Well Done Lee Keegan !!

My pick would have been Fenton but Lee Keegan is a player I would take on the Donegal team no problem.
I suppose the issue I have and its actually not Keegans fault but every other player who masters the darks arts actually lose out because of it.

Think of players like Philly McMahon and Neil McGee. They never get\got the credit they deserve and nobody points out their amazing footballing credentials. This year Keegan scored some great scores but the only way you can put him as POTY is to say he kept his opponent quiet and he did that by being dirty.

I dont think Kilkenny should have been in the running this year but he will continue to grow into an unbelievable player.
Fenton is already one of my favourite player. He just gets on with the game and rarely is seen getting involved in pushing/rowing.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 07/11/2016 07:50:32    1932235

Replying To dstuction:  "My pick would have been Fenton but Lee Keegan is a player I would take on the Donegal team no problem.
I suppose the issue I have and its actually not Keegans fault but every other player who masters the darks arts actually lose out because of it.

Think of players like Philly McMahon and Neil McGee. They never get\got the credit they deserve and nobody points out their amazing footballing credentials. This year Keegan scored some great scores but the only way you can put him as POTY is to say he kept his opponent quiet and he did that by being dirty.

I dont think Kilkenny should have been in the running this year but he will continue to grow into an unbelievable player.
Fenton is already one of my favourite player. He just gets on with the game and rarely is seen getting involved in pushing/rowing."
Both the men you mentioned have all stars.

And I don't recall Lee ever trying to break an opponent's fingers or gouge someone's eye.

There's "dark arts" which I have no real issue with, and there's downright thuggery! Big difference.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 07/11/2016 09:03:59    1932244

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Define a player of the year! Surely it should be the best player over a season in his code. It's very debatable before anything else is discussed that Keelan was the best player. A fine footballer and a super season but was he without question the best?

Add then that the player of the year should be an iconic figure one to look up to for younger players and juveniles. Should some of his antics this year have been rewarded? Take away from your mindset what county he's from, your from or where most people questioning the choice are from and answer the 2 questions without bias

1) was he unquestionably the best footballer in Ireland this season
2) should the type of tactic he deploys against high profile opponents be rewarded"
1. Is poty ever unquestionably the bet player? Isn't it always debated, it is after all the subjective opinion of the players.

2. What tactics exactly. I would not like to be marked by Keegan. Because I think it unlikely I'd get much ball. But I don't think I'd be going out worrying about getting thumps in the head, gouged, elbowed etc. My jersey would be pulled, I'd be pushed, but we'd be shaking hands after.
There are plenty of defenders who also play the game close to the line but also put far more effort into delivering 'dirty digs'.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 07/11/2016 09:05:04    1932245

BlastCalyle (Mayo)-- I would agree with your comments

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 07/11/2016 09:49:48    1932261

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Lot of people missing the main point here I feel"
what point is that?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 07/11/2016 10:08:50    1932269

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Well done lee Keegan? Is this where the gas is at now? Handing out player of the year awards to a player who's actions had a fellow player sent off. A player who's actions continually try to get a reaction from another opponent so he might be sent off. And indeed getting the line himself in the final.

Yeah well done lee Keegan and well done those who select a player who operates In that manner.

Joke"
His man got him black carded by going to ground easy cos he couldn't better him

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 07/11/2016 10:26:53    1932274

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Define a player of the year! Surely it should be the best player over a season in his code. It's very debatable before anything else is discussed that Keelan was the best player. A fine footballer and a super season but was he without question the best?

Add then that the player of the year should be an iconic figure one to look up to for younger players and juveniles. Should some of his antics this year have been rewarded? Take away from your mindset what county he's from, your from or where most people questioning the choice are from and answer the 2 questions without bias

1) was he unquestionably the best footballer in Ireland this season
2) should the type of tactic he deploys against high profile opponents be rewarded"
Ask yourself the same about Philly's nomination last year

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 07/11/2016 10:30:16    1932275

Replying To SLLY:  "Good luck to him but essentially he's a stopper. Ok , the odd score, but no, not player of the year."
Stopper. Isn't that what you want your defenders to do?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 07/11/2016 10:34:20    1932279

Replying To TheUsername:  "Apparently the designers tried to make it light weight for the extra burden of walking up the steps of the hogan stand and trophy lifting mate. :)"
Apparently they succeeded!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/11/2016 11:34:56    1932313

Well done lee Keegan? Is this where the gas is at now? Handing out player of the year awards to a player who's actions had a fellow player sent off. A player who's actions continually try to get a reaction from another opponent so he might be sent off. And indeed getting the line himself in the final.

Yeah well done lee Keegan and well done those who select a player who operates In that manner.

Joke

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts:1066 - 05/11/2016 08:03:59

Good lord!!! You do realise that his fellow players voted for him, possibly even some of the Dublin players.
You going on about him trying to get players sent off, what did Connolly do in the replay? Went down and jumped up doing his best soccer player impression. Give over will you, they're all at it.
Personally I thought it was a toss up between Keegan and Fenton and Keegan got the nod, fair play to him.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 07/11/2016 12:18:23    1932330

You have to love the keyborad warriors on here ..
I was at the Ballymun V Vincents match and Connolly had to have his
jersey replaced. It happens, he's a marked man.

Keegans FELLOW PLAYERS voted for him as THEIR player of the year.
These are the players that play against him.
If they felt he was a cynical player they wouldnt have voted for him.
I think Keegan will be spoken of as one of the great modern players when
by the time he is finished ..

He is deservedly player of the year. Fenton can feel somewhat hard done by but
he too is a wonderful player. I felt Kilkenny was someway behind those two ..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 07/11/2016 13:20:38    1932355

Well done Lee Keegan. An exceptional player.

I thought too that this was a shoe-in for young Fenton but he has achieved so much in his first two years already. If he keeps up the good work, will have POTY soon enough.

The awards only focus on 2 or 3 championships games which needs to be reviewed. When you look at the club performances (eg Connolly has been brilliant again for SV) and the leagues, performances there seem to have little bearing on selection.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 07/11/2016 13:23:26    1932358

The vote for keegan was more of a case of Dublin players not getting there vote it was more of an anti dublin agenda. Spillane article on the all stars was interesting reading. Similar to the hurling not sure who said it Cork, Kilrenny, Clare would never vote for a tipprary player.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/11/2016 14:08:16    1932375

Replying To jacktheDub:  "The vote for keegan was more of a case of Dublin players not getting there vote it was more of an anti dublin agenda. Spillane article on the all stars was interesting reading. Similar to the hurling not sure who said it Cork, Kilrenny, Clare would never vote for a tipprary player."
Where does the anti-Dublin agenda go when Dubs win the awards?

Has any non-Dub ever actually deserved the award?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 07/11/2016 14:23:00    1932377

Replying To poguemahone:  "Well done Lee Keegan. An exceptional player.

I thought too that this was a shoe-in for young Fenton but he has achieved so much in his first two years already. If he keeps up the good work, will have POTY soon enough.

The awards only focus on 2 or 3 championships games which needs to be reviewed. When you look at the club performances (eg Connolly has been brilliant again for SV) and the leagues, performances there seem to have little bearing on selection."
considering the GPA are joint-sponsors, club games are not and should not be considered.

Or ideally, the GPA should seek to look after the club players too.

Anyone else thing Dessie's heart sank when he read out the winner btw??

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 07/11/2016 14:31:19    1932385

Lee is a wonderful footballer and I heartily congratulate him . Hopefully he can someday lift the San Maguire cup for Mayo. If there was a transfer system id move mountains to sign him up for the Rossies! Well done Lee.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1082 - 07/11/2016 14:33:26    1932388

Replying To Breffni39:  "Where does the anti-Dublin agenda go when Dubs win the awards?

Has any non-Dub ever actually deserved the award?"
Sure look - when their keeper nearly costs them an All Ireland and they're still up in arms that he didn't get an All Star (despite his nomination itself being fortunate) then is there any point even trying to reason with some people?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 07/11/2016 15:02:16    1932394

Replying To Breffni39:  "Where does the anti-Dublin agenda go when Dubs win the awards?

Has any non-Dub ever actually deserved the award?"
Of course they have just this case a player who won it didn't deserve to in my humble opinion.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/11/2016 15:52:16    1932415

Replying To cavanman47:  "Sure look - when their keeper nearly costs them an All Ireland and they're still up in arms that he didn't get an All Star (despite his nomination itself being fortunate) then is there any point even trying to reason with some people?"
Sure 10mins across a season of excellence against a goal keeper who was dropped for 2 games. Was Clarke not dropped for his poor final 10mins in the first game. That was a sympathy vote and 2 fingers to the mayo management. They will forever be known as the management team who dropped an all star goalkeeper for an Ireland final.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/11/2016 16:00:02    1932419

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Of course they have just this case a player who won it didn't deserve to in my humble opinion."
And it's entirely coincidental that he won it ahead of your countymen?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 07/11/2016 16:26:18    1932435