Connelly/Holmes

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Well the saying goes there is never smoke with out fire and the rumours doing rounds were that a family from a castlebar based club were trying to pick the team all year. This statements goes a long to way confirm this. What I don't get is Mayo posters coming on saying the team was better in 2016 under rochford I would suggest Ye watch a dvd if available on the last two years championships. Ye were closer to beating the dubs in 2015 and in my opinon Dublin were a lot stronger in 2015. Ye also lost the provincial crown to Galway and apart from a two decent showing against the dubs which was a replica of 2015 and beating Tyrone who beat themselves with sides Mayo were terrible this year"
Cuckoosinging your comical .. mayo only played well in the AI and the AI replay ..
That statement should be self explanatory ..

The bottom line is once you lose the dressing room your done.
The players voted 27 - 7 to change mgmt - thats pretty emphatic
Mayo werent the first team and wont be the last to do this
You cant back a mgmt team you dont believe in
Holmes and Connelly are decent mayo gaa people for sure but
we now only have their version .. the players will have theirs too ..
I hope the players just let it lie now ..
Posters calling this bunch of players failures are wrong imo
Just come up against an exceptional dublin team who are
marginally better.
I back the players. They make insane sacrifices to play for their county.

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 19/12/2016 22:32:39    1941061

Replying To riverboys:  "Should Rochford lay down the law? Yes, but it's difficult when 1 of his management team is also backing the gobby players"
Are the county board funds benefiting in any way from Aidan O'Shea's high media profile? Do they get a cut of any made from his endorsement deals or public appearances?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 19/12/2016 22:37:41    1941064

Replying To GreenandRed:  "http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/holmesconnelly-on-mayo-revolt-aidan-osheas-selection-email-seamus-lobbying-for-hennelly-and-clashes-over-mass-times-35301012.html

They told they voted 27/7 against them before they sent a letter to the county board. But they didn't tell Holmes and Connelly why they wanted them out."
Even the Galway hurlers sat down with Cunningham to try to air their differences mid-season. It's hard to feel sorry for the players, Holmes/Connelly or county board.

If you compare Tipp 2015 vs Mayo 2015. Tipp players were blaming themselves for not winning the All-Ireland and letting the manager down and Mayo are blaming management for not winning the All-Ireland.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/12/2016 23:00:03    1941066

Replying To Ah_Here:  "Cuckoosinging your comical .. mayo only played well in the AI and the AI replay ..
That statement should be self explanatory ..

The bottom line is once you lose the dressing room your done.
The players voted 27 - 7 to change mgmt - thats pretty emphatic
Mayo werent the first team and wont be the last to do this
You cant back a mgmt team you dont believe in
Holmes and Connelly are decent mayo gaa people for sure but
we now only have their version .. the players will have theirs too ..
I hope the players just let it lie now ..
Posters calling this bunch of players failures are wrong imo
Just come up against an exceptional dublin team who are
marginally better.
I back the players. They make insane sacrifices to play for their county."
So let me get this straight you actually think Mayo improved in 2016 under rochford? Can you please highlight where?
Imo in 2016 Mayo had a poor year In league a slight way worse than 2015. In 2015 the steamrolled Connacht they were turn over on first hurdle this year. The beat Fermanagh due to and error from match official and were less than impressive against Westmeath Kildare and Tipp. They beat Tyrone in a great game off ball but Tyrone really beat themselves with wides kicked. Again like 2015 the met Dublin over two day but I think they had better chance of winning 2025 and like I mentioned In Previous post my gaa men would consider the dubs team poorer in 2026 than the team Holmes and Connelly faced.
Can you please explain why you think my post is ridiculous?

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/12/2016 23:27:47    1941068

Some of the stuff in incredible, if any of it true some serious soul searching needs to be done by the squad, management and county board. To be honest I found some of the remarks about funding not finding its way to the county board concerning.

Maybe this calls into question Rochfords authority, why would he pick Clarke if he knew that the players got his predecessor the sack the year before and basically destroyed respectable careers. I strongly suspect player power is alive in Mayo after the second final, it will rot from the inside out.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/12/2016 00:25:02    1941070

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Even the Galway hurlers sat down with Cunningham to try to air their differences mid-season. It's hard to feel sorry for the players, Holmes/Connelly or county board.

If you compare Tipp 2015 vs Mayo 2015. Tipp players were blaming themselves for not winning the All-Ireland and letting the manager down and Mayo are blaming management for not winning the All-Ireland."
We've usually found someone or something to blame for losing finals rather than finding out where we fell down and then doing something to improve that.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 20/12/2016 02:34:13    1941071

Replying To Richieq:  "If what Connolly and Holmes are portraying is accurate, and I have no reason to believe it's not as it hadn't even been challenged, then my estimation of Mayo footballers has droppped like a stone. The letter sent to the County Board was a general moan which cited no examples or instances to back up the players belief that management should be changed and yet the demands they made regarding the input into a new manager were laughable, why the Mayo County Board didn't call their bluff and tell them to sling their hook is beyond me being honest, of course the social media darling and moral compass of Gweedore Eamonn McGee thinks otherwise and sees it as a low blow against the players, give me a break please, it appears that Connolly and Holmes were treated beyond contempt and one feels that a look of looking in mirrors is needed by some Mayo players......"
I also agree that the management had every right to say how they were treated. They had been publically humiliated

gimp2 (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 20/12/2016 07:41:11    1941073

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Even the Galway hurlers sat down with Cunningham to try to air their differences mid-season. It's hard to feel sorry for the players, Holmes/Connelly or county board.

If you compare Tipp 2015 vs Mayo 2015. Tipp players were blaming themselves for not winning the All-Ireland and letting the manager down and Mayo are blaming management for not winning the All-Ireland."
Well summed up. With Babs we had a few of our best players dropped but none of them sulked. They weren't happy but the way Cummins, Kelly and McGrath in particular reacted was extremely admirable. Two of them already had All Ireland medals but were in a team going no where but yet went about their business. Mayo will get very little neutral support out of this. Personally I think they were a far better team last year. I'm sure most Dubs will tell you that Dublin were much better last year and Mayo nearly beat them. They were actually lucky this year to get the draw...not unlucky not to win as many seem to suggest. In general the standard of football was way down this year and Mayo were relatively poor by their standards all year including both finals. Kevin McLoughlins move to a sweeper in my opinion was a complete disaster. They lost a player from the forwards who was always good for a few scores and was rigidly required to stay in a role that was alien to him. Donegal beat Dublin a few years ago by attacking them from everywhere. Mayo's system was rigid defensive one that will never win an All Ireland. To get the respect of the players a new manager should come in and make a few changes on the panel especially with Mayo's situation. Rochford didn't do that and Galway hurlers missed the boat this year too. Clearly managers the players had a big say in "hiring"!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/12/2016 08:25:22    1941074

Nobody comes out of this particularly well, the two lads say they are doing it for the best intentions as Mayo men but in reality they are settling a few scores. The players took the decision to perform the 'heave' trying to absolve themselves for failings during the year.

Whilst training methods and attitudes towards the game become more professional it is antics like this which remind us of the amateur status of GAA. I don't think anyone can claim any moral high ground here, and what the two lads have done is cast doubt on the current managements decision to drop Clarke for the replay and it fits into their narrative.

Its disappointing and should have been handled behind closed doors. If I were a Mayo fan I would be disappointed at the airing of the dirty laundry in public but it seems the players are simply happy in a 'high performance environment'. I'm sure at the end of their careers you would rather be an all ireland winner than an ex high performance athlete, I think that may be the difference between the dublins, kerrys and Mayo, winning is everything the performance is incidental in most cases, as long as you are winning.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 20/12/2016 09:48:53    1941082

Just reading Ronan McGarrity's comments in the Indo today, I'm not surprised that he's supporting the players as he was one himself but to say that Holmes / Connelly should have just kept quiet is ridiculous. Why shouldn't Holmes / Connelly be allowed to come out and have their say? People say it's doing Mayo football no favours, since when did calling a strike and giving county boards ultimatums do anyone any favours?
The players created this situation, not Connelly and Holmes.
I don't want to be giving Mayo GAA people a dig here because we all know how good a team they are and how close they've been in recent seasons to finally land the big one. We've had loads of posts and threads this season with people taking cheap shots at Mayo supporters who I think are really good skin. I don't have a bad word to say about any I've met in Croke park, but I dare say that a lot of Mayo people are really disappointed with the players here.
I hope for Stephen Rochfords sake that he doesn't fall off that tight rope, like the players in that squads trust, it would appear to be a very thin line. Surely he's got to be worried about his own back here, what happens the next time he faces a big call, how does that play with the rest of the team or the group that got the last guy kicked out. If they're airing grievances about not getting on a tv show, or going the wrong way around a town to a match or getting fed 15 minutes late because mass went long, he's got to be thinking, what else can they get me sacked for??

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 20/12/2016 09:52:32    1941083

Where was the Mayo County Board in all this - for me they come out having lost the most credibility?

They should have called the Player's bluff - thrown a few ringleaders off the panel for good and then challenged the rest to withdraw the ridiculous letter. The letter, while well written, sounded like a few of the lads came up with a few gripes and as they typed it up thought 'sure we'll throw in a few mad ideas to see how far they'll go'. And the County Board caved in on everything.

As one poster said - did player power cost Mayo an All-Ireland?

Where is 'The Master' now - MIA?

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 20/12/2016 10:41:11    1941092

Mayo players should just keep their mouths shut in future and just do their talking on the field and when they have a Celtic Cross in their back pockets then come out and say their piece. Till then leave the management to the Manager and let them do the playing on the field.

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 20/12/2016 10:49:15    1941096

Replying To keithlemon:  "Just reading Ronan McGarrity's comments in the Indo today, I'm not surprised that he's supporting the players as he was one himself but to say that Holmes / Connelly should have just kept quiet is ridiculous. Why shouldn't Holmes / Connelly be allowed to come out and have their say? People say it's doing Mayo football no favours, since when did calling a strike and giving county boards ultimatums do anyone any favours?
I don't want to be giving Mayo GAA people a dig here because we all know how good a team they are and how close they've been in recent seasons to finally land the big one. We've had loads of posts and threads this season with people taking cheap shots at Mayo supporters who I think are really good skin. I don't have a bad word to say about any I've met in Croke park, but I dare say that a lot of Mayo people are really disappointed with the players here.
I hope for Stephen Rochfords sake that he doesn't fall off that tight rope, like the players in that squads trust, it would appear to be a very thin line. Surely he's got to be worried about his own back here, what happens the next time he faces a big call, how does that play with the rest of the team or the group that got the last guy kicked out. If they're airing grievances about not getting on a tv show, or going the wrong way around a town to a match or getting fed 15 minutes late because mass went long, he's got to be thinking, what else can they get me sacked for??"
because they only went out for themselves..they were appointed under questionable circumstances..its not just all about them is it?..what good does mouthing off to a journalist do for mayo football?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 20/12/2016 11:22:40    1941115

Replying To keithlemon:  "Just reading Ronan McGarrity's comments in the Indo today, I'm not surprised that he's supporting the players as he was one himself but to say that Holmes / Connelly should have just kept quiet is ridiculous. Why shouldn't Holmes / Connelly be allowed to come out and have their say? People say it's doing Mayo football no favours, since when did calling a strike and giving county boards ultimatums do anyone any favours?
I hope for Stephen Rochfords sake that he doesn't fall off that tight rope, like the players in that squads trust, it would appear to be a very thin line. Surely he's got to be worried about his own back here, what happens the next time he faces a big call, how does that play with the rest of the team or the group that got the last guy kicked out. If they're airing grievances about not getting on a tv show, or going the wrong way around a town to a match or getting fed 15 minutes late because mass went long, he's got to be thinking, what else can they get me sacked for??"
and your treating the article as fact which is highly debateable..its a 1 sided viewpoint

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 20/12/2016 11:24:07    1941117

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Don't Conor Mortimer and his emotional tribute to Michael Jackson."
Don't you mean "Micheal" Jackson? :-)

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 20/12/2016 11:39:55    1941121

Replying To alano12:  "because they only went out for themselves..they were appointed under questionable circumstances..its not just all about them is it?..what good does mouthing off to a journalist do for mayo football?"
What good did it do Mayo football to have the reputations of Holmes and Connelly trashed by the players? Should they sit back and say nothing in response? It's to their credit that they waited until the season was over before replying. No more than our hurlers and the heave against Cunningham, Mayo footballers got what they deserved this year - nothing.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 20/12/2016 11:53:54    1941124

Replying To Ailteoir:  "What good did it do Mayo football to have the reputations of Holmes and Connelly trashed by the players? Should they sit back and say nothing in response? It's to their credit that they waited until the season was over before replying. No more than our hurlers and the heave against Cunningham, Mayo footballers got what they deserved this year - nothing."
that sounds like a pretty petty response...mayo ended up being a better side this year i think most would argue and got the manager the players wanted not a guys who got the job via county board connections who were unpopular with the players

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 20/12/2016 12:04:23    1941129

Replying To Ailteoir:  "What good did it do Mayo football to have the reputations of Holmes and Connelly trashed by the players? Should they sit back and say nothing in response? It's to their credit that they waited until the season was over before replying. No more than our hurlers and the heave against Cunningham, Mayo footballers got what they deserved this year - nothing."
mayo got very close to an all ireland...but keep up the pettiness..even as a dub i can step back and consider they had a good year ultimately and things could have gone their way over both days...i think galway got what they deserved for being a backward county who is now busy jumping on the latest rugby bandwagon

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 20/12/2016 12:08:28    1941130

Replying To tiobraid:  "Well summed up. With Babs we had a few of our best players dropped but none of them sulked. They weren't happy but the way Cummins, Kelly and McGrath in particular reacted was extremely admirable. Two of them already had All Ireland medals but were in a team going no where but yet went about their business. Mayo will get very little neutral support out of this. Personally I think they were a far better team last year. I'm sure most Dubs will tell you that Dublin were much better last year and Mayo nearly beat them. They were actually lucky this year to get the draw...not unlucky not to win as many seem to suggest. In general the standard of football was way down this year and Mayo were relatively poor by their standards all year including both finals. Kevin McLoughlins move to a sweeper in my opinion was a complete disaster. They lost a player from the forwards who was always good for a few scores and was rigidly required to stay in a role that was alien to him. Donegal beat Dublin a few years ago by attacking them from everywhere. Mayo's system was rigid defensive one that will never win an All Ireland. To get the respect of the players a new manager should come in and make a few changes on the panel especially with Mayo's situation. Rochford didn't do that and Galway hurlers missed the boat this year too. Clearly managers the players had a big say in "hiring"!"
Galway' s hurlers missed the boat this year because Tuohy and Canning had to go off injured at half time against Tipp. No one knows how Galway would have done against Kilkenny had they beaten Tipp. However I believe had Tuohy and Canning stayed on the field against Tipp it would have been a Galway against Kilkenny All Ireland final in 2016.
Mayo were criticised for being open at the back in 2015 . That was tidied up very well this year yet you criticise them for playing a type of game that will never win an All Ireland . Damned if you do and damned if you don't. You didn't happen to look at Armagh, Tyrone or Donegal in the last fifteen years ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 20/12/2016 12:11:58    1941131

I think the Players' letter was more damning of them than anything H/C said. It clearly showed the egos involved.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 20/12/2016 12:14:53    1941132