Diarmuid Connolly, Common Sense

So now most supporters and players think the black card should go but still Jarlath and the lads in Croke park say we are all wrong,
How many games this year have we seen the best players on teams standing on the sideline due to the bad calls on a black card, all I see the black card doing is adding pressure on the ref as he is the one that gets the flack off the media for a wrong call so hopefully it won't be long until a ref speaks out and maybe then they will listen.
Fair play to Connelly for speaking out as he would be one of a handful of players that are targeted week in and week out and end up getting a card for lashing out

redbomb (Tyrone) - Posts: 167 - 07/12/2016 13:47:56    1938862

Replying To cavanman47:  "Is Lee Keegan not currently the best?"
For God's sake man talk sense.

Lee Keegan isn't from Dublin, how could he be the best footballer in Ireland?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/12/2016 14:04:04    1938867

I knew this topic would come back to one theme - who is best between Connolly and Keegan. You would think they were the only two footballers in the country.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 07/12/2016 14:47:39    1938876

Replying To clondalkindub:  "6 All Ireland medals

2 all Stars

Currently the best footballer in Ireland

Yeah he's in no position to call anyone a clown"
No he's not in such a position, why should personal accolades allow him to make such comments. Diarmuid is not as pure as the driven snow or the rock of footballing sense as some, including your esteemed Mr. Costelloe who must have paid no heed to the actions of any other Dublin footballer, would have you think and personally I think he would be better served by staying silent on such matters, and that goes for all players some of whom have become far too vocal in recent years. People in glasshouses etc etc.........

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/12/2016 15:07:24    1938880

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I knew this topic would come back to one theme - who is best between Connolly and Keegan. You would think they were the only two footballers in the country."
But sure they are the only two footballers in the country and were both the respective cornerstones of the comments made by the Dublin and Mayo CEO/Secretary, they have both become an unhealthy fascination of late and could do with being left alone to fatten over the winter.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/12/2016 15:12:26    1938881

Replying To Richieq:  "No he's not in such a position, why should personal accolades allow him to make such comments. Diarmuid is not as pure as the driven snow or the rock of footballing sense as some, including your esteemed Mr. Costelloe who must have paid no heed to the actions of any other Dublin footballer, would have you think and personally I think he would be better served by staying silent on such matters, and that goes for all players some of whom have become far too vocal in recent years. People in glasshouses etc etc........."
Well said ritchieq .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/12/2016 16:00:04    1938891

Not sure on this but was the black card already passed and set to be introduced before Brollys rant over kavanagh pulling McManus down?

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 07/12/2016 20:54:43    1938940

Replying To Weary:  "Not sure on this but was the black card already passed and set to be introduced before Brollys rant over kavanagh pulling McManus down?"
I think it was, however it was ill though out idea by a group of people who are not directly involved in the game thru coaching or playing or managing. Our Ref's were never going to be able to apply it fairly or correctly- they have enough difficulty with the rules as the were. How can any human be able to know what a players intentions were in all incidents. The have now introduced the mark, another game changer by the same group, yet we are not able to change by 2 weeks the date of our AI's without a 75% vote been cast.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 07/12/2016 21:56:17    1938952

Replying To cavanman47:  "Is Lee Keegan not currently the best?"
nope

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/12/2016 23:21:41    1938963

As i said in another thread having read Diarmuid Connollys comments referencing the "clown in the RTE studio" and commenting on the black card fiasco and being apparently "targetted" amongst other things the man has gone right up in my estimation.

Never mind some bland interview from his team mates roll out that man Connolly for more interviews i say, in an era of media bans and worn out cliche ridden interviews, honesty is a virtue.

I see he has also broken ranks and done an interview with Colm Parkinson for the GAA Hour podcast. None of the dubs team had previously engaged with Parkinson for the podcast. Fair play its an interview ill be downloading for my run tonight.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1341 - 08/12/2016 08:37:20    1938975

Replying To superbluedub:  "nope"
Strange that - I seem to remember the majority of his fellow players voting him Player of the Year (2016 being the year). But what would they know, eh?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/12/2016 09:33:27    1938980

In 10 years time people will look back on the Connolly v Keegan tussles and remember their epic battles. Two great players going toe-to-toe in top level games. We mightn't see their likes for a long time so we should appreciate them while continuing the craic and banter debating who is the better !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 08/12/2016 10:19:53    1938987

Replying To GreenandRed:  "In 10 years time people will look back on the Connolly v Keegan tussles and remember their epic battles. Two great players going toe-to-toe in top level games. We mightn't see their likes for a long time so we should appreciate them while continuing the craic and banter debating who is the better !"
Well said GnR

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 08/12/2016 10:41:31    1938991

Replying To tearintom:  "As i said in another thread having read Diarmuid Connollys comments referencing the "clown in the RTE studio" and commenting on the black card fiasco and being apparently "targetted" amongst other things the man has gone right up in my estimation.

Never mind some bland interview from his team mates roll out that man Connolly for more interviews i say, in an era of media bans and worn out cliche ridden interviews, honesty is a virtue.

I see he has also broken ranks and done an interview with Colm Parkinson for the GAA Hour podcast. None of the dubs team had previously engaged with Parkinson for the podcast. Fair play its an interview ill be downloading for my run tonight."
Connolly is no genius but he probably realises that he's 30 years old and hasn't too much time left in the Dublin jersey so he's trying to kick start a career in the media for him self.
So by going after the big dog joe brolly and starting a war of words with him it'll get the attention of rte or sky.
Hopefully joe will have the good since to ignore him .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2016 11:03:26    1938999

Replying To GreenandRed:  "In 10 years time people will look back on the Connolly v Keegan tussles and remember their epic battles. Two great players going toe-to-toe in top level games. We mightn't see their likes for a long time so we should appreciate them while continuing the craic and banter debating who is the better !"
Exactly ! These guys are always going to be figures that divide opinion but in the future we may well be glad to have seen them play.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/12/2016 11:12:50    1939003

Yeah that's what he's thinking Kingdomboy well thought out you genius you.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/12/2016 11:17:35    1939008

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Connolly is no genius but he probably realises that he's 30 years old and hasn't too much time left in the Dublin jersey so he's trying to kick start a career in the media for him self.
So by going after the big dog joe brolly and starting a war of words with him it'll get the attention of rte or sky.
Hopefully joe will have the good since to ignore him ."
Another great bit of deduction there Holmes. Next it'll be flogging a book.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/12/2016 12:22:49    1939028

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Connolly is no genius but he probably realises that he's 30 years old and hasn't too much time left in the Dublin jersey so he's trying to kick start a career in the media for him self.
Hopefully joe will have the good since to ignore him ."
Well Connolly spoke more sense in one interview than Mr Brolly has either spoken or wrote in my book for years so ill be more interested in hearing his opinion than the opinion of Mr Brolly.

Ill report back on his interview on the GAA Hour podcast if your interested!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1341 - 08/12/2016 12:57:45    1939036

I listened to the interview last night and it's very good he comes across very well and he's no fool he's a brilliant talker as well. Kingdomboy feels he's in a position to say what he likes about Diarmud but Diarmud isn't in a position to say what he likes.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/12/2016 13:08:01    1939043

Replying To tearintom:  "Well Connolly spoke more sense in one interview than Mr Brolly has either spoken or wrote in my book for years so ill be more interested in hearing his opinion than the opinion of Mr Brolly.

Ill report back on his interview on the GAA Hour podcast if your interested!"
I disagree tom I think joe has some great articles in the indo, and he had one last week about the national anthem and the flag and the great work slaughtneil are doing. It's well worth a read.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2016 13:16:52    1939049