Connelly/Holmes

Replying To Lockjaw:  "There is an element of 'player power' in every set up, not just at county level. The key to it all is that management are good enough to take on board opinion from the group, but at the same time to maintain their overall authority on proceedings. By the sounds of things in Mayo, the lines became very blurred and as a result, they find themselves in the messy situation they're currently in.

Just thinking back now, I'm nearly sure I saw Rochford at a match this year in a reconnaissance capacity, and both O'shea's were with him. I remember thinking at the time, that doesn't look right!"
To be fair to the lads maybe the two of them wanted to have a look at Kerry v Dublin and asked the County Board to sort out tickets for them as the game was sold out.

Obviously Rochford would've gotten his ticket the same way so they ended up together.

Although I'll give you that it looks weird.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 19/12/2016 15:49:04    1940981

Replying To MesAmis:  "To be fair to the lads maybe the two of them wanted to have a look at Kerry v Dublin and asked the County Board to sort out tickets for them as the game was sold out.

Obviously Rochford would've gotten his ticket the same way so they ended up together.

Although I'll give you that it looks weird."
Were they the only three from the Mayo squad or backroom team at that game ? It is strange if they were.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 19/12/2016 16:46:47    1940994

Replying To MesAmis:  "To be fair to the lads maybe the two of them wanted to have a look at Kerry v Dublin and asked the County Board to sort out tickets for them as the game was sold out.

Although I'll give you that it looks weird."
Don't get me wrong, I know for example, Jim McGuinness and Michael Murphy would have had regular conversations, offline as it were. But at the end of the day McGuinness was the boss and that was it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 19/12/2016 16:47:13    1940995

Mayo people in the Gaaike to be heard. David Brady,Liam McHale, Tommy Lyons, John Maughan. This is more of the same

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 19/12/2016 16:55:39    1940997

Replying To Mayonman:  "very self serving article. to have a go at AOS, whatever you think about him, for trying to get a bit of career for himself says so much about their mgt style.

memo to holmes/coneelly ..........it is an amateur sport and u are not entitled to interfere with a players career. not a very holistic approach to management.

hanging a player out to dry over expressing a preference for a keeper. not great lads. maybe players should have no opinions??

players kept their reasons private and so should the x mgmt. they have now started to make it personal. reflects badly on them. going on about humiliation......................grow up. u were dropped as managers. players get dropped every week and have to roll with it.

I think their is a cult of manager out there who will drown in their own self importance!

PS don't be misled by my name..........................I'm a Galway man to the core and actually enjoying this a bit:-)"
Wrong. The players didn't keep their reasons private as you say. The players didn't have the courage or the decency to give Holmes and Connelly the reasons for their discontent. That meant that the management team was not able to defend itself . There was nothing private about this . Holmes and Connelly were very publicly humiliated . This was entirely orchestrated . Subsequently the players presented the county board with a list of demands with a deadline of four days from the date of receipt of the list given for accedence to the demands . This was accompanied by a threat of strike if the demands weren't acceded to . The reason the players wanted all this done behind closed doors is because they knew well what the public reaction would be . There was nothing honourable in how they went about their business .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 19/12/2016 17:22:15    1941001

Bit of a mess this one alright lads. The ex managers have every right to say how they feel, the timing is....strange though to say the least. But surely the players had to expect this somewhere down the line and they've not spared the public any guessing about the group behind it all either.

The easy thing is to be negative, obviously bad press sells so this is great stuff for the media. The players and current management need to make this into a positive going into the new year, if they don't it could get even messier.

I've a great affection for Mayo GAA and fella's like Andy Moran would have been people I looked up to myself, it's not nice to hear this stuff coming out but that's where it's at - it needs to be taken forward in a positive manner, these are a group of players extremely determined - is this what goes up in the dressing room walls for months to finally drive them over the line? Who knows.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 19/12/2016 17:26:23    1941002

I don't blame Holmes for having a go at the players.They were treated very poorly.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/12/2016 17:31:23    1941003

Just after reading the Holmes/Connolly and Eamon Sweeney pieces again. Are some of the Mayo players serious? Egotistical is the lightest word you could use for some of them players. Some of the complainants are mind numbing to say the least. They also seem to have a major problem with James Horan's management. Add in McHale. H/C as well. Sense a theme here. How about look within yourself to find the problems of your constant failures. Trust me Tyrone have had a few egos in their teams over the years but management and senior players usually keep them in check or they are shown the door. Absolutely unbelieve guff from grown men. Everyone's favourite underdog....do me a favour.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 19/12/2016 18:19:50    1941007

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Connelly and Holmes got the Mayo job in controversial circumstances in the first place. Connellys brother was the newly elected chairman. Kevin McStay was the favourite. They were always going to be judged by the players thereafter.

A rant 12 months after they left if no good for anyone. Some of the stuff, like being late for pre match meal was a bit amateurish."
Yeah everyone forget the circumstances around how Holmes and Connelly got the job in the first place.

I don't think anyone is coming out of this looking well and in particular the county board.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/12/2016 18:26:29    1941011

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Mayo people in the Gaaike to be heard. David Brady,Liam McHale, Tommy Lyons, John Maughan. This is more of the same"
Don't Conor Mortimer and his emotional tribute to Michael Jackson.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/12/2016 18:28:38    1941012

Replying To Greengrass:  "Wrong. The players didn't keep their reasons private as you say. The players didn't have the courage or the decency to give Holmes and Connelly the reasons for their discontent. That meant that the management team was not able to defend itself . There was nothing private about this . Holmes and Connelly were very publicly humiliated . This was entirely orchestrated . Subsequently the players presented the county board with a list of demands with a deadline of four days from the date of receipt of the list given for accedence to the demands . This was accompanied by a threat of strike if the demands weren't acceded to . The reason the players wanted all this done behind closed doors is because they knew well what the public reaction would be . There was nothing honourable in how they went about their business ."
Greengrass did they bypass Holmes and Connelly with the letter to the county board?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/12/2016 18:30:03    1941013

Who needs Santa when we have Mayo, the gift that keeps on giving.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/12/2016 19:59:12    1941023

Replying To Breffni39:  "Who was the player left out of the the 26 that they were unhappy about?"
Word is the player the o'shea's were unhappy about being left out was their brother Conor!

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 19/12/2016 21:19:14    1941045

Replying To GetOverTheBar:  "Bit of a mess this one alright lads. The ex managers have every right to say how they feel, the timing is....strange though to say the least. But surely the players had to expect this somewhere down the line and they've not spared the public any guessing about the group behind it all either.

The easy thing is to be negative, obviously bad press sells so this is great stuff for the media. The players and current management need to make this into a positive going into the new year, if they don't it could get even messier.

I've a great affection for Mayo GAA and fella's like Andy Moran would have been people I looked up to myself, it's not nice to hear this stuff coming out but that's where it's at - it needs to be taken forward in a positive manner, these are a group of players extremely determined - is this what goes up in the dressing room walls for months to finally drive them over the line? Who knows."
A positive manner, how is David Clarke expected to take things positively when in 2015 Seamus O Shea looked for him to be dropped, this year he was dropped, we can only assume that the same request was made again as everybody felt it was a crazy decision. It also cost David Clarke an All Irl medal. His opponents/peers felt that the decision was daft as well & voted him an All Star. It must be hard for Clarke & Andy Moran knowing that Seamus O Shea & Alan Dillon went behind their back looking for them to be dropped. I don't see any positives for them at all.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 19/12/2016 21:31:54    1941051

Was this management team not appointed in questionable circumstances?

They have acted in their own interests here certainly not Mayo football

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 19/12/2016 21:33:14    1941052

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Greengrass did they bypass Holmes and Connelly with the letter to the county board?"
Yes . The letter was a set of demands in relation to the process to be followed concerning the appointment of a new manager .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 19/12/2016 21:51:26    1941055

If what Connolly and Holmes are portraying is accurate, and I have no reason to believe it's not as it hadn't even been challenged, then my estimation of Mayo footballers has droppped like a stone. The letter sent to the County Board was a general moan which cited no examples or instances to back up the players belief that management should be changed and yet the demands they made regarding the input into a new manager were laughable, why the Mayo County Board didn't call their bluff and tell them to sling their hook is beyond me being honest, of course the social media darling and moral compass of Gweedore Eamonn McGee thinks otherwise and sees it as a low blow against the players, give me a break please, it appears that Connolly and Holmes were treated beyond contempt and one feels that a look of looking in mirrors is needed by some Mayo players......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/12/2016 22:05:38    1941057

Well the saying goes there is never smoke with out fire and the rumours doing rounds were that a family from a castlebar based club were trying to pick the team all year. This statements goes a long to way confirm this. What I don't get is Mayo posters coming on saying the team was better in 2016 under rochford I would suggest Ye watch a dvd if available on the last two years championships. Ye were closer to beating the dubs in 2015 and in my opinon Dublin were a lot stronger in 2015. Ye also lost the provincial crown to Galway and apart from a two decent showing against the dubs which was a replica of 2015 and beating Tyrone who beat themselves with sides Mayo were terrible this year

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/12/2016 22:06:47    1941058

Should Rochford lay down the law? Yes, but it's difficult when 1 of his management team is also backing the gobby players

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 19/12/2016 22:08:42    1941059

Replying To Greengrass:  "Yes . The letter was a set of demands in relation to the process to be followed concerning the appointment of a new manager ."
http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/holmesconnelly-on-mayo-revolt-aidan-osheas-selection-email-seamus-lobbying-for-hennelly-and-clashes-over-mass-times-35301012.html

They told they voted 27/7 against them before they sent a letter to the county board. But they didn't tell Holmes and Connelly why they wanted them out.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 19/12/2016 22:30:05    1941060