How about that!

Cubs win first series in 108 years and now the Irish best the all blacks, I think we can put that in the history books eh.
Deserved recognition.
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts:1053 - 05/11/2016 23:32:10
deserves recognition but not in this forum.

Or on another site preferably.Rugby not my thing.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4758 - 06/11/2016 00:13:32
Nothing wrong with it being discussed in the other sports forum. you don't have to read it if you don't want to.

Get over yourselves lads ffs. This is historic.
111 of trying and to beat one of the best teams ever to play the game is some achievement whether you like rugby or not.
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts:1053 - 06/11/2016 09:30:17
Historic yes but no need for a thread in the GAA forum when its being discussed in the other sports forum.
Can Cork City dethrone the fantastic Dundalk today is the question?Looking forward to heading to the Aviva to see one of the greatest (if not the greatest) Irish club teams of all time.And i'll get to avoid the rugby "love-in" on the radio also.I can only imagine the back slapping that will grip all media over next few days.I'll be safe in the Aviva.I have given myself a wee test to avoid any rugby blather of next few days.It'll be hard but i'm fully determined (:
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4758 - 06/11/2016 10:27:42
I you're trolling a bit but its a bit pathetic of a whinge.
Headin in on bus now mes.I must admit i hate drinking anywhere near the Aviva.Awful pubs.Might have a quick couple in Temple Bar or Pearse St for a change.
I got caught listening to Donal Lenihan on Newstalk last week for a few minutes promoting his new book.I couldn't believe my ears when he said the southern players used to sing "The Sash" to bond with the Ulster boys.Also,is there anything more cringeworthy than Irelands Call??Rugger buggers and GAA/Soccer folk just don't get along in Dublin.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4758 - 06/11/2016 13:18:30
Your nonsense about rugby and GAA/Soccer not getting along in Dublin is such nonsense when its plainly untrue

now the baseball was winning the biggest competition in the sport fair enough where as the rugby was winning a friendly haha yeah let's all celebrate.
don't think longford made such a fuss of beating the reigning league Leinster and all ireland champions in the o byrne cup this January gone by, that was more of an achievement than what the 5th ranked team in world beating the 1st ranked team in a friendly.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11330 - 06/11/2016 13:33:21
We have never beaten the side that have been ranked number 1 in the world since 2003 when the current rankings system was introduced bar parts of 2003/2004 when England were number 1 and parts of 2009 and 2010 when South Africa were number 1.
To dismiss the win as being so small makes you look extremely petty.

Great result for Ireland. We should all celebrate it instead of some of ye who are just anti "foreign sports" thinking your more irish because for having that view
rebelfan (Cork) - Posts:25 - 06/11/2016 14:04:48
No it should be celebrated in the other sports forum not off topic in the GAA forum

Put it in the doping forum
flack (Dublin) - Posts:1051 - 06/11/2016 20:49:29
Disgraceful comment. Nonsense of the highest order.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/11/2016 21:33:14    1932175

Replying To cuederocket:  "Headin in on bus now mes.I must admit i hate drinking anywhere near the Aviva.Awful pubs.Might have a quick couple in Temple Bar or Pearse St for a change.

I got caught listening to Donal Lenihan on Newstalk last week for a few minutes promoting his new book.I couldn't believe my ears when he said the southern players used to sing "The Sash" to bond with the Ulster boys.Also,is there anything more cringeworthy than Irelands Call??Rugger buggers and GAA/Soccer folk just don't get along in Dublin."
There are good pubs in Temple Bar ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 06/11/2016 21:44:48    1932181

Brilliant win. Celebrate it and enjoy the moment.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 06/11/2016 21:58:11    1932184

Replying To GreenandRed:  "There are good pubs in Temple Bar ?"
I don't usually frequent Temple Bar.First of all i dont like pubs that are packed full to the rafters where you can't hear yourself breath.The odd Sunday day i'd have a wander round and drop into the Aul Dub or The Palace Bar Fleet St to watch a match but i prefer the pubs in the north inner city meself.Just a preference.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/11/2016 22:00:11    1932186

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Cubs win first series in 108 years and now the Irish best the all blacks, I think we can put that in the history books eh.
Deserved recognition.
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts:1053 - 05/11/2016 23:32:10
deserves recognition but not in this forum.

Or on another site preferably.Rugby not my thing.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4758 - 06/11/2016 00:13:32
Nothing wrong with it being discussed in the other sports forum. you don't have to read it if you don't want to.

Get over yourselves lads ffs. This is historic.
111 of trying and to beat one of the best teams ever to play the game is some achievement whether you like rugby or not.
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts:1053 - 06/11/2016 09:30:17
Historic yes but no need for a thread in the GAA forum when its being discussed in the other sports forum.
Can Cork City dethrone the fantastic Dundalk today is the question?Looking forward to heading to the Aviva to see one of the greatest (if not the greatest) Irish club teams of all time.And i'll get to avoid the rugby "love-in" on the radio also.I can only imagine the back slapping that will grip all media over next few days.I'll be safe in the Aviva.I have given myself a wee test to avoid any rugby blather of next few days.It'll be hard but i'm fully determined (:
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4758 - 06/11/2016 10:27:42
I you're trolling a bit but its a bit pathetic of a whinge.
Headin in on bus now mes.I must admit i hate drinking anywhere near the Aviva.Awful pubs.Might have a quick couple in Temple Bar or Pearse St for a change.
I got caught listening to Donal Lenihan on Newstalk last week for a few minutes promoting his new book.I couldn't believe my ears when he said the southern players used to sing "The Sash" to bond with the Ulster boys.Also,is there anything more cringeworthy than Irelands Call??Rugger buggers and GAA/Soccer folk just don't get along in Dublin.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4758 - 06/11/2016 13:18:30
Your nonsense about rugby and GAA/Soccer not getting along in Dublin is such nonsense when its plainly untrue

now the baseball was winning the biggest competition in the sport fair enough where as the rugby was winning a friendly haha yeah let's all celebrate.
don't think longford made such a fuss of beating the reigning league Leinster and all ireland champions in the o byrne cup this January gone by, that was more of an achievement than what the 5th ranked team in world beating the 1st ranked team in a friendly.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11330 - 06/11/2016 13:33:21
We have never beaten the side that have been ranked number 1 in the world since 2003 when the current rankings system was introduced bar parts of 2003/2004 when England were number 1 and parts of 2009 and 2010 when South Africa were number 1.
To dismiss the win as being so small makes you look extremely petty.

Great result for Ireland. We should all celebrate it instead of some of ye who are just anti "foreign sports" thinking your more irish because for having that view
rebelfan (Cork) - Posts:25 - 06/11/2016 14:04:48
No it should be celebrated in the other sports forum not off topic in the GAA forum

Put it in the doping forum
flack (Dublin) - Posts:1051 - 06/11/2016 20:49:29
Disgraceful comment. Nonsense of the highest order."
No trolling pal.And guess what? I have managed to avoid hearing one second of our rugby teams exploits today.I just have no time for it.You wouldn't understand the dislike many people have in Dublin towards rugby.You obviously dont because you keep whining about it and i've no appetite to go over this again with you.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/11/2016 22:03:37    1932190

There are good pubs in Temple Bar ?
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:2951 - 06/11/2016 21:44:48
There are. Palace Bar Fleet Street one of the best. Watched both All Irelands in there this year. Cracking place.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/11/2016 22:04:42    1932191

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "There are good pubs in Temple Bar ?
There are. Palace Bar Fleet Street one of the best. Watched both All Irelands in there this year. Cracking place."
I had a good session in the Palace Bar Fleet St with some my Tipp relatives on the Monday mornin after the All Ire win which is a tradition for all Tipp winning teams to bring the Liam McCarthy for a few hours.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/11/2016 22:14:42    1932193

I had a good session in the Palace Bar Fleet St with some my Tipp relatives on the Monday mornin after the All Ire win which is a tradition for all Tipp winning teams to bring the Liam McCarthy for a few hours.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4762 - 06/11/2016 22:14:42
Was there for a while that morning but left before Liam arrived. Had been there most of the night of the game as well.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/11/2016 22:20:20    1932198

There are. Palace Bar Fleet Street one of the best. Watched both All Irelands in there this year. Cracking place."
A Tipp pub I believe, though don't auote me on that. One of the few real pubs in Temple Bar. I probably saw you in there after the replay unbeknownst Ormond! What a delight to stand at the end of the bar by the shnugeen at the door, barman shouts and asks the round cos he's on the ball, probably juggling 4 or 5 rounds or more a couple of minutes and supping lovely porter. This in a packed pub. Professional friendly barstaff. Sadly a rarity in this day and age.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 06/11/2016 22:24:21    1932199

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11330 - 06/11/2016 13:33:21 1932039

in rugby a test match is never a friendly (same as test cricket) and comparing lngfords win to ireland win is not correct . would be if the longford game got 55000 plus, and same television audience.

you seem to have a habit of begrudging irish teams a win

http://hoganstand.com/Forum/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=1&TopicID=97245

didnt they beat the italy reserve team???????

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11330 - 23/06/2016 09:46:04

you even begrude my beloved limerick when we get a bit of support

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 06/11/2016 23:20:18    1932211

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
A Tipp pub I believe, though don't auote me on that. One of the few real pubs in Temple Bar. I probably saw you in there after the replay unbeknownst Ormond! What a delight to stand at the end of the bar by the shnugeen at the door, barman shouts and asks the round cos he's on the ball, probably juggling 4 or 5 rounds or more a couple of minutes and supping lovely porter. This in a packed pub. Professional friendly barstaff. Sadly a rarity in this day and age."
Sure is a Tipp pub.I believe they are originally the Ahearne family from Bansha,West Tipp,close to my Dad's home.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/11/2016 09:18:20    1932248

Ye have to admire the potent unawareness of irony!

Posters complaining about this post being in this section and not in the other sports section. Its a valid point, there is another sports section. Then said same posters complaining that this thread isnt in other sports seeing as it is an other sports continue on the same thread to comment and talk about a different sport which should also be in the other sports section!!

Live and let live.

Its great to see Irish sports teams and people excel on a global scale, the rugby team beating the all blacks, Dundalk and their exploits in Europe and domination of the Irish game, the O Donovan brothers in the olympics, even Conor Mc Gregor, i have zero interest in UFC but fair play to him.

Theres enough misery going around, sport has an inane ability to lift us out of the mire, enjoy it!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 07/11/2016 10:05:46    1932268

Replying To tearintom:  "Ye have to admire the potent unawareness of irony!

Posters complaining about this post being in this section and not in the other sports section. Its a valid point, there is another sports section. Then said same posters complaining that this thread isnt in other sports seeing as it is an other sports continue on the same thread to comment and talk about a different sport which should also be in the other sports section!!

Live and let live.

Its great to see Irish sports teams and people excel on a global scale, the rugby team beating the all blacks, Dundalk and their exploits in Europe and domination of the Irish game, the O Donovan brothers in the olympics, even Conor Mc Gregor, i have zero interest in UFC but fair play to him.

Theres enough misery going around, sport has an inane ability to lift us out of the mire, enjoy it!"
Haha i certainly did realise the irony of my commenting on the FAI Cup final.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/11/2016 10:12:39    1932270

Although i woudnt start on thread on soccer and wasnt going to give a sport i dislike a free ride!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/11/2016 10:39:22    1932281