Galexit

Replying To bloodyban:  "
Replying To extranjero:  "I'm sorry, but who from leinster told you they're happy to lose to Kilkenny?
I've heard this on several occasions from Munster folk, that somehow recurring defeats to Kilkenny suggest we all love getting bet out the gate by them?

By your logic, can we infer Limerick enjoy losing all-ireland finals, as they haven't won one in many moons?"
No that logic would be flawed. Limerick lost finals due to not being good enough on a given day and bad tactics in the main. When Limerick got the oppportunity to play Kilkenny in 2014 they met them head on and played until the end. Cody said that it was physically as tough as anything he encountered. But we lost and that was awfull.
Munster folk look at Wexford, Offaly and to a lesser extent Dublin and watch you guys roll over without leaving iff a shot when playing Kilkenny. And then ye go and tip them for the All Ireland like they are representing you guys in some small way."
You do know Limerick have not beaten Kilkenny in 43 years in the championship ?. Had the Kilkenny of the Cody era played in the Munster championship they would have dominated this championship also, the proof of this is that they dominated the All Ireland series at this time (coming up against the Munster teams). I was at the Cork Tipperary All Ireland semi a few years ago and after Tipp won easy the Cork fella in front of me told the Tipp fella sitting beside me to 'beat the Cats for us' as if they were representing them in some small way.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1359 - 01/11/2016 13:06:46    1930630

Munster folk look at Wexford, Offaly and to a lesser extent Dublin and watch you guys roll over without leaving iff a shot when playing Kilkenny. And then ye go and tip them for the All Ireland like they are representing you guys in some small way.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts:443 - 01/11/2016 12:07:14 1930613

Yes us Leinster folk have looked on admirably of munster teams sticking it to Kilkenny..

Waterford haven't beaten them in 10 last win in 59, and in 08 took a right hiding 3-30 to 1-13!
cork a superpower 3 wins in 10
Tipp there arch rivals 2 wins in 10
Clare, well they have only had 7 goes ever took 1 of them fair play
and Limerick, ye meet them head on alright, 1973 your last win against them

so yes Munster teams are sticking it to Kilkenny time and again!

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 01/11/2016 13:10:14    1930631

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Munster folk look at Wexford, Offaly and to a lesser extent Dublin and watch you guys roll over without leaving iff a shot when playing Kilkenny. And then ye go and tip them for the All Ireland like they are representing you guys in some small way.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts:443 - 01/11/2016 12:07:14 1930613

Yes us Leinster folk have looked on admirably of munster teams sticking it to Kilkenny..

Waterford haven't beaten them in 10 last win in 59, and in 08 took a right hiding 3-30 to 1-13!
cork a superpower 3 wins in 10
Tipp there arch rivals 2 wins in 10
Clare, well they have only had 7 goes ever took 1 of them fair play
and Limerick, ye meet them head on alright, 1973 your last win against them

so yes Munster teams are sticking it to Kilkenny time and again!"
Your passion is great. I think my point remains valid in the overall context. Leinster teams fold up tent against Kilkenny much too early in games.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 01/11/2016 14:43:21    1930665

Replying To bdbuddah:  "
Replying To bloodyban:  "[quote=extranjero:  "I'm sorry, but who from leinster told you they're happy to lose to Kilkenny?
I've heard this on several occasions from Munster folk, that somehow recurring defeats to Kilkenny suggest we all love getting bet out the gate by them?

By your logic, can we infer Limerick enjoy losing all-ireland finals, as they haven't won one in many moons?"
No that logic would be flawed. Limerick lost finals due to not being good enough on a given day and bad tactics in the main. When Limerick got the oppportunity to play Kilkenny in 2014 they met them head on and played until the end. Cody said that it was physically as tough as anything he encountered. But we lost and that was awfull.
Munster folk look at Wexford, Offaly and to a lesser extent Dublin and watch you guys roll over without leaving iff a shot when playing Kilkenny. And then ye go and tip them for the All Ireland like they are representing you guys in some small way."
You do know Limerick have not beaten Kilkenny in 43 years in the championship ?. Had the Kilkenny of the Cody era played in the Munster championship they would have dominated this championship also, the proof of this is that they dominated the All Ireland series at this time (coming up against the Munster teams). I was at the Cork Tipperary All Ireland semi a few years ago and after Tipp won easy the Cork fella in front of me told the Tipp fella sitting beside me to 'beat the Cats for us' as if they were representing them in some small way."]Absolutely untrue. The great team of the Cody era wpuld certainly have lots of All Irelands but theyd have alot less if they were in Munster. They might have to play Cork, Tipp and Clare just to win the province. Overall you could take 10 All Irelands at least off Kilkenny if they were in Munster. Having to Peak twice a year is alot different than having to do so 3 or 4 times. its not even a conversation. kilkenny people dont argue the point that theyd have less All Irelands if they were in Munster.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 01/11/2016 14:54:23    1930670

Basically lads the counties in Leinster are afraid of Galway and that why they dont want Galway in Minor and Under 21. Even my own county Wexford are scared of big bad Galway. Chickens Ted their all a bunch of Chickens

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 01/11/2016 15:19:16    1930682

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Basically lads the counties in Leinster are afraid of Galway and that why they dont want Galway in Minor and Under 21. Even my own county Wexford are scared of big bad Galway. Chickens Ted their all a bunch of Chickens"
Afraid of our shadows sure!

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 01/11/2016 16:18:00    1930705

Replying To bloodyban:  "
Replying To bdbuddah:  "[quote=bloodyban:  "[quote=extranjero:  "I'm sorry, but who from leinster told you they're happy to lose to Kilkenny?

You do know Limerick have not beaten Kilkenny in 43 years in the championship ?. Had the Kilkenny of the Cody era played in the Munster championship they would have dominated this championship also, the proof of this is that they dominated the All Ireland series at this time (coming up against the Munster teams). I was at the Cork Tipperary All Ireland semi a few years ago and after Tipp won easy the Cork fella in front of me told the Tipp fella sitting beside me to 'beat the Cats for us' as if they were representing them in some small way."]Absolutely untrue. The great team of the Cody era wpuld certainly have lots of All Irelands but theyd have alot less if they were in Munster. They might have to play Cork, Tipp and Clare just to win the province. Overall you could take 10 All Irelands at least off Kilkenny if they were in Munster. Having to Peak twice a year is alot different than having to do so 3 or 4 times. its not even a conversation. kilkenny people dont argue the point that theyd have less All Irelands if they were in Munster."]I agree.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/11/2016 16:34:50    1930710

Negatives seem to outweigh the positives for Galway staying in the Leinster Championship. Only game worth while to Galway seniors is one game against Kilkenny. Maybe Davy can revitalise Wexford and Dublin can bounce back to being competitive in 2017 then it's value would be worth staying put. Games against Westmeath and Offaly in 2016 offered nothing other than the fear of injuries and suspensions. Underage seems to be a lot more competitive and Galway can't compete. I don't really see the point in staying. I don't say that in a "throwing the toys out of the pram" sort of way. I just don't see how leaving can make things any worse. And one never knows if Galway left they may be offered a better alternative.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 597 - 01/11/2016 20:24:45    1930771

Absolutely untrue. The great team of the Cody era wpuld certainly have lots of All Irelands but theyd have alot less if they were in Munster. They might have to play Cork, Tipp and Clare just to win the province. Overall you could take 10 All Irelands at least off Kilkenny if they were in Munster. Having to Peak twice a year is alot different than having to do so 3 or 4 times. its not even a conversation. kilkenny people dont argue the point that theyd have less All Irelands if they were in Munster.
bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts:445 - 01/11/2016 14:54:23
The Cody era has coincided with the era of the back door so to win All Ireland's Kilkenny probably have to play 2 of the 5 Munster hurling teams and in this back door era they have been more successful than ever. This is what I base saying they would have dominated if in Munster in the Cody era (they won 11 out of 16 All Ireland's in this time they would certainly have won the vast majority of Munster titles in this time had they been in it). As regards saying they would have less All Ireland's if in Munster, I defiantly would have agreed with you if you said that 20 years ago but now I am not as sure. I say this after seeing them winning much more All Irelands in the back door era (when they play more Munster teams in the championship) than they ever did before the backdoor was introduced.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1359 - 01/11/2016 21:18:11    1930780

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Basically lads the counties in Leinster are afraid of Galway and that why they dont want Galway in Minor and Under 21. Even my own county Wexford are scared of big bad Galway. Chickens Ted their all a bunch of Chickens"
We haven't won anything of note since 1988 and suddenly we are Big Bad Galway. Unbelieveable.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 02/11/2016 14:50:24    1930924

Replying To onlyhurling:  "We haven't won anything of note since 1988 and suddenly we are Big Bad Galway. Unbelieveable."
You've won the Leinster final. This sure meant a lot to Dublin when they won it recently. I'd say it'd mean a lot to all Leinster counties, including Kilkenny if they lost a couple in a row.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 02/11/2016 15:59:56    1930951

kilkenny people dont argue the point that theyd have less All Irelands if they were in Munster.

Yeah, but if kilkenny were in Munster, it'd mean the other teams in Munster would also have,
A) less provincial titles, and therefore
B) less all-ireland titles.

Kilkenny in Munster would most likely have meant more success for Galway, Dublin, Wexford, Offaly, etc., as it'd be one less opponent for them provincialy and in the All-Ireland series.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 02/11/2016 17:55:55    1930981

Replying To extranjero:  " kilkenny people dont argue the point that theyd have less All Irelands if they were in Munster.

Yeah, but if kilkenny were in Munster, it'd mean the other teams in Munster would also have,

Kilkenny in Munster would most likely have meant more success for Galway, Dublin, Wexford, Offaly, etc., as it'd be one less opponent for them provincialy and in the All-Ireland series."
Galway were straight thought to the semi finals for long enough and it didn't do us much good.
To me it's plain, there should be a munster championship for munster teams, a leinster championship for leinster teams and then a properly structured all ireland competition for all.
The current system is ridiculous, not one team is knocked of the all ireland in either of the provincial championships. They are already different competitions.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 02/11/2016 19:24:02    1930994

Replying To bloodyban:  "Your passion is great. I think my point remains valid in the overall context. Leinster teams fold up tent against Kilkenny much too early in games."
Probably more to do with the fact that Kilkenny are just better than the rest in Leinster.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 02/11/2016 22:41:05    1931050

Replying To extranjero:  " kilkenny people dont argue the point that theyd have less All Irelands if they were in Munster.

Kilkenny in Munster would most likely have meant more success for Galway, Dublin, Wexford, Offaly, etc., as it'd be one less opponent for them provincialy and in the All-Ireland series."
In the days of straight knockout provincial championship I think Kilkenny in Munster would have got to less All Ireland finals but their strike rate (win to loss ratio) in All Ireland finals would have been better. Say a typical year 'back in the old days' Kilkenny would play Tipp or Cork in the All Ireland final. Tipp or Cork would have met in Munster final and because of this would be well prepared and battle hardened when they got to play Kilkenny in the All Ireland.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1359 - 04/11/2016 20:34:51    1931657

It's time to stop talking about this and actually do something!
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/cloonan-if-leinster-wont-play-ball-galway-will-try-munster-429905.html

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 10/11/2016 16:32:56    1933378

Hard to give much credence to an article when there is a major factual error in the first 5 words - "Galway hurling PRO Jarlath Cloonan".

Jarlath Cloonan stepped down from that position at the end of 2015. Joe Keane is the current Galway Hurling PRO.

game.on.now.ger (Galway) - Posts: 423 - 10/11/2016 20:05:00    1933434

Delighted to see motions into the Galway annual Convention to proposed at national convention that Galway should exit Leinster championship after 2017 and all Galway intercounty teams (minor U21 and Senior) compete in Munster Championship from 2018. I really hope this gets massive support from all Galway clubs and is brought to the national convention

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 17/11/2016 10:47:06    1935004

It would be a complete disgrace if this happened.

Galway should be in all Leinster hurling competitions at all levels as an equal member with home and away arrangements.

We could have a farcicial system with a really strong Munster improved with Galway in it and a weak Leinster losing it's second best team and become further irrelevant as a competition.

This fiasco just shows the farce that provincial councils have become.

Why can a simple sensible decision never be made and really the GAA at central council level need go give up their idea of allowing counties and provinces to sort out their own issues and just tell the Leinster council what is going to happen.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 17/11/2016 11:26:56    1935017

Replying To extranjero:  "Nope, you're completely wrong.

First of all, I've no problem with Galway hurling
(far from it). What I do have a problem with (and apparently other Leinster folk have aswell) is Galway, and other non-leinster sides, being parachuted into our championship, to the detriment of the development and quality of hurling in Leinster county teams.

And on a side note, I am also not a big fan of people from the supposed "traditional" hurling counties talking down to people from less successful hurling counties, solely on the basis of where they're coming from and what their county team has or hasn't accomplished."
ya cos the only thing keeping Offaly, Wexford, Laois and the rest down are because Galway are in the leinster senior championship! Maybe each county should look at their own situation, how long has it been since anyone besides Dublin or Kilkenny have won a leinster minor?

73forever (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 17/11/2016 11:31:54    1935020