All Ireland Club Hurling Championship

I'm just going on what I seen today and for a county with half a million people playing its number 1 game can only produce a performance like that something in Cork ain't right. Cork's best forward never got a touch all game Thurles should of hammered that Clare team that goes on to hammer the Cork champions very poor.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/11/2016 21:42:21    1935638

Replying To cuederocket:  "After flying out of the blocks and racing into an early lead,once again Oulart flatter to deceive in a big game in Leinster and end up well beaten on home soil.Not good enough for an All Ireland and winning another Leinster title seems a long way away.Fair play to O Loughlins and it should be a good Leinster final v Dublin's finest."
You called it right in fairness but they'll be kicking themselves today. I haven't seen much of Cuala but they will fancy their chances, despite the hoganstand scoreupdates saying yesterday close to the end of the Oulart game that O'Loughlins are no minutes away from silverware or something along those lines.

I thought the Munster final was far far superior standard in terms of touch and skill level from Ballyea. Thurles will be disappointed but they were never All Ireland contenders. You need a few big physical and one minded forwards at this time of the year. Ballyea would've beaten them out the gate yesterday

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/11/2016 08:48:03    1935668

On a different note it's great to see this thread staying here and there's finally a bit more interest in hurling!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/11/2016 08:49:23    1935669

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I'm just going on what I seen today and for a county with half a million people playing its number 1 game can only produce a performance like that something in Cork ain't right. Cork's best forward never got a touch all game Thurles should of hammered that Clare team that goes on to hammer the Cork champions very poor."
So going Galway hurling was in the same boat last year was it?

Or is this just a case of having a pop at Cork?

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 21/11/2016 10:11:24    1935692

A serious performance from Ballyea yesterday. Congratulations to them! Also well done to Cuala and O'Loughlin.

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 21/11/2016 12:57:28    1935739

Replying To cuederocket:  "And reigning All Ireland champions Tipperary haven't won a club All Ireland since 1987 (i think).
I was listening to RTE Radio sport today and it was mentioned that there are improvements being seen in Cork City hurling.The Glen have won back-to-back counties.The Glen also won the Feile and got to U15,U16 and U21 latter stages of championship.Amazing what a senior county win can do for the moral of a club.Also,Douglas won the Intermediate.
If Cork can get the city buzzing with hurling like it did in the halycon days of the '70s & early '80s we are all in trouble.That is a difficult task,but there are too many shrewd operators down there to remain uncompetetive for too much longer.Cork will be back soon enough.I really have no worries about that."
Agreed. We have an arrogant county board who prefer building stadia that nobody wants and antagonising players/management than helping GAA here. However, we have some top clubs though and I believe that the standard of club fair is improving (despite what happened yesterday). Maybe we are not tough enough. It could be. If that is all it is, then we can fix it and improve.

Slight correction: Douglas won the under 21s - not intermediate. They are a senior club.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/11/2016 15:04:05    1935767

Replying To bennybunny:  "Agreed. We have an arrogant county board who prefer building stadia that nobody wants and antagonising players/management than helping GAA here. However, we have some top clubs though and I believe that the standard of club fair is improving (despite what happened yesterday). Maybe we are not tough enough. It could be. If that is all it is, then we can fix it and improve.

Slight correction: Douglas won the under 21s - not intermediate. They are a senior club."
I'd have to agree that they aren't tough enough currently. The Cork forwards are extremely poor tacklers and lack the work rate required. The stats showed the top 3 Tipp tacklers were McCormack, Bonner and J McGrath. Cork hadn't one forward put in a tackle against Tipp this year. Having said that Cork have still the talent and will be back before too long. The club cship has never been a good indication of where the intercounty team is going in my opinion

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/11/2016 16:24:51    1935785

Replying To tiobraid:  "I'd have to agree that they aren't tough enough currently. The Cork forwards are extremely poor tacklers and lack the work rate required. The stats showed the top 3 Tipp tacklers were McCormack, Bonner and J McGrath. Cork hadn't one forward put in a tackle against Tipp this year. Having said that Cork have still the talent and will be back before too long. The club cship has never been a good indication of where the intercounty team is going in my opinion"
I vividly remember Galway's Johny Glynn waltzing through a porous Cork back-line a couple years back and scoring one of the easiest goals you will ever see at this elite level.

Myself and Bennybunny had differing views on it at the time.For me,it was endicative of how soft Cork were.In that 30 second cameo,Cork's frailties were laid bare.Not one Cork defender even managed a shoulder on a surely delighted and bemused Glynn.Comically,he ended up striking the ball only a yard from the goal-line with Nash not even moving off his goal-line.This after Glynn lobbed the Cork fullback and left a trail of feeble non-challenges in his wake.Even though the game was in its early stages,the game was over there abd then.It remains to this day possibly the worsr defending i have ever seen for a senior intercounty team.I'd say Diarmuid O Sullivan was mortified and the bold Christy Ring was thumping on heavens door!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 21/11/2016 17:35:15    1935802

The Clare champs from Ballyhea were superb yesterday and the Glen were simply not up to the pace and did not have the touch that the Clare men had. Kelly was superb and his speed and touch were incredible. Its tough to win any county club championship. Most teams who do succeed are training for months and months - some starting their quest in November and then play their county final 10 months later. We - the fans - I believe expect too such sometimes - we think our club or our county winners should be better than they were in the county final when they play in the provincial championship. We expect a lot but perhaps the players are fired - burnt out- or just simply do not have the flair on the day to bring them through. The provincial championship is huge now and the standard continues to get better. You need 15 really good hurlers with at least 3 standout lads to get over the line. A bit of luck is needed too!
Criticising or questioning Cork clubs for not making the breakthrough is a follow on from criticising their county squads. There is no one reason for Cork not fulfilling their promise but for me - yesterday was a thrill to see one Tony Kelly show the most sublime skills on a freezing November day!
Cork - Tipp- Limerick - all have great clubs and they will have a bog say in next years All Ireland! Lets enjoy the class of Kelly and others as the club championships comes to a close.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 21/11/2016 19:28:35    1935818

Replying To cuederocket:  "I vividly remember Galway's Johny Glynn waltzing through a porous Cork back-line a couple years back and scoring one of the easiest goals you will ever see at this elite level.

Myself and Bennybunny had differing views on it at the time.For me,it was endicative of how soft Cork were.In that 30 second cameo,Cork's frailties were laid bare.Not one Cork defender even managed a shoulder on a surely delighted and bemused Glynn.Comically,he ended up striking the ball only a yard from the goal-line with Nash not even moving off his goal-line.This after Glynn lobbed the Cork fullback and left a trail of feeble non-challenges in his wake.Even though the game was in its early stages,the game was over there abd then.It remains to this day possibly the worsr defending i have ever seen for a senior intercounty team.I'd say Diarmuid O Sullivan was mortified and the bold Christy Ring was thumping on heavens door!"
No doubt their back line has been soft but that is so obvious I didn't mention it. Their full back for the Glen on Sunday wouldn't strike much hope for next year either. You don't see scores line the Glynn goal in junior club games. I'd be embarrassed if that happened. But they've huge problem with their forwards defensive capabilities also. They need someone like a Niall McCarthy. I'm certain Cork will be back but need to find a few players to compliment the likes of Leehane and Horgan who both need to be far more consistent.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/11/2016 08:24:00    1935883

Who do Sleacht Néill play and when?

christy sting (Derry) - Posts: 262 - 22/11/2016 13:59:29    1935969

Replying To cuederocket:  "I vividly remember Galway's Johny Glynn waltzing through a porous Cork back-line a couple years back and scoring one of the easiest goals you will ever see at this elite level.

Myself and Bennybunny had differing views on it at the time.For me,it was endicative of how soft Cork were.In that 30 second cameo,Cork's frailties were laid bare.Not one Cork defender even managed a shoulder on a surely delighted and bemused Glynn.Comically,he ended up striking the ball only a yard from the goal-line with Nash not even moving off his goal-line.This after Glynn lobbed the Cork fullback and left a trail of feeble non-challenges in his wake.Even though the game was in its early stages,the game was over there abd then.It remains to this day possibly the worsr defending i have ever seen for a senior intercounty team.I'd say Diarmuid O Sullivan was mortified and the bold Christy Ring was thumping on heavens door!"
It was a gentlemanly disagreement though!!

They may have been a bit naive..
there is a fine line between that and between cynical and dirty. You get ridiculed for both unfortunately.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 22/11/2016 14:59:59    1935983

Cork hurling is in a process of change. They ll sort it out eventually and they ll win all round them once the conveyer belt is up and running. From what Iv seen and heard there is definately a lack of physicality in Cork club games and the refs are very whistle happy. That ll have to change.
As an aside Na Piarsaigh won Limerick 3 times in 6 or 7 years..3 Munsters and an All Ireland but Ballyea are the darlings of the GAA . In my opinion its got the fingerprints of the anti urban brigade all over it. No fair dues to a club who compete with 3 AIL rugby clubs and numerous soccer teams. Fair play to Ballyea but ...

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 22/11/2016 15:04:15    1935985

Replying To bennybunny:  "It was a gentlemanly disagreement though!!

They may have been a bit naive..
there is a fine line between that and between cynical and dirty. You get ridiculed for both unfortunately."
Of course it was gentlemanly,benny.I wouldn't expect anything less with your good self.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/11/2016 15:41:24    1936001

Replying To christy sting:  "Who do Sleacht Néill play and when?"
The Leinster champions in February.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 22/11/2016 16:33:54    1936020

What's posters thoughts on the Leinster club final? I know it's the Kilkenny champs but I give Cuala a big chance of winning this game, they've the experience of last year as I think their even better this year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/12/2016 10:49:36    1937760

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What's posters thoughts on the Leinster club final? I know it's the Kilkenny champs but I give Cuala a big chance of winning this game, they've the experience of last year as I think their even better this year."
It's a tough one for Cuala, in their favour they're coming into a bit of form at the right time, after a stuttering start to the season and Con O'Callaghan is firing on all cylinders. He's freeing up a bit of space for Mark Schutte too. David Treacy doesn't miss many placed balls.

Against; Kilcotton were poor and St. Mullins weren't a whole lot better so it's hard to judge where they're really at and O'Loughlin Gaels are a top side. Martin Comerford is in great form. The bookies have the handicap at 1 point and it's hard to argue with that. A key battle for me will be between Mark Bergin and Cian O'Callaghan.

I hope Cuala bring it back to Dublin but it's too close to call.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 01/12/2016 14:16:08    1937807

Replying To Mickmick:  "It's a tough one for Cuala, in their favour they're coming into a bit of form at the right time, after a stuttering start to the season and Con O'Callaghan is firing on all cylinders. He's freeing up a bit of space for Mark Schutte too. David Treacy doesn't miss many placed balls.

Against; Kilcotton were poor and St. Mullins weren't a whole lot better so it's hard to judge where they're really at and O'Loughlin Gaels are a top side. Martin Comerford is in great form. The bookies have the handicap at 1 point and it's hard to argue with that. A key battle for me will be between Mark Bergin and Cian O'Callaghan.

I hope Cuala bring it back to Dublin but it's too close to call."
Are Cuala not favourites for this? I'd expect they would be...

I'd fancy Cuala to have too much firepower but O'Loughlin Gaels have proved me wrong a few times up to now. It's madness to be hurling at this time of they year though. They're still hurling away in a few counties with different competitions which is a joke really

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/12/2016 15:15:51    1937828

Nice to see the discussion over who will play eventual runners up to the TOMS!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 02/12/2016 09:03:06    1937948

Replying To tiobraid:  "Are Cuala not favourites for this? I'd expect they would be...

I'd fancy Cuala to have too much firepower but O'Loughlin Gaels have proved me wrong a few times up to now. It's madness to be hurling at this time of they year though. They're still hurling away in a few counties with different competitions which is a joke really"
Paddy Power have
Cuala 5/6
O'Loughlin Gaels 6/5

The handicap is Cuala -1/OLG +1

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 02/12/2016 10:02:41    1937956