Clare Senior Hurlers 2017

Bloodyban you say our potential half backline is slow, which i really dont agree with apart from maybe 1 of the 3! Anyway even if we had a slow half backline its hardly going to matter against limerick when they'll be up against hegarty, dempsey and SHANE DOWLING!!!!
Then you say most of our team is tiny?? Your a funny guy, podge and reidy are the only 2 of the team mentioned above that could be considered small!!!

Clooney i was in favour of playing fitzgerald up until the end of the league. But seen as he never got a go there all year its highly that he'll be put there for championship especially seen as he was probably our best player in the league playing wing back. I think he is nailed on at no.7..

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 22/05/2017 18:57:57    1989531

I think we are going to see a very similar Clare team to that team that started against Galway in the recent challenge:

Fahy

O Connor McInerney Morey

Fitz Cleary Gudgie

McCarthy Galvin

Kelly Collins Conlon

Shanagher McGrath Reidy

That leaves a very strong bench as well with:

O Donnell
Bugs
Malone
Browne
Flanagan
I. Galvin
Cathal Mc (great impact player)

Personally I would like to see:

Fahy

O Connor Dillon Morey

Bugler Cleary McInereny

Kelly Fitzgerald

Malone Collins Conlon

McGrath Shanager O Donnell/Reidy (cant separate)

For the structure of the team I would sacrifice Colm G to be honest.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2491 - 23/05/2017 06:20:55    1989668

How ye fixed for Sunday week lads? I think the great thing about any Limerick and Clare match, particularly this one, is that both sets of supporters think they can and will win. Going on challenges can be a very dodgy thing but at least the results from the last few weeks means both teams will go in to the game full of confidence after beating Cork and seeing what they did Sunday. And I suppose the standout result over the last few weeks was your win against Galway so your lot are probably right to be slight favourites for this one.

And one other great thing is that whoever wins will have a cracking chance of winning a Munster title. It's all well and good for people to say provincial championships don't mean much any more but I am sure either of us would take a win in the Munster final July over 10 league titles.

On the match itself I think whoever gets the most goals wins. That might sound simplistic and obvious but with us both putting up massive points totals in the last few weeks, whoever can stick 2 or 3 goals along with that will take beating. And of all the matches coming up I think this one is the most likely by a distance to end in a draw. There is nothing between the teams in my opinion.

Well nothing bar a few points in our favour at the end of what will be a cracker I hope :)

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 23/05/2017 09:37:21    1989690

Tonights game will be interesting,,,,,

hoppingball (Galway) - Posts: 963 - 23/05/2017 15:23:43    1989848

I think you would have to say Bloodyban that we could be exposed at 2, 3, 6, and in half forwards depending who plays, also the make up of the team is key. Clare have for too long just picked the best lads and then tried to invent a convoluted style that held them back.

I am hoping this mgmt team allow them to play to their strengths. Thurles is a big open pitch, Cork outscored the AI Champs by playing to their strengths and not wasting time with a sweeper and clogging up midfield. I would hope Clare will do the same.

Limerick have an awful lot of good hurlers and i think over time Kiely will make a fine team of them, i just hope its not Sunday week!

I think it will be 4/5 point game either way. Limerick should should go direct look for goals of dowling on edge of the square. Clare need to move the fast fast to their forwards and attack Limerick at pace. It will be an intriguing prospect I hope.

I hope both teams have a right cut of it and whoever wins then fair play and best of luck in the final.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 23/05/2017 17:15:49    1989905

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I think we are going to see a very similar Clare team to that team that started against Galway in the recent challenge:

Fahy

O Connor McInerney Morey

Fitz Cleary Gudgie

McCarthy Galvin

Kelly Collins Conlon

Shanagher McGrath Reidy

That leaves a very strong bench as well with:

O Donnell
Bugs
Malone
Browne
Flanagan
I. Galvin
Cathal Mc (great impact player)

Personally I would like to see:

Fahy

O Connor Dillon Morey

Bugler Cleary McInereny

Kelly Fitzgerald

Malone Collins Conlon

McGrath Shanager O Donnell/Reidy (cant separate)

For the structure of the team I would sacrifice Colm G to be honest."
Good man. Colm Calvin is your best player and you want to leave him off. He's your cleverest player aswell. So hopefully yere management do leave him off

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 24/05/2017 19:38:33    1990402

Replying To Clareman:  "I think you would have to say Bloodyban that we could be exposed at 2, 3, 6, and in half forwards depending who plays, also the make up of the team is key. Clare have for too long just picked the best lads and then tried to invent a convoluted style that held them back.

I am hoping this mgmt team allow them to play to their strengths. Thurles is a big open pitch, Cork outscored the AI Champs by playing to their strengths and not wasting time with a sweeper and clogging up midfield. I would hope Clare will do the same.

Limerick have an awful lot of good hurlers and i think over time Kiely will make a fine team of them, i just hope its not Sunday week!

I think it will be 4/5 point game either way. Limerick should should go direct look for goals of dowling on edge of the square. Clare need to move the fast fast to their forwards and attack Limerick at pace. It will be an intriguing prospect I hope.

I hope both teams have a right cut of it and whoever wins then fair play and best of luck in the final."
clareman do you think that having paul kinnerk with us a a big advantage as he knows the clare players inside out....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1100 - 24/05/2017 22:00:23    1990434

if colm galvin is not playing ,we wont beat limerick, he is a super hurler.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 25/05/2017 09:17:05    1990515

yes its an advantage to limerick but both teams know each other so well i doubt its much of an advantage. Kinnerks view on hurling is very similar to Donal Og so for me it cancels itself out.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 25/05/2017 09:18:33    1990516

wouldn't read too much into the Clare v Galway challenge, no incentive for either side, lads wanting to avoid injury, more like an exhibition, try things you would never attempt in a championship game, Limerick had two chances at home against Galway in the League - they never stretched Galway, was that tactical? Fully expect the axis of Galvin/McGrath/Kelly to test the best in 2017 - Tipperary clinging to a thread hoping for a soft draw to get back on track - Clare by 10 points

TouchOfClass (Galway) - Posts: 730 - 25/05/2017 14:47:01    1990680

Replying To Clareman:  "yes its an advantage to limerick but both teams know each other so well i doubt its much of an advantage. Kinnerks view on hurling is very similar to Donal Og so for me it cancels itself out."
You could argue that its an advantage to Clare that they know our coach and he's philosophies so well!

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 25/05/2017 15:23:16    1990697

Clare are the best team in the country at the moment,, at least 10 points better then any other team,,, devoured Waterford in a recent challenge as well,,,,

hoppingball (Galway) - Posts: 963 - 25/05/2017 17:14:29    1990742

Who is going to win between Clare and Limerick????The answer from responders depends very much on their loyalty.Thie causes the large difference in the suggested outcome.May I suggest the only unbiased people are the bookies.They look at all the important aspects, players,positional placement,expertise etc.Look ar the odds offered byPaddy POWER,LITLEWOODS,AND BOYLES TO MENTION A FEW,expert s like thwaw that quote C lare ats 3/10 and Limerick at 7/4.There is a consensus that CLARE WILL WINE PRETTY EASILYAND I AGREE!!!!!!

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 27/05/2017 02:50:49    1991154

Replying To brianboru:  "Who is going to win between Clare and Limerick????The answer from responders depends very much on their loyalty.Thie causes the large difference in the suggested outcome.May I suggest the only unbiased people are the bookies.They look at all the important aspects, players,positional placement,expertise etc.Look ar the odds offered byPaddy POWER,LITLEWOODS,AND BOYLES TO MENTION A FEW,expert s like thwaw that quote C lare ats 3/10 and Limerick at 7/4.There is a consensus that CLARE WILL WINE PRETTY EASILYAND I AGREE!!!!!!"
Only one reservation BB. Over the past sixty years how often have the 'outsiders' won in Limerick/Clare championship games or how often have their been runaway victories where close games were expected?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 27/05/2017 11:14:56    1991187

Replying To brianboru:  "Who is going to win between Clare and Limerick????The answer from responders depends very much on their loyalty.Thie causes the large difference in the suggested outcome.May I suggest the only unbiased people are the bookies.They look at all the important aspects, players,positional placement,expertise etc.Look ar the odds offered byPaddy POWER,LITLEWOODS,AND BOYLES TO MENTION A FEW,expert s like thwaw that quote C lare ats 3/10 and Limerick at 7/4.There is a consensus that CLARE WILL WINE PRETTY EASILYAND I AGREE!!!!!!"
Bookings don't use expertise or players, it's based on statistics and how much money has been placed already.

Also, limerick were 7/2 when they beat odds on tipp in 2014 and I'm sure we were underdogs in 2013. We were fairly heavy underdogs in 2015 against yourselves. I remember listening to off the ball on news talk and they were saying limerick were the bet of the season at that time. Maybe it's the same again.

Limerick I one team you should never right of based on league form

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 28/05/2017 11:27:02    1991378

Replying To blackspot91:  "Bookings don't use expertise or players, it's based on statistics and how much money has been placed already.

Also, limerick were 7/2 when they beat odds on tipp in 2014 and I'm sure we were underdogs in 2013. We were fairly heavy underdogs in 2015 against yourselves. I remember listening to off the ball on news talk and they were saying limerick were the bet of the season at that time. Maybe it's the same again.

Limerick I one team you should never right of based on league form"
I dont think anyone is or at least should write-Limerick off.

I have argued that Limerick have a chance here. What I do stand by is the fact that Clare should win this game but what did Tipp and Cork show us?

If anything the Tipp Cork game should be a positive thing for Clare in ensuring they are not complacent.

I think Limerick injury worries are a real problem now. Its likely that Hannon will start, but how "championship fit" will he be especially considering he will be marking Podge? There are much more question marks over Limerick I feel. Clare have got on quietly with our business and have been targeting this game all year. I certainly hope we are not flat on the day.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2491 - 29/05/2017 04:39:56    1991695

This will be a tight game i reckon, i cannot see 1 team winning easily.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 29/05/2017 08:44:23    1991704

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I dont think anyone is or at least should write-Limerick off.

I have argued that Limerick have a chance here. What I do stand by is the fact that Clare should win this game but what did Tipp and Cork show us?

If anything the Tipp Cork game should be a positive thing for Clare in ensuring they are not complacent.

I think Limerick injury worries are a real problem now. Its likely that Hannon will start, but how "championship fit" will he be especially considering he will be marking Podge? There are much more question marks over Limerick I feel. Clare have got on quietly with our business and have been targeting this game all year. I certainly hope we are not flat on the day."
Hannon didn't miss anything at all. He was taken off against Galway but was back club hurling within 2 weeks. And there was no county training between that space of time. Since the panel got back together after the 2 rounds of club championship he hasn't missed either a match or session. And anyway, who is to say he will definitely play centre back ;)

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 29/05/2017 13:54:00    1991822

The biggest talking point at the hurling games on Sunday was the incompetence of the referees.Thie was particularly obvious in fhs Dublin- GALway game,both to the attendees and the tv audiene.Although a galwaysupporter Ireally felt sorry for Dublin.Things started going downhill at the wexford -tipp national league final.Wexford manager Davy Fitz went beserk at a stupid referre','s decision that changes the whole course of the game,He apologized for his conduct and the gaa officials poured it on Davy but not a word about the referee's mistake.Things have been going downhill since then. a referee having a good game is an exception.Now with a raft of big games coming up in the summer, something drastic must be done.All players and fans ask for is a fair shake.Now is the time for gaa officials is to earn their comfy remuneration and do their job Send out only competent referees!!!!!!!!

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 29/05/2017 16:27:38    1991886

Replying To brianboru:  "The biggest talking point at the hurling games on Sunday was the incompetence of the referees.Thie was particularly obvious in fhs Dublin- GALway game,both to the attendees and the tv audiene.Although a galwaysupporter Ireally felt sorry for Dublin.Things started going downhill at the wexford -tipp national league final.Wexford manager Davy Fitz went beserk at a stupid referre','s decision that changes the whole course of the game,He apologized for his conduct and the gaa officials poured it on Davy but not a word about the referee's mistake.Things have been going downhill since then. a referee having a good game is an exception.Now with a raft of big games coming up in the summer, something drastic must be done.All players and fans ask for is a fair shake.Now is the time for gaa officials is to earn their comfy remuneration and do their job Send out only competent referees!!!!!!!!"
You should have attended the Wexford/Limerick League in Wexford Park-great altogether

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 29/05/2017 17:18:20    1991899