Well Done Lee Keegan !!

I can't argue with Lee Keegan getting the nod for Player of the year, he had a brilliant year.

Knowing the award is normally awarded to a player from the All Ireland winners or runners up, himself and Ciaran Kilkenny were definitely in my consideration for this award.

Fair play to him

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 07/11/2016 16:27:21    1932436

Replying To cavanman47:  "Sure look - when their keeper nearly costs them an All Ireland and they're still up in arms that he didn't get an All Star (despite his nomination itself being fortunate) then is there any point even trying to reason with some people?"
Ah now, I wouldn't go that far. Cluxton had to be nominated, no question, and if it came down to it I'd pick Cluxton over Clarke myself.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 07/11/2016 16:28:48    1932437

Replying To Breffni39:  "Ah now, I wouldn't go that far. Cluxton had to be nominated, no question, and if it came down to it I'd pick Cluxton over Clarke myself."
But even when referring to his performances they call it a 2 minute blip in an otherwise excellent season. They conveniently forget his howler against Down in the league or how he sold himself for the Donegal goal with defenders covering across.

I suppose my point is, you're arguing with fans who are biased in their stance and refuse to approach the subject objectively.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 07/11/2016 16:55:06    1932444

Replying To Breffni39:  "And it's entirely coincidental that he won it ahead of your countymen?"
It is coincidental listen keegan is a fine player he just was not POTY. I believe similar to some of the commentry on the hurling award there is no way some counties would vote for a dublin player.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/11/2016 16:57:27    1932446

Replying To jacktheDub:  "It is coincidental listen keegan is a fine player he just was not POTY. I believe similar to some of the commentry on the hurling award there is no way some counties would vote for a dublin player."
Can you just not accept that maybe, just maybe, there is a player out there who is better in a given year than the best of the Dubs. A Dub has won the award in four of the last seven years, but obviously that's not enough. Seemingly when a Dub wins it's the correct decision but if someone else wins it's anti Dublin bias. This sense of entitlement is getting scary.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/11/2016 17:20:26    1932463

Replying To cavanman47:  "But even when referring to his performances they call it a 2 minute blip in an otherwise excellent season. They conveniently forget his howler against Down in the league or how he sold himself for the Donegal goal with defenders covering across.

I suppose my point is, you're arguing with fans who are biased in their stance and refuse to approach the subject objectively."
So now performances in the league have a bearing you just can't make this up when it suits your agenda it counts.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/11/2016 17:33:13    1932466

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Can you just not accept that maybe, just maybe, there is a player out there who is better in a given year than the best of the Dubs. A Dub has won the award in four of the last seven years, but obviously that's not enough. Seemingly when a Dub wins it's the correct decision but if someone else wins it's anti Dublin bias. This sense of entitlement is getting scary."
What's dublin winning it in previous years got to do with it this year people from all counties are on here giving there opinions I am giving mine I am of the opinion that dublin players would not have got the neutral vote were there's a bit of history between counties and let's be honest with the constant love in the media have with poor mayo and the there valiant efforts at landing the big prize they were always going to get the sympathetic vote. But listen Fenton can console himself with his 2nd celtic cross.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/11/2016 17:44:32    1932469

Replying To jacktheDub:  "What's dublin winning it in previous years got to do with it this year people from all counties are on here giving there opinions I am giving mine I am of the opinion that dublin players would not have got the neutral vote were there's a bit of history between counties and let's be honest with the constant love in the media have with poor mayo and the there valiant efforts at landing the big prize they were always going to get the sympathetic vote. But listen Fenton can console himself with his 2nd celtic cross."
but keegan was a better player this season in fairness...we were the best team but we didnt have a standout player

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/11/2016 17:45:42    1932470

Replying To alano12:  "but keegan was a better player this season in fairness...we were the best team but we didnt have a standout player"
Didn't have a standout player!!! Cooper, Fenton and KilKenny to name just 3.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/11/2016 18:05:20    1932474

Replying To jacktheDub:  "So now performances in the league have a bearing you just can't make this up when it suits your agenda it counts."
Read my post again. . .it's Dublin fans constantly referring to "the whole year" unbeaten.

Heck, I even saw a girl use that line on facebook and when told "Dublin did lose a game", she replied, "yeah, to Donegal but that was 2014". The term sunshine supported springs to mind. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 07/11/2016 18:08:16    1932475

Replying To Superglue:  "Ask yourself the same about Philly's nomination last year"
I think that's the point though. Philly probably would have won player of the year last year but for his dirty play. The same barometer was not used when judging Keegan. Its a personality contest at the end if the day. A lovely boy competition if you will :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/11/2016 18:37:38    1932482

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Didn't have a standout player!!! Cooper, Fenton and KilKenny to name just 3."
That's 3 players not 1. It's fairly straightforward.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 07/11/2016 19:53:37    1932503

Replying To Jackeen:  "I think that's the point though. Philly probably would have won player of the year last year but for his dirty play. The same barometer was not used when judging Keegan. Its a personality contest at the end if the day. A lovely boy competition if you will :)"
Lovely boy competition! Didn't Michael Dara win it one year.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/11/2016 20:25:04    1932518

Replying To jacktheDub:  "What's dublin winning it in previous years got to do with it this year people from all counties are on here giving there opinions I am giving mine I am of the opinion that dublin players would not have got the neutral vote were there's a bit of history between counties and let's be honest with the constant love in the media have with poor mayo and the there valiant efforts at landing the big prize they were always going to get the sympathetic vote. But listen Fenton can console himself with his 2nd celtic cross."
The point about Dubs winning it other years proves there is no anti Dublin bias which should be self evident. Of course you have all your medals but that doesn't seem to be enough for some! And no we don't feel loved and even if we did it wouldn't be any compensation. We certainly don't get any love from Tyrone, Roscommon, Galway, Sligo, Donegal, Fermanagh (after this year) Meath, Dublin ......... So really like it or not Lee was the best player, just ask his peers.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/11/2016 20:37:39    1932522

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Lovely boy competition! Didn't Michael Dara win it one year."
Your point?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/11/2016 20:46:12    1932526

Replying To jacktheDub:  "It is coincidental listen keegan is a fine player he just was not POTY. I believe similar to some of the commentry on the hurling award there is no way some counties would vote for a dublin player."
You're right. He 'was' not Player of the Year. McCaffrey was Player of the Year.

Lee Keegan 'is' the Player of the Year voted for by his peers.It was in the papers and everything.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 07/11/2016 21:16:22    1932537

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "The point about Dubs winning it other years proves there is no anti Dublin bias which should be self evident. Of course you have all your medals but that doesn't seem to be enough for some! And no we don't feel loved and even if we did it wouldn't be any compensation. We certainly don't get any love from Tyrone, Roscommon, Galway, Sligo, Donegal, Fermanagh (after this year) Meath, Dublin ......... So really like it or not Lee was the best player, just ask his peers."
Sad comment there from you . The majority of Rossies wanted to see Mayo win the All Ireland there was serious amouts of Mayo flags all from Frenchpark Bellnagare through to Tulsk Termonbarry even Ros town onto Knockcroghery to Kiltoom. Wont mention Ballaghadreen! We showed ye plenty of support so don't give us that crap . Id wonder would the favour ever be returned

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1082 - 07/11/2016 21:36:08    1932545

Replying To moros:  "Sad comment there from you . The majority of Rossies wanted to see Mayo win the All Ireland there was serious amouts of Mayo flags all from Frenchpark Bellnagare through to Tulsk Termonbarry even Ros town onto Knockcroghery to Kiltoom. Wont mention Ballaghadreen! We showed ye plenty of support so don't give us that crap . Id wonder would the favour ever be returned"
It should be, not saying it would be. I think it would be in Ballyhaunis. A lot of Glaveys players, some who represented Roscommon at different grades including Paul Earley, went to the Community School there. I'd always shout for ye if ye weren't playing us. Really good supporters who follow The Rossies through thick and thin and who love the banter.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 07/11/2016 22:26:29    1932566

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Didn't have a standout player!!! Cooper, Fenton and KilKenny to name just 3."
kilkenny?..did you go to any of the games?..your argument has just lost all credibility by trying to claim kilkenny had a better year than keegan

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/11/2016 22:53:07    1932574

Replying To alano12:  "kilkenny?..did you go to any of the games?..your argument has just lost all credibility by trying to claim kilkenny had a better year than keegan"
Yes I did go to all the games league, o'Byrne cup and championship for the last 15 years have you?? Read the statement that was posed again!
The statement was Dublin had no standout player this year I simply named 3 that did I never said KilKenny had a better year than keegan.
For the record I believe Fenton had a better year.

Before you question my credibility try understand the subject you are posting on.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 08/11/2016 04:17:56    1932587