New Managers

Can't fault the aspirations of both the Kevin's and Glen Emmets in appointing such high profile managers. But you have to question the motives of both men taking on clubs with such low profiles and little chance of winning anything.
I've slated some northern 'outsiders' before but at least the likes of O'Rourke & Quinn have gone in at the deep end with kilkerley, the Gaels, Marys and Blues and helped them improve at the highest level.
It seems clubs have gone crazy with the amount of money being splashed about.

chachacha (Louth) - Posts: 73 - 14/11/2017 10:37:09    2062230

Replying To chachacha:  "Can't fault the aspirations of both the Kevin's and Glen Emmets in appointing such high profile managers. But you have to question the motives of both men taking on clubs with such low profiles and little chance of winning anything.
I've slated some northern 'outsiders' before but at least the likes of O'Rourke & Quinn have gone in at the deep end with kilkerley, the Gaels, Marys and Blues and helped them improve at the highest level.
It seems clubs have gone crazy with the amount of money being splashed about."
chachacha... Don't know where you are coming from that O Rourke and especially Quinn have improved the clubs at the highest level. Quinn spent 1 year with Seans, Marys, Blues, Gers. whats that telling you

If you look at the figures in the cul camps from 2017...Glen Emmets and St Kevins were way ahead of everyone in numbers attending..That tells me that there is some work being done in these two clubs at underage so why appoint high profile managers to put structures in place for years to come.
By all accounts Kevins have a director of football in place also to improve there underage structure. You have to be progressive, Its not all about winning straight away. both of these clubs are the last two junior champions so success is there. fair play to them on their appointments. we should be applauding them for bringing high profile men into the county and help to improve the standard within the county

sharpey (Louth) - Posts: 193 - 14/11/2017 12:37:58    2062250

Paddy Bates gone from intermediate champions O Connells...Didn't see that coming

sharpey (Louth) - Posts: 193 - 14/11/2017 12:39:06    2062251

The appointment of outside money men and make no mistake, that is what they are is a huge waste of resources and none of these appointments will leave a legacy or structures that the club can slot their best equiped men / women into. One has to ask the question why clubs are not developing their own managers / coaches from within. Make no mistake none of these external appointments come cheap and put clubs under huge pressure at the expense of other important areas. These men are in it for one thing and on thing only and that is the €€€€€€€€ Shame on the clubs and shame on the GAA. ps. this will do nothing to improve standards

Red2017 (Louth) - Posts: 122 - 14/11/2017 13:01:58    2062258

Replying To willyacomeon:  "Its a headline grabber alright but is Graham any use as a manager? Can be the best footballer around but achieved nothing with Duleek so i don't think he'll do much at Tullyallen."
Journey man Geraghty and I wouldn't rate Mcgee!

MR (Louth) - Posts: 2570 - 14/11/2017 13:39:43    2062274

Replying To sharpey:  "Paddy Bates gone from intermediate champions O Connells...Didn't see that coming"
Not surprised to be honest, go out on a high. O'Connells will be fighting out with the Rats to avoid relegation next year in the championship so why risk tarnishing your achievements in the club?

Hon D Lu (Louth) - Posts: 126 - 14/11/2017 13:45:16    2062275

Sharpey, from what I know Quinn spent 3 years with Ardee (which is a miracle in itself). I didn't know he was with Seans and yes 1 year with Blues and Gers. Did he not get Ardee out of div 2 and competitive in senior? Did he not improve the blues?? granted his year with the gers wasn't great.
Did O'Rourke not have Kilkerely competitive in senior? And in his 2 years with the gaels semi & final in senior.
Lastly, because they have loads of kids at cul camps, you think either kevs or glen have any chance of any success in intermediate or div 2 next year???

chachacha (Louth) - Posts: 73 - 14/11/2017 13:48:08    2062276

Magee Gerathy is money down the drain they will amount to nothing

bennypoor (Louth) - Posts: 521 - 14/11/2017 14:19:40    2062287

Rumour has it Gary Thornton interviewed for pats job

evergreen (Louth) - Posts: 26 - 14/11/2017 15:57:55    2062314

Replying To chachacha:  "Sharpey, from what I know Quinn spent 3 years with Ardee (which is a miracle in itself). I didn't know he was with Seans and yes 1 year with Blues and Gers. Did he not get Ardee out of div 2 and competitive in senior? Did he not improve the blues?? granted his year with the gers wasn't great.
Did O'Rourke not have Kilkerely competitive in senior? And in his 2 years with the gaels semi & final in senior.
Lastly, because they have loads of kids at cul camps, you think either kevs or glen have any chance of any success in intermediate or div 2 next year???"
Clubs are spending €10,000's of thousands a year on these managers.

Its a joke!

DundalkGael (Louth) - Posts: 895 - 14/11/2017 16:00:52    2062316

In fairness to Geraghty, he was at Duleek for 5 years and they stayed Senior despite being favourites every year for the drop, he left this year and they were relegated to the intermediate ranks,

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 14/11/2017 16:06:24    2062318

Replying To sharpey:  "chachacha... Don't know where you are coming from that O Rourke and especially Quinn have improved the clubs at the highest level. Quinn spent 1 year with Seans, Marys, Blues, Gers. whats that telling you

If you look at the figures in the cul camps from 2017...Glen Emmets and St Kevins were way ahead of everyone in numbers attending..That tells me that there is some work being done in these two clubs at underage so why appoint high profile managers to put structures in place for years to come.
By all accounts Kevins have a director of football in place also to improve there underage structure. You have to be progressive, Its not all about winning straight away. both of these clubs are the last two junior champions so success is there. fair play to them on their appointments. we should be applauding them for bringing high profile men into the county and help to improve the standard within the county"
Sharpey your talking nonsense, if your telling me Gerathy is going to implement structures for the underage set up your having dreams. Hes there for first team only prob 2 years max to yes get results but to take some easy money home too.

willyacomeon (Louth) - Posts: 44 - 14/11/2017 16:07:08    2062319

And O'Connells get rid of a manager that wins them a championship. The madness continues...

chachacha (Louth) - Posts: 73 - 14/11/2017 16:11:06    2062320

Replying To longroadback:  "In fairness to Geraghty, he was at Duleek for 5 years and they stayed Senior despite being favourites every year for the drop, he left this year and they were relegated to the intermediate ranks,"
In fairness they weren't favourites to go down any of the years he was there but was a achievement to stay in Duleek for the 4/5 years. They had a rep of getting a new manager every year before he came and gave some stability without actually doing anything. They were relegated in the league during his tenure.

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 14/11/2017 16:27:14    2062323

Players can't be paid it's an amateur organisation.....what's that 20k to manage a Louth Intermediate team count me in Pedro!

LiathroidiMor (Louth) - Posts: 258 - 14/11/2017 18:01:44    2062341

Replying To chachacha:  "And O'Connells get rid of a manager that wins them a championship. The madness continues..."
I wouldn't say they were happy when he went on holidays for 2 weeks ,2 weeks before their Championship final...

GAAdundalk (Louth) - Posts: 641 - 14/11/2017 18:32:14    2062346

I see Glen Emmets announced on face book last night that they have a new manager - Graham Geraghty at a handsome randsom. Yet only last week they were advertising the job with a closing date of 18th November?? Does the right hand know what the left hand is doing at that club? Serious effort by this club to go senior. Any word where K Barry going, a club looking to get success should snap him up!

giverespect (Louth) - Posts: 1 - 14/11/2017 20:07:42    2062364

Replying To GAAdundalk:  "I wouldn't say they were happy when he went on holidays for 2 weeks ,2 weeks before their Championship final..."
Lucky they have a nice selection of local lads to come home and help the players prepare.

WheresDeBallBag (Louth) - Posts: 458 - 14/11/2017 20:33:14    2062367

Good man Giverespect. One for the begrudgers no doubt. Is Barry going to some club in Dublin along the Docklands?

LaLu (Louth) - Posts: 233 - 14/11/2017 21:46:37    2062378

Replying To WheresDeBallBag:  "Lucky they have a nice selection of local lads to come home and help the players prepare."
Indeed they are.but might not have been so lucky if that local lad was still involved in Championship football with his respective club.

GAAdundalk (Louth) - Posts: 641 - 15/11/2017 08:19:06    2062406