No Tricolour or National Anthem at GAA Matches

Replying To Htaem:  "All I said was it's our genetics that makes us who we are, that's very undeniable Samo :-) But well spotted, I had a feeling that would stir the pot.

Anyway as for Sean Og and children of immigrants, quite honestly I've never had an issue with them considering themselves Irish, they're more than entitled to do that and I've never felt 'more Irish' than them.

Anyway if we want to get technical with genetics (and my limited understanding of them) aren't we all originally africans?"
A fine way to spend an evening, stirring the pot with a spoon that defines nationality by genetics! Wasn't it a man born in Dublin and raised in Meath who said being born in a stable doesn't make you a horse.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 30/11/2016 19:44:10    1937666

Replying To Soma:  "A fine way to spend an evening, stirring the pot with a spoon that defines nationality by genetics! Wasn't it a man born in Dublin and raised in Meath who said being born in a stable doesn't make you a horse."
Calm down my fellow African, nationality is not defined by genetics, we are defined by our genetics, 'nationality' is merely an illusion, it's entirely man made.

Come royaldunne I need some help here, educating these people is at least a 2 man job!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/11/2016 19:56:13    1937669

Replying To moc.dna:  ""Genetics make us who we are not a polyester flag or song", genetics are individual & identify us individually. Our national flag & national anthem identify us as a nation. Just because you don't like our anthem you want it changed, maybe an X Factor type competition might suit your needs. It's no wonder our country is disintegrating, no pride by the people in their identity & heritage."
In fairness a lot more than a simple song and/or flag, 'identifies us as a nation', eating a big feed of cabbage and bacon makes me 'feel a hell of a lot more Irish' than gazing blankly at a flag or listening to a dull as ditch water song.

What about Dearg Doom, that's a bloody good Irish song, could that be our new anthem? it has a lot more life to it than Amhran na bhfiann!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/11/2016 20:01:34    1937672

Replying To Htaem:  "In fairness a lot more than a simple song and/or flag, 'identifies us as a nation', eating a big feed of cabbage and bacon makes me 'feel a hell of a lot more Irish' than gazing blankly at a flag or listening to a dull as ditch water song.

What about Dearg Doom, that's a bloody good Irish song, could that be our new anthem? it has a lot more life to it than Amhran na bhfiann!!"
Here here.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 30/11/2016 20:18:11    1937676

Replying To Htaem:  "Calm down my fellow African, nationality is not defined by genetics, we are defined by our genetics, 'nationality' is merely an illusion, it's entirely man made.

Come royaldunne I need some help here, educating these people is at least a 2 man job!"
Ahh htaem , it reminds me of the episode of fr ted, these dougal are small, those are far away.
Its about a 20 man job with some of them never mind 2 :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/11/2016 21:18:38    1937695

Replying To Htaem:  "We need to team up and teach these poor fools royaldunne, it's a bloody burden being this brainer than everybody else!!! :-)"
I know htaem, its a cross we must bare.
Sire there is no telling some of them :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/11/2016 21:22:51    1937697

Htaem,

"I don't even like Amhran na bhfiann, I think it's very dull and lifeless, which is a great shame because we have a rich history of songwriters and poets in Ireland, so surely to jaysus we could have done a lot lot better!"

By all means you're entitled to your opinion but as an experienced musician I'd have to say that I consider Ámhrán na bhFiann to be musically very well composed & builds nicely to crescendo which I find to be suitably rousing for big occasions such as finals etc. You mentioned our rich heritage of composition - wasn't just such a stalwart (Phil Coulter) commissioned to write Ireland Call & look at the nursery rhyme-esque ditty he produced.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 30/11/2016 21:46:14    1937698

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh htaem , it reminds me of the episode of fr ted, these dougal are small, those are far away.
Its about a 20 man job with some of them never mind 2 :)"
Aye we'll pack her in royaldunne, sure it's impossible to teach some people.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/11/2016 22:39:17    1937709

Replying To keeper7:  "Htaem,

"I don't even like Amhran na bhfiann, I think it's very dull and lifeless, which is a great shame because we have a rich history of songwriters and poets in Ireland, so surely to jaysus we could have done a lot lot better!"

By all means you're entitled to your opinion but as an experienced musician I'd have to say that I consider Ámhrán na bhFiann to be musically very well composed & builds nicely to crescendo which I find to be suitably rousing for big occasions such as finals etc. You mentioned our rich heritage of composition - wasn't just such a stalwart (Phil Coulter) commissioned to write Ireland Call & look at the nursery rhyme-esque ditty he produced."
Well Ireland's Call certainly isn't great but I don't really see how that detracts from our rich history of music and poetry (if you're such inclined) in Ireland. I'm not sure what your point about 1 Irish composer writing 1 poor song is to be honest keeper, Dylan, Lennon, McCartney, Jagger, Young (none of them Irish, I'm aware) etc etc, all renowned songwriters, but all had their share of poor songs, it comes with the job.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/11/2016 22:50:29    1937711

Won't be long before we're getting out of our seats, at gunpoint, to stand for the EU anthem!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 30/11/2016 23:09:15    1937714

Isn't it ifitting that the two posters who don't have much time for our National Anthem come from the "Royal" county !!! Very ironic I thought.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 30/11/2016 23:33:20    1937715

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Agree 100%."
Also agree 100%. Can't even begin to imagine how any Irish person would want them removed. As was already stated, if people don't like this, then simply don't attend.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 01/12/2016 00:45:37    1937720

Replying To Htaem:  "Well Ireland's Call certainly isn't great but I don't really see how that detracts from our rich history of music and poetry (if you're such inclined) in Ireland. I'm not sure what your point about 1 Irish composer writing 1 poor song is to be honest keeper, Dylan, Lennon, McCartney, Jagger, Young (none of them Irish, I'm aware) etc etc, all renowned songwriters, but all had their share of poor songs, it comes with the job."
Ever heard the orchestral instrumental version of Ámhrán na bhFiann? It's fantastic. The bottom line is that not everyone will like a given song/anthem no matter how well it may be received.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 01/12/2016 03:32:10    1937723

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Isn't it ifitting that the two posters who don't have much time for our National Anthem come from the "Royal" county !!! Very ironic I thought."
And isn't it fitting that the royal county actually has more irish heritage than all the rest put together.
You do know why its called the Royal county don't you? Ie the high kings of ire etc? And absolutely nothing to do with any monarchy in any other foreign countries.
Perhaps you would be better applied learning about your Irish heritage than making digs that just blow up in your face.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/12/2016 08:29:00    1937729

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Isn't it ifitting that the two posters who don't have much time for our National Anthem come from the "Royal" county !!! Very ironic I thought."
Read a history book.

Anyway as I said a complete non-story, real silly season stuff.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 01/12/2016 08:59:26    1937734

Replying To royaldunne:  "And isn't it fitting that the royal county actually has more irish heritage than all the rest put together.
You do know why its called the Royal county don't you? Ie the high kings of ire etc? And absolutely nothing to do with any monarchy in any other foreign countries.
Perhaps you would be better applied learning about your Irish heritage than making digs that just blow up in your face."
Its odd a Cavan man has never visited the Hill of Tara seen as it has free entry!

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 01/12/2016 09:23:35    1937744

Like the 2 Meath lads said, cop on and pick up a history book.

As for them claiming to be more Irish than the rest of us put together!!! Maybe that explains why they've kept the ancient Irish art of stone throwing alive all these years!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 01/12/2016 09:38:27    1937751

Amhrán na Bhfiann is a great song but i'd agree that it should only be played at major games ie if there is a band/singer whatever. To me it's actually disrespectful to play tinny scratched versions of it over a crappy PA.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 01/12/2016 10:18:59    1937757

Keep the flag though.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 01/12/2016 10:19:16    1937758

Replying To moc.dna:  ""Genetics make us who we are not a polyester flag or song", genetics are individual & identify us individually. Our national flag & national anthem identify us as a nation. Just because you don't like our anthem you want it changed, maybe an X Factor type competition might suit your needs. It's no wonder our country is disintegrating, no pride by the people in their identity & heritage."
Haha

"All rise for the national anthem: "Aren't We A Great Little Country Altogether?" written and performed by The Script"

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 01/12/2016 10:52:00    1937764