O'Byrne Cup 2017

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can't disagree with that. The red ruined game, particularly when it was a mallee that resulted from a dangerous frontal hit on Reilly, but we have learned a few things GS Fri. Mostly second string. The real.business starts I. Two week. Well done to Louth"
Are you trying the old Fionn Mac Cumhaill pretending to be a baby trick RD?

Because if our "second string" contains Reilly, Keogan, Wallace, McMahon, Menton, Tobin, Forde, O'Sullivan, Lavin and Lenihan, I'd love to know what our strongest team looks like!

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 22/01/2017 18:38:02    1947791

Replying To Fionn:  "2nd string RD... I don't know about that....!
I reckon we will see 9-10 of the Meath players who got game time today, play in the Championship 15."
Well por will be in goals, some of the subs will naturally be in but they came in second half now t even HT, ID say about 7 including a couple of new lads who have impressed from second string will make starting 15, so yeah majority that started today won't start come championship. But I'll leave that to Andy as he is a master

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/01/2017 19:17:01    1947807

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well por will be in goals, some of the subs will naturally be in but they came in second half now t even HT, ID say about 7 including a couple of new lads who have impressed from second string will make starting 15, so yeah majority that started today won't start come championship. But I'll leave that to Andy as he is a master"
You are moving the goal posts there somewhat RD....
I said 9-10 who got game time - you are saying majority of starting 15.

Look either way it is only Jan but I stand by what I say - that was not a 2nd string team who played today.

Still fancy ye to improve a great deal but less of the cute Hoorism please. ...
Leave that to the other green and gold crowd down south.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 22/01/2017 19:37:12    1947821

Replying To Fionn:  "You are moving the goal posts there somewhat RD....
I said 9-10 who got game time - you are saying majority of starting 15.

Look either way it is only Jan but I stand by what I say - that was not a 2nd string team who played today.

Still fancy ye to improve a great deal but less of the cute Hoorism please. ...
Leave that to the other green and gold crowd down south."
I said majority of them were second string, which started and remained like that until into second half, that's actually true. The likes of O'Sullivan lenehane McMahon weren't seen until second half, also the likes of burlingham Burke etc played sat in challenge v donegal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2017 08:55:34    1947952

Replying To royaldunne:  "I said majority of them were second string, which started and remained like that until into second half, that's actually true. The likes of O'Sullivan lenehane McMahon weren't seen until second half, also the likes of burlingham Burke etc played sat in challenge v donegal"
Just to put things in to perspective from a Louth point of view. We also had a 2nd string/experimental team out with 3 new backs and 2 minors up front, and some of our most experienced lads only coming off the bench to close out the game (Reid and McEnaney). Fair to say it was 50/50 from a selection viewpoint.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 23/01/2017 10:08:12    1947988

Great win great support great atmosphere, you never know maybe The Dubs will travel all the way out to Templeogue in the future, I know it's only the o Byrne cup but how can Kildare be losing to that Dublin team , I think Kildare football has hit rock bottom after that yesterday.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/01/2017 10:29:13    1947996

I think the fact that dublins third team can beat a strong Kildare team says it all
its prob an indication how far ahead Dublin are ahead
and more so how far behind other countys in leinster are
I cant imagine that happening 15 or 20 yrs ago
when the likes of Kildare laois and meath would be well able for the dubs

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 23/01/2017 13:20:49    1948070

Replying To rhudson:  "I think the fact that dublins third team can beat a strong Kildare team says it all
its prob an indication how far ahead Dublin are ahead
and more so how far behind other countys in leinster are
I cant imagine that happening 15 or 20 yrs ago
when the likes of Kildare laois and meath would be well able for the dubs"
I just don't see the big hullabaloo over obc games, they are there to try out new players and new things, I mean look at last year a Dublin team with 7 all ire winners starting were well beat with by a Longford team missing numerous players. Was that a indication of the year ahead? Little perspective, Meath started off yesterday with halve the probable team either in stand or having played 16 hours earlier v Donegal. Little perspective. Meath won this comp last year and I't did them no good, use it as a training exercise, and pay little attention to result, trust me if you read anythng into obc you will be sorely disappointed

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2017 15:29:16    1948126

Royal Dunne haha that only tells you have bad Kildare are that they couldn't beat Dublin without any All Ireland winners playing.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/01/2017 15:44:34    1948133

Great win for the Wee County in Navan yesterday. Meath were very poor. They were 0-04 to 0-02 points up when they had a man send off and Louth surged ahead 0-10 points to 0-04 points. Funny enough if this match was in Drogheda, I would of fancied Meath. Meath have won their last two matches in Drogheda in the O Byrne Cup last year and in the league in 2014. Louth last beat Meath in Drogheda in 2007 in the O Byrne Cup. Louth are unbeaten in their last three matches against Meath in Navan. They beat them yesterday and in the league in 2012 and drew with them in the O Byrne Cup in 2013. The last time Louth played the Dubs in the O Byrne Cup final was in 1999. An Lu Abu!

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/01/2017 15:57:50    1948139

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Great win great support great atmosphere, you never know maybe The Dubs will travel all the way out to Templeogue in the future, I know it's only the o Byrne cup but how can Kildare be losing to that Dublin team , I think Kildare football has hit rock bottom after that yesterday."
Yes, yes we have. The only thing you would say it was the O'Byrne Cup but it's no excuse. Have come out of some of those thrashings in Croke Park in recent summers feeling less despondent than I did driving home yesterday.

Mayo for Sam!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 23/01/2017 16:15:29    1948142

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Royal Dunne haha that only tells you have bad Kildare are that they couldn't beat Dublin without any All Ireland winners playing."
Far worst than no all ireland winners I would say, the Dublin team had I think 2 players who have ever even appeared in a league game before: Jason Whelan and Ciaran Reddin.

Absolutely shocking that an almost full strength Kildare didn't win and win comfortably.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 23/01/2017 16:34:05    1948144

Replying To OLLIE:  "Great win for the Wee County in Navan yesterday. Meath were very poor. They were 0-04 to 0-02 points up when they had a man send off and Louth surged ahead 0-10 points to 0-04 points. Funny enough if this match was in Drogheda, I would of fancied Meath. Meath have won their last two matches in Drogheda in the O Byrne Cup last year and in the league in 2014. Louth last beat Meath in Drogheda in 2007 in the O Byrne Cup. Louth are unbeaten in their last three matches against Meath in Navan. They beat them yesterday and in the league in 2012 and drew with them in the O Byrne Cup in 2013. The last time Louth played the Dubs in the O Byrne Cup final was in 1999. An Lu Abu!"
Congratulations to you Ollie. Better team won, simple as that , wind went out of sails after red, but some of those trying to push for starting inclusion didn't play up to standard , and I expect them to not make the final cut before league.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2017 16:35:42    1948146

Replying To royaldunne:  "Congratulations to you Ollie. Better team won, simple as that , wind went out of sails after red, but some of those trying to push for starting inclusion didn't play up to standard , and I expect them to not make the final cut before league."
Fair Play Royaldunne.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/01/2017 16:44:05    1948152

Replying To OLLIE:  "Great win for the Wee County in Navan yesterday. Meath were very poor. They were 0-04 to 0-02 points up when they had a man send off and Louth surged ahead 0-10 points to 0-04 points. Funny enough if this match was in Drogheda, I would of fancied Meath. Meath have won their last two matches in Drogheda in the O Byrne Cup last year and in the league in 2014. Louth last beat Meath in Drogheda in 2007 in the O Byrne Cup. Louth are unbeaten in their last three matches against Meath in Navan. They beat them yesterday and in the league in 2012 and drew with them in the O Byrne Cup in 2013. The last time Louth played the Dubs in the O Byrne Cup final was in 1999. An Lu Abu!"
Congratulations to you Ollie. Better team won, simple as that , wind went out of sails after red, but some of those trying to push for starting inclusion didn't play up to standard , and I expect them to not make the final cut before league.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2017 17:05:53    1948166

Excellent result away in Drogheda today for the Dubs cubs.

To win the O'Byrne Cup by 2-16 to 1-10 v Louth was an excellent achievement for this group of young players. Powerful 2nd half performance and some of them really stood out and will give Jim plenty of food for thought.

Hopefully this will bring them on and I expect 3-4 of them at least, to see some game time in the League.
The OB Cup have been a huge success in that respect.

Nice to have the full compliment of trophies in our cabinet again....

Well done lads..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 29/01/2017 18:36:57    1949836