Clare Senior Hurlers 2017

Replying To bloodyban:  "Good man. Colm Calvin is your best player and you want to leave him off. He's your cleverest player aswell. So hopefully yere management do leave him off"
McInerney, Fitzgerald, Kelly, Conlon, McGrath are all more important to Clare than Galvin IMO.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 30/05/2017 01:55:42    1992008

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "McInerney, Fitzgerald, Kelly, Conlon, McGrath are all more important to Clare than Galvin IMO."
I do not doubt Colms ability....he is a fantastic hurler. My point has always been that in many ways I feel as though Clare have been picking a team of individuals rather than a Team. That sometimes means dropping a very very good player to ensure you are set-up in a manner to maximise your ability to win. One of the main criticisms of Clare by Limerick fans is that we are not able to win ball in the half forward line. Therefore, some has to be dropped to introduce a ball winner. That is the point I am making.

I was insistent on this change before, but now I am happy to see how the team plays Sunday given its a new management with a more direct style of play.

Cant wait for Sunday now.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 30/05/2017 05:48:41    1992010

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I do not doubt Colms ability....he is a fantastic hurler. My point has always been that in many ways I feel as though Clare have been picking a team of individuals rather than a Team. That sometimes means dropping a very very good player to ensure you are set-up in a manner to maximise your ability to win. One of the main criticisms of Clare by Limerick fans is that we are not able to win ball in the half forward line. Therefore, some has to be dropped to introduce a ball winner. That is the point I am making.

I was insistent on this change before, but now I am happy to see how the team plays Sunday given its a new management with a more direct style of play.

Cant wait for Sunday now."
Touch of class,galway forecast A clare win by at least ten points!!!!!!! I really believe he is the most accurate contributor so far. Roll on sunday

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 30/05/2017 16:49:22    1992296

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "McInerney, Fitzgerald, Kelly, Conlon, McGrath are all more important to Clare than Galvin IMO."
All good players but none of those guys you name can pass the ball like Galvin can. He's more important than Kelly.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 30/05/2017 18:26:16    1992335

I certainly dont agree that dropping galvin "maximizes our ability to win"!! Dropping him would have the opposite effect.

Im also not convinced that we will be playing a far more direct. We have to play to our strengths not to some pre ordained system.

Our strength is galvin, kelly, podge and reidy interlinking around the middle of the field. Playing short accurate passes is goint to be so important. I think most of us could name the same 17 players - 15 of which would start. There is one of 2 massive calls.

One such call is - do we go with 3 genuine inside forwards?! O'donnell is the one that is 50/50 as reidy could start in the corner with mccarthy midfield.
Gudgy is pushing hard by all accounts with 2 from himself o'connor and dillon vying for defensive positions.

One other point is that im sick of hearing this nonsence about ball winners. Cork showed everyone how you play hurling. Fast snappy ball into space. Our 4 or 5 lads around the midfield half forward couldnt possibly be all marked at the same time with the movement they are capable of!!

Even if galvin was picked wing forward - who have we got that could do a better job as a "ball winner"?? Its nonsence, we play to our strengths as any sensible team would

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 30/05/2017 20:44:39    1992385

I can tell you now for a fact that I would rather see Tony Kelly on your first 15 before Colm Galvin.

Tony Kelly being Tony Kelly reminds me of an interview that is on Youtube from a few years ago........

Paul Galvin was asked if Gooch was the greatest player he played with. His answer made a lot of sense. He said Gooch would win you a game but in order for him to influence it, Darragh O Se had to be influencing it and dominating at midfield. I see yerselves in the exact same way. Any game ye win where the forwards put up a big score Galvin is nearly always one of the best 2 or 3 players on the field. It's all well and good having Kelly or McGrath in the forwards but if you are losing at midfield they will be living off scraps.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 31/05/2017 08:33:19    1992493

Mike03 fair comment but Kelly has played midfield for Clare a good bit too and also for ballyea. If you saw some of the ball he put into the forwards in certain games in the league you would realize his passing is just as good as galvins but also he is faster, scores more and has more skill.

Remember the 2013 semi final and both finals, galvin scored a point v limerick but was not quiet enough. Kelly went to midfield and was immense, hit 4 from play. He scored 3 and created tons in both finals v Cork whilst Colm was subbed both days. Kelly is a big game player.

I really rate Colm, in top 3 players we have and as i said before without him we wont beat limerick, but overall kelly is the better hurler and our NO.1 McGrath is 2, then Galvin.

Just my opinion but your point is good. Basically i want both of them playing !!!! Makes us way better.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 31/05/2017 08:56:56    1992496

Replying To brianboru:  "Touch of class,galway forecast A clare win by at least ten points!!!!!!! I really believe he is the most accurate contributor so far. Roll on sunday"
BB - am not for changing my opinion but there are a few caveats, defending begins at no.15, will O'Donnell and McGrath chase down every defender coming out carrying ball? will Seadna Morey start? will O'Connor be confined to the full-back line? prefer podge closer to goal as he is often short from long distance but which Kelly will turn up? he surely knows how to get himself into a game, it's psychological - despite all this if Clare play 6 backs on 6 forwards and Limerick backs are closed down then Clare will score more from play and have the goal threat to win by 10+ as Limerick are as poor as Dublin with huge deficiencies in skill.

TouchOfClass (Galway) - Posts: 730 - 01/06/2017 16:10:47    1993125

Replying To TouchOfClass:  "BB - am not for changing my opinion but there are a few caveats, defending begins at no.15, will O'Donnell and McGrath chase down every defender coming out carrying ball? will Seadna Morey start? will O'Connor be confined to the full-back line? prefer podge closer to goal as he is often short from long distance but which Kelly will turn up? he surely knows how to get himself into a game, it's psychological - despite all this if Clare play 6 backs on 6 forwards and Limerick backs are closed down then Clare will score more from play and have the goal threat to win by 10+ as Limerick are as poor as Dublin with huge deficiencies in skill."
Haha. Ah come on. If you are going to try catch a few at least make the bait have a bit more substance.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 01/06/2017 17:15:27    1993160

I would love to see Limerick win an all Ireland if Clare were out of it, but if Clare don't win on Sunday, i think that this group of Clare wont see an All Ireland again.

They have enough platitudes given to them about all the talent ect, but our Munster and qualifier history is woeful, 1998 since last Munster Final win , Limerick are in transit had only fair league same as ourselves i suppose, but surely we are as good now as we are going to be very little injury .

The team is not announced but most people seem to have it as gospel what team will line out, another poster here said they were sick of hearing of ball winners {well tell that to Kilkenny Tipperary Galway or Waterford} there appears to be the view that Donal Og will have worked a miracle on puck out strategy hope so as Tony Kelly or Podge wont win much in air, it will come down again to John Conlon as always.
The inside line if left as a conventional 3 match up, has huge potential to wreck havock if given proper ball.

We will have good subs also to bring in Paul Flanagan Jack Browne Aaron Cunningham Cathal McInerney The Duggans ect

No offence meant to our neighbours but Clare comfortable 5/6 points where i would expect to meet Waterford in Munster Final

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 02/06/2017 14:11:23    1993537

The hope for me would be last year Clare beat the worst prepared Limerick side I can ever remember by four points. Limerick will have Peter Casey, Kyle Hayes and Barry Nash in a brand new full forward line. These lads may be new to the likes of the Galway fella but they have serious ability. They were part of the minor side that decimated his home county by 20 or so points in an All Ireland minor semi final. Sean Finn has bags of ability in corner back and I hope the likes of Dan Morrissey can come back to make a point. If Limerick click on the full forward line they have the potential to do some serious damage to Clare.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 02/06/2017 15:41:53    1993591

Question marks over Clare half back line , centre foward , and goalie,,, can Limerick exploit them,,, stranger things have happened....

hoppingball (Galway) - Posts: 963 - 03/06/2017 18:18:49    1993990

Clare were the better team and deserved to win by a biggerscoreline,. Mcgrath and O Donnell were magnificent,Kelly will need to improve for the Munster final,but should be given the job of free taker.Iwould drop Reidy from the panel, a nice enough hurler but a ligthtweightWe have a huge problem with the goalie position. Ihave been saying that for monthsNone of the present panel is up to par,That was obvious all year but the management failed to look at other possibilities within the county.and now have left us with quite a problem!!!!!!

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 04/06/2017 23:42:36    1994788

Lot of talk in Clare to night of the Clooney - Quin and Scariff goalies being called up,,, Half back line and centre foward also a problem.... Still Clare no bad team,,,, ,,

hoppingball (Galway) - Posts: 963 - 05/06/2017 00:06:28    1994804

Replying To brianboru:  "Clare were the better team and deserved to win by a biggerscoreline,. Mcgrath and O Donnell were magnificent,Kelly will need to improve for the Munster final,but should be given the job of free taker.Iwould drop Reidy from the panel, a nice enough hurler but a ligthtweightWe have a huge problem with the goalie position. Ihave been saying that for monthsNone of the present panel is up to par,That was obvious all year but the management failed to look at other possibilities within the county.and now have left us with quite a problem!!!!!!"
Drop Rediy from the panel? Have you been watching clare over the past 2 years? Silly comment

Job done. You never please some people but the reality is that we are a ten point better team than limerick. Name of the game was to win today, forget about performance. Best possible way to go into Munster final with questions over some aspects of our play. If we had blown limerick away we would be favourites and more presssure. Delighted with the win

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 05/06/2017 02:02:34    1994826

Munster final 2017! That feels good......... don't care who we get.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 05/06/2017 09:37:32    1994857

Terrible bitterness over on the limerick page. Sad to see. We are being called useless and one poster even said limerick could have still won....hahahaha we won by 4, missed a penalty and limerick scored a last minute goal to put some gloss on the score line and yet he thinks they still could have won... mother of god.

We are getting no credit and that's a very good thing. Hopefully we can keep out of the spotlight for 5 weeks and deliver a performance in the final. Hon the banner

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 05/06/2017 10:22:20    1994891

Lohan, there isn't terrible bitterness on the limerick page, think everyone agrees clare deserved to win. You're looking for an argument by focusing on a few comments, lot of limerick supporters are disappointed which they are entitled to be.
I think clare forward line have potential to do serious damage and mcinerney is the best full back in the game. Question marks still hang over the rest of defence and goalkeeper. Loughnanes negative comments on the star today are done with the intention of rallying clare, he'll be building up cork or Waterford big time.
Best of lick in Munster final

pj_mcmanus (Limerick) - Posts: 431 - 05/06/2017 11:35:21    1994915

Very disappointing game - Only realistic post-match analysis was provided by Loughnane.

Allot of surgery required if they are to be competitive in July!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 05/06/2017 20:00:11    1995222

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Drop Rediy from the panel? Have you been watching clare over the past 2 years? Silly comment

Job done. You never please some people but the reality is that we are a ten point better team than limerick. Name of the game was to win today, forget about performance. Best possible way to go into Munster final with questions over some aspects of our play. If we had blown limerick away we would be favourites and more presssure. Delighted with the win"
People have different opinions LRH. After all you said Seamus Hickey was a busted flush and should be dropped, and he held Tony Kelly scoreless yesterday and Manager O'Connor very graciously praised him on his performance, one of our few bright ones.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 05/06/2017 23:38:24    1995331