Diarmuid Connolly, Common Sense

I think it's great to see a player speak his mind without being shackled by media coaches and spinning the same aul bland cliches.
Good on him.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/12/2016 14:05:14    1939065

Seldom have I found anything Joe Brolly says to be actually wrong, true the delivery and methodology of the man often raises people's ire but the core content is more often than not genuine and true, his Sunday articles are a must read for me now along with O'Rourke's, both are often biting or are relayed with tongue firmly in cheek but they are most enjoyable pieces I find. It seems nowadays that many players, managers and officials have become very delicate to critical analysis and feel obliged to retort in kind, I can remember well the critical comment passed on Meath teams of the 80's and 90's whos perceived actions on the field were so high up people's agendas that they caused the switchboard at Liveline to be lit up on more than one occasion, and yet today the slightest comment by any analyst or media commentator that goes against the opinion of a player, manager or official is danced upon immediately. How foolish is it to claim an orchestrated media campaign against Lee Keeegan when nothing but praise has been heaped on the chap? Or how foolish is it to highlight a few digs Connolly got when his team mates are dishing out the exact same welcome at the other end of the field? It's incredibly foolish and hypocritical and exposes a soft and sensitive underbelly to a supposed mans game. Players should go their talking on the pitch, managers on the sideline and training field and officials at the county board meetings and conventions. The analyists have their job to do and despite the recent criticism I see here and elsewhere I feel the ones on RTE at least do a decent job and keep me entertained, clowns they are not but trying to blame them for developments in GAA discipline is a clowns game, it is the actions of players and managers and not pundits that have brought about such change and pointing the finger of blame elsewhere is ignoring the truth and ignoring responsibility.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/12/2016 14:19:15    1939069

Replying To Richieq:  "Seldom have I found anything Joe Brolly says to be actually wrong, true the delivery and methodology of the man often raises people's ire but the core content is more often than not genuine and true, his Sunday articles are a must read for me now along with O'Rourke's, both are often biting or are relayed with tongue firmly in cheek but they are most enjoyable pieces I find. It seems nowadays that many players, managers and officials have become very delicate to critical analysis and feel obliged to retort in kind, I can remember well the critical comment passed on Meath teams of the 80's and 90's whos perceived actions on the field were so high up people's agendas that they caused the switchboard at Liveline to be lit up on more than one occasion, and yet today the slightest comment by any analyst or media commentator that goes against the opinion of a player, manager or official is danced upon immediately. How foolish is it to claim an orchestrated media campaign against Lee Keeegan when nothing but praise has been heaped on the chap? Or how foolish is it to highlight a few digs Connolly got when his team mates are dishing out the exact same welcome at the other end of the field? It's incredibly foolish and hypocritical and exposes a soft and sensitive underbelly to a supposed mans game. Players should go their talking on the pitch, managers on the sideline and training field and officials at the county board meetings and conventions. The analyists have their job to do and despite the recent criticism I see here and elsewhere I feel the ones on RTE at least do a decent job and keep me entertained, clowns they are not but trying to blame them for developments in GAA discipline is a clowns game, it is the actions of players and managers and not pundits that have brought about such change and pointing the finger of blame elsewhere is ignoring the truth and ignoring responsibility."
I find your post a rather worrying. Maybe I am mistaken but, to me, it seems that you are implying that players should not have the right to respond to the criticism, often unfair, levelled at them by pundits or sports writers. That is simply ridiculous. The Sunday Game pundits, that you say you enjoy, are paid (unlike the players on the pitch) to analysise the particular game that they are watching. This does not give them the right to make personal criticisms of particular players. They certainly are not in any way qualified to question the character of any player, or indeed their commitment.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 08/12/2016 19:37:24    1939129

Replying To neverright:  "I find your post a rather worrying. Maybe I am mistaken but, to me, it seems that you are implying that players should not have the right to respond to the criticism, often unfair, levelled at them by pundits or sports writers. That is simply ridiculous. The Sunday Game pundits, that you say you enjoy, are paid (unlike the players on the pitch) to analysise the particular game that they are watching. This does not give them the right to make personal criticisms of particular players. They certainly are not in any way qualified to question the character of any player, or indeed their commitment."
I agree with both of ye. A player has to expect criticism, a lot of it which isn't constructive, from pundits but of their play, discipline, etc. But criticism should not be anything personal.

For a long-time Brolly went on about the Mayo defence costing us games which was repetitive but absolutely true. I think at times players/teams get stubborn and sensitive about outside criticism and our defence wasn't improved until Rochford took over. Some players and teams should take on-board what is being said by pundits rather than ignoring what is said because the pundit has made some publicity-seeking comments in the past.

But Brolly lets himself down by you can forget Sean Cavanagh as a man outbursts.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 08/12/2016 20:58:10    1939147

Replying To neverright:  "I find your post a rather worrying. Maybe I am mistaken but, to me, it seems that you are implying that players should not have the right to respond to the criticism, often unfair, levelled at them by pundits or sports writers. That is simply ridiculous. The Sunday Game pundits, that you say you enjoy, are paid (unlike the players on the pitch) to analysise the particular game that they are watching. This does not give them the right to make personal criticisms of particular players. They certainly are not in any way qualified to question the character of any player, or indeed their commitment."
Respond to criticism fine, make silly and untrue comments that a "clown" in RTE was the cause of the black card is not fine. Certain players are way too sensitive and certain players seem to think they can ignore their own faults and indiscretions and point the blame elsewhere, that's not fine either. The attitude of certain players towards the rules is highlighted by the extremes some will go to in cases of appeal, forget the wrongdoing and find the loophole, that is most certainly not fine.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/12/2016 22:43:04    1939159

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I listened to the interview last night and it's very good he comes across very well and he's no fool he's a brilliant talker as well. Kingdomboy feels he's in a position to say what he likes about Diarmud but Diarmud isn't in a position to say what he likes."
Went for a run last night and listened to his interview.

He came across very well and in fairness parkinson wasnt afraid to ask him about things such as his short fuse being one of the reasons he amy be targetted more and i thought his response when asked about people judging him because they dont know him as he doesnt really do interviews etc was very good.

He was very straight in his comments, doesnt have an issue with Keegan marking him or being targetted, its not a big deal part fo the game his own team mates do the same as long as the referees are consistent, doesnt like the black card, doesnt make sense that a corner forward can drag down a corner back 3 mins into an All Ireland final with no malice and then miss the entire game. Should be a yellow card for the offence however if a player drags down a player in a clear goal scoring position then make it a red card.

People have informed opinions on him possibly due to the fact he doesnt talk much to the media etc and i enjoyed his interview.

In his interview there was honesty about the game and himself without the need to go attacking someone to get his point across. Its a pity certain pundits couldnt take the same approach yet people seem to lap at the alter of Mr Brolly for example yet have little time for Connoly.

Imagine being able to comment without attacking!!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1341 - 09/12/2016 10:37:09    1939201

People have informed opinions on him possibly due to the fact he doesnt talk much to the media etc and i enjoyed his interview.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts:483 - 09/12/2016 10:37:09

I think Parkinson was a bit off the mark with the notion that people form negative opinions on him because they don't know him. People comment and form opinions based on what they see - and on the field we see 2 sides of Connolly; one is the fantastic footballer, but the other is a player who has been sent off for striking, pulling opponents to ground in headlocks, childishly wrestling the ball from his own team-mate in an all ireland final, etc.
Parkinson gave him the opportunity to shut people up by posing a question that had no real basis.

I wasn't a fan of Connolly before listening to the interview, and while his honesty was refreshing, my opinion of him certainly hasn't changed.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 09/12/2016 11:40:06    1939213

"Childishly wrestling the ball" Sweet Jesus, this is what Dermo is up against.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/12/2016 12:58:08    1939232

I wasn't a fan of Connolly before listening to the interview, and while his honesty was refreshing, my opinion of him certainly hasn't changed.

Well now theres a surprise !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/12/2016 10:26:05    1939350

Replying To cavanman47:  "People have informed opinions on him possibly due to the fact he doesnt talk much to the media etc and i enjoyed his interview.

I think Parkinson was a bit off the mark with the notion that people form negative opinions on him because they don't know him. People comment and form opinions based on what they see - and on the field we see 2 sides of Connolly; one is the fantastic footballer, but the other is a player who has been sent off for striking, pulling opponents to ground in headlocks, childishly wrestling the ball from his own team-mate in an all ireland final, etc.
Parkinson gave him the opportunity to shut people up by posing a question that had no real basis.

I wasn't a fan of Connolly before listening to the interview, and while his honesty was refreshing, my opinion of him certainly hasn't changed."
Connolly always comes across as like a spoiled child on the field. Looks like he could start crying at any second.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/12/2016 11:01:32    1939353

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To cavanman47:  "People have informed opinions on him possibly due to the fact he doesnt talk much to the media etc and i enjoyed his interview.

I wasn't a fan of Connolly before listening to the interview, and while his honesty was refreshing, my opinion of him certainly hasn't changed."
Connolly always comes across as like a spoiled child on the field. Looks like he could start crying at any second."
Hahaa! It's ye lads that are crying while ye are taking an ar*e kicking from Connolly and Co. Still sour afyer all this time eh! Good to see though , keep it up.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/12/2016 12:42:05    1939362

Connolly always comes across as like a spoiled child on the field. Looks like he could start crying at any second."
eh hello your the one coming across like a spoilt child.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/12/2016 13:11:24    1939369

I have to allow myself a little chuckle when I see all the fuss nowadays about rough play and players being targeted etc. as if it were a new phenomenon. Back in the day when I was a nippy corner forward (well corner forward anyway) your typical corner back who was built like the hulk, removed his false teeth, drew a line about twenty five yards out with his size thirteens and dared you to cross it. I usually removed myself from that area fairly lively and took up a position in the general midfield area. When the manager asked, as he invariably did, what the **** I was doing, I told him I was helping out at midfield or giving the inside lads some room. Cowardly I know but in my defence I did get to retain my devilish good looks. In fact the only injury I got was one time when I was keeping as far away as possible from a particularly vicious looking corner back, I inadvertently strayed into our own goalmouth and our fullback , who was notoriously short sighted and short tempered, mistook me (or so he said) for one of the opposition. I had a pigeon toed walk for weeks. Mind you I have my suspicions that, as I was one of the first at the time to wear my hair long and he was strictly a short back and sides man, he saw me as some kind of threat to his manhood and took remedial action. I patrolled the area between the two forty fives after that. Luckily enough the term "attacking corner back" had different connotations back then and he rarely, unless under extreme provocation, ventured outside his own little kingdom. I remember a hurling lad being interviewed years back and being asked was hurling rougher back in his day. He thought for a minute and said he wasn't sure but he remembered in one game the ball going out over the sideline and it being five minutes before anyone missed it. Strangely enough it was rare for anyone to be sent off in football as the referees were generally of the view that if no weapons were used in the assault, it was grand. Referees were generally so unfit they rarely ventured very far from the half way line and let the players more or less get on with it. There was none of this laughing and joking with the players and I want to be your friend ***** you see some refs on with nowadays. Lee, Diarmuid, Philly et al. bless them, wouldn't have lasted five minutes. Ah well time for my nap!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 10/12/2016 13:23:38    1939372

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I have to allow myself a little chuckle when I see all the fuss nowadays about rough play and players being targeted etc. as if it were a new phenomenon. Back in the day when I was a nippy corner forward (well corner forward anyway) your typical corner back who was built like the hulk, removed his false teeth, drew a line about twenty five yards out with his size thirteens and dared you to cross it. I usually removed myself from that area fairly lively and took up a position in the general midfield area. When the manager asked, as he invariably did, what the **** I was doing, I told him I was helping out at midfield or giving the inside lads some room. Cowardly I know but in my defence I did get to retain my devilish good looks. In fact the only injury I got was one time when I was keeping as far away as possible from a particularly vicious looking corner back, I inadvertently strayed into our own goalmouth and our fullback , who was notoriously short sighted and short tempered, mistook me (or so he said) for one of the opposition. I had a pigeon toed walk for weeks. Mind you I have my suspicions that, as I was one of the first at the time to wear my hair long and he was strictly a short back and sides man, he saw me as some kind of threat to his manhood and took remedial action. I patrolled the area between the two forty fives after that. Luckily enough the term "attacking corner back" had different connotations back then and he rarely, unless under extreme provocation, ventured outside his own little kingdom. I remember a hurling lad being interviewed years back and being asked was hurling rougher back in his day. He thought for a minute and said he wasn't sure but he remembered in one game the ball going out over the sideline and it being five minutes before anyone missed it. Strangely enough it was rare for anyone to be sent off in football as the referees were generally of the view that if no weapons were used in the assault, it was grand. Referees were generally so unfit they rarely ventured very far from the half way line and let the players more or less get on with it. There was none of this laughing and joking with the players and I want to be your friend ***** you see some refs on with nowadays. Lee, Diarmuid, Philly et al. bless them, wouldn't have lasted five minutes. Ah well time for my nap!"
Amazing the tricks that time can play with your memory.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 10/12/2016 15:21:53    1939389

Replying To superbluedub:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=cavanman47:  "People have informed opinions on him possibly due to the fact he doesnt talk much to the media etc and i enjoyed his interview.

eh hello your the one coming across like a spoilt child."]No lad I'd be more of a weinger than a child and probably I little petty as well.
But we all have our problems.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/12/2016 16:53:12    1939394

Ha if he was a fan, maybe he would throw his programme at the Ref! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/12/2016 17:35:06    1939403

If you think Connolly acted like a spoilt child god only knows what you think of Paul Galvin???

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/12/2016 17:54:25    1939404

Replying To clondalkindub:  "If you think Connolly acted like a spoilt child god only knows what you think of Paul Galvin???"
Gooch and Dorothy are worse.Always giving referees a hard time

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 10/12/2016 20:48:53    1939430

Replying To clondalkindub:  "If you think Connolly acted like a spoilt child god only knows what you think of Paul Galvin???"
Clon the big difference between Galvin and Connolly was Galvin was about a foot smaller then the fellas he used to grapple with, plus Galvin never got away with anything coz if the ref didn't catch it the Sunday game boys would .
Connolly always gets an easy ride , but sure isn't every1 at him I suppose.
Oh also Galvin came back in 09 and redeemed him self and won player of the year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/12/2016 21:16:11    1939434

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I disagree tom I think joe has some great articles in the indo, and he had one last week about the national anthem and the flag and the great work slaughtneil are doing. It's well worth a read."
what station is the connolly interview on? cant find it on either newstalk or RTE

82300 (Louth) - Posts: 31 - 10/12/2016 21:42:15    1939438