Meath taking on Dublin subs......

Replying To tiobraid:  "I'd imagine Meath people have a bigger issue with bringing back in a forward who is well past his sell by date and putting him in goals. If I was a Meath person my confidence in the management would be gone already
They're slide down the pecking order is continuing at a huge rate"
Joe is been looked at nothing more nothing less.3 other keepers are also in the reckoning.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/12/2016 20:45:13    1941777

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Dean rock grew up in garristown didn't he and has played for ballymun the entire time hasn't he or am I missing something?"
He has some Meath relatives but you are correct.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/12/2016 20:52:53    1941779

Dean rock grew up in garristown didn't he and has played for ballymun the entire time hasn't he or am I missing something?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11523 - 22/12/2016 20:41:52 1941775

Dean Rock is from Ballymadun. It's just outside Ashbourne but crucially on the Dublin side of the border.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/12/2016 21:02:06    1941781

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Dean rock grew up in garristown didn't he and has played for ballymun the entire time hasn't he or am I missing something?"
I'm only taking the Micheal hill, rock has connection to Meath but nothing to suggest he should transfer, now young deegan is a entirely different situation, however his heart is where it is and no one can blame him for that

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/12/2016 21:07:57    1941784

So is everyone happy now, we have been split in two, Dublin and Meath :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 22/12/2016 22:06:20    1941802

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "The only issue I see with it is Meath taking Dublin players. If those lads were good enough they would be starting for Dublin yet meath are bringing in lads not good enough for them to there panel. Not really setting a high standard and also very unfair on genuine Meath footballers to see subs from Dublin taking maybe some lads dream place on a Meath panel. What makes it worse is the rivalry. Not one player from another Connacht county would I welcome to join Roscommon"
Exactly.
;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 23/12/2016 02:04:50    1941831

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "The only issue I see with it is Meath taking Dublin players. If those lads were good enough they would be starting for Dublin yet meath are bringing in lads not good enough for them to there panel. Not really setting a high standard and also very unfair on genuine Meath footballers to see subs from Dublin taking maybe some lads dream place on a Meath panel. What makes it worse is the rivalry. Not one player from another Connacht county would I welcome to join Roscommon"
Exactly.
;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 23/12/2016 02:05:14    1941832

Replying To realdub:  "So is everyone happy now, we have been split in two, Dublin and Meath :D"
Had to happen eventually realdub... :o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 23/12/2016 02:06:54    1941833

Well as a Meath supporter of well over 30 years let me say I have no issue with this unlike some of our neighbours who despite their success and dominance of late still have a fascination with all things "Meath". McEntee is looking at options, at present we do not have a Meath panel so no one has been drafted into a panel not any ex Dubs or Joe Sheridan, we have a group of players who are being given the opportunity to show what they have and lay claim to a place on the squad, any player who is willing to commit to the cause and play with pride in that green and gold jersey is welcome in my book and he could be from timbucktoo for all I care, if he has the desire and heart to play with Meath then that's all I want to hear, the Dublin hurlers have had no issue bringing some country cousins into their panel over the years and its happened in other counties too so I don't see why it's an issue for anybody being honest.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 23/12/2016 12:09:36    1941882

Replying To Richieq:  "Well as a Meath supporter of well over 30 years let me say I have no issue with this unlike some of our neighbours who despite their success and dominance of late still have a fascination with all things "Meath". McEntee is looking at options, at present we do not have a Meath panel so no one has been drafted into a panel not any ex Dubs or Joe Sheridan, we have a group of players who are being given the opportunity to show what they have and lay claim to a place on the squad, any player who is willing to commit to the cause and play with pride in that green and gold jersey is welcome in my book and he could be from timbucktoo for all I care, if he has the desire and heart to play with Meath then that's all I want to hear, the Dublin hurlers have had no issue bringing some country cousins into their panel over the years and its happened in other counties too so I don't see why it's an issue for anybody being honest."
yes and I have tried to explain this to a lot of people.I have come to the conclusion that all some want to do is moan..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/12/2016 13:02:28    1941888

I don't think too many Dubs supporters would be too enamoured with an ex Meath county player lining out for the Dubs if the truth be told.

But desperate times call for desperate measures eh, including inviting an ex retired forward to trial out in goals.

There was plenty of guff coming from certain quarters about young Deegan yet suddenly it is ok when the shoe is on the other foot.

Our noisy neighbours make me laugh some

Happy Xmas.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 23/12/2016 13:04:26    1941890

Listen, if ye are happy to be our B Side that grand lads
If the boys are any good we will come looking for them back, and they would love to get a chance at the big time again sure.
I wish them well. It takes a brave man to drop down a division, Credit to them

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/12/2016 13:14:32    1941895

Replying To Fionn:  "I don't think too many Dubs supporters would be too enamoured with an ex Meath county player lining out for the Dubs if the truth be told.

But desperate times call for desperate measures eh, including inviting an ex retired forward to trial out in goals.

There was plenty of guff coming from certain quarters about young Deegan yet suddenly it is ok when the shoe is on the other foot.

Our noisy neighbours make me laugh some

Happy Xmas."
I agree with you on this so I think Deegan or the Ratoath boys shouldnt be let play for Dublin and the same applies here I dont agree with it at all Im also against the Dublin hurlers using numerous lads from outside their county either over the past few years to supplement their panel

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 23/12/2016 16:33:08    1941927

To be honest I have said many times on here I don't like our hurlers ways of bringing non dubs on board.
we also had a strong debate on the Dublin page when the guy from Tyrone got on the football panel for the league back in 2013.
for me I just don't like it or agree with it in circumstances like these which the two dubs joining up with Meath or our hurlers ways. It's completely different if you take paddy mcbrearty though who was born in dublin and lived here till 10 years old and then moved to Donegal i don't think you could argue with him playing for Donegal as he was still a kid when he moved. But I personally couldn't do it if I was living in an other county and got invited into their panel as I'm born and rared a dub. Id rather be a dublin supporter than play for some other county just because i would happen to live there now.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/12/2016 17:11:11    1941928

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Listen, if ye are happy to be our B Side that grand lads
If the boys are any good we will come looking for them back, and they would love to get a chance at the big time again sure.
I wish them well. It takes a brave man to drop down a division, Credit to them"
Actually I heard Lowndes was as good if not better than his brother. And could make dubs starting 15, the problem is internal club politics.
Now perhaps the problem dubs have with this , is maybe just maybe they know what they missing? And better still should he make I through the selection process, might just ram it down a few throats come Leinster.. Me thinks some jacks protest too much, didn't really pay much attention until recently, however if it gets dubs backs up so much maybe its worth it

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/12/2016 18:02:00    1941936

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually I heard Lowndes was as good if not better than his brother. And could make dubs starting 15, the problem is internal club politics.
Now perhaps the problem dubs have with this , is maybe just maybe they know what they missing? And better still should he make I through the selection process, might just ram it down a few throats come Leinster.. Me thinks some jacks protest too much, didn't really pay much attention until recently, however if it gets dubs backs up so much maybe its worth it"
if anything its the meath club players i would feel for
as they could be depriving two genuine meath guys a chance of representing their actual county.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/12/2016 18:48:27    1941943

Replying To hill16no1man:  "To be honest I have said many times on here I don't like our hurlers ways of bringing non dubs on board.
we also had a strong debate on the Dublin page when the guy from Tyrone got on the football panel for the league back in 2013.
for me I just don't like it or agree with it in circumstances like these which the two dubs joining up with Meath or our hurlers ways. It's completely different if you take paddy mcbrearty though who was born in dublin and lived here till 10 years old and then moved to Donegal i don't think you could argue with him playing for Donegal as he was still a kid when he moved. But I personally couldn't do it if I was living in an other county and got invited into their panel as I'm born and rared a dub. Id rather be a dublin supporter than play for some other county just because i would happen to live there now."
I agree with you Hill.

The amount of non Dubs on the Dublin hurling squad doesn't sit well with me at all. Never has.

If we can't win without player imports then....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 23/12/2016 19:06:15    1941946

You must love it RD, must make our old rivalry seem relevant for the first time in an age :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/12/2016 19:23:38    1941947

If Lowndes is better than the brother he'd be playing for the Dubs. Simple as that.

Eric is very close to the starting 15 for Dublin. Anyone better than him starts for Dublin.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/12/2016 20:03:46    1941953

Replying To hill16no1man:  "if anything its the meath club players i would feel for
as they could be depriving two genuine meath guys a chance of representing their actual county."
Do you feel the same about dubs hurlers? And lowdes plays for Dunboyne so is in Meath club.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/12/2016 20:57:24    1941958