Kerry's Mark O'Connor off to Australia

Replying To MesAmis:  "Broadband and coddle"
Jobs.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/10/2016 11:59:12    1927827

Replying To s goldrick:  "far more to offer on the west coast than in Dublin. I mean far more natural beauty . you can always pop up/over to dublin for the weekend. much prefer to live by the sea. maybe because I come from a land-locked county."
Never got the boat to Hollyhead then?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 20/10/2016 12:02:16    1927828

We have sea and mountains in Dublin as well.

You should take a stroll up around the Dublin mountains if it's natural beauty you're after.

But at the end of the day the only thing that actually attracts people in large numbers to anywhere long term is one thing and one thing only, jobs.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 20/10/2016 12:21:38    1927838

I have to agree about the natural beauty though

There is is no arguing that the West Coast is glorious but it's a little on the wild side

Pity that weather is far more severe and many opportunities are lost hiding in doors from the multitude of Atlantic storms

But if you're into more than cliff walks, then Dublin is a far more diverse place

So much more going on all of the time, 7 nights a week. It's a very different city now than even 10 years ago.

If you are into Cliff walks, then check out Howth, Dalkey, Killiney or just a short distance to Greystones

All serviced by the dart, very easy access

All very nice indeed

Wicklow is also right on our door step, and it's harder to find a more beautiful place.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/10/2016 12:26:02    1927844

Replying To MesAmis:  "We have sea and mountains in Dublin as well.

You should take a stroll up around the Dublin mountains if it's natural beauty you're after.

But at the end of the day the only thing that actually attracts people in large numbers to anywhere long term is one thing and one thing only, jobs."
Ye have hills not mountains ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 20/10/2016 14:24:57    1927892

Ye have hills not mountains ;-)
Superglue (Kerry) - Posts:1160 - 20/10/2016 14:24:57

Yerra yous can say that about everyone else!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 20/10/2016 16:13:05    1927924

From what I'm hearing is that there's another few on the way that will impact Kerry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 27/10/2016 14:01:34    1929525

Replying To jimbodub:  "From what I'm hearing is that there's another few on the way that will impact Kerry"
Hopefully they'll do a Ciaran Kilkenny and get home sick and come home after a fortnight.
Although probably not as there is no work in Kerry.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/10/2016 22:42:50    1929700

Is there any truth in rumours on Cliffard and The Aussies lads?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/11/2016 19:14:46    1932118

Replying To TheUsername:  "Is there any truth in rumours on Cliffard and The Aussies lads?"
Yup TK is supposed to be sniffing around fossa. Young David Clifford could be gone within a year. Also I hear talks of Sean O'Shea from kenmare.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/11/2016 22:42:36    1932202

Replying To TheUsername:  "Is there any truth in rumours on Cliffard and The Aussies lads?"
The lad is still only 17, he's a few years away from Australia yet. No doubt Tadgh is watching him though. Kerry are likely to lose at least another 1-2 players from the 2014-16 minor teams I would think. Some serious talent there.

In fairness I think Kerry can cope with this. Less successful counties are also losing their best young talent and it's very frustrating. Hopefully tadhg will come for a few dubs too. Barbecued shrimp beats coddle any day.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/11/2016 01:10:00    1932228

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "The lad is still only 17, he's a few years away from Australia yet. No doubt Tadgh is watching him though. Kerry are likely to lose at least another 1-2 players from the 2014-16 minor teams I would think. Some serious talent there.

In fairness I think Kerry can cope with this. Less successful counties are also losing their best young talent and it's very frustrating. Hopefully tadhg will come for a few dubs too. Barbecued shrimp beats coddle any day."
He looks the crown jewel amongst all the serious young talent you have mate, would be a pity if we didnt see him light up Croker the way he did in the minor final. I find the whole thing frustrating to be honest and the game as a whole suffers. Imagine if there had been no Gooch, Maurice or Mike Frank Russalls.

Im looking forward to Kerrys coming mate, as much as i have enjoyed our recent Indian sign over yee, Dublin and Kerry in a strange way need each other to be strong, that was no more evident then this year, many say the game against Kerry took the toal on of the Dublin team, not for me, while it was a savage encounter, Dublin just couldn't motivate themselves VS Mayo the games just dont have the edge or history Dublin Vs Kerry do. I felt the same way as a fan, i bar far was more excited for the semi final then the final.

I think there are interesting times ahead in the rivalry, Kerry are coming and if some of the gems you have can transition well to senior football it could be a golden age of football. Dublin football is the strongest place it has been in its history, i dont just mean the recent success, THe DCB has the right structures in place top to bottom, the club scene is thriving and the game goes from strength to strength all over the city and county for the first time ever on the north and south side. I was down at one of the south-side clubs Saturday morning just before the quarter finals they had 200 kids playing junior football that day and most days of the weekend. But i digress.....

I cant wait for this Kerry generation to come along and i think we have some great games ahead of us in the years to come. Ill be keeping a close eye on the U21 Championship this year and your league campaign!!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/11/2016 10:59:20    1932293