead of O Connell & Flanagan baffleing to say least no Deasy either

Its said Reidy will start ahead of Podge cant understand why people think its hard on Oisin O Brien very average hurler injured all year should not be on 26 imo

Hope we give it a lash but likely same rubbish as Munster Final

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 21/07/2017 10:28:27    2020425

Replying To clooney:  "Aaron Shanagher & David McInerney both huge losses cant understand how people thing Shanagher was poor all year did ye not go to League Matches ??? always a threat he is only 20 leading the line in this tactics obsessed plan. Anyway have tomake do with what we have cannot ubderstand Cathal Malone selection what am i missing here

Selection of Paddy Donellan and Brendan Bugler in first 26 ahead of O Connell & Flanagan baffleing to say least no Deasy either

Its said Reidy will start ahead of Podge cant understand why people think its hard on Oisin O Brien very average hurler injured all year should not be on 26 imo

Hope we give it a lash but likely same rubbish as Munster Final"
Some key losses alright. Mc Inereny is a massive loss.

Shangher is a loss but I think he has been struggling in championship with full fitness so I expect him to be huge for the future, not the perfomer we need him to be atm but he's young. I thought Malone did ok the last day but prob there to combat that half back line? Or pick up breen midfield? I would have liked to see J Mc Carthy tbh.

!00% agree that GOC sould be in 26 but hasn't he left the panel completely? I would have him back in and stick him or Deasy in the 26 instead of Donnellan.

Also 100% agree with you on OOB, he's an average hurler with limited distribution but he is favoured by this negative and defensively minded management team because they don't trust lads to go out and fucking hurl like the whole country knows they can.

doyler5 (Limerick) - Posts: 44 - 21/07/2017 15:37:27    2020620

Replying To doyler5:  "Some key losses alright. Mc Inereny is a massive loss.

Shangher is a loss but I think he has been struggling in championship with full fitness so I expect him to be huge for the future, not the perfomer we need him to be atm but he's young. I thought Malone did ok the last day but prob there to combat that half back line? Or pick up breen midfield? I would have liked to see J Mc Carthy tbh.

!00% agree that GOC sould be in 26 but hasn't he left the panel completely? I would have him back in and stick him or Deasy in the 26 instead of Donnellan.

Also 100% agree with you on OOB, he's an average hurler with limited distribution but he is favoured by this negative and defensively minded management team because they don't trust lads to go out and fucking hurl like the whole country knows they can."
Completely disagree folks. Oisin O Brien is a very very good defender who shouldn't have been picked as he wasn't fit the last day. A poster has described him as being 'negative'. That's true he is as all defenders ought to be. Remember Michael O Halloran the great Clare corner back. He was negative and negated every corner forward he ever marked. If you guys think that there isn't room for a physical man marking cynical corner back then you are deluded. That O Brien played poorly the last day is neither here nor there. The guy is an excellent back.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 22/07/2017 08:05:08    2020773

I am 100% with our limerick poster on this one.
O'brien is an excellent defender. He was obviously a little short of match fitness the last day, but in my opinion he is one of the best man markers in the country.
Its true that hes not the most flashy or skillful hurler but he doesnt need to be as he is so effective at what he does.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 22/07/2017 09:24:07    2020786

Poor year of hurling for Clare but a few positives for the future too and it's not all doom and gloom just disappointing again with all these good hurlers seemingly stuck.

Jamie Shanahan was class and Dillion and morey good too no matter who they were marking. Duggan and reidy good when they came on and that full forward line did unreal damage. Serious speed and skill when they get the ball.

Kelly was poor and looked like he was trying too hard. Clare should have had made a change earlier with podge and malone going off but we're all experts in hindsight I suppose.

Puckouts were absolutely atrocious and the wides too, that's why Clare lost. Needs working on. Hit enough wides today to win a match

doyler5 (Limerick) - Posts: 44 - 22/07/2017 18:40:08    2021023

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "I am 100% with our limerick poster on this one.
O'brien is an excellent defender. He was obviously a little short of match fitness the last day, but in my opinion he is one of the best man markers in the country.
Its true that hes not the most flashy or skillful hurler but he doesnt need to be as he is so effective at what he does."
I agree that he is a great defender and man marker but look at the distribution of Jamie shanhan and Dillion today, Clare played their best game of the year because they hurled

doyler5 (Limerick) - Posts: 44 - 22/07/2017 18:41:34    2021024

when ye look back on this one i think ye will realise it was left behind.thought taking kelly off at the time was a mistake as galvin had gone out of game completely.agree a mistake was made in leaving malone so long.once again ye scored 3 goals and could have had 3 more against an awful full back line.shanahan had a powerful game and showed today what everyone knew he had since he came on the scene underage.duggan was outstanding when brought in.it was lost in the 5 minutes before halftime with i think 4 if not 5 puckouts ending in tipp scores.goalkeeping position is now vital and ye havn,t sorted it much like us in limerick.mc inerney was a huge loss even though dillon played very well.a huge loss to clare has been conor ryan.i think ye,re management will have learnt a lot and that maybe the players should just be left hurl.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2226 - 22/07/2017 20:53:39    2021130

Clare management must learn from this one, goalkeeping position is key for restarts but management decided to go orthodox yet selected the wrong half-forward line, embarrassing to have to substitute the full line, the selection of P O Connor in full back position is ridiculous - he needs to play half-back due to his ability to distribute to inside forwards, taking Kelly off was a huge mistake as Clare built momentum

mid-match they decide to go short - horse has already bolted, bad as Clare were, Tipperary were worse, poor in defence from 1 to 5, the Maher brothers perhaps escaped but will fear stronger opposition, midfield were struggling with Galvin and Kelly (although his shooting was mixed) - forwards are good although loosely marked, Tipperary will not win a semifinal on this form.

Clare threw this one away!

TouchOfClass (Galway) - Posts: 730 - 22/07/2017 23:27:20    2021321

clare were behind on the score board all during the game,,, never hit the front,,, so I dont think they left it behind them,,,, you have to hit the front to win,,,,, Hurlingexpert why wasnt Bugler on the 40,,,, as you will probaly say your self whats another year,,,....

hoppingball (Galway) - Posts: 963 - 23/07/2017 00:46:04    2021377

I find it strange that people are saying dillon and morey played well when there was a combined 9 points scored off them from play. I thought o'connor did quiet well on callanan, there was a free towards the end given against o'connor that tipp scored but it was a joke of a decision as there was definitley no free!!

The 5 points tipp got directly from clare puckouts were an absolute disaster!!
Conor clearly has gotten a lot of stick in the last 2 weeks, but i thought he was our best player yesterday, so fair play to him!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 23/07/2017 09:17:38    2021449

Replying To hoppingball:  "clare were behind on the score board all during the game,,, never hit the front,,, so I dont think they left it behind them,,,, you have to hit the front to win,,,,, Hurlingexpert why wasnt Bugler on the 40,,,, as you will probaly say your self whats another year,,,...."
Who got the first score yesterday, I thought it was Tony Kelly- so they were not behind all day.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 23/07/2017 09:33:44    2021454

Replying To TouchOfClass:  "Clare management must learn from this one, goalkeeping position is key for restarts but management decided to go orthodox yet selected the wrong half-forward line, embarrassing to have to substitute the full line, the selection of P O Connor in full back position is ridiculous - he needs to play half-back due to his ability to distribute to inside forwards, taking Kelly off was a huge mistake as Clare built momentum

mid-match they decide to go short - horse has already bolted, bad as Clare were, Tipperary were worse, poor in defence from 1 to 5, the Maher brothers perhaps escaped but will fear stronger opposition, midfield were struggling with Galvin and Kelly (although his shooting was mixed) - forwards are good although loosely marked, Tipperary will not win a semifinal on this form.

Clare threw this one away!"
Did you not think Donough Maher had a fine game and kept tabs on Connor McGrath, a very dangerous corner forward.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 23/07/2017 09:36:11    2021455

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Did you not think Donough Maher had a fine game and kept tabs on Connor McGrath, a very dangerous corner forward."
Agree with you Donagh Maher was outstanding.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 23/07/2017 10:13:25    2021497

I'll hold my hands up and say that Conor cleary (a player I haven't rated) looks the part in a traditional 15 on 15 game. He was brilliant, commanding and solid all game. Jamie shanahan was also brilliant, his distribution was fantastic.

Morey and Dillion were great and yes they conceded 9 points but a few of those came at the end of the first half where Clare collapsed with the puckouts and in the last few minutes when the game was over. donagh maher was man of the match and Conor mc Grath scored 1-3 off him. The game Is gone so fast now, the good forwards will also do damage.

doyler5 (Limerick) - Posts: 44 - 23/07/2017 11:53:13    2021596