What's going wrong with Cork GAA?

When they couldn't even play the correct song for our National Anthem they have no hope for anything, remember this is the same gang that welcomed the English Queen to their county, rebels me eye

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 11/02/2017 22:40:08    1954923

Replying To riverboys:  "When they couldn't even play the correct song for our National Anthem they have no hope for anything, remember this is the same gang that welcomed the English Queen to their county, rebels me eye"
She (the Queen) was welcomed to Ireland as part of a reconciliation process, which the vast majority of Irish people agreed with. I'm sure if she had visited Mayo, the people there would have been just as welcoming as the people of Cork.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2480 - 11/02/2017 23:50:32    1954953

That thing with the Italian anthem was a fair old cock up sure enough

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1018 - 12/02/2017 11:45:22    1955069

Replying To riverboys:  "When they couldn't even play the correct song for our National Anthem they have no hope for anything, remember this is the same gang that welcomed the English Queen to their county, rebels me eye"
Very intelligent post riverboy......the Queen was invited to Ireland by the then President of Ireland Mary McAleese....her main host during the visit was a Mayo man.....the Taoiseach.......and he did a fine job!

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 12/02/2017 13:20:39    1955125

Enda may have been born in Mayo but he is a dub at heart, never done a tap for his home county or province, we don't want him

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 12/02/2017 15:08:19    1955216

Replying To riverboys:  "Enda may have been born in Mayo but he is a dub at heart, never done a tap for his home county or province, we don't want him"
Mayo repeatedly elected him to the Dail. Not Dublin or Cork. Mayo.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1018 - 12/02/2017 23:42:54    1955828

Nothing that a 80 million euro stadium cant fix

This is what Cork GAA board are currently concentrating on

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=266284

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 13/02/2017 15:19:48    1956204

Everything is wrong with Cork.
They need to find a few more Larry Tomkins type blow in's in both codes, to dilute thier "Carkness".

Plus even when the footballers do well, it is only viewed as the fourth sport after Hurling, Soccer and Rowing.

The Hurlers have the problem that they are in the most competitive province in the country.

They always have tons of expectation based on tradition and expectation.

Plus let's be honest, a Cork person could have an argument in an empty room.

Cork people are good at rowing (boat) and rowing (fights).

They are not called the rebel county for nothing.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 13/02/2017 22:16:20    1956438

Replying To riverboys:  "Enda may have been born in Mayo but he is a dub at heart, never done a tap for his home county or province, we don't want him"
Have a look at that clowns face everytime Cluxton lifts the SAM, hes Mayo to the core, and you definitely can have him back :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 13/02/2017 23:01:50    1956461

There's nothing wrong, there just not good enough anymore

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts: 70 - 14/02/2017 21:13:48    1956856

Replying To Jack_Sparrow: "Cork seem to be shaping up better this year. Some decent results pre season."

Wouldn't read anything into the Munster League results.Lets see how Cork go in the league before judging their worth.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:5082 - 26/01/2017 10:11:25 1948881

What do you think now cue ? Can the Rebels go all the way ?

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1018 - 09/07/2017 22:07:18    2013451

To be honest I was in despair last year. Simply tremendous to see Cork win a meaningful trophy, plus the display by the Minors gives great hope for the future.
Still believe All Ireland is between Tipp & Galway but it's great to be back dining at the top table.
Final word in my 54 years of following Cork cannot remember a bigger Cork crowd at a Munster Final, I reckon we out numbered the Clare boys 10 to 1 today.
The Clare lads I spoke with after the game were first class, great sportsmen, best of Luck to Clare in quarter finals.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 09/07/2017 22:19:32    2013468

Replying To tiobraid:  "As Bennybunny says they are destroying all in front of them from 14 to 17 so don't worry about Cork they will be back. I'll stick my neck out and say they'll win an All Ireland before KK will win another! Get goods on that one! ;)"
This doesn't look as mad now!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/07/2017 08:19:38    2013636

Ah-hem! the Cork footballers ... This thread is about what's gone wrong with Cork GAA, not just Cork hurlers. There doesn't seem to be any solution in sight there.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 10/07/2017 10:21:33    2013774

Replying To Midleton:  "Ah-hem! the Cork footballers ... This thread is about what's gone wrong with Cork GAA, not just Cork hurlers. There doesn't seem to be any solution in sight there."
Ye will be back in that too.
Capable of getting through the next round. Tipp are getting great praise and ye beat us!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/07/2017 12:45:57    2013935

The Red Army in crisis?,,,What crisis?
Practicing my renditions of "Da Banks" and The Boys of Fairhill for renditions at hostelries around Jones Road on Aug 13th.
Yep...Cork in the rare oul' times

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 11/07/2017 00:19:36    2014639

Replying To Cornerback1977:  "Of more interest than the Munster League is the Schools scene in Cork. Midleton knocked out Ard Scoil Ris from the Harty Cup last week after a replay. Colman's await them in the Semi Final tomorrow in what should be a cracker (They have met twice already with 1 win each). Cork in the last few years have been getting 3-4 Teams in the closing stages of the Harty Cup and for the most part competing strongly. Compare that to the decade beforehand they had nothing. Colmans of Fermoy also won the Dean Ryan U 16.5 and ended up losing a very close AI Final to St Kieran's. That is the bar in my eyes. Massive work has gone in under-age at Clubs & Rebel Og level. Massive numbers playing the games. Cork clubs like the Glen starting to get really strong in the Feile competitions. If we can start winning a Minor title again think we can take off. Of course Tipperary are continuously producing talented players also in the last few years.
Lazy journalism that states Cork are finished because of Senior results drives me mad. There is still a lot wrong in Cork but in Hurling in the next few seasons you are going to see a lot of talent coming through. Ask any fella who says Cork Hurling is dead how the Schools & Clubs are getting on and they couldn't tell you."
Doesn't sound too mad now. The Munster GAA Post Primary Schools website is a great barometer of what likely success is going to come in the future. Travel to any of the Monster Blitzes organised by Rebel Og on a Saturday morning also and see the volume of kids playing hurling/football in Cork. Very positive looking for the future.

Cornerback1977 (Cork) - Posts: 67 - 11/07/2017 19:51:48    2015210

Replying To Rockies:  "The Red Army in crisis?,,,What crisis?
Practicing my renditions of "Da Banks" and The Boys of Fairhill for renditions at hostelries around Jones Road on Aug 13th.
Yep...Cork in the rare oul' times"
That you have to practice, says it all,

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2480 - 11/07/2017 21:12:21    2015249

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "That you have to practice, says it all,"
There won't be a cat in sight...No "Rose of Mooncoin" this year.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 11/07/2017 23:41:00    2015330