Tipp Senior Hurling 2017

How to solve the problem, tighten up at the back. Mooney, Donagh Maher, James Barry and mouse O Dwyer. The whole back line will sit deeper. Let the forwards shoot the lights out. If that's not good enough well then so be it, may the best team win.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 30/07/2017 20:43:54    2026190

Great Game Lads! Worthy Champions, could have gone either way. A sickening game to loose, believe me I know. I think Cathal Barrett situation did not help. Two best teams in the Country for last 5 Years.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 06/08/2017 18:32:53    2029844

Much thanks to all, players and management, involved with Tipperary hurling in 2017. Your hard work ensured I had many enjoyable days following Tipp this year.
As a supporter this defeat ranks up there with the most painful, eg, kk 2012. Particularly because we haven't retained an All Ire since 1965. We produce good teams from Tipp but not great teams. Why didn't it happen this year?
1. Player indiscipline. So sad that Michael Ryan was forced to release a key player and warn a number of others over their inability to behave themselves. Despite the brilliance of the full back line v Galway, the player in question could have slotted in at RHB where we were so evidently weak. Galway would have been minus at least 3 points imo
2. The Polish guy. The top teams in any given sport are separated by the slimmest of margins. Several Tipp players returned to competitive action for the league a pale shadow of their 2016 selves. Their conditioning was poor. Galway finished much stronger on Sunday. It was the opposite last year. The Polish conditioning coach is that extra 10% needed to win and the Tipp county board let him go. Shame on them.
3. One trick ponies. Route one worked fine last year but hurling moves on. It didn't work against Galway in the league final and it didn't work yesterday either. Tipp have no plan B. Tipp were a much better coached side under Eamonn O Shea and hurled much much better.
4. Poor match management. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong but was SC and JMcG left in the FF line all day despite being unable to win primary ball?
5. Lack of talent beyond 15. Our subs don't set the hurling world alight. Not one of them can change a match or offer something different. Tipp win an All Ire on average once every 10 years, trying not to be pessimistic God knows when we will see another.
5. No atmosphere. Why do some supporters bother going to matches if all they are going to do is sit in their seat and fold their arms. They would be better off at home in front of the telly, cheaper anyway. The row in front of me were constantly asking me to stop shouting. I had to because no one else around me was. Not once did 'Tipp, Tipp, Tipp' ring out.

fergo (Tipperary) - Posts: 46 - 08/08/2017 10:08:55    2030827

Replying To fergo:  "Much thanks to all, players and management, involved with Tipperary hurling in 2017. Your hard work ensured I had many enjoyable days following Tipp this year.
As a supporter this defeat ranks up there with the most painful, eg, kk 2012. Particularly because we haven't retained an All Ire since 1965. We produce good teams from Tipp but not great teams. Why didn't it happen this year?
1. Player indiscipline. So sad that Michael Ryan was forced to release a key player and warn a number of others over their inability to behave themselves. Despite the brilliance of the full back line v Galway, the player in question could have slotted in at RHB where we were so evidently weak. Galway would have been minus at least 3 points imo
2. The Polish guy. The top teams in any given sport are separated by the slimmest of margins. Several Tipp players returned to competitive action for the league a pale shadow of their 2016 selves. Their conditioning was poor. Galway finished much stronger on Sunday. It was the opposite last year. The Polish conditioning coach is that extra 10% needed to win and the Tipp county board let him go. Shame on them.
3. One trick ponies. Route one worked fine last year but hurling moves on. It didn't work against Galway in the league final and it didn't work yesterday either. Tipp have no plan B. Tipp were a much better coached side under Eamonn O Shea and hurled much much better.
4. Poor match management. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong but was SC and JMcG left in the FF line all day despite being unable to win primary ball?
5. Lack of talent beyond 15. Our subs don't set the hurling world alight. Not one of them can change a match or offer something different. Tipp win an All Ire on average once every 10 years, trying not to be pessimistic God knows when we will see another.
5. No atmosphere. Why do some supporters bother going to matches if all they are going to do is sit in their seat and fold their arms. They would be better off at home in front of the telly, cheaper anyway. The row in front of me were constantly asking me to stop shouting. I had to because no one else around me was. Not once did 'Tipp, Tipp, Tipp' ring out."
Well there are many contradictions in your post, re read and you will see.
For me ,only two teams can play in a game and to be one of those taking part in an epic encounter that will reverberate down the ages there is no need for recriminations, only pride mixed with disappointment .
On the one All Ireland every ten years, how often have Galway, Cork won the last decade. The Tipp glass is very full, be careful that it isn't tipped over.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 231 - 08/08/2017 16:40:40    2031157

Replying To Maggiepie:  "Well there are many contradictions in your post, re read and you will see.
For me ,only two teams can play in a game and to be one of those taking part in an epic encounter that will reverberate down the ages there is no need for recriminations, only pride mixed with disappointment .
On the one All Ireland every ten years, how often have Galway, Cork won the last decade. The Tipp glass is very full, be careful that it isn't tipped over."
God love you Maggie. Are you from Tipp? I doubt it because if you were you would understand our mentality. It may be grand for Sligo et al to play in a Connacht final once every 20 years but we are a different breed in Tipperary. We expect our men (and women) to be winners. We don't glorify moral victories. God love you, a great game? We couldn't care less, we lost. We didn't win. Period. We want to win. We expect to win. And when we don't win, we want answers why. Contradictions? God love you. Sligo do have a good soccer team though. Maybe ye should stick to that.

fergo (Tipperary) - Posts: 46 - 08/08/2017 22:20:16    2031346

Replying To fergo:  "God love you Maggie. Are you from Tipp? I doubt it because if you were you would understand our mentality. It may be grand for Sligo et al to play in a Connacht final once every 20 years but we are a different breed in Tipperary. We expect our men (and women) to be winners. We don't glorify moral victories. God love you, a great game? We couldn't care less, we lost. We didn't win. Period. We want to win. We expect to win. And when we don't win, we want answers why. Contradictions? God love you. Sligo do have a good soccer team though. Maybe ye should stick to that."
As I thought from your post, an arrogant, self centred person, but not a reflection on the majority of followers. Just ask yourself one question, if Tipperary were to win every game they played in to make you happy, what would be the point in having competition at all?

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 231 - 09/08/2017 16:43:12    2031685

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Great Game Lads! Worthy Champions, could have gone either way. A sickening game to loose, believe me I know. I think Cathal Barrett situation did not help. Two best teams in the Country for last 5 Years."
Really. Kilkenny won three All Irelands in the past five years, Tipp won 1 and Galway will probably win one this year. There was only one best team in Ireland for the past five years and that was Kilkenny, even if Tipp and Galway were also very good.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 09/08/2017 23:16:26    2031801