12 stadia to make up Ireland's 2023 RWC Bid

Replying To janesboro:  "hey we were regularly getting 10k for club games before the heineken cup started ,
dont forget we beat the wallabies four times as well 1967,1981, 1992 and 2010"
Haha yeah them club game attendance are great myths down there
I also heard there was over 100thousand accounted for when munster beat new Zealand and thousands more hopped the wall haha it's like when you ask a country person how far away a hotel is you always get the country five minutes haha which in essence is about a half hour

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 21:11:08    1934849

Replying To GreenandRed:  "That's right. Rugby in Munster is a bandwagon sport. I think no-one in Munster heard of rugby before the Heineken Cup. Sure no-one outside of Munster in World Rugby ever heard of Thomond Park, no Munster players ever went on a Lions tour, Munster weren't the first team from The Republic to win the biggest prize in European club rugby, that game against The All Blacks in '78 never happened. Munster rugby fans on a bandwagon fosho."
well they didnt full their ground...'irish by birth, munster by the grace of god'..what happened to that?..they stopped winning....the support down there has always been exaggerated

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2016 21:11:59    1934850

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "where will the quarter finals be held - semis will be croke park, final in croke park, 3rd place game in aviva
croke park and aviva likely to get one each, and probably pairc ui chaoimh and casement park getting other two. dont rule out cardiff or murrayfield getting quarter final action
Either way very dissappointing that the city that give the greatest support per head of population wont get a quarter final , wont even get a big game, gaelic grounds should be used , if need be use it over thomond, but i think very possible to use both
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:880 - 16/11/2016 19:24:02
I will rule out Cardiff and Murrayfield as everything is leaning towards a solo bid. England only added Murrayfield as they lost out on the use of some of the soccer stadiums.
Limerick simply doesn't deserve a quarter final based on those factors.
Sure look at the 2011 world cup. They had all knock out games in just 2 cities. Limerick doesn't deserve it as it doesn't have the stadium for the knock outs. Its not possible to use both as the IRFU clearly have looked into the best stadiums to use and are not doing it.

im honestly not too sure we could afford this?...hosting these events is rarely good for the host nation..look at how much money brazil wasted
would be in favour if we could but we are the last country that should be getting carried away hosting events
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:949 - 16/11/2016 19:36:59
Based on what? A soccer world cup is completely different and how many of those Brazilian stadiums were redeveloped specifically for the world cup. This will not be the case for this event."
how are we going to afford it ormond?...im just asking the question

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2016 21:12:36    1934851

Replying To janesboro:  "munster cant even fill their own ground these days so i wouldnt be getting too carried away about how good the support is down there..i suppose bandwagons are huge down there though and the world cup would be that
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:951 - 16/11/2016 19:38:57

last 3 home games have been sell outs-
crowds have been down coz the team aint winning - same as happens in gaa -the last time dublin lost a leinster championship game they had 22000 the next day v tipperary , by the semi that year they had around 60k at it -, this year v laois - only 16k from dublin at first round look at the crowd dublin hurlers got for 2013 semi final - look at crowd we got v clare the following week - bandwagons are in all sports including gaa and rugby including dublin and limerick"
dublin are the best supported team in the country and it isnt close...munster crowds have fallen off completely dont deny it..sell outs have been due to the tragedy...if the support was that good then munster wouldnt be in the trouble they are in..fans turned their backs on them once they werent in the heineken cup semi final or higher every year

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2016 21:14:37    1934853

Hillman
Ah now janesboro come on trying to use a defeat in front of 60 thousand to Meath and comparing it to a qualifier against a then lowly Tipperary of 22thousand which is probably one of the biggest crowds at a qualifier is bit mad.

alano is saying that musnter is all bandwagon - and i am merely pointing out that gaa has a bandwagon too, the last time dublin lost a championship game the attendance dropped quite a bit, i even used my beloved limerick as an example too, we once brought 8000 to and under 21 football final in mullingar , look at the crowds we got for football in mid noughties - all teams have dips insupport when they dont win-its not exclusive to rugby

Also your assumption that 16thousand on a bank holiday Saturday night with no accommodation available in Kilkenny
could ye not travel back the same night like we did going to thurles,cork, mullingar, dublin for games this year,

They needed to sell the naming rights to Musgrave park and unless they get a cash injection have stated they will have to sell the naming rights to thomond park.

i hope they do sell the naming rights and make a pile of money from it - we need it , GAA ground have done it too

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 21:16:34    1934856

MedwayIrish: and hillman
do my own strawberries myself - make my own jam too - ala jeremy corbyn!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 21:18:14    1934857

Replying To janesboro:  "The bulk of those who visit will be from England and Wales, keeping them for a number of nights rather than just the night of the game would be key in trying to balance the books.
Soma (UK) - Posts:1657 - 16/11/2016 20:00:17 1934823

yeah good point id go along with that - the scots and french will travel as well not to the same extent

remember that rumania v usa game in 1999 -was the same night ireland played macedonia in euro 2000 qualifier and got done with last minute goal - nearly had the stadium to my self - like a club game you could hear the players , -mind you meant lot to the rumanians

for a bit of worthless trivia rumania had a scrum half petre mitu- 9 years later he scored the first h cup points in the new thomond park for montauban"
and for a bit of more useful trivia -

It's "Romania", has been for years ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 16/11/2016 21:21:27    1934859

Replying To legendzxix:  "The GAA are likely to get investment in their grounds. They are shrewd when it comes to things like that."
I fail to see what investment is needed
If as janesboro states they had grass banks at a world cup match in thomond for last time it was here and in New Zealand in 2011 they had grass banks the top brass hadnt a problem then

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 21:25:38    1934861

Replying To alano12:  "munster cant even fill their own ground these days so i wouldnt be getting too carried away about how good the support is down there..i suppose bandwagons are huge down there though and the world cup would be that"
Exactly. Limerick staved off talk Munster would be based in Cork. With Munster not getting big crowds, some might ask were they mistaken in being based in Limerick?

The Gaelic Grounds in Limerick should have been selected as well. Thurles is also a surprise omission.

The GAA stadia to be used will be 1 from each province and the capital:
Croke Park
Nowlan Park
Cork
Galway
Belfast

The 4 rugby stadia will obviously be used. It's likely Millennium Stadium and Murrayfield will be used as well.

3 of the 4 rugby stadia will get the lesser games.

Croke Park, Aviva, Millennium Stadium and Murrayfield for quarter-finals. Croke Park for semi-finals and final.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7844 - 16/11/2016 21:29:12    1934863

Replying To janesboro:  "hey we were regularly getting 10k for club games before the heineken cup started ,
dont forget we beat the wallabies four times as well 1967,1981, 1992 and 2010"
I know rightly. Saw Campbell v Ward in interpros in '82.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 16/11/2016 21:34:37    1934866

Replying To janesboro:  "Hillman
Ah now janesboro come on trying to use a defeat in front of 60 thousand to Meath and comparing it to a qualifier against a then lowly Tipperary of 22thousand which is probably one of the biggest crowds at a qualifier is bit mad.

alano is saying that musnter is all bandwagon - and i am merely pointing out that gaa has a bandwagon too, the last time dublin lost a championship game the attendance dropped quite a bit, i even used my beloved limerick as an example too, we once brought 8000 to and under 21 football final in mullingar , look at the crowds we got for football in mid noughties - all teams have dips insupport when they dont win-its not exclusive to rugby

Also your assumption that 16thousand on a bank holiday Saturday night with no accommodation available in Kilkenny
could ye not travel back the same night like we did going to thurles,cork, mullingar, dublin for games this year,

They needed to sell the naming rights to Musgrave park and unless they get a cash injection have stated they will have to sell the naming rights to thomond park.

i hope they do sell the naming rights and make a pile of money from it - we need it , GAA ground have done it too"
why do u need the money if the support is anywhere near as strong as you claim?...surely munsters gate receipts must be huge selling out every game unless your admitting you made a silly point without any context?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2016 21:45:46    1934871

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I fail to see what investment is needed
If as janesboro states they had grass banks at a world cup match in thomond for last time it was here and in New Zealand in 2011 they had grass banks the top brass hadnt a problem then"
Alot of the investment they speak of is in media facilities and other stuff completely useless to the average fan.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 16/11/2016 21:46:12    1934872

If as janesboro states they had grass banks at a world cup match in thomond for last time it was here and in New Zealand in 2011 they had grass banks the top brass hadnt a problem then
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11402 - 16/11/2016 21:25:38   1934861 

thomond had grass banks before the 1999 RWC they did the terracing prior to that world cup

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 21:48:52    1934873

I understand that Gary but I think having Martin McGuinness involved in the bid surely helped like Kenny for Castlebar?
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts:1388 - 16/11/2016 16:03:14 19

I would assume that with McHale Park being by far the largest venue in Connacht, It was probably going to be considered on that basis alone. Now had there been a rival Stadium of equal size in a more International friendly location, such a ground might have got the nod ahead of McHale Park.
Keep in mind that County or Provincial GAA Stadiums don't generally host International events, and to host Rugby World Cup matches, there are a lot of different needs to consider than what GAA matches generally require.

Derry is the 4th largest City on the Island of Ireland, and arguably the fastest growing at present, so I could see them consider Celtic Park on that basis. In truth, I don't know if McGuinness had any real Input, I think Derry City Council were the ones who actually pushed for it to be considered.

I think every major location pushed politically for their Town/Stadium to be considered, with Killarney being Included no doubt due to the Healy Raes, despite Munster already having 2 other locations included. I believe Kilkenny canvassed both sides of the border for their Inclusion, rightly so, nice place and Nolan Park is nice ground too. There are other major towns and Cities that could rival many of those on the list, but I actually like the way they actually spread the grounds out, as original speculation suggested games would be clumped in 4 or 5 places.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 16/11/2016 21:59:30    1934876

Haha yeah them club game attendance are great myths down there
I also heard there was over 100thousand accounted for when munster beat new Zealand and thousands more hopped the wall haha it's like when you ask a country person how far away a hotel is you always get the country five minutes haha which in essence is about a half hour
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11402 - 16/11/2016 21:11:08   1934849 

they werent most Munster senior cup finals in limerick in 80s and 90s got around 10k, i was at every cup final in the 90s. In the 90s shannon were averaging around 8k per game, we were getting around 6k , garryowen around 4/5. A derby between the limerick clubs was a guaranteed 8-10k in the 90s. I know i was at a load of them

In 1991 league garryowen and con got 10k , Munsters got 4k v wesley in 2nd division (was at it)
1992 shannon v garryowen got 18k -shannon took IR54k gate receipts that day - i was at that
1993 v marys in lansdowne there was 22k (club record)
1994 garryowen v blackrock got 10k we got around 8k for a game against blackrock
Even towards the end of the 90s the average crowds were around 3-5k
1998 final shannon v garryowen got 15k
even now we got around 3k for our away semis v lansdowne and con in 2015/16 respectively

it was from those crowds the munster thing grew from

i know i saw - i was at those games, mind you munster hurling in that time was filling out every stadium -i remember being at a league game v clare in 1998 at there being 18k at it

still got the dads ticket from all blacks game in 78 -wasnt there myself

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 22:05:21    1934880

Exactly. Limerick staved off talk Munster would be based in Cork. With Munster not getting big crowds, some might ask were they mistaken in being based in Limerick? The Gaelic Grounds in Limerick should have been selected as well. Thurles is also a surprise omission.
The GAA stadia to be used will be 1 from each province and the capital:
Croke Park, Nowlan Park, Cork, Galway, Belfast
The 4 rugby stadia will obviously be used. It's likely Millennium Stadium and Murrayfield will be used as well.
3 of the 4 rugby stadia will get the lesser games.
Croke Park, Aviva, Millennium Stadium and Murrayfield for quarter-finals. Croke Park for semi-finals and final.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts:5104 - 16/11/2016 21:29:12
There is no plans at all for any none irish stadiums to be used. There is enough clout and deals IRFU can pull for neither of Millenium or Murrayfield to be used.
There will be There is 2 GAA stadium in each province to be used. Thurles isn't a surprise omission and neither is the Gaelic Grounds. Thurles has no accommodation. It has public transport links but that's not good enough as people will expect to stay near town/in the town for the game and there is nowhere near enough accommodation.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/11/2016 22:10:09    1934884

why do u need the money if the support is anywhere near as strong as you claim?...surely munsters gate receipts must be huge selling out every game unless your admitting you made a silly point without any context?
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:956 - 16/11/2016 21:45:4

because we dont ahve anything like the tv money french and english clubs have - of course support is down and its affecting gates, we also dont havce generous benefactors like some french and english clubs do -so we need every bob we can get --- thus we cannot attract the top players like we did before - bear in mind we won europe in 2006 on less attendances than we do now - but the english and french clubs have more money pro rata than 10 years ago - and this changeabout from the hcup to champions cup only increased the gulf

question for you did dublins support not drop in 2010 - would you view this as fans turning thier back on the team ?

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 22:10:52    1934886

and for a bit of more useful trivia -

It's "Romania", has been for years ;)
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts:2115 - 16/11/2016 21:21:27

very good - funny enough i only recently discovered that its the netherlands and not Holland!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 22:12:06    1934887

Extremely annoying to see the Gaa bending over backwards to give stadia including Pearse Stadium in Galway for the 2023 RWC. Many of us who bought five year tickets & supported & sold tickets for the redevelopment of Pearse Stadium at the time couldn't even get local Gaa club finals played there, now we have a scenario where the Gaa are bowing to the brown nosing of the IRFU & the Gaa bending over backwards to facilitate them. The Gaa deem Rugby more worthy of playing in Pearse Stadium than their own local clubs & the people who helped fundraised for it. Typical cart before the horse Gaa politics. Fair play to the IRFU though they are light years ahead of the Gaa in promotion & if they get to host the 2023 RWC it will be a massive boon to promoting kids to play rugby in this country. Galway Gaa should now hand the application for floodlighting in Pearse Stadium over to the IRFU, they will get it done !

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 16/11/2016 22:15:41    1934889

Replying To hill16no1man:  "totally agree my friend
its what i was making the point about"
Yeah. I am extremely disappointed that Semple Stadium is not included but thinking about it objectively it's the right decision not to have Thurles included because there are only about 3 hotels in the Thurles area. You need to have plenty of hotels in the actual town itself.

Limerick has plenty of hotels and things to do. It's also close to the cliffs of moher and several beautiful tourist attractions like lough derg, the burren and the Clare coast.

Rugby is number one sport in Limerick. Could we say that about any other town or city on the Island? With Thomond and Gaelic Grounds it was the perfect base for a group of fixtures.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/11/2016 22:15:55    1934891