Well Done Lee Keegan !!

Replying To Jackeen:  "Your point?"
My point was a frivolous one in response to your equally frivolous original post. No need for the pseudo pedantry.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 08/11/2016 15:48:47    1932755

Their anti Dublin that's the only reason he won it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/11/2016 15:50:41    1932758

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "My point was a frivolous one in response to your equally frivolous original post. No need for the pseudo pedantry."
You'll have to explain that to me. No clue what that means!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/11/2016 15:58:08    1932762

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Their anti Dublin that's the only reason he won it."
Who are?

Every county player in the country? The same county players who voted for MDMA, Bernard Brogan, Alan Brogan. . . .????

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 08/11/2016 16:08:09    1932770

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Their anti Dublin that's the only reason he won it."
And who could blame them say I.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 08/11/2016 16:11:56    1932773

fully deserved player of the year a outstanding footballer both in defence and attack the modern day half back, people coming on here and saying he's this and that our a joke every team wants to win and will do whatever it takes i.e. dublin kerry tyrone etc the bitterness on here is embarrassing but not a shock.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 08/11/2016 16:47:14    1932789

Replying To cuederocket:  "Excellent post.I think Kilkenny had a great year,also.He was my POTY.Yes,his game was more defensive than previous years,but his calm,measured,skillfull,possession based play,shored up our defense and helped protect leads when games were in the melting pot.I always felt reassured when i saw him roaming around our back line.

He was like a conductor af an orchestra ; slowing down the tempo when needs be,seeking and probing until the time was right and then boom!.. all of a sudden bursting into life and moving forward at pace creating openings and overlaps in the oppostion midfield/defense.

Not just outside the Pale,many of my fellow county men cannot or could not see his worth to the team this year.For me he was invaluable and without his contribution i dont think we'd have won the All Ireland and if D Connolly had left the ball with Ciaran in injury time in the drawn All Ireland final i dont think there would have been a need for a replay."
Great post mate, the best complement you can pay him is that i didn't hear one person say this year "Dublin miss Alan Brogan".

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/11/2016 16:50:51    1932796

Wouldn't of been my choice, but a worthy winner with the other lads nominated.

Even if you don't agree with the selection, it would be a cruel man who would begrudge county Mayo this "title", am i right in thinking this is the countys first ever player of the year award?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/11/2016 17:08:00    1932801

Replying To TheUsername:  "Great post mate, the best complement you can pay him is that i didn't hear one person say this year "Dublin miss Alan Brogan"."
Before he retired, When was the last time Alan Brogan played every game of the season for Dublin? Why would you think that Kilkenny replaced Alan Brogan?
Kilkenny is the hipsters choice. I recognise what he does for his team but after the game where he had a record number of possessions he and/or the management seem to believe in the hype. I also realise he played in a more withdrawn position and at wing back as well.
But none of that explains why he wouldn't shoot from 25 yards in front of goal when opportunity arose. He recycled the ball unnecessarily. He is a fantastic player. No need to get bogged down in processes. When there's a shot on in front of goal kick it over the bar. Look back at final and replay the amount of chances Dublin turned down and chose to recycle was ridiculous. Kilkenny was one of main culprits. Again I repeat he is a fantastic player but I prefer the Kilkenny that hurt teams with scores as well as smart play. He can easily do both

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 08/11/2016 17:25:07    1932805

Replying To Weary:  "Before he retired, When was the last time Alan Brogan played every game of the season for Dublin? Why would you think that Kilkenny replaced Alan Brogan?
Kilkenny is the hipsters choice. I recognise what he does for his team but after the game where he had a record number of possessions he and/or the management seem to believe in the hype. I also realise he played in a more withdrawn position and at wing back as well.
But none of that explains why he wouldn't shoot from 25 yards in front of goal when opportunity arose. He recycled the ball unnecessarily. He is a fantastic player. No need to get bogged down in processes. When there's a shot on in front of goal kick it over the bar. Look back at final and replay the amount of chances Dublin turned down and chose to recycle was ridiculous. Kilkenny was one of main culprits. Again I repeat he is a fantastic player but I prefer the Kilkenny that hurt teams with scores as well as smart play. He can easily do both"
Eh because he replaced Alan Brogan at 11 and ha Dublins playmaker, as you know Alan had a bad injury in 2012 after winning footballer of the year in 2011, the effects of that injury, Father time and the rise of Kilkenny saw him not start many games. That said I'm trying hard to remeber a game he didn't come on and more then not tip the balance as per the all Ireland final last year.

On your other points, Kilkenny makes Dublin tick, he's fundamental to everything Dublin do. But hey the games about opinions, hard to argue with medal haul though. Scarily he's still a kid.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/11/2016 21:40:59    1932888

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Well done lee Keegan? Is this where the gas is at now? Handing out player of the year awards to a player who's actions had a fellow player sent off. A player who's actions continually try to get a reaction from another opponent so he might be sent off. And indeed getting the line himself in the final.

Yeah well done lee Keegan and well done those who select a player who operates In that manner.

Joke"
Lee plays hus heart out for our county and for his team mates. His is the game of FOR OTHERS. Well done Lee. You deserve it. And what is all this of him being the cause of others being sent off? Players are sent off as a result of their own actions. It is senior football we are talking about, not playschool.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 09/11/2016 00:06:01    1932909

Just want to say Lee Keegan is an outstanding footballer one of the best I've ever seen and my opinion on him is just on the poty. ALso I was very harsh on McLoughlin before this year I didn't think he was good enough for Mayo well he proved me wrong he was again outstanding in the all Ireland finals. But for me Durkan was the stand out player for Mayo in both games against Dublin he was robbed of an all star this year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/11/2016 09:04:18    1932918

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Well done lee Keegan? Is this where the gas is at now? Handing out player of the year awards to a player who's actions had a fellow player sent off. A player who's actions continually try to get a reaction from another opponent so he might be sent off. And indeed getting the line himself in the final.

Yeah well done lee Keegan and well done those who select a player who operates In that manner.

Joke"
A bit of balance needed here its the players vote for it I think they know far more than us what goes into playing both with and without the ball at that level and Keegan is very good at both Philly Mc has a couple of All Stars and is as good if not better and more cynical than Keegan at this but not much mention if this I wouldn't begrudge Keegan his award but I would have given it to Fenton

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 09/11/2016 19:03:45    1933132

For me Lee Keegan was the best player this year, he was outstanding against Tyrone, Tipp, the drawn All-Ireland final and was heading for man-of-the-match in the replay until the black card. He is brilliant at defending and a powerhouse going forward. Was he involved in some unsavory incidents, yes, however the POTY should be judged on the best player that particular year. I don't understand why this decision is controversial. A far worse decision was not to award Kevin McMenamin an All-Star, had a brilliant year except for the drawn final.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 11/11/2016 17:10:49    1933635

Replying To Green_Gold:  "For me Lee Keegan was the best player this year, he was outstanding against Tyrone, Tipp, the drawn All-Ireland final and was heading for man-of-the-match in the replay until the black card. He is brilliant at defending and a powerhouse going forward. Was he involved in some unsavory incidents, yes, however the POTY should be judged on the best player that particular year. I don't understand why this decision is controversial. A far worse decision was not to award Kevin McMenamin an All-Star, had a brilliant year except for the drawn final."
He was outstanding against Tyrone he wasn't outstanding against Tipp or Dublin.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/11/2016 21:01:03    1933690

Replying To clondalkindub:  "He was outstanding against Tyrone he wasn't outstanding against Tipp or Dublin."
Tipp and Dublin? Sure ask the two lads who had to mark him if he was any good!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/11/2016 22:53:53    1933712

He fouled Quinlavan the whole game he should of been sent off and he was not in the Dublin game whatsoever yes he kept Connolly reasonably quiet but he never touched the ball. much easier to mark a player in the lashings of rain in Croke park it's like an ice rink, again Keegan is the best half back in the game but was never poty this season.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/11/2016 10:50:44    1933738

Replying To clondalkindub:  "He fouled Quinlavan the whole game he should of been sent off and he was not in the Dublin game whatsoever yes he kept Connolly reasonably quiet but he never touched the ball. much easier to mark a player in the lashings of rain in Croke park it's like an ice rink, again Keegan is the best half back in the game but was never poty this season."
Who do you think was player of the year and why?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 12/11/2016 13:03:47    1933756

Replying To clondalkindub:  "He fouled Quinlavan the whole game he should of been sent off and he was not in the Dublin game whatsoever yes he kept Connolly reasonably quiet but he never touched the ball. much easier to mark a player in the lashings of rain in Croke park it's like an ice rink, again Keegan is the best half back in the game but was never poty this season."
Not sure how quiet Keegan keeps Connoly he got 1-2 acorss the two games. Considering it was pretty dire football served up i wouldnt say he was quiet as all, as for his general play he was probably Dublins best forward.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/11/2016 16:09:52    1933776

I think the difficulty most Dubs have with Keegan winning is, fine footballer he is, Dublin are looking at the best half back line in the game every year in Cian O'Sullivan, James McCarthy and Jack McCaffery (Small was a brilliant stand in).

Now a fair man would say that Cian O' Sullivan and Jack McCaffrey are superior players, Keegan would be on a par i would think with McCarthy.

Now Keegan is a wonderful player, but with Dublin having experience of that great full back line, i think their is a tad of "well so what" when you think of the way the Dublin half full back line preform individually, collectively and silverware won. Dublinhave a high treshold of comparission when your judgeing half backs.

My own opinion is Keegan a worthy winner this year, i couldnt begrudge Mayo this given the lack of success they have had in the last five years.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/11/2016 16:22:41    1933779