12 stadia to make up Ireland's 2023 RWC Bid

I'm in favour of it ( but I've had my reservations)
Firstly the stadiums were chosen because of hotel beds and rail/bus networks, both Armagh and Newry would feel very agrieved not to be chosen.... the Athletic grounds must be one of the newest venues in the country with a state of the art control room, cctv etc, but Armagh doesn't have a railway station and has only 2 hotels....

Celtic Park is a strange one but then it is Ireland fourth city
Nowlan Park would require a lot of work, but Kilkenny is a tourist destination and has alot of beds.... I fully understand Fitzgerald stadium but it is dated too....
A New Cork, Casement Park ( i saw the recent new plans - a this will be some stadium) is understood...

In fairness apart from Armagh ( Im biased of course) can't really see why how or why any of the others could argue for inclusion ( maybe Tullamore for a smaller game)
Galway would be a great destination for a country(s) but the ground requires a lot of work also.....
I cant see any county board turning this down... and from what I've heard Kilkenny GAA Co Board has lobbied both sides of the border for inclusion...... thinking of the old gate receipts...
Portlaoise is a very old ground with great rail, bus and motorway access but v limited amount of beds..... If the govs are paying the £120million stg to fund the application process then they want games which will attract TV and press attention to notable tourism venues.....

My concern which i have many -
What about County Championship matches etc...
saying that I'll be in the Aviva this Saturday along with many other Gaels shouting on a national team...

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 15/11/2016 19:39:38    1934493

Replying To Htaem:  "Great gesture by the Gaa, fairplay to them, I think it would be absolutely brilliant for Ireland to host the RWC and I'd be delighted if we got it."
hear hear

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 15/11/2016 19:43:12    1934497

Don't agree with the use of all these GAA stadia for the Rugby world cup.If they haven't got enough of their own stadia they shouldn't be allowed host it.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4815 - 15/11/2016 13:12:09

thankfully rugby has had a more open attitude to other sports e.g.
lansdowne had ireland soccer games since the 70sand rightly so
thomond held uefa cup soccer in the 1980s
musgrave park in cork hosted cork city v bayern munich in 1991 - with cork football legend dave barry scored the cork goal
-stefan effenberg comment afterward saying the goald was scored by a guy who looked old enough to be his grandfather ( Dave Barry ).
-dave barrys reply - effenberg played like my grandmother
-thomond held a rugby league world cup game in 2013

you could say rugby has led the was in opening its grounds to other sports!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 15/11/2016 19:48:23    1934500

Replying To TheHermit:  "Exactly, off the top of my head Kerry has only something like 6-7 rugby clubs, all of them in the main towns. We have near 80 GAA clubs. As I said Limerick city is different, for historical reasons. So what huge threat is there for the GAA,? Are 500 rugby clubs going to suddenly appear across the island in the wake of one tournament being hosted here?

One observation I would make about the posts going up is that there seems to be a particular hostility by some towards rugby.

Now as someone who has no real interest in soccer outside of the fortunes of the national team, I'm curious as to why some of you are so hostile to rugby and its perceived threat.

For me soccer, especially underage soccer in places like my hometown of Tralee, would be a far bigger danger to the GAA than rugby ever would.

Is there a bias there simply because a lot of you would consider yourself soccer supporters or do you not think soccer is a much of a threat as rugby. Just curious."
Hermit,me and some of my fellow county men have explained in full colour why we dont have time for rugby in Dublin.Some of ye probably think we're being over-the-top and unreasonable but i know we're speaking from the heart.For the umpteenth time,and soccer has nothing to do with it,there is large pockets of Dublin that rugby bares no relevance.Absolutely zero interest.Never have.Probably never will.Why cant some people understand or accept this fact?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/11/2016 19:50:35    1934501

Replying To Htaem:  "Great gesture by the Gaa, fairplay to them, I think it would be absolutely brilliant for Ireland to host the RWC and I'd be delighted if we got it."
I cant understand the objections to this.
The dubs call us culchies yet we seem all more enlightened than our city friends

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/11/2016 19:54:07    1934503

Replying To gotmilk:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Sorry can't agree with you there. Why would you not rent out stadiums and showcase what the gaa has to foreigners and millions of people throughout the globe. Heck you could even showcase the stadiums to people in our own country who don't know what we have.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3698 - 15/11/2016 13:17:47

A rugby cup won't showcase the GAA at all.

Not definitely against it or anything but I just don't think that that is a reason for doing it.

For me there are two reasons why the GAA should assist in this venture.

1. Investment in GAA facilities.

2. The negative hounding of the GAA from the private school educated media would be astronomical if they refused."
This is where crokers marketing team should be kicking into overdrive. Say there is a game in Limerick between England and Argentina the lads should be hounding media in England with info on GAA in limerick, give a bit of info on it etc. It's a brilliant opportunity to promote the game abroad. It's not hard to pull together a few videos etc. They need to be polluting the airwaves when there is an international audience. The thing is those showing the games would actually lap up this sort of information to fill a void before the Samoa Canada game. There is potential for the GAA to promote their own games here and make a few quid. No brainer for me."
Loads of potential there Gotmilk if the GAA hot of their arses and get on the case if a bid was accepted. I'm a bit cynical about that though when they've thousands of empty seats at championship games during the summer and the country full of tourists and there seems little interest or incentives in enticing tourists to see our great games and the craic between supporters. The real Ireland and not getting bussed to look at some cliffs, that can't kick a ball, or down to Temple Bar to listen to 'traditional' music, eating a feed of boxty, cos we all eat boxty, drinking left-handed pints for €7.50.

Besides marketing the GAA abroad on media and TV around any games maybe they could have 30 mins exhibition games of hurling and/or football before games between local clubs.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 15/11/2016 20:02:32    1934506

I am surprised that the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick is not being considered for a big game given its size and the love for rugby there.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 15/11/2016 20:10:37    1934508

Replying To keeper7:  "Lads, a hard Brexit could be a disaster for this. Also, would the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick not be more attractive than Thomand?"
They should use both limerick stadiums, limerick city and county has given great support to rugby, better than anywhere in Ireland at club an provincial level, and to give us no.big games is terrible, grrrrrrrrrr!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 15/11/2016 20:18:04    1934509

Replying To janesboro:  "Don't agree with the use of all these GAA stadia for the Rugby world cup.If they haven't got enough of their own stadia they shouldn't be allowed host it.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4815 - 15/11/2016 13:12:09

thankfully rugby has had a more open attitude to other sports e.g.
lansdowne had ireland soccer games since the 70sand rightly so
thomond held uefa cup soccer in the 1980s
musgrave park in cork hosted cork city v bayern munich in 1991 - with cork football legend dave barry scored the cork goal
-stefan effenberg comment afterward saying the goald was scored by a guy who looked old enough to be his grandfather ( Dave Barry ).
-dave barrys reply - effenberg played like my grandmother
-thomond held a rugby league world cup game in 2013

you could say rugby has led the was in opening its grounds to other sports!"
What has rugby ever done for GAA?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/11/2016 20:19:38    1934510

Replying To TheHermit:  "Cue I can see where you are coming from but also you also have to have faith in the GAA - look at its durability and its undiminished popularity across the generations. It has survived nearly tearing itself apart over politics in the 1890s, it survived the Irish Revolution and the Civil War which followed. It has prospered despite the waves of emigration which flowed from this island in the 1930's, 40s, 50s and 80s. Despite the behemoth of global, professional, pay per view sports that have emerged in the last 25 years, tv audiences, match attendances and participation levels for the GAA still dwarf anything else in Ireland.

Rugby will never become what the GAA is simply because (outside of possibly Limerick city), rugby has never been able to become the people's game. In fact the reason rugby has such a special status in Limerick is that around the turn of the 20th century the rugby powers that be in the city decided to use the GAA model and establish parish rugby clubs which played games on Sundays. Given the GAA was so weak in the city at the time, rugby gained its foothold there and never looked back.

Outside of there and few other small pockets, rugby is a niche sport. It has never managed to intertwine itself into Irish society and culture the way the GAA has. Look at the number of rugby clubs and compare them with the hundreds of GAA clubs across every parish on this island. The GAA remains the heart of countless of communities across Ireland. Rugby can't even come close to matching its level.

Rugby will always be the fourth sport behind the two GAA codes and soccer. Yes it is far more popular now than at any stage, but that's on the back of the sport turning professional and the unprecedented success of Irish teams on a national and European stage. I would say a fair few GAA people would now also consider themselves rugby fans. I am. I never really saw rugby growing up, but was exposed to it at college and I became a big fan of Munster etc. But it is always secondary to the GAA and if I had to chose it would be Kerry winning Sam over Ireland winning a Grand Slam everyday of the week!

This is a fantastic opportunity for Ireland to showcase itself to the world and for us to show off the stadium infrastructure that an amateur organisation, playing a sport that hardly anyone outside this Ireland has heard of, can develop on through its own sweat and toil.

We should all get behind this, the GAA has survived and thrived for more than 130 years, it will survive and thrive long after 2023!"
Good analysis why the game.is strong.in limk city plus we love a sport which involves beating the chap.out of each other

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 15/11/2016 20:21:27    1934511

Would be great to host an event like this and we are well capable of doing a great job.Can't see why anyone would be against it.It just seems daft to be honest..

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/11/2016 20:38:18    1934513

I'm all for it, as long as it doesn't cost the gaa a cent and the taxpayers of Ireland a cent. If the irfuu want to host it, stump up all the cash. The country needs other things urgently like broadband nationally. The health services, infrastructure. I don't want absolute millions of euro given over just so a few suits in the Irfu can feel proud for a few weeks. Also I see they haven't included Cardiff in the bid. No World Cup has been held this side of the world without the Welsh getting their pound of flesh. Be interesting to see how they'll pull that stroke off when it's in Japan. Knowing rugby this part of the world, they'll get their way.

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 15/11/2016 20:41:15    1934514

I'm all for it, as long as it doesn't cost the gaa a cent and the taxpayers of Ireland a cent. If the irfuu want to host it, stump up all the cash. The country needs other things urgently like broadband nationally. The health services, infrastructure. I don't want absolute millions of euro given over just so a few suits in the Irfu can feel proud for a few weeks. Also I see they haven't included Cardiff in the bid. No World Cup has been held this side of the world without the Welsh getting their pound of flesh. Be interesting to see how they'll pull that stroke off when it's in Japan. Knowing rugby this part of the world, they'll get their way.

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 15/11/2016 20:41:15    1934515

I wonder did Limerick GAA lobby not to have the Garlic Grounds included. It wouldnt surprise me. I think its a joke that limerick has just one stadium nominated.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 15/11/2016 20:48:46    1934516

Replying To cuederocket:  "What has rugby ever done for GAA?"
Gave the gaa lot of rent money fir croke Park, London Irish have given.use of facilities to London gaa during Ruislip development

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 15/11/2016 21:08:58    1934521

Bain (Donegal) - Posts:416 - 15/11/2016 20:41:15 1

Who do you think is footing the bill? I don't know the precise breakdown, but I would be surprised if the IRFU are coughing up more than the GAA and/or Irish Government for this bid.

This Rugby World Cup bid no doubt triggered the series of GAA Stadium redevelopments across the Country as past few years, as otherwise a Country as broke as Ireland would never contemplate Investing millions on developing so many Stadiums.

I still think holding the tournament will bring a "Feel Good factor", in that global Rugby eyes will be briefly on Ireland for a short period.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 15/11/2016 21:10:11    1934522

Replying To cuederocket:  "What has rugby ever done for GAA?"
Gave GAA a pile of money when it hired out Croke Park for games while tha Aviva was being built. Would do similar for World Cup.

Providing a sport that dovetails with the GAA season which help keeps players fit in the GAA season. GAA players including David Beggy, Michael Duignan, Graham Geraghty and Pete Finnerty.

Let GAA clubs use their facilities for changing rooms, training etc.

Present a good side of GAA for parents wondering what sports their kids might play. Rather than be seen as the GAA v the rest they look more inclusive sharing facilities and having no problems with players playing other sports.

Providing a professional sports alternative for GAA players emigrating to play AFL.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 15/11/2016 21:27:54    1934525

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Gave GAA a pile of money when it hired out Croke Park for games while tha Aviva was being built. Would do similar for World Cup.

Providing a sport that dovetails with the GAA season which help keeps players fit in the GAA season. GAA players including David Beggy, Michael Duignan, Graham Geraghty and Pete Finnerty.

Present a good side of GAA for parents wondering what sports their kids might play. Rather than be seen as the GAA v the rest they look more inclusive sharing facilities and having no problems with players playing other sports.

Providing a professional sports alternative for GAA players emigrating to play AFL."
All excellent points, both jinxie and GG had great time playing Rugby.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/11/2016 21:44:40    1934528

Great to see GAA & Rugby relations are so good.I must be living under a rock as i never noticed it.

What the GAA powers-that-be decide is good enough for me.I don't agree with it but until we find a better alternative to democracy,i will accept whatever outcome arrives.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/11/2016 21:48:52    1934530

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Gave GAA a pile of money when it hired out Croke Park for games while tha Aviva was being built. Would do similar for World Cup.

Providing a professional sports alternative for GAA players emigrating to play AFL."
All right all right but apart from giving the gaa a pile of rent money , Providing a sport that dovetails with the GAA season which help keeps players fit in the GAA season. letting GAA clubs use their facilities for changing rooms, training etc, presenting a good side of GAA for parents wondering what sports their kids might play and providing a professional sports alternative for GAA players emigrating to play AFL."

what has rugby ever done for GAA

Brought peace!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 15/11/2016 22:12:32    1934536