Clare Senior Hurlers 2017

Replying To brianboru:  "Look Lohan when gambling is an adddiction it is a problem.Bur for most of 1rish people it is an innocent past time.They get grreat pleasure having a small bet on some of the big races like the 1rish derby,grand national, Galway plate,the mount of one of their favourite jockeys, or their favourtie sports team.They take great pleasure out of it,and it is alittle excitement in the regular lives they lead.This is true for most of us. No problem!!!!!!!"
Your comment was that "regular gambling" is not a problem.

If someone is regularly gambling, IMO they have a problem. Gambling is a terrible affliction on Ireland and to downplay the negatives is foolish.

I am not talking about someone who goes to the races once a year, puts a tenner on the first goal scorer in the All Ireland and bets on the grand national. I am talking about those who you originally referred to.......regular gamblers.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2491 - 16/05/2017 02:54:43    1987001

Replying To hoppingball:  "Tuesdays challenge match will tell a fair bit about Clare,,, its going to be hard hitting....."
Tuesdays match is a challenge game. It serves a particular purpose but Clare wont have much interest in giving away too much at this stage. The low key build up is very very good. Long may it continue.

I cant wait for 3 weeks time however.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2491 - 16/05/2017 03:00:49    1987004

Replying To Ban:  "Hard to see past Galway this year hopping! You could give dem Liam now and let the Club Championships off. The All-Ireland Club final on during the August Bank Holiday. It would free up the players to go on the lash on Paddy's day for once! Let dem enjoy the Christmas also

Where are Galway playing Clare?"
Cusack park,,,, Galway look good ,,, But Clare are the team to beat,,,,

hoppingball (Galway) - Posts: 963 - 16/05/2017 09:44:15    1987018

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Your comment was that "regular gambling" is not a problem.

If someone is regularly gambling, IMO they have a problem. Gambling is a terrible affliction on Ireland and to downplay the negatives is foolish.

I am not talking about someone who goes to the races once a year, puts a tenner on the first goal scorer in the All Ireland and bets on the grand national. I am talking about those who you originally referred to.......regular gamblers."
I have to disagree there. I'm a regular gambler but I can guarantee you a fella who goes out one night a week for a few pints would spend more than what I do on bets in a week. Everyone gets their enjoyment out of something different but just because someone has a regular bet doesn't mean they have a problem. Would you call someone who has a pint or 2 a few times a week night an alcoholic?

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 16/05/2017 20:46:00    1987288

Replying To mike03:  "I have to disagree there. I'm a regular gambler but I can guarantee you a fella who goes out one night a week for a few pints would spend more than what I do on bets in a week. Everyone gets their enjoyment out of something different but just because someone has a regular bet doesn't mean they have a problem. Would you call someone who has a pint or 2 a few times a week night an alcoholic?"
I have to agree wirh you Mike03. Lohan's problem seems to be that he assumes every gambler. is an addict You know, I am sure,many good Irish men and women who bet literally a few pennies every time and rejoiced when they won.I Her big bet was a shilling on her favourite jockey E SMITH and she would send mu brothers down the bookies yo see of she won,and Istill remember the joy when she won.They are still great memories of that gambler and the joy she got from her little bets.Well in hr memory Iwill have a slightly bigger bet on Clare at 4/6 to beat Limerick

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 16/05/2017 23:36:25    1987356

Replying To mike03:  "I have to disagree there. I'm a regular gambler but I can guarantee you a fella who goes out one night a week for a few pints would spend more than what I do on bets in a week. Everyone gets their enjoyment out of something different but just because someone has a regular bet doesn't mean they have a problem. Would you call someone who has a pint or 2 a few times a week night an alcoholic?"
I have to agree wirh you Mike03. Lohan's problem seems to be that he assumes every gambler. is an addict You know, I am sure,many good Irish men and women who bet literally a few pennies every time and rejoiced when they won.I remember with affection an old aunt of mine. Her big bet was a shilling on her favourite jockey E SMITH and she would send my brothers down the bookies to see of she won,and Istill remember the joy when she won.They are still great memories of that gambler and the joy she got from her little bets.Well in her memory Iwill have a slightly bigger bet on Clare at 4/6 to beat Limerick on june 4th

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 16/05/2017 23:45:21    1987361

Replying To hoppingball:  "Cusack park,,,, Galway look good ,,, But Clare are the team to beat,,,,"
Good workout for both teams ,,,Galway's ability to score goals the difference,,, Clare did hit some great long range points,,,

hoppingball (Galway) - Posts: 963 - 17/05/2017 08:44:34    1987400

Really looking forward to the limerick game now! Now that the first round of club championship is done focus really turns to this game! Great to see that we have almost a full panel to pick from. With the exception of oisin o'brien and also conor ryan. I wonder is colin ryan back with the panel yet, does anyone know? As far as i know he is to rejoin the panel when clares participation in the oscar traynor cup (soccer) come to a halt. They are in the final which is on the 29th of may as far as i know. But its over 2 weeks since the aemi final win so with a 4 week break there he surely would be back now if he was to come back! Although he might leave it until after the first round. It would be great to see him back involved anyway as his experience and steady free taking could be very important for us as the year progresses. 1-9 for his club last weekend was a handsome return so hes obviously sharp enough!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 17/05/2017 10:03:02    1987414

Replying To hoppingball:  "Good workout for both teams ,,,Galway's ability to score goals the difference,,, Clare did hit some great long range points,,,"
Did Clare not win?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2491 - 17/05/2017 11:43:05    1987452

It finished Clare 2-25 Galway 1-15

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 17/05/2017 17:10:58    1987635

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Did Clare not win?"
Any details on the clare Galway game,who played .who scored.who impressed??If Clare got wso goals an Galway one and the score was 2 15 to 1 15 I'd say thatwas a comprehensive win.Of course. playing in Cusack Park was a big advantage to Clare.Cant wait for June 4th!!!!!!!

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 17/05/2017 20:40:02    1987706

it was a 3 point game to clare at half time and then both sides made a lot of changes

clare team had a nice balance to it and a real pace across the pitch. I think only questions left are whether its POC or D Mac at full or wing back, and does reidy play in forwards or midfield. i think he will play in forward so mccarthy will partner galvin and SOD will be on bench if mcgrath is fit.

its the best and most balanced looking clare side since 2013. Time to deliver now.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 19/05/2017 09:57:29    1988238

Replying To Clareman:  "it was a 3 point game to clare at half time and then both sides made a lot of changes

clare team had a nice balance to it and a real pace across the pitch. I think only questions left are whether its POC or D Mac at full or wing back, and does reidy play in forwards or midfield. i think he will play in forward so mccarthy will partner galvin and SOD will be on bench if mcgrath is fit.

its the best and most balanced looking clare side since 2013. Time to deliver now."
Clareman, thank you for the info. you provided.That was very helpful, and your analysis was interesting.1m sure all Clare fans appreciated it.

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 19/05/2017 16:31:42    1988391

Well the Tipp- Cork game was quite a surprise.Tipp supporters especially are wondering what went wrong.? IT certainly throws the ALL IRELANDWINNER prize into the melting pot.So many counties now,including ourselves,would seem to have a real shot at it!!! IIt is interesting to note that in the Cork- Tipp game, with five minutes to go TIPP,playing with a strong breeze went downfield to take the lead.One could sense it was over then.But cORK ,In reply went back tied the game and then took the lead.So unlike the Tipp we were accustomed to see!!!What is the explanation.i THINK you will fibd the answer in GER LOUHNANE'S statement after the League final, ''E are Tipp noNot alone are Tipp not a great team, they are not even a good one''. That sums up the situation.I would nor rule Wterfordrd out against Cork

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 22/05/2017 00:47:43    1989093

Well the Tipp- Cork game was quite a surprise.Tipp supporters especially are wondering what went wrong.? IT certainly throws the ALL IRELANDWINNER prize into the melting pot.So many counties now,including ourselves,would seem to have a real shot at it!!! IIt is interesting to note that in the Cork- Tipp game, with five minutes to go TIPP,playing with a strong breeze went downfield to take the lead.One could sense it was over then.But cORK ,In reply went back tied the game and then took the lead.So unlike the Tipp we were accustomed to see!!!What is the explanation.i THINK you will find the answer in GER LOUHNANE'S statement after the League final, '' Not alone are Tipp not a great team, they are not even a good one''. That sums up the situation.I would nor rule Wterford out against Cork,and of course Clare will beat Limerick.

brianboru (Clare) - Posts: 561 - 22/05/2017 00:51:55    1989094

Yeah clareman i agree with what you are saying in terms of selection i think we can be sure of 12 possibly 13 of the starting team - especially judging by the last 2 challenge games.
The team i think will be;
1Fahy
2Dillon
3McInerney
4Morey
5O'Connor
6Cleary
7Fitzgerald
8McCarthy
9Galvin
10Kelly
11Collins
12Conlon
13Reidy
14Shanagher
15McGrath
Only other genuine contenders i think would be p.kelly, bugler, g.o'connell and o'donnell.
A lot of people have been going on about lack of ball winners but as we saw from the game yesterday there was very few puckouts caught cleanly. But corks puckouts were very smart, nash hit several beautiful accurate puckouts to his half backline / midfielders. Nearly got intercepted once but secured possession on every other occasion. We need to play this type of smart game and not cave man hurling of landing the ball as far down the field as possible!!
Of our 3 keepers i think kelly has the most accurate puckouts, but i think management will go with fahy as he was more impressive in his 2 league games. Dillon has missed the last 2 challenge games so hecmay be an injury doubt! If hes out i think gudgie will come in. O'donnell is probably most unlucky if he does miss out but its probably better for yhe balance of the team. Lastly i think having genuine pace is so important in the full backline in modern hurling, this is why ive put mcinerney full back although himself and o'connor could easily be switched.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 22/05/2017 10:28:21    1989197

tipp backs got exposed big time yesterday when they were run at. Fair play to cork, played an intelligent, open accurate style. That said, i think Waterford will beat them.

Gudgy is hurling well at moment and has that natural toughness that is needed at this level. He is also fast and good in the air. He wont be far off.

if its tight with 20 mins to go you can bring on SOD, Cunningham, bobby duggan etc, good subs who can score. Hopefully we can deliver now as its high time we did.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 22/05/2017 14:21:06    1989380

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Yeah clareman i agree with what you are saying in terms of selection i think we can be sure of 12 possibly 13 of the starting team - especially judging by the last 2 challenge games.
The team i think will be;
1Fahy
2Dillon
3McInerney
4Morey
5O'Connor
6Cleary
7Fitzgerald
8McCarthy
9Galvin
10Kelly
11Collins
12Conlon
13Reidy
14Shanagher
15McGrath
Only other genuine contenders i think would be p.kelly, bugler, g.o'connell and o'donnell.
A lot of people have been going on about lack of ball winners but as we saw from the game yesterday there was very few puckouts caught cleanly. But corks puckouts were very smart, nash hit several beautiful accurate puckouts to his half backline / midfielders. Nearly got intercepted once but secured possession on every other occasion. We need to play this type of smart game and not cave man hurling of landing the ball as far down the field as possible!!
Of our 3 keepers i think kelly has the most accurate puckouts, but i think management will go with fahy as he was more impressive in his 2 league games. Dillon has missed the last 2 challenge games so hecmay be an injury doubt! If hes out i think gudgie will come in. O'donnell is probably most unlucky if he does miss out but its probably better for yhe balance of the team. Lastly i think having genuine pace is so important in the full backline in modern hurling, this is why ive put mcinerney full back although himself and o'connor could easily be switched."
Limerick would be happy to see that halfback line start for Clare. It's even slower than Tipperarys was yesterday. The closer this game comes the more confident of a limerick victory I am. That's giving Clare their due respect. I don't see Clare being able to win enough possession to give to yere good inside men. If be worried about McGrath in the corner if he got enough ball but that's it really. It's a tiny team overall.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 22/05/2017 16:37:54    1989468

Replying To Clareman:  "tipp backs got exposed big time yesterday when they were run at. Fair play to cork, played an intelligent, open accurate style. That said, i think Waterford will beat them.

Gudgy is hurling well at moment and has that natural toughness that is needed at this level. He is also fast and good in the air. He wont be far off.

if its tight with 20 mins to go you can bring on SOD, Cunningham, bobby duggan etc, good subs who can score. Hopefully we can deliver now as its high time we did."
If be interested to hear where you guys think Limerick can hurt Clare? Iv my opinions but they are just that opinions.. I think Clare's natural scoring ability is huge and that if it became a shoot out Clare would win.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 22/05/2017 16:41:17    1989470

Replying To bloodyban:  "Limerick would be happy to see that halfback line start for Clare. It's even slower than Tipperarys was yesterday. The closer this game comes the more confident of a limerick victory I am. That's giving Clare their due respect. I don't see Clare being able to win enough possession to give to yere good inside men. If be worried about McGrath in the corner if he got enough ball but that's it really. It's a tiny team overall."
i would definately disagree with you that that full back line would lack pace Seanha Morey is a flier David Mac has real pace and i haven't seen Dillon turned over too often as well as that, we have options of Pat O Connor Gearoid O Connell Paul Flanagan and Jack Browne.

I would imagine David Fitzgerald will be in consideration for a spot in half forward line unless Donal Og has our keeper radar like Corks Nash.
Nobody will fancy the back door with Tipperary and possibly Kilkenny there so it will be full bloodied affair.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 22/05/2017 17:22:38    1989491