Clare Senior Hurlers 2017

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Df
1. I NEVER said kelly was a ball winner. The argument from yourself at the time was that he was not capable of "contesting" puckouts. Which i argued against - i also included 1 example of him catching a puckout against limerick - end of.

2. I have never said honan was a ball winner. You have thrown this at me before out of no where. And you are wrong, i never said it - end of.

3. Our puckout strategy has changed. It has come full circle if anything. We went from going long, to going short, to last years tactic of pushing up wing backs for our own puckouts.

4. One point you have never been able to understand is that there are more ways of playing hurling than lumping high ball on top of a half forward line!! That is why i am very disappointed in our management that they didnt have an alternative plan.

5. Im not sure what the definition of "an orthodox half line" is to be honest. But who says a half forward line should be "orthodox"?! Thats a very boring approach to the game if im honest. Trying new systems and breaking away from your beloved rigid old ways is all part of the game.

6. As for what would have happened if we didnt have o'donnell. Then someone else would have came in to replace him. Its not like we would have had to play with 14. More than likely mccarthy going to midfield with reidy going to o'donnells position."
Your opinion on how to play without ball winners is irrelevant to his point. Why did you disagree with me on something for more than three years then agree with Loughnane when he says the same thing? Strange. By the way Im not surprised that you don't know how an orthodox half forward line would play.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 15/06/2017 09:08:12    1999824

Hurlingexpert...Don't you see that DF and Loughnane have been saying the same thing for 3 years ,so he must be right and you must be be wrong. Excellent use of the ploy "the world agrees with me" ,Only problem is who is going to go back and check 3 years of posts. All sorts of wigle room built in here, , ie , Joe blow can wax like the gospel till doomsday and never be pinned down, as in "that's not what I was saying, I was saying the other thing ,but you just didn't get it" .. and so on.. .

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1360 - 15/06/2017 12:24:59    1999903

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Hurlingexpert...Don't you see that DF and Loughnane have been saying the same thing for 3 years ,so he must be right and you must be be wrong. Excellent use of the ploy "the world agrees with me" ,Only problem is who is going to go back and check 3 years of posts. All sorts of wigle room built in here, , ie , Joe blow can wax like the gospel till doomsday and never be pinned down, as in "that's not what I was saying, I was saying the other thing ,but you just didn't get it" .. and so on.. ."
If Clare put Bugler up centre foward all the problems would be solved,,, probaly wont happen so it will be the same old story again for Clare ,,,,, so near and yet so far,,,,,,,

hoppingball (Galway) - Posts: 963 - 15/06/2017 14:20:24    1999953

Df
You saying that clare dont have a top class keeper and loughnanne saying that our puckouts were a mess are 2 very different things kid.

You never (as far as i know) said previously that we had free taking problems.

As for ball winners you and your friend ger did make the same point - so well done i suppose!! I have clearly outlined my response to this several times so i would think i dont have to go back on it again for you.

As for your orthodox half forward line - best of luck finding any team at any level in the country who will have 3 "ball winning" half forwards over 6 foot 2 that you can baloon high ball down on top of. Very innovative thinking there on your part.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 15/06/2017 23:00:31    2000155

Replying To hoppingball:  "If Clare put Bugler up centre foward all the problems would be solved,,, probaly wont happen so it will be the same old story again for Clare ,,,,, so near and yet so far,,,,,,,"
Same old story? We won the All Ireland 4 years ago

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2491 - 16/06/2017 02:40:44    2000185

Oisin O Brien back in training... great news.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2491 - 16/06/2017 02:41:06    2000186

Yeah fantastic news about oisin. Having returned to full training yesterday he will have just over 3 weeks training, with a couple of club games as well. He should be good to go for the munster final. I would start him, in place of gudgie.

Hopefully davy mac and podge will be fit as well, podge himself has said he will be fine - while management say mac is 50/50. If we have a full backline of o'brien, mcinerney & morey i think it would probably be the best in the country!!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 16/06/2017 11:23:09    2000264

O Brien is a welcome addition but im worried about D Mac. Without him we are goosed.

DF - How many gaps have Limerick to fill you reckon????? You were quick to tell us about our gaps..ye must have a massive ravine at this point..

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 16/06/2017 11:34:12    2000271

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "There must be some mind games going on with yourself doyler! Judging by what county your account says your from and then you referring to clare as "us""
I'm a clare man living in Limerick since a teen, I guess i should change it when using "I" and "we" !

doyler5 (Limerick) - Posts: 44 - 16/06/2017 12:54:12    2000314

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Yeah fantastic news about oisin. Having returned to full training yesterday he will have just over 3 weeks training, with a couple of club games as well. He should be good to go for the munster final. I would start him, in place of gudgie.

Hopefully davy mac and podge will be fit as well, podge himself has said he will be fine - while management say mac is 50/50. If we have a full backline of o'brien, mcinerney & morey i think it would probably be the best in the country!!"
I really like each of these defenders individually but as a unit are they lacking height? Playing Galway/Tipp surely they would just pump in high balls to the corners?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 16/06/2017 13:35:09    2000335

Replying To Ban:  "I really like each of these defenders individually but as a unit are they lacking height? Playing Galway/Tipp surely they would just pump in high balls to the corners?"
Many of you will remember with great disgust the treatment given to Davy Fitz when he questioned the referee for making an obviously wring decision in league final.Gaa officilas and indeed some commentators were loud in their condemnations.How dare he question an official we were told.The gaa officials gave him a two month suspension and he was forced to watch the wexford-kilkenny game from the back of the stand at the game.Now we come to day's game ,cork v Waterford.The cork manager approached a linesman and protested a decision he made!!!. Now it will be interesting to see what action the officials will take and where the official will be when cork take on clare in the munster final

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 18/06/2017 22:43:04    2001466

Clare v Cork in the Munster Final, continue to believe that Clare will have enough to enjoy the delights of being Munster Senior Hurling Champions again but will need everyone fit including Oisin O'Brien, David McInerney and Paudge Collins as well as Galvin brothers, Kelly and McGrath at their ultimate best - is that too big of an ask? Any shortcomings will hand the initiative to Cork.

Chatting to someone who used be close to Clare Senior Team suggested that an additional game for Clare through QF might bring the team on more than winning Munster and straight through to the semifinals - any thoughts?

TouchOfClass (Galway) - Posts: 730 - 19/06/2017 13:59:35    2001839

I think every clare hurling person wants clare to win the munster final. I dont think anyone would be thinking we'd be better off losing and being in a quarter final. Especially when the likes of tipp, kilkenny or waterford will be there..

We do need everyone to be fit though. If mcinerney and podge are fit to play and if we can sort out our puckouts i think we will win.

Cork have a lot of good forwards, with plenty of scoring options. I was impressed with their defending yesterday though, their tacklint was good and they gave away very few frees. Coleman in particular is an absolutely outstanding hurler.cahalane though despite doing pretty well in his 2 games - i think he is someone we can get at. Ive never been convinced by him. Their midfield also seemed to be a little weak yesterday. The likes of fitzgibbon, kingston and meade were also much quieter yesterday than the tipp game so maybe some of them are not as good as people may have thought. Cork will start as favourites but i think our lads will do the business!!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 19/06/2017 14:16:10    2001855

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "I think every clare hurling person wants clare to win the munster final. I dont think anyone would be thinking we'd be better off losing and being in a quarter final. Especially when the likes of tipp, kilkenny or waterford will be there..

We do need everyone to be fit though. If mcinerney and podge are fit to play and if we can sort out our puckouts i think we will win.

Cork have a lot of good forwards, with plenty of scoring options. I was impressed with their defending yesterday though, their tacklint was good and they gave away very few frees. Coleman in particular is an absolutely outstanding hurler.cahalane though despite doing pretty well in his 2 games - i think he is someone we can get at. Ive never been convinced by him. Their midfield also seemed to be a little weak yesterday. The likes of fitzgibbon, kingston and meade were also much quieter yesterday than the tipp game so maybe some of them are not as good as people may have thought. Cork will start as favourites but i think our lads will do the business!!"
Cork 4/5 v Clare 6/5 [Draw 9/]

guess winning against W'Ford is a better than winning against Limerick

too close to call but expect Clare to prevail, agree that some Cork players will collapse under pressure chasing the game

TouchOfClass (Galway) - Posts: 730 - 19/06/2017 15:29:20    2001914

Replying To brianboru:  "Many of you will remember with great disgust the treatment given to Davy Fitz when he questioned the referee for making an obviously wring decision in league final.Gaa officilas and indeed some commentators were loud in their condemnations.How dare he question an official we were told.The gaa officials gave him a two month suspension and he was forced to watch the wexford-kilkenny game from the back of the stand at the game.Now we come to day's game ,cork v Waterford.The cork manager approached a linesman and protested a decision he made!!!. Now it will be interesting to see what action the officials will take and where the official will be when cork take on clare in the munster final"
Are you for real ? Davy was in the middle of the field and ended up in an altercation with a player, he fully deserved two months and more. The Cork manager stayed on the sideline and didn't put a finger on anyone. Chalk and cheese.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 19/06/2017 21:19:13    2002133

Replying To TouchOfClass:  "Clare v Cork in the Munster Final, continue to believe that Clare will have enough to enjoy the delights of being Munster Senior Hurling Champions again but will need everyone fit including Oisin O'Brien, David McInerney and Paudge Collins as well as Galvin brothers, Kelly and McGrath at their ultimate best - is that too big of an ask? Any shortcomings will hand the initiative to Cork.

Chatting to someone who used be close to Clare Senior Team suggested that an additional game for Clare through QF might bring the team on more than winning Munster and straight through to the semifinals - any thoughts?"
Stay as far away from the q/f as ye can. I think whoever comes though the qualifiers will have serious momentum and take some stopping. Let's for argument sake say Tipp and Kilkenny are kept apart in the draw for both rounds, would you fancy meeting them after coming through Limerick, Dublin, Waterford etc and you on the back of a loss?

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 20/06/2017 09:29:19    2002319

i agree Mike, Clare need win this title. We have only won 6 out of 26 Munster finals so lets take this chance if we can!

To hell with the 1/4 finals, we need to get to Croke Park and also win a long overdue Munster title!

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 20/06/2017 15:03:50    2002575

Not too sure about that. Tipp are the only Munster team since 2006 to win the All Ireland as Munster Champions and many would say they were very lucky against Galway last year. The long lay off after the Munster Final seems to spook several Munster sides.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 20/06/2017 16:18:00    2002636

Replying To therealtmo:  "Are you for real ? Davy was in the middle of the field and ended up in an altercation with a player, he fully deserved two months and more. The Cork manager stayed on the sideline and didn't put a finger on anyone. Chalk and cheese."
therealtmo, you just don't get itRules ARE THERE TO BE ENFORCED.Both Davy and the cork manager broke the rules/. Incidentally he was joined by one of the Cork selectors.The point I was making is a very basic one. Rules are there to be enforced.But the way your description fully exposes yo ur blatant bias. Fitz went two yards over the line to remonstrate with the ref. who obviously made a big mistake.And I accept he made a mistakeBUT the Cork manager also went on the field and he and his selector also got involved in abuse of the official.What is wrong is the rule IS enforced on one team and ignored for anotherThe Cork manger should be banned from the pitch for the Munster final. that is the rule!!!!!!!

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 20/06/2017 17:47:44    2002686

Replying To brianboru:  "therealtmo, you just don't get itRules ARE THERE TO BE ENFORCED.Both Davy and the cork manager broke the rules/. Incidentally he was joined by one of the Cork selectors.The point I was making is a very basic one. Rules are there to be enforced.But the way your description fully exposes yo ur blatant bias. Fitz went two yards over the line to remonstrate with the ref. who obviously made a big mistake.And I accept he made a mistakeBUT the Cork manager also went on the field and he and his selector also got involved in abuse of the official.What is wrong is the rule IS enforced on one team and ignored for anotherThe Cork manger should be banned from the pitch for the Munster final. that is the rule!!!!!!!"
Fitz went two yards over the line ? Haha he was more like 20 yards inside the lining when he shoulder Forde. Fitz was banned for contributing to a melee not for arguing with the ref. Did the Cork manager get involved with a player because that's why Fitz was banned.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 20/06/2017 19:38:25    2002738