Iconic Scores

Replying To gotmilk:  "What bias? It was a goal in a first round game. Did Meath win an all ireland that year? No. Did they win one the year after? No. It took 5 years to get an all ireland from that goal.

In meath terms its an iconic score, national terms not so much."
Got Milk you have a clear dislike for Meath GAA, sorry to see it. Now the thing about Meath supporters is we don't care who like or dislike us. We don't have any major like or dislike for any other county but we hate whingers and bad supporters. We love our county and believe that for a time we had the best team in the country with one of the best ever managers. We also believe that time will come again . Regarding Kevin Foley's goal, it was an iconic goal, TG4 even said it in a documentary a couple of years ago. Maybe you don't remember the hype about the 4 games at the time. It had the nation gripped, it was the first time there was an inter county game played on a Saturday. It help finance the building of the "New Croke Park" Unfortunately we came up against a very clever manager in Pete McGrath (who is currently doing good work with yourselves) in the All Ireland and Down were the deserving winners in that Final.
The two most iconic scores in televised GAA history are Darby s goal V Kerry and Foley's goal V Dublin. Followed by Maurice Fitzgerald's side line.
Muggy's goal V Dublin is probably the best scores ever but it just doesn't have the iconic status of the the other 3 scores IMO.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 25/11/2016 09:38:20    1936618

Replying To gotmilk:  "What bias? It was a goal in a first round game. Did Meath win an all ireland that year? No. Did they win one the year after? No. It took 5 years to get an all ireland from that goal.

Gotmilk you are probably too young to remember but that four match saga between the Dubs and Meath changed the gaa. At that time soccer was getting popular on the crest of Ireland reaching the quarter-finals of the world cup the previous year. There was nearly a million people who welcome home the Irish football team. The Leinster Council scrapped the seedings for the 1991 Leinster Championship Draw and Meath and Dublin were drawn in the first round. The amazing thing about them four matches is that Dubs should of won all them matches. Meath had some team back then.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/11/2016 09:52:55    1936619

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "1) Kevin Foley goal v Dublin 1991. The goal that ultimately brought an end to the 4 in row saga. A goal started from our own line and meticulously worked up to the field where Foley shocked a nation and made Ger Cannings voice squeaky. Silenced the Hill.

2) Brendan Reilly point V Mayo 1996. Easily overlooked as Tommy Dowds goal came just before Reillys point from a difficult angle under the Cusack Stand to put Meaths nose in front and ultimately won us the All Ireland. Helped secure a third All Ireland and legendary status for Sean Boylan. Would begin the hilarious cycle of Mayo misery.

3) Joe Sheridan goal V Louth 2010. Sheridan secured possession near the goal and despite being fouled he composed himself on the ground to clinically find the net and give Meath a deserved and dramatic 2 point win. In doing so secured Meaths status as kings of the North East. Highlighted security inadequacies in Croke Park."
Badger ye some boyo. I give credit where credit is due. Fair play to Throw Sheridan. The second Meath man to score a try in HQ after Shane Horgan. It took Meath a very long time to be status as Kings of the North East. I see the tide turning again in the Boyne and the Wee Men will be rising again.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/11/2016 09:57:32    1936621

I should also mention Christy Toye's goal against Armagh in the AI semi in 2003. While it wouldn't be rememberedi n national circles, it certainly would be in Donegal. We counter attacked from deep in our own half using our traditional hand passing style. Christy got on the ned of the move and fired a bullet of a shot into the bottom corner from about 20 meters out. What was interesting about the goal though is that Donegal had about 4 or 5 men poleaxed by Armagh men as they off-loaded the ball during the move.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 25/11/2016 10:05:11    1936624

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yet was voted the greatest goal in gaa history on rte program few years back with Darby been second. Go figure.
Now if it was celebration's I believe that would have gone to Fermanagh for their ott celebration after beating, no wait drawing, nope not that either, after been hammered by dubs, you would have won that alright. :)."
Didnt celebrate. We thanked the players.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/11/2016 10:46:44    1936640

Replying To anto_meath:  "Got Milk you have a clear dislike for Meath GAA, sorry to see it. Now the thing about Meath supporters is we don't care who like or dislike us. We don't have any major like or dislike for any other county but we hate whingers and bad supporters. We love our county and believe that for a time we had the best team in the country with one of the best ever managers. We also believe that time will come again . Regarding Kevin Foley's goal, it was an iconic goal, TG4 even said it in a documentary a couple of years ago. Maybe you don't remember the hype about the 4 games at the time. It had the nation gripped, it was the first time there was an inter county game played on a Saturday. It help finance the building of the "New Croke Park" Unfortunately we came up against a very clever manager in Pete McGrath (who is currently doing good work with yourselves) in the All Ireland and Down were the deserving winners in that Final.
The two most iconic scores in televised GAA history are Darby s goal V Kerry and Foley's goal V Dublin. Followed by Maurice Fitzgerald's side line.
Muggy's goal V Dublin is probably the best scores ever but it just doesn't have the iconic status of the the other 3 scores IMO."
I'm not a fan of Meath gaa buyst a goal in a first round game that didnt spark something is not iconic on a national level. Meath were the reigning leinster champions and had played in the all ireland final the year previous. They didn't win the all ireland that year. In meath terms yes it is an iconic goal but on a national level I don't see it. If meath had won the all Ireland that year then yes I could see why it would be considered iconic throughout the island but considering they didn't i'm afraid it's not.

It's no different to Tom Brewsters point against Armagh in 04. Fermanagh were heavy underdogs going into that game against the favourites for the all ireland. Last minute winner against the big boys from Tom, I was convinced the island of Ireland rocked to this news but it didn't. It was just our wee county.

Mulligans goal I think is more iconic than foleys. Tyrone and Mulligan in particular were playing very poor up until that goal. That goal kick started 2005 for them and resulted with them winning the all ireland.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/11/2016 10:53:24    1936641

I think the Dublin Meath series of 1991 has become iconic for a lot of people.

I'm not sure how iconic the goal itself is though to be honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/11/2016 11:18:39    1936646

Replying To gotmilk:  "I'm not a fan of Meath gaa buyst a goal in a first round game that didnt spark something is not iconic on a national level. Meath were the reigning leinster champions and had played in the all ireland final the year previous. They didn't win the all ireland that year. In meath terms yes it is an iconic goal but on a national level I don't see it. If meath had won the all Ireland that year then yes I could see why it would be considered iconic throughout the island but considering they didn't i'm afraid it's not.

It's no different to Tom Brewsters point against Armagh in 04. Fermanagh were heavy underdogs going into that game against the favourites for the all ireland. Last minute winner against the big boys from Tom, I was convinced the island of Ireland rocked to this news but it didn't. It was just our wee county.

Mulligans goal I think is more iconic than foleys. Tyrone and Mulligan in particular were playing very poor up until that goal. That goal kick started 2005 for them and resulted with them winning the all ireland."
Damien Reilly's hooked point in 1992 against Donegal in breiffni park in the ulster championship, you can see it on YouTube, one of the best.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 884 - 25/11/2016 11:25:28    1936648

Replying To MesAmis:  "I think the Dublin Meath series of 1991 has become iconic for a lot of people.

I'm not sure how iconic the goal itself is though to be honest."
Ah it is Mes, it was the goal that ended that great saga.
It's not a great goal by any means but it's what it meant more so. I know Beggy got the winning point but it was the goal that set it all up.

I'm annoyed at myself for not including Cluxton's point in 2011 (possibly the most iconic score of this decade so far) as well as Flynn's goal against Cork in the Munster final in 2004. I also think Diarmaid O'Sullivan's point against Limerick in 2001 (I think that was the year) deserves a mention.

Dublin fans:
One that has been forgotten about and I can't recall ever seeing a tv replay of was a point scored by Mark Vaughan in 2007 against Offaly in the Leinster semi final. The ball was going out towards the Cusack stand side, Vaughan flicks the ball into his hand, dummy's and shoots on his right with his back to goal and it goes over the bar. Does anyone else remember this who was at that game?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 25/11/2016 11:40:44    1936650

I've less interest in Football than Hurling and its one score I will always remember from a football game! Think you are forgetting or don't remember how much those games captivated the entire country in 91. Most people you ask now would assume Meath won the AI that year I'd say.

73forever (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 25/11/2016 11:42:49    1936651

Yet was voted the greatest goal in gaa history on rte program few years back with Darby been second. Go figure.
Now if it was celebration's I believe that would have gone to Fermanagh for their ott celebration after beating, no wait drawing, nope not that either, after been hammered by dubs, you would have won that alright. :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/11/2016 13:24:12    1936675

Replying To gotmilk:  "I'm not a fan of Meath gaa buyst a goal in a first round game that didnt spark something is not iconic on a national level. Meath were the reigning leinster champions and had played in the all ireland final the year previous. They didn't win the all ireland that year. In meath terms yes it is an iconic goal but on a national level I don't see it. If meath had won the all Ireland that year then yes I could see why it would be considered iconic throughout the island but considering they didn't i'm afraid it's not.

Mulligans goal I think is more iconic than foleys. Tyrone and Mulligan in particular were playing very poor up until that goal. That goal kick started 2005 for them and resulted with them winning the all ireland."
You're embarrassing yourself now.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 25/11/2016 13:29:31    1936676

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yet was voted the greatest goal in gaa history on rte program few years back with Darby been second. Go figure.
Now if it was celebration's I believe that would have gone to Fermanagh for their ott celebration after beating, no wait drawing, nope not that either, after been hammered by dubs, you would have won that alright. :)."
Was it a poll done by the general public? Why is it the ultimate iconic score? It's a goal in a first round game that didn't land them an all Ireland or start a revolution. There was no legacy from that goal.
Darby stopped the 5 in a row in stoppage time.
Mulligan put the fire back in his belly and the Tyrone teams who went on to win the all Ireland
Kevin Mcs in 2011 started the current dominance by this Dublin team. For me an iconic score has to do something significant. Darby stopped a side from winning possibly 7 all irelands in a row. Mulligans was a catalyst as was Kevin macs. Foleys won a game, there was no legacy from it.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/11/2016 13:42:41    1936678

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "You're embarrassing yourself now."
Why???

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/11/2016 13:43:58    1936680

Also it was not celebrations, it was a thank you. Were you at the game that day? No one was celebrating. We thanked the players and they thanked us for a great year.

Thankfully I don't go to any of your parties if that's what you call a celebration, I'd say they are mad craic.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/11/2016 13:47:33    1936681

Sorry Got Milk but you're clearly wrong here. That goal was voted goal of the 90s and voted no.1 in TG4's 100 greatest football goals. It was a thrilling, unbelievable end to a saga that gripped the nation.....not just Dublin and Meath.
As others have pointed out, the last game was broadcast live on a Saturday, the first time ever that was done in GAA history. The saga took in over one million pounds for the leinster council, an extraordinary amount for that time.
Whenever Irish sports people are asked about great sporting memories, many from various codes bring up that goal and indeed Jimmy Magee included it in his DVD some years back of his top 20 sporting memories.

Iconic doesn't have to mean a score that won an All-Ireland, iconic means a classic moment that evryone remembers and recalls when great scores are mentioned. It is without doubt one of the most if not the most iconic score in Gaelic Football History.....no debate.

It was also a great goal, worked from Meath's own endline the whole way up the field through various players at the end of 4 games, 2 of which had extra time, when the players were barely standing from exhaustion.

Also I'm a Westmeath man saying that so you can't say I'm being biased either.

footballingman (Westmeath) - Posts: 27 - 25/11/2016 13:53:14    1936682

Replying To Whammo86:  "Peter Canavan goal vs Kerry 2005, beautifully slotted away by an iconic player. Who started, came off and then got brought back in for the end."
Whammo, that was indeed an iconic goal esp as it was Mugsy, Peter's so-called apprentice that held the ball up and popped the handpass for him.

However it was in 2003 that Peter started the final as a one-legged free taker, went off only to come back on for the last 15/20 minutes as a childminder of sorts to see the young team over the line, not 2005

downredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 567 - 25/11/2016 13:56:19    1936683

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "You're embarrassing yourself now."
Totally is. He has been pointed out by many others, most not from Meath how iconic it is, even from hurling people

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/11/2016 13:57:58    1936685

Replying To gotmilk:  "Also it was not celebrations, it was a thank you. Were you at the game that day? No one was celebrating. We thanked the players and they thanked us for a great year.

Thankfully I don't go to any of your parties if that's what you call a celebration, I'd say they are mad craic."
Well then wrap up the Oscars and give them to Fermanagh players and supporters. Cause you do a very good impression of celebrating defeat.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/11/2016 14:02:16    1936686

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well then wrap up the Oscars and give them to Fermanagh players and supporters. Cause you do a very good impression of celebrating defeat."
No different to a soccer side getting clapped off. E.g. Ireland at this euros after France game.

Also I think you will see a number of people agree with me. I don't think it is the most iconic score of all time as you suggested it was. Yes it probably is iconic but I wouldn't say one of the most iconic scores of all time. It's an opinion and I have given my reasons for it. It was a goal to win a first round game. Nothing more nothing less.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/11/2016 14:14:15    1936690