Clare Senior Hurlers 2017

David Mc back in full training and will start Sunday! Love the low key build up.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 03/07/2017 13:48:34    2009614

We'll have a full strength panel to pick from for sunday. The last time we had a fully fit panel with no suspensions either was 4 years ago.
its a massive positive going into the munster final.

There seems to be a lot of hassle with tickets for this game, there are only terrace tickets available online and in centra and supervalu. Its quiet strange as all the stand tickets couldnt be sold out so there must be a surplus of tickets somewhere!!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 03/07/2017 14:07:23    2009637

season ticket holders all get a stand ticket. Then the clubs get them. Most of the Clare support will have to be in killinan as the town end is sold out.

I rekon 45,000 will be attending it, most of them from Cork going on the support have had last 10 years..

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 03/07/2017 14:36:57    2009658

Replying To Clareman:  "season ticket holders all get a stand ticket. Then the clubs get them. Most of the Clare support will have to be in killinan as the town end is sold out.

I rekon 45,000 will be attending it, most of them from Cork going on the support have had last 10 years.."
8000 people attended rhe cork v tipperary replay to- night. which Cork won by three points.so can we can expect there will be the horde from CORK who will be in Thurles on sunday.It will be up to every g.a.a. fan who supports the banner county to be there and enjoy a great event.We have every reason to be confident. The seniors are especially an outstanding group,and the minors gave a great display against Limerck.Ger LOUGNANE commented over the week end that in in C onor mc grath and Tony Kelly we have the best tandem in the country. Derrick lynch thinks KellyIT may be the best player ever to come out of Clare,even geater the late Jimmy smith, while others put him on a par with Brian Lohan, and Seanie Mcmahon . He has already won three under twenty one medals and led his parish into a munster club championship.But there are so many players we can wax eloquently about.O 'Donnell,is back to his brilliant best, IT is wonderful news that Mcinerney is back,and O' brien,Morey,Conlon,indeed there is not a player on the panel who cane be the star on any given day.We can and should go to Thurkes with confidence.UP THE BANNER!!!!!!!!!

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 03/07/2017 23:48:50    2010064

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "We'll have a full strength panel to pick from for sunday. The last time we had a fully fit panel with no suspensions either was 4 years ago.
its a massive positive going into the munster final.

There seems to be a lot of hassle with tickets for this game, there are only terrace tickets available online and in centra and supervalu. Its quiet strange as all the stand tickets couldnt be sold out so there must be a surplus of tickets somewhere!!"
There shouldn't be any hassle in Clare getting tickets for this one, however the bandwagon appears to be rolling again and many whos last attendance was in September 2013 will be in the stands - on the midfield.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 04/07/2017 01:13:00    2010086

Replying To Clareman:  "season ticket holders all get a stand ticket. Then the clubs get them. Most of the Clare support will have to be in killinan as the town end is sold out.

I rekon 45,000 will be attending it, most of them from Cork going on the support have had last 10 years.."
There were 8.5k at the minor replay v Tipperary in Cork last night. Cork will outnumber Clare 3-1 for this. There would be a massive appetite for tickets in Cork as they simply believe they need to show up and collect both trophies.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 04/07/2017 01:14:11    2010087

Be great to soften their cough

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 04/07/2017 01:14:29    2010088

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Be great to soften their cough"
Ye have every reason to go to Thurles full of confidence. Our full back line were scorned for the big scores that were got against them against Clare without adequate respect been paid to just how the Banner FFL is. KK may be going back but playing at home on Saturday night their starting full forward line scored absolutely nothing from play off Finn, Mc and Casey. Some indication of how strong the Clare attack can be, especially considering there has to be a lot more in that Half forward line.
Best of luck on Sunday.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 04/07/2017 10:39:40    2010217

Im a Long time reader of forums on HS but rarely post. I just want to wish Clare the best of luck on Sunday in Both Minor and Senior.
Munster final days should be savoured and enjoyed. I work across the border in North Cork and I can tell ye that Cork have the utmost respect for Clare but are very very confident of a victory. Ye have a Class Team and will have a massive say in proceedings before September is over. Good Luck and Enjoy the Day!!

Telemachus (Limerick) - Posts: 12 - 04/07/2017 13:16:57    2010372

i reckon we will need goals to win, as i think cork will sore 20 points plus and probably a goal as they hit 2 v tipp and should have scored 2 or 3 v waterford.

I cant wait, hopefully a really good open game and a banner win, we have only won 6 munster finals out of 26 so we find it hard to win them!

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 04/07/2017 14:43:43    2010461

Replying To brianboru:  "8000 people attended rhe cork v tipperary replay to- night. which Cork won by three points.so can we can expect there will be the horde from CORK who will be in Thurles on sunday.It will be up to every g.a.a. fan who supports the banner county to be there and enjoy a great event.We have every reason to be confident. The seniors are especially an outstanding group,and the minors gave a great display against Limerck.Ger LOUGNANE commented over the week end that in in C onor mc grath and Tony Kelly we have the best tandem in the country. Derrick lynch thinks KellyIT may be the best player ever to come out of Clare,even geater the late Jimmy smith, while others put him on a par with Brian Lohan, and Seanie Mcmahon . He has already won three under twenty one medals and led his parish into a munster club championship.But there are so many players we can wax eloquently about.O 'Donnell,is back to his brilliant best, IT is wonderful news that Mcinerney is back,and O' brien,Morey,Conlon,indeed there is not a player on the panel who cane be the star on any given day.We can and should go to Thurkes with confidence.UP THE BANNER!!!!!!!!!"
Are you suppin' on the Biddy Early juice again? Tony Kelly wouldn't lace Jimmy Smyths boots. He's a great 'individual' talent but hasn't played well in months. I think Clare will put in a big performance Sunday because if they don't they 'll get beat 10 points.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 04/07/2017 20:19:22    2010682

People need to lay off Tony. Look what he has achieved in the game and he is 23! He had a poor club final and limerick game, but he never hides and his workrate to get around the pitch is unreal. To say he has not played well in months is nonsense.

MOTM in munster club semi final, 5 points in final v the glen, MOTM in AI Semi final, 6 points v Cork in the league, 1-3 in the playoff final v dublin when we really needed to deliver. He could easily have got 3 goals v limerick playing bad. Whatever happens sunday, he is our best player and one of the best in Ireland.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 05/07/2017 10:25:22    2010849

Replying To Clareman:  "People need to lay off Tony. Look what he has achieved in the game and he is 23! He had a poor club final and limerick game, but he never hides and his workrate to get around the pitch is unreal. To say he has not played well in months is nonsense.

MOTM in munster club semi final, 5 points in final v the glen, MOTM in AI Semi final, 6 points v Cork in the league, 1-3 in the playoff final v dublin when we really needed to deliver. He could easily have got 3 goals v limerick playing bad. Whatever happens sunday, he is our best player and one of the best in Ireland."
THANK YOU CLAREMAN!! As usual you have a realistic approach.It is nice to hear from someone who knows what he is talking about ,and has the statistics to back it up.We will enjoy the munster final.

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 05/07/2017 17:52:51    2011103

A win Sunday is crucial as I can't see the loser making the semi final. There is a huge performance in Tipp on any given day and whoever wins the other one will be sky high with confidence.

I hope ye do it but I have a feeling a place that has 30,000 plus Cork fans roaring them on will be a hard place to get a win. I hope I'm wrong though.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 06/07/2017 04:59:09    2011276

Replying To mike03:  "A win Sunday is crucial as I can't see the loser making the semi final. There is a huge performance in Tipp on any given day and whoever wins the other one will be sky high with confidence.

I hope ye do it but I have a feeling a place that has 30,000 plus Cork fans roaring them on will be a hard place to get a win. I hope I'm wrong though."
Didnt help Limerick the last day nor did it help both Cork and Limerick in 2013.

Argument could be made that it motivates teams more when they have less fans behind them as they are riled to silence the crowd.

Cork will bring big support and that too could add additional pressures to Corks young hurlers. Double edged really.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 06/07/2017 09:00:17    2011347

Rumour has it that we will be outnumbered 4 to 1 on sunday!

All that matters is whats on the field and i think we are better overall.

One key factor in corks games has been mark ellis. He has been fantastic for them. He appears to dominate and play a lot of the ball.
But the important point is that he doenst follow his man. Michael breen got 6 points off him and pauric mahoney got 4 - while ellis still appeared to ve having a great game. Its obviously a tactical ploy from cork.
Tony kelly had a quiet game the last day - we know that. But one simple change could see him get 6 or 7 points. Switch himself and podge, positioning tony at 11. Ellis will not folllow him. Bill cooper will probably be assigned to shadow kelly when he come deep but he wont be close enough to man mark him as such. Cooper will be caught in too minds as to where he should be and kelly will run riot. In my opinion this is the most crucial area of the game on sunday and its where we will win it!!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 06/07/2017 09:44:31    2011369

Best of luck to all involved Sunday, Minor and Senior. Great to be back in the final, hopefully the first of a few more in coming years.

HON THE BANNER

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 07/07/2017 10:49:33    2011866

Replying To Clareman:  "Best of luck to all involved Sunday, Minor and Senior. Great to be back in the final, hopefully the first of a few more in coming years.

HON THE BANNER"
Yeah Great alltogether super weekend of Sport hope fotballers do themselves justice as well

I wonder will Cork Minors be drained after the matches with Tipperary or will it hone them further, hard to tell our lads cant waste the opportunities like the Limerick game this time.

I am a little more optimistic on the senior match as the Clare Champion seems to be suggesting changes from the Limerick game

Oisin O Brien is mentioned often and personally i think he has very little hurling but he might curb Conor Lehane with Gudgie dropping to the bench
Peter Duggan is reported to be flying and i hope at least that he makes the 26, if as hinted at he is started perhaps Podge or David Reidy migh be at risk.

Hope Tony Kelly has recovered his form, because we simply cannot carry anyone on Munster Final day, he is of course a huge talent but you must perform much like Shefflin TJ Reidy JJ ect.

Cork will be cock sure id say a lot will depend on Fahy getting his puck outs right on this ocassion faith has been shown in him he has to deliver

No Injuries now so no excuses we are at the age profile mid 20s so we must deliver on our talent

Hon the Banner

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 07/07/2017 14:54:56    2012007

I think Malone might start, i'm not his biggest fan but the mgmt like him and he offers a bit of power in that area although hIs hurling is slow.

O Brien has little hurling compared to Dillon, Flanagan, Gudgie, or even Browne, but he is a tighter marker and if his fitness holds he might be an option, as he is a good spoiler.

The frees worries me, if reidy is dropped then its kelly, or mcgrath, neither are confident or regular takers, even for their clubs.

I heard duggan is going well but he needs to deliver as any chance he has got he has been poor. He is good to win ball, but he needs to use it far better than he has done in the past. I wish him well as he was a good foil for kelly and podge at 21 level. Deasy is a better hurler and also going well but i worry he has not been tested as this level and a munster final might be a risk.

I trust the mgmt to make the correct calls and all we can do is hope they play well and with a bit of luck, get the win.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 07/07/2017 15:47:25    2012039

Best of Luck on Sunday to both Banner teams, I felt Clare hurled within themselves against Limerick and have a lot more to show, whether they can, against an improving Cork team is really the big question. Either way its a novel enough final. Its shaping up to be a very interesting summer of hurling ahead.

Sean Wall (Limerick) - Posts: 141 - 07/07/2017 17:14:38    2012070