Well Done Lee Keegan !!

Replying To Richieq:  "I'm glad to see a Dublin supporter highlight the disgraceful commentary on this decision, particularly on the Hill16 Army page which was brought to my attention last night and which I found utterly shocking. Those responsible for that page should hang their heads in shame......."
That fella ('dub of the year' as he likes refers to himself) is an embarrassment to Dublin Gaa fans. He may do his bit for charity but all of that is regularly cancelled out with the tripe he posts on his twitter and Facebook page.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 05/11/2016 16:01:52    1931876

Replying To keithlemon:  "Saffron, I agree with you for the most part but it's all down to opinions at the end of the day. I'm not a Dub but I would have had Fenton ahead of either Keegan or Kilkenny, likewise I would have had Johnny Cooper and Colm Boyle ahead of them to get a nomination let alone the award.
I do think it's a little bit hypocritical that Philly McMahon lost out on the award last year on the back of his use of the dark arts while Keegan wins it this year for excelling in them. I know that's not what Lee's game is about (well not totally) but you'd have to say where he excelled most this year, bar the first 15 mins of the replayed final, was all about stopping his opposite number play. He had to sacrifice his own game to play man marker.
Anyway, I think way too much is made of this whole thing, some very sensitive people out there down to a popularity contest. When Gooch Cooper has never won the award then you know there's something wrong with them."
I wouldn't begrudge any of the players you mentioned. Everyone that was mentioned had terrific years. my problem is with people calling it 'a joke' that a clearly outstanding player won the award as if he wasn't worthy. man marking is a very important aspect of a defenders game even though it seems people now automatically focus on defenders who get forward and stick the odd point over as being better players. without the work Keegan put in for Mayo they may not have got beyond the quarter finals and its right that it should be acknowledged.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 05/11/2016 16:04:54    1931877

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Pay no heed to so-called Dublin supporters on social media who are little more than keyboard warriors. Plenty of them from Mayo and from other counties too. Check out the Mayo Banter page on Facebooj. The nearest most of them have ever been to a match is sitting on a high stool giving their 'coulda been a contender, I was a mighty underage player' rant while whinging about the ref and the county players who 'were never county standard'."
That mayo gaa banter page looks like it is run by the 6th class bully. Very embarrassing stuff a lot of the time.

nextyear (Mayo) - Posts: 60 - 05/11/2016 17:07:24    1931891

Have to laugh at Dubs crying foul over Keegan winning POTY when they ran a media campaign to have him black carded... Well deserved in my opinion. Some scant consolation, I'm sure he'd swap it to go back and play the second half of the All Ireland final replay.

Fenton a very close second, could develop in to an all time great, finishing in front of goals needs work but he is a class act.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 05/11/2016 17:30:59    1931898

Replying To Weary:  "Well done Lee. Fantastic footballer who has continuously pushed himself to develope his game. He is almost the ideal all round modern footballer. He has it all. Not much between him and alot of other players. His goal alone in the final replay was something special. In time it will be appreciated for the super strike that it was.
Luckily I know plenty of Dublin supporters in the real world. Friends, work colleagues and relatives. Real true sports people. Understand what sport is about. Thankfully I know what has been spouted about Lee on social media is not a reflection of the majority of Dublin supporters. Some of it is frankly disturbing."
Don't disagree with anything you have said. BUT it is fair to ask the question if your coaching kids & you have a guy as footballer of the year as the icon whose off the ball behaviour is shocking & we have seen him grab lads by the throat & head locks etc & not just against Dublin, is that what we are trying to promote to kids ? Lee is the ultimate footballer, when he plays football. Brian Fenton would have being my choice of the three in this regard.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 05/11/2016 18:24:03    1931910

Replying To keithlemon:  "Saffron, I agree with you for the most part but it's all down to opinions at the end of the day. I'm not a Dub but I would have had Fenton ahead of either Keegan or Kilkenny, likewise I would have had Johnny Cooper and Colm Boyle ahead of them to get a nomination let alone the award.
I do think it's a little bit hypocritical that Philly McMahon lost out on the award last year on the back of his use of the dark arts while Keegan wins it this year for excelling in them. I know that's not what Lee's game is about (well not totally) but you'd have to say where he excelled most this year, bar the first 15 mins of the replayed final, was all about stopping his opposite number play. He had to sacrifice his own game to play man marker.
Anyway, I think way too much is made of this whole thing, some very sensitive people out there down to a popularity contest. When Gooch Cooper has never won the award then you know there's something wrong with them."
maybe in the specific seasons there was somebody better than him?...i think keegan was an easy enough choice in the end as we were more the sum of our parts then 1 outstanding performance...which year should gooch have won the award?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 05/11/2016 19:06:12    1931924

Replying To alano12:  "maybe in the specific seasons there was somebody better than him?...i think keegan was an easy enough choice in the end as we were more the sum of our parts then 1 outstanding performance...which year should gooch have won the award?"
Any one of 2004, 05 or 06 for me he would have been a deserved winner. Tomas O'Se, Stephen O'Neill or Kieran Donaghy were all worthy winners in each of those years but for me, the finest footballer of the modern era, not to have the title is a tad bizarre.
Funnily enough, he won the Texaco footballer of the year in 04 but not the All Star footballer of the year.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 05/11/2016 19:34:01    1931933

The award is called "Player of the Year". It is not the "Most Sportsmanlike Player" or the "Nicest guy in football" award. He was the outstanding player in this year's championship and he fully deserved it - fair play to you Lee.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 05/11/2016 19:52:59    1931938

Replying To moc.dna:  "Don't disagree with anything you have said. BUT it is fair to ask the question if your coaching kids & you have a guy as footballer of the year as the icon whose off the ball behaviour is shocking & we have seen him grab lads by the throat & head locks etc & not just against Dublin, is that what we are trying to promote to kids ? Lee is the ultimate footballer, when he plays football. Brian Fenton would have being my choice of the three in this regard."
Fenton, unlike Keegan, is not given a man marking job, so you're not comparing like with like. To balance out your point, with a couple of minutes to go and Mayo chasing an equaliser in the first game, Kev McLoughlin was sprinting to join the attack when Fenton grabbed him around the neck and dragged him to the ground, behind the refs back. None of those lads are whiter than white when an All Ireland title is on the line. Whelan didn't highlight it on the Sunday Game for some reason. Fenton is a fine player though, as is Lee.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/11/2016 20:07:00    1931941

Replying To moc.dna:  "Don't disagree with anything you have said. BUT it is fair to ask the question if your coaching kids & you have a guy as footballer of the year as the icon whose off the ball behaviour is shocking & we have seen him grab lads by the throat & head locks etc & not just against Dublin, is that what we are trying to promote to kids ? Lee is the ultimate footballer, when he plays football. Brian Fenton would have being my choice of the three in this regard."
I would agree with your comments and add that pulling and dragging off the ball is not enjoyable to watch and should not never be rewarded

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 05/11/2016 22:30:30    1931956

For me no player really stood out on his own this year, Fenton I thought was slightly ahead , but Keegan is a great footballer. I liked his attitude after the final also going over to Connolly. So would have no real issues with him getting it. But there certainly is an element of tokenism .
In general the Allstars are flawed and I'm amazed how annoyed people get over them.
A lot of Dubs going on like we the victims, get over it FFS.
We have won Sam and League , that's all that matters.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/11/2016 22:54:35    1931959

Is the footballer of the year award given out now to a player who has a few good games towards the end of the season? Give me a break. He had a good game against Tyrone and in the dublin final but got deservedly sent off in the replay. Every game he has played he easily could have picked up cards or been sent off in. There are a load more all round footballers who should have won in his place.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 06/11/2016 00:26:42    1931976

Replying To AthCliath:  "For me no player really stood out on his own this year, Fenton I thought was slightly ahead , but Keegan is a great footballer. I liked his attitude after the final also going over to Connolly. So would have no real issues with him getting it. But there certainly is an element of tokenism .
In general the Allstars are flawed and I'm amazed how annoyed people get over them.
A lot of Dubs going on like we the victims, get over it FFS.
We have won Sam and League , that's all that matters."
Exactly,that the bottom line. We won what mattered. Who cares about individual accolades!

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/11/2016 09:37:22    1931988

Replying To kevin03:  "Is the footballer of the year award given out now to a player who has a few good games towards the end of the season? Give me a break. He had a good game against Tyrone and in the dublin final but got deservedly sent off in the replay. Every game he has played he easily could have picked up cards or been sent off in. There are a load more all round footballers who should have won in his place."
In your opinion there are better players than Lee out there. Your opinion, any more than mine, counts for little at this stage. What matters is that Lee was voted the best player by his peers. We can agree or disagree but either way we will not change the result. Shows how good he was though when he won it without actually winning the All Ireland.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 06/11/2016 12:00:23    1932019

Define a player of the year! Surely it should be the best player over a season in his code. It's very debatable before anything else is discussed that Keelan was the best player. A fine footballer and a super season but was he without question the best?

Add then that the player of the year should be an iconic figure one to look up to for younger players and juveniles. Should some of his antics this year have been rewarded? Take away from your mindset what county he's from, your from or where most people questioning the choice are from and answer the 2 questions without bias

1) was he unquestionably the best footballer in Ireland this season
2) should the type of tactic he deploys against high profile opponents be rewarded

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 06/11/2016 12:24:50    1932023

His behaviour is "shocking"? Give me a break. Go and watch a club match. Or better yet, take a look at what defenders on your own county team are doing. This idea that Lee Keegan is some never-before-seen big bad villain and all the guys he marks are whiter than white and would never get embroiled in a wrestle or tussle if not for Keegan is absolute b******* of the highest order.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 06/11/2016 12:34:58    1932028

Two awards really, POTY and he also got Connollys jersey. Lucky boy!! :)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/11/2016 13:48:00    1932044

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Define a player of the year! Surely it should be the best player over a season in his code. It's very debatable before anything else is discussed that Keelan was the best player. A fine footballer and a super season but was he without question the best?

Add then that the player of the year should be an iconic figure one to look up to for younger players and juveniles. Should some of his antics this year have been rewarded? Take away from your mindset what county he's from, your from or where most people questioning the choice are from and answer the 2 questions without bias

1) was he unquestionably the best footballer in Ireland this season
2) should the type of tactic he deploys against high profile opponents be rewarded"
1). Yes.
2). You mean the same tactics being employed by defenders up and down the country, including those playing on your own team?

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 06/11/2016 14:14:47    1932057

Replying To TheUsername:  "Two awards really, POTY and he also got Connollys jersey. Lucky boy!! :)"
He still has him in his pocket

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 06/11/2016 14:54:09    1932065

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Exactly,that the bottom line. We won what mattered. Who cares about individual accolades!"
It would appear that a lot of Dublin posters do.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/11/2016 15:23:37    1932073