Maurice Fitz comments

Replying To MuckrossHead:  ""I suppose there's no doubt that Dublin seem to have stolen a march on everybody but there was only two points between Kerry and Dublin last year. Albeit Dublin are champions for the last two years. I don't think they are unassailable.

How anyone could find that comment "disrespectful" is beyond me entirely. Maurice is entirely correct Dublin in his assertion that Dublin are not unassailable, They are the best but that does not mean that they are out of sight & anyone who thinks otherwise is a fool.

Have we really reached the stage where one of the greatest players to ever play the game gets landed on for stating the bloody obvious?"
Ah me oul mate Muckrosshead, column inches are going cheap at this time of year :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 10/12/2016 22:50:22    1939454

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Didn't we whoop ye in the league in 2015? :-)"
Ha you gave the team team a run for their mone and they ran you close, if the later games in the champs were in kilarney yee might have a few extra SAMs instead of shame, I was there, was the most comical game of football I've attended in many a year, brilliant fun though!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/12/2016 00:35:12    1939467

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Didn't we whoop ye in the league in 2015? :-)"
Ha you gave the team team a run for their mone and they ran you close, if the later games in the champs were in kilarney yee might have a few extra SAMs instead of shams, I was there, was the most comical game of football I've attended in many a year, brilliant fun though!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/12/2016 00:35:24    1939468

A statement of fact is all that is and nothing that plenty of folk havn't said already. Kerry aren't that far off but the current Dublin side are exceptional and will rightly go down as one of the best to play the game.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/12/2016 10:37:41    1939487

Replying To waynoI:  "Tyrone ahead of Kerry ?

What have Tyrone done in the last few years to be put ahead of Kerry ?

Kerry won Sam in 2014, got to the final in 2015, got to a league final in 2016, only lost to the eventual all Ireland champions by a point.

Tyrone haven't done a tap in the All Ireland championship since 08.

Kerry are third best in the country after Dublin and Mayo.

To think Tyrone are better than Kerry is nonsense."
I don't know how people come up with these sorts of opinions.

Last time Kerry played Tyrone whilst the score was close, Kerry in my opinion were clearly a better team.

Tyrone have a good system but they don't have the forwards to seriously trouble a top team.

They're very reliant on 2 players: Harte and Donnelly whereas Kerry were competitive even though they were missing arguably their best player in O'Donoghue.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 11/12/2016 11:21:31    1939491

Replying To mayomanic:  ""I suppose there's no doubt that Dublin seem to have stolen a march on everybody but there was only two points between Kerry and Dublin last year. Albeit Dublin are champions for the last two years. I don't think they are unassailable.

Just like to remind Mr Fitzgerald that Dublin have not stolen a march on everybody but they have on Kerry. Have some respect"
Still upset about the immortals display in 97 I see!

The fact a fella 'with only' two Celtic Crosses is held up higher then most with 6 or 8 down here tells you all you need to know.

Till on 2017, An Riocht Abu

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 11/12/2016 19:41:28    1939578

Replying To TheHermit:  "Still upset about the immortals display in 97 I see!

The fact a fella 'with only' two Celtic Crosses is held up higher then most with 6 or 8 down here tells you all you need to know.

Till on 2017, An Riocht Abu"
thatta boy

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 11/12/2016 20:10:37    1939584

on another note this is a man that has done his talking on the pitch, whatever any teams says about their current star players,be it Murphy, O"Shea, O'Donoghue, Gooch other greats like peter etc... now a patch on this Mary;s lad... had it in spade within the white lines and starting to prove himself in the dug put as well

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 11/12/2016 20:29:15    1939588

It always baffled me why he rarely started games for Kerry and was largely a super sub, is that the reason why he retired at 32 from the County team, it must have been frustrating with his talent and not making the starting 15.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/12/2016 21:38:17    1939599

Replying To TheUsername:  "It always baffled me why he rarely started games for Kerry and was largely a super sub, is that the reason why he retired at 32 from the County team, it must have been frustrating with his talent and not making the starting 15."
that was only in his last two years under Paidi - personally I would have had him anywhere from 8-15

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 11/12/2016 21:52:43    1939603

Replying To TheUsername:  "It always baffled me why he rarely started games for Kerry and was largely a super sub, is that the reason why he retired at 32 from the County team, it must have been frustrating with his talent and not making the starting 15."
Didn't like being on the bench and didn't get on with Paudi either apparently, but who knows the full story. Rumour has it that Jack O'Connor invited him back when he took over but he was 34 at that stage and he didn't take him up on the offer. I always felt he retired too early myself, and could have had another Celtic Cross if he had stayed.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/12/2016 21:58:49    1939604

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Didn't like being on the bench and didn't get on with Paudi either apparently, but who knows the full story. Rumour has it that Jack O'Connor invited him back when he took over but he was 34 at that stage and he didn't take him up on the offer. I always felt he retired too early myself, and could have had another Celtic Cross if he had stayed."
I was a whipper snapper at the time, but just couldn't believe having him on the bench. I won't admit in public, but I always tried to emulate the game at club level of Fitzgerald and MFR as a kid growing at that time as players I looked up to and admired, ha clearly that didn't go to plan. :)

One of the great GAA tragedies was Kerry's years in the wilderness when Fitzgerald was in his youthful pomp, coverage being not what it is today, you lads must have been spoiled seeing him ply his trade for Mary's, South Kerry and in the provincials.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/12/2016 22:33:57    1939614

To be honest you know there is something positive happening when you have a large crowd to watch U21s against Tipp seniors last weekend. The extended squad is ferocious for places. Lads outside Kerry won't recognise names but in my mind we have backs coming through that are like the 70s backs. The minors are another great bunch. Fingers crossed we will pull an AI out of it tin the next couple years to reward the young lads

Murph (Kerry) - Posts: 45 - 13/01/2017 23:47:58    1945582

Replying To Murph:  "To be honest you know there is something positive happening when you have a large crowd to watch U21s against Tipp seniors last weekend. The extended squad is ferocious for places. Lads outside Kerry won't recognise names but in my mind we have backs coming through that are like the 70s backs. The minors are another great bunch. Fingers crossed we will pull an AI out of it tin the next couple years to reward the young lads"
Please stick to the topic please.

The fact is Kerry haven't been able to beat Dublin when it matters in nearly a decade now, regardless of how many times ex-players suggest that the gap isn't that big.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 14/01/2017 15:20:51    1945653

Replying To Murph:  "To be honest you know there is something positive happening when you have a large crowd to watch U21s against Tipp seniors last weekend. The extended squad is ferocious for places. Lads outside Kerry won't recognise names but in my mind we have backs coming through that are like the 70s backs. The minors are another great bunch. Fingers crossed we will pull an AI out of it tin the next couple years to reward the young lads"
Yeah there is a sense of things moving in the right direction. Some of the U21's are very good and should start breaking through to the championship team this year and next. Hopefully we can start giving the Dubs a run for their money very soon.

Apparently JOD is also finally over his injuries. That'll be like getting a new player as he has barely had an impact for two years. Hope he stays healthy.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 14/01/2017 15:31:12    1945656

Replying To royaldunne:  "Would agree with you there.
While Kerry have some fantastic prospects coming through, the current Kerry team wouldn't be in the top 3 in country, id rate that dubs mayo Tyrone with Donegal Kerry vying for 4 spot. But long way behind dubs"
Wrong . Kerry beat Tyrone in 2015. There's a clear top three and they are Dublin, Mayo and Kerry. Tyrone are not at that level . They are closer to Monaghan and Donegal than they are to the top three .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 14/01/2017 19:11:58    1945691

Replying To Greengrass:  "Wrong . Kerry beat Tyrone in 2015. There's a clear top three and they are Dublin, Mayo and Kerry. Tyrone are not at that level . They are closer to Monaghan and Donegal than they are to the top three ."
I wouldn't read too much into royaldunnes comments he has zero time for Kerry so that blinkers his opinions.
I don't care personally about top 4 etc.. it's Sam that matters , second is nowhere.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 14/01/2017 20:19:34    1945717

It's a pity to see so many posters having a go at him for stating an opinion. As a selector now with the team he has to do whatever he can to boost confidence in the squad. Every management team worth their salt are doing the same thing. Dublin posters do their bit for their team by building them up as being unbeatable.
As to the debate about who the best teams are, Mayo have learned that it matters little if lady luck does not give you a smile along the way.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/01/2017 20:35:08    1945723

First is first second is nowhere. The debate around who is 2nd, 3rd or 4th best is pointless in my opinion.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 15/01/2017 13:00:23    1945806

Replying To yew_tree:  "First is first second is nowhere. The debate around who is 2nd, 3rd or 4th best is pointless in my opinion."
Mayo specialise in being second

El_Torro (Tyrone) - Posts: 155 - 15/01/2017 13:56:43    1945815