Connelly/Holmes

Rochford needs to lay down the law. If that means a rest on the bench or even gate for two or three lads then so be it. I'm not sure Rochford is strong enough though?
I would be worried about unity and team spirit in the camp. It's a real shame if this is what this particular Mayo team will be remembered for after the past 6 years.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 19/12/2016 11:20:30    1940923

Connelly and Holmes got the Mayo job in controversial circumstances in the first place. Connellys brother was the newly elected chairman. Kevin McStay was the favourite. They were always going to be judged by the players thereafter.

A rant 12 months after they left if no good for anyone. Some of the stuff, like being late for pre match meal was a bit amateurish.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 19/12/2016 11:30:05    1940925

Damo of course it's revenge it's hardly for the betterment of Mayo football, they even gave names of what players said about other players which is the one rule you never break, the whole thing is getting their own back imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/12/2016 11:47:05    1940929

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Connelly and Holmes got the Mayo job in controversial circumstances in the first place. Connellys brother was the newly elected chairman. Kevin McStay was the favourite. They were always going to be judged by the players thereafter.

A rant 12 months after they left if no good for anyone. Some of the stuff, like being late for pre match meal was a bit amateurish."
Was there not rumours at the time that the mayo players didn't want Mc stay and Mc hale in particular. Rochford was always there preferred option.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/12/2016 12:12:03    1940934

I think it was McHale they had problem with. He writes for a Mayo paper and had criticized a few players in the past.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 19/12/2016 12:25:16    1940938

Replying To jacktheDub:  "It is strange that you call the 2 lads who acted with complete integrity through this whole episode liars. It looks like they set there stall out and we're honest with the panel there was a few who didn't like what they had to say so they picked up on anything they could to knock them with. AOS said the players didn't want to pick there manager but that is exactly what they wanted. They now have there yes man in charge. Mayo were a better team last year with the 2 guys at least they were in a position to win the replay. This year they led once over 2 games for A couple of mins. Why is there nobody asking questions about the senior players who have so much influence that they can get 2 good men removed from there position?"
Jack you should care to remember that this article is one side of the argument. An article written by a journalist is written in the opinion of the journalist it isn't necessarily the truth or the full truth. You shouldn't believe everything you read in a newspaper. Either way this article isn't in the good for Mayo football it can only be to the detriment! It should be noted that the Mayo players have been getting stick for a year since the two lads resigned!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 19/12/2016 12:39:01    1940943

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Damo of course it's revenge it's hardly for the betterment of Mayo football, they even gave names of what players said about other players which is the one rule you never break, the whole thing is getting their own back imo."
They're entitled to give their side of the story and it probably is the best time to do it with the season done and dusted. They shouldn't have hung players like Seamus O'Shea and Alan Dillon out to dry in the way that they did.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 19/12/2016 12:45:16    1940945

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah no doubt this is an excellent Mayo team. Let's be honest posters this was payback from Connelly/Holmes they wanted to stir it up and get revenge."
There's an element in that, showing a bit too much ego if you ask me.... Or them

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 19/12/2016 12:51:01    1940947

Whammo that's why I'm saying it was payback , they knew exactly what they were doing when they named names and what these players said about other players.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/12/2016 13:03:05    1940948

Who was the player left out of the the 26 that they were unhappy about?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 19/12/2016 13:29:01    1940954

Also, it should never have come out obviously but Alan Dillon had a point!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 19/12/2016 13:58:01    1940956

There are a number of players, coaches and management who are active members of current Dublin GAA teams who attempted to get Tommy Lyons removed in the mid-2000's. Nobody seems to be questioning their temperament. But following through on a lot of the opinions flowing here ye better root them out of the place ASAP. They must be a bad influence.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 19/12/2016 14:02:38    1940957

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Whammo that's why I'm saying it was payback , they knew exactly what they were doing when they named names and what these players said about other players."
Yeah I agree with you.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 19/12/2016 14:10:26    1940958

Thank God it's not Cork for a change !!

Cornerback1977 (Cork) - Posts: 67 - 19/12/2016 14:11:30    1940959

There is an element of 'player power' in every set up, not just at county level. The key to it all is that management are good enough to take on board opinion from the group, but at the same time to maintain their overall authority on proceedings. By the sounds of things in Mayo, the lines became very blurred and as a result, they find themselves in the messy situation they're currently in.

Just thinking back now, I'm nearly sure I saw Rochford at a match this year in a reconnaissance capacity, and both O'shea's were with him. I remember thinking at the time, that doesn't look right!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 19/12/2016 14:20:04    1940961

Replying To doublehop:  "There are a number of players, coaches and management who are active members of current Dublin GAA teams who attempted to get Tommy Lyons removed in the mid-2000's. Nobody seems to be questioning their temperament. But following through on a lot of the opinions flowing here ye better root them out of the place ASAP. They must be a bad influence."
Of the topic here Tommy Lyons completed all 3 years of the term he was given from 2002 to 2004 he was not forced out by the players and the county board wasn't held to ransom.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/12/2016 14:20:59    1940962

Replying To Lockjaw:  "There is an element of 'player power' in every set up, not just at county level. The key to it all is that management are good enough to take on board opinion from the group, but at the same time to maintain their overall authority on proceedings. By the sounds of things in Mayo, the lines became very blurred and as a result, they find themselves in the messy situation they're currently in.

Just thinking back now, I'm nearly sure I saw Rochford at a match this year in a reconnaissance capacity, and both O'shea's were with him. I remember thinking at the time, that doesn't look right!"
It was at dub v kerry semi afaik. Weird is right.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/12/2016 14:42:19    1940965

very self serving article. to have a go at AOS, whatever you think about him, for trying to get a bit of career for himself says so much about their mgt style.

memo to holmes/coneelly ..........it is an amateur sport and u are not entitled to interfere with a players career. not a very holistic approach to management.

hanging a player out to dry over expressing a preference for a keeper. not great lads. maybe players should have no opinions??

players kept their reasons private and so should the x mgmt. they have now started to make it personal. reflects badly on them. going on about humiliation......................grow up. u were dropped as managers. players get dropped every week and have to roll with it.

I think their is a cult of manager out there who will drown in their own self importance!

PS don't be misled by my name..........................I'm a Galway man to the core and actually enjoying this a bit:-)

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 19/12/2016 15:33:45    1940977

and the reason they can't win an all ireland is because they have no marquee forward. very solid, hard working team that are extremely hard to beat.........but no Gooch, Joyce, Quinlivan, O'Neill etc.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 19/12/2016 15:36:44    1940979

Replying To Mayonman:  "very self serving article. to have a go at AOS, whatever you think about him, for trying to get a bit of career for himself says so much about their mgt style.

memo to holmes/coneelly ..........it is an amateur sport and u are not entitled to interfere with a players career. not a very holistic approach to management.

hanging a player out to dry over expressing a preference for a keeper. not great lads. maybe players should have no opinions??

players kept their reasons private and so should the x mgmt. they have now started to make it personal. reflects badly on them. going on about humiliation......................grow up. u were dropped as managers. players get dropped every week and have to roll with it.

I think their is a cult of manager out there who will drown in their own self importance!

PS don't be misled by my name..........................I'm a Galway man to the core and actually enjoying this a bit:-)"
But is OK to hang the coaches out to dry ????

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/12/2016 15:46:34    1940980