12 stadia to make up Ireland's 2023 RWC Bid

Replying To hill16no1man:  "tearintom
you see most country people dont know much about dublin if im being honest
they think we all have ryan tubridy accents and pockets to match
or else we have nidge from love/hate accent and are involved in same trade as him.
they think dublin starts at the red cow and ends at 3arena and theres no coast line unless your talking about the wild atlantic west sure thats the other side of ireland BOYYYYYYYYYYYYY.
the media versus the people
rugby is very much a minority in dublin yet look at the coverage it gets nationaly which is described as dublin media by country folk
which in turn leads them to think rugby must be huge in dublin.
its an upper class sport, inclusive to those from high social status, your doctors, your lawyers.
your ivor's of this world, would you like to be classed as an ivor?????
so next time someone from dublin thinks your a cabbage munching culchie farmer just because your from the country
would you say sure whats the big deal with that haha
gaa and soccer are sports played by ordinary people in dublin, they accept anybody as sport should be
rugby clubs in dublin look down their noses and only want the a type of person to keep their clubs at a high social standard.
On the northside of dublin rugby barely exists even."
Yeah sure Dublin is like this whole other universe that anyone outside the M50 couldnt possibly understand.

Personally i spent 5 years of my life living in Dublin outside of college, lived at the back of Na Fianna for years on ferguson road, inchicore and Castleknock before i moved back to join my cabbage munching culchie farmer friends as you put it.

The thing is during my time in Dublin i worked with and socialised with Ryan Tubridy accented D4 types, Nidge wannabe inner city die hards and dyed in the wool GAA heads. These people even socialised together. They accepted each other as ordinary people no judgements other than that.

The things is everyone took everyone else on their merits and without a prejudged assumption of what these people were like based on their accents or their address or their sporting preference.

So maybe its not a case of it being a Dublin thing, maybe its just a hill16no1man thing. Maybe its a hill16no1man thing to pre judge and classify people based on their address, ye know being from Wexford apparantly means culchie farmer, or their accent (im presuming the D4 twang off Cian O Sullivans accent is excused due to the fact hes a hell of a footballer) or the sport they enjoy playing.

I dont think its a general Dublin thing, just a personal thing.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 16/11/2016 15:57:06    1934734

Replying To hill16no1man:  "would imagine it was the opposite to the gaelic grounds blocking
as i believe the gaelic grounds itself is badly in need of money to keep the ground going at this stage.
whereas limerick city people would have a conipution fit if they choose it over the hallowed turf of thomond park"
Absolutely but why couldn't have both Grounds in the bid? Gaelic Grounds would fill for games involving the top sides and Thomond for the other matches.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/11/2016 16:00:26    1934736

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Replying To bloodyban: "I wonder did Limerick GAA lobby not to have the Garlic Grounds included. It wouldnt surprise me. I think its a joke that limerick has just one stadium nominated."
It's a funny one. Maybe the Irfu were happy to just have Thomond.
===================================================================================================================

It's obviously very politically motivated. Would Castlebar and Celtic Park be included except for Kenny and McGuinness?

Pairc Ui Caoimh was always going to be included as Cork is too big to be ignored and it will be a really nice new stadium. Killarney, Kilkenny and Galway are big tourist destinations.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts:1385 - 16/11/2016 01:00:42

I think Derry City was probably considered on the basis of it's current population size, a City population which is rapidly expanding since 2015, after a series of massive planning approvals were finally granted inside the City, to ease chronic housing shortages, which had forced thousands of people to move to Satellite towns in Donegal and surrounding Derry area's.

Thousands of these new houses are finally at long last underway (2400 New houses were approved in the City in 2015/2016), with similar numbers of approvals expected in 2017 and 2018. As a result, the actual City itself is set to exceed the 120,000 population mark in the next 3-5 years."
I understand that Gary but I think having Martin McGuinness involved in the bid surely helped like Kenny for Castlebar?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/11/2016 16:03:14    1934737

Ormond, of course lmerick can cater for both grounds. it has an airport 20 minutes from the gaelic grounds, it has a motorway connecting direct access to Dublin and a tunnell to bypass the city centre. theres plenty of hotels and b and b s in limerick to cater for the gaelic grounds
with three hotels located on the same road as the gaelic grounds and god knows how many b and b's also located on the ennis road.
its an hour from galway city which is easy access for supporters based in galway and has shannon and ennis towns with more hotels less than half hour away to provide accomadation.its an hour and 15 mins from cork city and the same from killarney were two other stadiums will be used which also makes easy access for supporters basing themselves there. it has train and bus links probably better than cork.
if all failed jp mcmannuss only lives 20 minutes drive in adare also and has a huge manor to sort the whos who of rugby with a bed for the night.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11386 - 16/11/2016 15:49:12
There is already 3 grounds being proposed for Dublin, 2 for Belfast. Having 2 in Limerick means too many grounds are concentrated on too few places. Sure with that kind of thinking. Any kind of world cup in sport ever held in England should just be hosted by London considering it has loads of stadiums and facilities to cater for the fans for the entire tournament....

These events are not the money spinners they're made out to be. If the country weren't in rag order right now I'd be well up for this.
Fact is that there are multiple different things the money would be better spent on right now.
Practically every week a different section of the public sector is striking right now.
The HSE is grossly underfunded. We are lucky we've such good doctors working in this country or we'd really be completely shafted.
We've a ranging homeless crisis.
Ireland is not fully recovered yet from the recession, there are plenty of things need sorted before we waste a tonne of money on a big party.
Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts:1157 - 16/11/2016 15:49:32
Ireland isn't in rag order now though compared to several years ago. Economic growth is huge,

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/11/2016 16:05:14    1934738

Replying To tearintom:  "Yeah sure Dublin is like this whole other universe that anyone outside the M50 couldnt possibly understand.

Personally i spent 5 years of my life living in Dublin outside of college, lived at the back of Na Fianna for years on ferguson road, inchicore and Castleknock before i moved back to join my cabbage munching culchie farmer friends as you put it.

The thing is during my time in Dublin i worked with and socialised with Ryan Tubridy accented D4 types, Nidge wannabe inner city die hards and dyed in the wool GAA heads. These people even socialised together. They accepted each other as ordinary people no judgements other than that.

The things is everyone took everyone else on their merits and without a prejudged assumption of what these people were like based on their accents or their address or their sporting preference.

So maybe its not a case of it being a Dublin thing, maybe its just a hill16no1man thing. Maybe its a hill16no1man thing to pre judge and classify people based on their address, ye know being from Wexford apparantly means culchie farmer, or their accent (im presuming the D4 twang off Cian O Sullivans accent is excused due to the fact hes a hell of a footballer) or the sport they enjoy playing.

I dont think its a general Dublin thing, just a personal thing."
Tom, I hope you shelve the cabbage munching during the summer months to sell strawberries at the side of the road?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 16/11/2016 16:10:06    1934740

Just finished reading the crap in the papers about how great everything will be if Irelands wins this bid. jeez for £320million squids there would need to be a Klondike goldrush benefit. That's a hell of a lot of money, £120 million just to host and then another 200 mill on top which the way these things always pan out will no doubt be a lot more. Considering the state of the economy on the whole island with wages etc stagnant, infrastructure needing investment, health services in crises this money would go a fair bit to alleviating some of the strain. Also the way hotels etc as soon as any sort of event is announced the prices sky rocket and put a lot of people of staying overnight or longer yes that's economics for you but the irish hospitality sector take things to the extreme. So projected figures of £800 mill payback would sound like a very optimistic sum.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 16/11/2016 16:24:14    1934746

Replying To tearintom:  "Yeah sure Dublin is like this whole other universe that anyone outside the M50 couldnt possibly understand.

I dont think its a general Dublin thing, just a personal thing."
see you just dont get it my friend
i used offensive stereotyping phrases to try to make a point
if you read it right it would show you its not the way I feel about people but a way of showing you how things easily get percieved.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 16:25:08    1934748

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Absolutely but why couldn't have both Grounds in the bid? Gaelic Grounds would fill for games involving the top sides and Thomond for the other matches."
totally agree my friend
its what i was making the point about

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 16:26:19    1934749

I think its great that Ireland are bidding for the rugby world cup in 2023. This time next year we should know if we are successful or not. Love rugby or not it would be a great boost to the country. The only thing I don't want is England winning the trophy here if we are staging it.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 16/11/2016 16:31:18    1934751

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Tom, I hope you shelve the cabbage munching during the summer months to sell strawberries at the side of the road?"
strawberries only sell at the other foreign sport tennis
maybe if they put in a bid for wimbeldon next he be in buisness, could even rent the old house at na fianna again haha
caulfilowers would be more a rugby mans meal hahahaha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 16:31:51    1934752

Absolutely but why couldn't have both Grounds in the bid? Gaelic Grounds would fill for games involving the top sides and Thomond for the other matches.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts:1388 - 16/11/2016 16:00:26
You already have 2 cities with multiple venues. A third city with more than 1 venue is over kill
Limerick isn't big enough to cater for 2 stadiums and its better for games to be spread out more across the country

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/11/2016 16:34:22    1934754

ormond
There is already 3 grounds being proposed for Dublin, 2 for Belfast. Having 2 in Limerick means too many grounds are concentrated on too few places. Sure with that kind of thinking. Any kind of world cup in sport ever held in England should just be hosted by London considering it has loads of stadiums and facilities to cater for the fans for the entire tournament.

yeah why is there a need for three in dublin???????
the rds is only a make shift rugby ground
surely that wont pass a health and safety exam if crokers current state needs upgrading.
be far better to have two in each.
not a bad idea if london has the stadiums maybe they could put in bid themselves save us all the bother

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 16:34:50    1934755

You already have 2 cities with multiple venues. A third city with more than 1 venue is over kill
Limerick isn't big enough to cater for 2 stadiums and its better for games to be spread out more across the country
How many world cups in soccer/rugby recently have used 2 or more stadiums in 2 or more cities in the one competition?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/11/2016 16:35:12    1934756

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Ormond, of course lmerick can cater for both grounds. it has an airport 20 minutes from the gaelic grounds, it has a motorway connecting direct access to Dublin and a tunnell to bypass the city centre. theres plenty of hotels and b and b s in limerick to cater for the gaelic grounds
with three hotels located on the same road as the gaelic grounds and god knows how many b and b's also located on the ennis road.
its an hour from galway city which is easy access for supporters based in galway and has shannon and ennis towns with more hotels less than half hour away to provide accomadation.its an hour and 15 mins from cork city and the same from killarney were two other stadiums will be used which also makes easy access for supporters basing themselves there. it has train and bus links probably better than cork.
if all failed jp mcmannuss only lives 20 minutes drive in adare also and has a huge manor to sort the whos who of rugby with a bed for the night.
There is already 3 grounds being proposed for Dublin, 2 for Belfast. Having 2 in Limerick means too many grounds are concentrated on too few places. Sure with that kind of thinking. Any kind of world cup in sport ever held in England should just be hosted by London considering it has loads of stadiums and facilities to cater for the fans for the entire tournament....

These events are not the money spinners they're made out to be. If the country weren't in rag order right now I'd be well up for this.
Fact is that there are multiple different things the money would be better spent on right now.
Practically every week a different section of the public sector is striking right now.
The HSE is grossly underfunded. We are lucky we've such good doctors working in this country or we'd really be completely shafted.
Ireland is not fully recovered yet from the recession, there are plenty of things need sorted before we waste a tonne of money on a big party.
Ireland isn't in rag order now though compared to several years ago. Economic growth is huge,"
The public sector wage bill that's a relic of the last FF govt is still a huge burden on government finances. It's not going away anytime soon. This year has seen Income tax revenues only coming in, in line with last year. We are barely breaking even thanks to a growth in the take in Corporate tax. That sort of growth is unsure, particularly after Trump and his promise of competitive US corporate tax rates.

We're committing more to the guards, we're going to have to fork out more to teachers, the nurses are showing signs of dissent. The HSE is barely limping along. The government is likely going to have to put money in to increase the supply of housing.

There's a ridiculous amount of uncertainty around Brexit and it's impact upon us.

We really are not in a position right now to be bidding for this.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 16/11/2016 16:45:07    1934759

Replying To Whammo86:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Ormond, of course lmerick can cater for both grounds. it has an airport 20 minutes from the gaelic grounds, it has a motorway connecting direct access to Dublin and a tunnell to bypass the city centre. theres plenty of hotels and b and b s in limerick to cater for the gaelic grounds

Ireland isn't in rag order now though compared to several years ago. Economic growth is huge,"
The public sector wage bill that's a relic of the last FF govt is still a huge burden on government finances. It's not going away anytime soon. This year has seen Income tax revenues only coming in, in line with last year. We are barely breaking even thanks to a growth in the take in Corporate tax. That sort of growth is unsure, particularly after Trump and his promise of competitive US corporate tax rates.

We're committing more to the guards, we're going to have to fork out more to teachers, the nurses are showing signs of dissent. The HSE is barely limping along. The government is likely going to have to put money in to increase the supply of housing.

There's a ridiculous amount of uncertainty around Brexit and it's impact upon us.

We really are not in a position right now to be bidding for this."
Bang on the money,whammo.We are crippled with debt.I hope your wise words bring some to their senses.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/11/2016 16:52:02    1934761

Replying To Whammo86:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "I'm all for it, as long as it doesn't cost the gaa a cent and the taxpayers of Ireland a cent. If the irfu want to host it, stump up all the cash. The country needs other things urgently like broadband nationally. The health services, infrastructure. I don't want absolute millions of euro given over just so a few suits in the Irfu can feel proud for a few weeks. Also I see they haven't included Cardiff in the bid. No World Cup has been held this side of the world without the Welsh getting their pound of flesh. Be interesting to see how they'll pull that stroke off when it's in Japan. Knowing rugby this part of the world, they'll get their way.
Bain (Donegal) - Posts:416 - 15/11/2016 20:41:15
That's not how any events like this works. Government will have to pay a 100million or so and then will earn significantly more than that in duration of the competition
We are planning a solo bid. England only gave games to Cardiff as other venues were pulled or less games could be played in some grounds."
These events are not the money spinners they're made out to be.

If the country weren't in rag order right now I'd be well up for this.

Ireland is not fully recovered yet from the recession, there are plenty of things need sorted before we waste a tonne of money on a big party."
There is a whiff of Bread and Circuses about this alright.

We have a crumbling health infrastructure in the south, no money for mental health services, serious lack of investment in public transport across the country not to mention a massive housing where many people are struggling to keep a roof over their heads. Yet money can be found for this no bother. It shows where people's priorities lie in anyways.

Obviously this argument will be drowned out because we're all going to be millionaires such will be the economic bonanza the Rugby Cup will bring!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 16/11/2016 16:57:20    1934764

Can anyone remember what the tourism figures were like in 1999 when Ireland hosted a group and quarterfinal? Or what the attendances were at them games?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 16/11/2016 17:19:18    1934770

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To Whammo86:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "I'm all for it, as long as it doesn't cost the gaa a cent and the taxpayers of Ireland a cent. If the irfu want to host it, stump up all the cash. The country needs other things urgently like broadband nationally. The health services, infrastructure. I don't want absolute millions of euro given over just so a few suits in the Irfu can feel proud for a few weeks. Also I see they haven't included Cardiff in the bid. No World Cup has been held this side of the world without the Welsh getting their pound of flesh. Be interesting to see how they'll pull that stroke off when it's in Japan. Knowing rugby this part of the world, they'll get their way.
Bain (Donegal) - Posts:416 - 15/11/2016 20:41:15
That's not how any events like this works. Government will have to pay a 100million or so and then will earn significantly more than that in duration of the competition
We are planning a solo bid. England only gave games to Cardiff as other venues were pulled or less games could be played in some grounds."
These events are not the money spinners they're made out to be.

If the country weren't in rag order right now I'd be well up for this.

Ireland is not fully recovered yet from the recession, there are plenty of things need sorted before we waste a tonne of money on a big party."
There is a whiff of Bread and Circuses about this alright.

We have a crumbling health infrastructure in the south, no money for mental health services, serious lack of investment in public transport across the country not to mention a massive housing where many people are struggling to keep a roof over their heads. Yet money can be found for this no bother. It shows where people's priorities lie in anyways.

Obviously this argument will be drowned out because we're all going to be millionaires such will be the economic bonanza the Rugby Cup will bring!"]The rugby toffs of wealthy south county Dublin ; Donnybrook,Ballsbridge,Sandymount,Mount Merrion,Foxrock,Blackrock,Goatstown,Booterstown,Dalkey and Killiney held up pretty well in the recession.They were still trapesing around the city in fancy mercs,beamers and monstrous,fuel guzzling jeeps.I saw it with my own eyes as i worked all over the capital and still do.No shortage of moolah in the wealthiest part of the country.The big-wigs,hedge fund high fliers,property tycoons,bankers,traders,broadcasters,politicians,developers,tech-hipsters,hoteliers,socialites,divas and any jet-set going kept the party going while dear ole Ireland was crumbling at the seams.Money is no object to the rugby heartlands of south county Dublin,Irelands version of Beverly Hills and Wall Street.As Michael Gekko said " Greed is good!" and to hell with the rest!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/11/2016 17:36:53    1934773

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Absolutely but why couldn't have both Grounds in the bid? Gaelic Grounds would fill for games involving the top sides and Thomond for the other matches.
How many world cups in soccer/rugby recently have used 2 or more stadiums in 2 or more cities in the one competition?"
But doesn't liam neeson tell us this is a world cup like no other?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 18:38:37    1934783

Replying To Soma:  "Can anyone remember what the tourism figures were like in 1999 when Ireland hosted a group and quarterfinal? Or what the attendances were at them games?"
All I know is this was the biggest ever year for tourism in Ireland since records began

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 18:46:50    1934784