Corofin vs Castlebar Mitchels

Decent but not a great game.
In my view the better footballers won.
Corofin look to have regressed though, they were much more impressive in the 2014/15 campaign.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 13/11/2016 18:12:59    1933967

Ian Burke one of the reasons I would stay watching Gaelic football. What a player, great vision, both feet when shooting, speed, strong & footwork of the highest order. I love the bunny hop. Ably assisted in the full forward line all year by Farragher & Leonard. He can't make the Galway senior team ? Possibly because he would be made defend in the full back/ half back line & if true was asked to play at corner back in a trial match ? Sometimes you have to accommodate a player of his talent on a team for what he brings to the table. Don't tell me about step up from club to county, he is superior to most of Galway's forwards full stop. I hope he just concentrates on Corofin & the next game v Brigids, another massive challenge. Ian Burke restores my lost faith in football.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 13/11/2016 18:33:22    1933973

Moc I was raving about Ian Burke on here two years ago saying what a player why isn't in the Galway team a lot of Galway posters came on after and said "he lacks that yard for inter county" , I don't think that agree every time I see him with Corofin he's different class.

Still a lot of football to be played but we could potentially be looking at a semi final of;

St Vincent's/ Rhode v Slaughtneil

Brigids/Corofin v Dr Crokes

Some games to look forward to if happens

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/11/2016 20:00:46    1933994

One Castlebar forward scoring 0-10 of their 0-14 and all bar one score from place balls. It doesn't take a genius to figure out where their problems lie.

So the Connacht final in two weeks will be between the 2015 and 2013 AI champions. Brigids are due a home game v Galway opposition but they aren't allowed to play Connacht championship games in Kiltoom with the new rule on preventing Brigids from playing at home one rule for one team not for all as Castlebar played in Castlebar today. You gotta love the Connacht council politics...

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 13/11/2016 21:07:15    1934014

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Decent but not a great game.
In my view the better footballers won.
Corofin look to have regressed though, they were much more impressive in the 2014/15 campaign."
I don't think Corofin have gone back, they have begun the transation from the All Ireland winning team as they have learned from the previous all ireland in 1998. Since 2014/15, new keeper in Power, two new half backs Molloy and Cunningham, new forwards in Wall and Leonard, Colin Brady, & Dylan Canny and Ciaran Brady for the middle of the field. We saw Dylan Mc Hugh earlier in the summer, Galway minor fullback last year and probably Fitzgeralds sucessor. That is almost half a team in two years. 11 or 12 of today's team are Under 25...... looking at Sice and McGrath (old men) today at 31and 32 they are in serious shape. They even brought in Alan Burke another old fellow at 31 to steady the ship, they have not gone back, it is forwards they are going

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 13/11/2016 23:32:58    1934039

Well done to Sean O Mahoney's from the Wee County who have reached the Leinster Senior Club Championship semi-final. They have won their first ever Senior Club title this year. Two years they won the Leinster Inter club championship. On their way to their victory two years ago they knocked out clubs from Westmeath, Dublin, Kildare and Meath and this included knocking out Castleknock in the quarter-finals. This year they beat Baltinglass away from home and beat Sarsfield at home. They are at home to Rhode on Sunday week. A special mention also to Longford's Mullinaghta who have also reached the Leinster Senior club semi-final in their first year playing at this level.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/11/2016 10:03:00    1934075

Replying To The_analyser:  "One Castlebar forward scoring 0-10 of their 0-14 and all bar one score from place balls. It doesn't take a genius to figure out where their problems lie.

So the Connacht final in two weeks will be between the 2015 and 2013 AI champions. Brigids are due a home game v Galway opposition but they aren't allowed to play Connacht championship games in Kiltoom with the new rule on preventing Brigids from playing at home one rule for one team not for all as Castlebar played in Castlebar today. You gotta love the Connacht council politics..."
Castlebar Mitchels home pitch isn't Mc Hale Park The_Anylser, that is why the game was in Mc Hale Park yesterday, if the Hyde was available that is we're the Connacht Final would be, it's not the Connacht Councils fault that there is no suitable pitch in Roscommon to host the final apart from Kiltoom..

Acme15 (Mayo) - Posts: 45 - 14/11/2016 10:04:07    1934076

A Mayo team playing an inter county game in Mayo is home advantage, the same way the Dubs playing in Croker is home advantage. That knife cuts both ways.

Ref was very much a home referee for this game, some awful soft stuff given away.

Best of luck to the Corofin lads, they play decent football, the Burke chap is a joy to behold. Castle bar looked lethargic for alot of the game, and simply ran out of team in extra time. Yet still they were there or thereabouts, says alot about their quality to be honest.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 14/11/2016 11:33:40    1934093

Replying To EDH:  "I don't think Corofin have gone back, they have begun the transation from the All Ireland winning team as they have learned from the previous all ireland in 1998. Since 2014/15, new keeper in Power, two new half backs Molloy and Cunningham, new forwards in Wall and Leonard, Colin Brady, & Dylan Canny and Ciaran Brady for the middle of the field. We saw Dylan Mc Hugh earlier in the summer, Galway minor fullback last year and probably Fitzgeralds sucessor. That is almost half a team in two years. 11 or 12 of today's team are Under 25...... looking at Sice and McGrath (old men) today at 31and 32 they are in serious shape. They even brought in Alan Burke another old fellow at 31 to steady the ship, they have not gone back, it is forwards they are going"
They've 'gone back' since 2014, in the sense that they're a much more playable beatable side this year. You've explained in some detail why this might be the case. It takes younger players awhile to settle in, let alone peak. 'Transition' doesn't usually happen overnight. Look at the Galway county team's ongoing 'transition', since 2012, or 2002 is it! It's not a hugely negative criticism of any Corofin team to say that they're below the level of the 2014/15 Corofin side, a truly exceptional squad, that was flying and playing out of it's skin at the time.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3468 - 14/11/2016 12:03:37    1934104

Really enjoyed the game. Corofin deserved it over the 80 minutes but I think that the 6 games in 6 weeks might have caught up with Castlebar in extra time.

Corofin will come very close to winning, their forwards are so accurate I think they only had 3 wides yesterday.

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 14/11/2016 12:10:54    1934107

Replying To The_analyser:  "One Castlebar forward scoring 0-10 of their 0-14 and all bar one score from place balls. It doesn't take a genius to figure out where their problems lie.

So the Connacht final in two weeks will be between the 2015 and 2013 AI champions. Brigids are due a home game v Galway opposition but they aren't allowed to play Connacht championship games in Kiltoom with the new rule on preventing Brigids from playing at home one rule for one team not for all as Castlebar played in Castlebar today. You gotta love the Connacht council politics..."
When you're 'getting frees', you need a lad to put them over. The ref isn't going to take them himself, although I'm sure some concerned Corofin fans thought that he might, especially first half!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3468 - 14/11/2016 12:11:36    1934108

The_analyser- thats not the Mitchell's pitch as I'm sure you're aware,

If Roscommon had organised their own affairs ye wouldn't be sending matches up to carrick every second Sunday.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 14/11/2016 13:51:36    1934146

A really intruiging game by two great teams yesterday. Ian Burke is a joy to watch.

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 14/11/2016 15:12:00    1934175

Acme15 (Mayo) the Connacht council are to blame as they are the ones that no longer allow Brigids to play Connacht championship games in Kiltoom.

MacHale park is in Castlebar and is their most familiar ground from U-12 right up to senior the Castlebar players have played in that ground more than any other.

The money got from the tea or coffee,packets of Taytos to the match day programs inside the ground and alcohol and food outside in the club house goes into the pockets of Castlebar Mitchells instead of the Mayo county board.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 14/11/2016 16:40:05    1934197

I thought Corofin were by far the better footballers.Ian Burke looks a class act, so too Justin leonard.Was impressed by Steede, Daithi Burke, Molloy, Farragher and Silke as well.How come Steede hasn't a run with Galway? Or Ian Burke?
Castlebar have the same failings as the Mayo county side, they make hard work of scoring and make a lot of unforced errors.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 14/11/2016 18:02:07    1934213

Replying To Condorman:  "I thought Corofin were by far the better footballers.Ian Burke looks a class act, so too Justin leonard.Was impressed by Steede, Daithi Burke, Molloy, Farragher and Silke as well.How come Steede hasn't a run with Galway? Or Ian Burke?
Castlebar have the same failings as the Mayo county side, they make hard work of scoring and make a lot of unforced errors."
Justin Leonard is a golfer afaik. Sugar Ray Leonard was a classs act too though.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3468 - 14/11/2016 19:57:15    1934231

I'm watching the highlights here on TG4 and I watched yesterday's games Im sick and tired of watching players diving and play acting to win frees and get players sent off it's getting out of control; Shane O Rourke sent off for bleeding what???? Nothing in it whatsoever then the Tipp lad gets sent of for what???? Pulling a players arm wtf is going on? Refs are shocking but players are making it so hard nowadays with all this diving and blatant cheating that's going on in all our games throughout the country.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/11/2016 21:08:21    1934246

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "They've 'gone back' since 2014, in the sense that they're a much more playable beatable side this year. You've explained in some detail why this might be the case. It takes younger players awhile to settle in, let alone peak. 'Transition' doesn't usually happen overnight. Look at the Galway county team's ongoing 'transition', since 2012, or 2002 is it! It's not a hugely negative criticism of any Corofin team to say that they're below the level of the 2014/15 Corofin side, a truly exceptional squad, that was flying and playing out of it's skin at the time."
Pope, this team will fly very soon, Liam Silke had been carrying a hamstring strain since the Tipperary game, Martin Farragher has played very little since returning from America and getting injured, Sice had Hamstring trouble that kept him out of the County final (both him and Durcan affected by this yesterday) and Lundy will have had another fortnight of training behind him the next day. Cunningham and Molloy are better footballers than Greg Higgins from the All Ireland winning half backline. The only place they are short from 2014/15 is the link play of the then exceptionally underrated Gary Delaney but Dylan Wall is only 20 and is a very honest, skillfull, quick and very brave player for his stature and is doing a job at this role and Jason Leonard is a free taker of intercounty standard from the right which they did not have in 2014/15. They are very close to been an exceptional team

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 14/11/2016 21:27:33    1934247

Missed ET but glad to see a game of football break out in the last 10 mins. How Castlebar were still in the game at the end I've no idea. Corofin for me were far superior but maybe thought they had the job done. Some of Castlebars shot selection and free taking were not what you'd expect at Intermediate club football never mind a Connacht semi.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/11/2016 08:42:28    1934286

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I'm watching the highlights here on TG4 and I watched yesterday's games Im sick and tired of watching players diving and play acting to win frees and get players sent off it's getting out of control; Shane O Rourke sent off for bleeding what???? Nothing in it whatsoever then the Tipp lad gets sent of for what???? Pulling a players arm wtf is going on? Refs are shocking but players are making it so hard nowadays with all this diving and blatant cheating that's going on in all our games throughout the country."
I know. Tough on the refs alright. Not sure but I think I remember a lad going to ground very easily in the All Iceland replay. He jumped up waving an imaginary card at the ref. I was shocked. Shocked! Never seen anything like it. I understand your frustration.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 15/11/2016 09:31:11    1934294